Cairn Hotel Edinburgh

3 stars
View map of 10-18 Windsor Street, Edinburgh, EH7 5JR

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
29 reviews
Great Location on the Fringe

The Cairn is located a short walk from Waverly Station on the fringe of the New Town. Great... See full review

  • Urban Spaceman
  • May 6, 2013
Great place to stay

the hotel was great it was staffed by caring people...Very helpful...Its is within walking distance... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Apr 14, 2011

Cairn Hotel is a 52-room establishment in Edinburgh's theater district. The hotel is easily accessible by rail with the Edinburgh Waverley station only a 10-minute walk away. The new meeting room Rendezvous can accommodate up to 15. The hotel is non-smoking throughout.

Rooms

Cairn Hotel has 52 bedrooms -- 34 double or twin, nine single, and nine family. All rooms come with en suite bathroom and complimentary toiletries. Free coffee- and tea-making equipment and a direct dial phone are available in bedrooms. Hairdryers, ironing boards, and cribs are available free upon request. Connecting rooms and rooms for guests with mobility difficulties are available.

Property features

Continental breakfast is served daily for an additional fee.

 

The traditional Indian menu at Classics restaurant, which is located next to the hotel, also offers standard European food.

 

The hotel offers a range of alternative relaxation therapies, such as reflexology, Reiki, yoga, meditation, hypnotherapy, and handwriting analysis.

Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi in the lobby
  • Close to Edinburgh's historic old town and Castle
  • On-site restaurant
Nearby attractions
  • Scottish National Portrait Gallery (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Scottish Parliament (0.8 mi/1.28 km)
  • St. Giles Cathedral (0.9 mi/1.44 km)
  • Princes Street Gardens (0.9 mi/1.44 km)
  • Greyfriars Kirkyard (1.1 mi/1.77 km)
  • Edinburgh Castle (1.2 mi/1.93 km)
  • Edinburgh Zoo (3.8 mi/6.11km)
Business
  • Rendezvous meeting room can accommodate up to 15
  • Edinburgh International Conference Centre (1.7 mi/2.73 km)
Transportation
  • Edinburgh Airport (8.6 mi/13.84 km)
  • Edinburgh Rail Station nearby
  • Transfer bus from airport to city center

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Cairn Hotel Edinburgh also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Cairn Hotel Edinburgh Rooms

Standard Double/Twin
Room offers 1 double bed or 1 twin with private bathroom hairdryer, iron/ironing board, tea and coffee making facilities and telephone.
Standard Single
Room offer 1 twin bed with private bathroom hairdryer, iron/ironing board, tea and coffee making facilities and telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Calton Hill: 0.2 mi
  • Edinburgh Playhouse: 0.3 mi
  • Pilrig: 0.5 mi
  • People's Story: 0.5 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • The Canongate: 0.5 mi
  • Holyroodhouse Palace: 0.5 mi
  • Abbeyhill: 0.5 mi
  • Scottish Parliament: 0.5 mi
  • Royal Mile: 0.5 mi
  • Princes Mall: 0.5 mi
  • Holyrood: 0.5 mi
  • Easter Road: 0.5 mi
  • Jim Garrahy's Fudge Kitchen: 0.6 mi
  • Underground City: 0.6 mi
  • Calton Hill: 0.2 mi
  • Edinburgh Playhouse: 0.3 mi
  • Pilrig: 0.5 mi
  • People's Story: 0.5 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • The Canongate: 0.5 mi
  • Holyroodhouse Palace: 0.5 mi
  • Abbeyhill: 0.5 mi
  • Scottish Parliament: 0.5 mi
  • Royal Mile: 0.5 mi
  • Princes Mall: 0.5 mi
  • Holyrood: 0.5 mi
  • Easter Road: 0.5 mi
  • Jim Garrahy's Fudge Kitchen: 0.6 mi
  • Underground City: 0.6 mi
  • Dumbiedykes: 0.7 mi
  • St Giles Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Canonmills: 0.7 mi
  • Cowgate: 0.7 mi
  • Powderhall: 0.7 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.7 mi
  • Holyrood Abbey Church of Scotland: 0.7 mi
  • Leith Waterworld: 0.7 mi
  • Gladstone's Land: 0.7 mi
  • Princes Street: 0.7 mi
  • National Gallery of Scotland: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Scotland: 0.8 mi
  • Writer's Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Royal Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Outlook Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Scotch Whisky Heritage Centre: 0.8 mi
  • Scott Monument: 0.9 mi
  • Meadowbank: 0.9 mi
  • Grassmarket: 0.9 mi
  • Edinburgh Castle: 0.9 mi
  • Trinity House: 1 mi
  • Warriston: 1 mi
  • Royal Botanic Garden Edinburgh: 1.1 mi
  • Stockbridge: 1.1 mi
  • Georgian House: 1.1 mi
  • Lauriston: 1.1 mi
  • Restalrig: 1.1 mi
  • The Grange: 1.2 mi
  • Jock's Lodge: 1.3 mi
  • Meadow park: 1.3 mi

Dining

Restaurant
Continental breakfast is offered to guests each morning at a cost of 5 pounds per person. There is a comfortable and spacious lounge with modern furnishings. It is an ideal place for customers to relax and enjoy a drink from the bar.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Cairn Hotel Edinburgh

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
29 out of 29
Amenities:
2.8
Cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.5

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cairn Hotel Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Murrieta, CA
Jul 8, 2009

Quaint in both a good and bad sense.

Overall, this is a nice little hotel. They have taken several row houses and opened them up into hotel space. Now, I requested a single, since I was staying by myself and what I got was a tiny room with a single bed. Not really what I was expecting, so make sure to specify if you need a larger space. I'm a big guy and it was actually difficult for me to get in and out of the shower. Everything worked and I was only staying for a few nights, so it wasn't bad, just tight. No AC, not usually a problem in this part of the world, but it happened to be warm when I was there in July. Edinburgh is putting in a tram line down town, as of summer 2009, it is a long way from being finished. This made it a little difficult to walk to and from the hotel. Taxis had no trouble getting through. (It was a 5 pound taxi ride with tip)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cairn Hotel Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Omaha, NE
Oct 26, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price

Hotel was fine. Staff was pleasant and helpful. Price was good. Location was good, close to the city centre and restaurants and bars. Rooms are a bit small when compared to North American standards. Everything was fine until the last day when we found a mouse in the room. They immediately moved us to another room for our last day. I would probably stay there again, both for the location and the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cairn Hotel Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Urban Spaceman
Business
Portland, Oregon
May 6, 2013

Great Location on the Fringe

The Cairn is located a short walk from Waverly Station on the fringe of the New Town. Great location and close to many amenities. The hotel itself is divided into a main and annex across the street; my room was in the annex on the ground floor. The room, at the back away from the street overlooking an overgrown garden, was clean, pleasant and blissfully quiet, so quiet the birds chirping outside were a welcome change from the hard sounds of the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't miss the opportunity to share a local pint or a peaty whisky in one of Edinburgh's older pubs.

Review of Cairn Hotel Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Patunia
Business
Montana
Sep 14, 2010

Unbeatable location for thr price

1st trip

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Edinburgh, UK really does not have street signs on poles at corners like other towns. Get a good map and you will find the names of the streets edged in stone on the building. Each corner of the building might have a different street name or different place name. Most of the buildings are Georgian design, so don't reley on a place and then turn at that corner because alot of the buldings are similar in color or size

Review of Cairn Hotel Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Apr 14, 2011

Great place to stay

the hotel was great it was staffed by caring people...Very helpful...Its is within walking distance of all major attractions...my bed was so comfortable..all around great time....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cairn Hotel Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vacaville, CA
Oct 17, 2010

Pleasant Hotel

This is a small hotel. The staff was very friendly and eager to help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to Edinburgh Castle, Shopping, and restaurants.

Review of Cairn Hotel Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nyssa, The Travelling Student
Business
Orono, ME
Nov 16, 2010

Great Surprise

I loved it! The staff were great and friendly. The lounge was clean and comfortable. It was a great location and really inexpensive. The restaurant downstairs had amazing food and the men that run it are very nice to talk to. The only downside was that my room got a total of about three or four tv stations which was actually good because it kept me out and about in the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Bring your student ID if you go to college. Everything in the city has major discounts for students.

Review of Cairn Hotel Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Williamsburg
Mar 12, 2011

good location

Great location, friendly staff, all in all it was a nice place. Very reasonably priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cairn Hotel Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Murrieta, CA
Jul 8, 2009

Quaint in both a good and bad sense.

Overall, this is a nice little hotel. They have taken several row houses and opened them up into hotel space. Now, I requested a single, since I was staying by myself and what I got was a tiny room with a single bed. Not really what I was expecting, so make sure to specify if you need a larger space. I'm a big guy and it was actually difficult for me to get in and out of the shower. Everything worked and I was only staying for a few nights, so it wasn't bad, just tight. No AC, not usually a problem in this part of the world, but it happened to be warm when I was there in July. Edinburgh is putting in a tram line down town, as of summer 2009, it is a long way from being finished. This made it a little difficult to walk to and from the hotel. Taxis had no trouble getting through. (It was a 5 pound taxi ride with tip)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cairn Hotel Edinburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Omaha, NE
Oct 26, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price

Hotel was fine. Staff was pleasant and helpful. Price was good. Location was good, close to the city centre and restaurants and bars. Rooms are a bit small when compared to North American standards. Everything was fine until the last day when we found a mouse in the room. They immediately moved us to another room for our last day. I would probably stay there again, both for the location and the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top