$157 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

Apex International

4 stars
31-35 Grassmarket, Scotland, Edinburgh, EH1 2HS
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
61 reviews
4 Lady pensioners see the Christmas markets

arrived 8am, we were going to leave the cases but our room ready! Staff very friendly, helpful.... See full review

  • MoniN
  • Dec 7, 2013
Excellent stay

Staff was very accommodating. Room was excellent. When I asked for a room facing the castle, they... See full review

  • Rich St
  • May 13, 2013
Deluxe four-star hotel in one of Edinburgh’s trendiest districts
The Apex International Hotel is located in the heart of Edinburgh’s Grassmarket, with 169 stunning luxury rooms, two restaurants (including Heights with two AA rosettes and fantastic views of Edinburgh Castle), private dining, extensive conference and event venues, and luxurious leisure facilities including pool and gym. Free wireless Internet and telephone access are available so guests can stay connected.
Highlights
  • Located in Edinburgh’s historic yet fashionable Grassmarket
  • Luxury rooftop restaurant with spectacular views of Edinburgh Castle
  • Relaxed bar and brasserie
  • Excellent meeting and business facilities
  • Children under 12 stay and eat free when sharing a room with two adults
Rooms
The Apex International has 169 rooms to choose from, all of which are non-smoking. Five different styles of rooms are available, from standard city queen to deluxe king. All rooms come with at least one queen sized bed, a desk and chair, a bath and/or walk-in power shower, and are decorated with limited edition art. 42” LCD screen televisions come as standard with satellite channels. Deluxe rooms also include a balcony with views of the castle, a fridge, and a safe. Room service is available 24 hours a day.
Features
The hotel has two dining venues, Heights Restaurant and Metro Bar & Brasserie. Heights has an outstanding view of the Castle, balcony access, and two AA rosettes. Breakfast is served seven days a week and dinner is served Thursday-Saturday. Metro is open for lunch and dinner, Monday-Sunday. A traditional Sunday roast is served every week. The restaurants can be hired for private dining, or guests can hire one of the six other private dining venues. Yu Time leisure and fitness zone offers a state-of-the-art gym, tropicarium, and stainless steel pool. Yu Time is only available to guests and is open daily. Free, high-speed Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel.
Transportation
  • Edinburgh Rail Station (4 minutes by taxi)
  • Edinburgh Airport (7.6 mi/12.2 km)
  • Transfer bus from airport to city center
Nearby attractions
  • Edinburgh Castle (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Greyfriars Kirkyard (0.4 mi/0.64 km)
  • Edinburgh Old Town (0.4 mi/0.64 km)
  • Princes Street Gardens (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
Business
  • Free, high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Seven meeting venues
  • Dedicated event planning team
  • Free AV equipment
  • Edinburgh International Conference Centre (0.8 mi/1.28 km)

Apex International Rooms

Family Room
Family Room featuring two Queen beds, bath and/or spacious walk in shower, free WiFi, 42 inch LCD TV with DVD/CD and your own Apex duck. Enjoy your stay in our sophisticated Family rooms measuring an average of 24 square metres with two Queen size beds. The spacious bathrooms have separate bath and/or spacious walk in shower with luxurious Elemis toiletries. Your in-room essentials also include a large desk and chair, fridge, safe, iron, ironing board, tea and coffee facilities, a sweet treat and complimentary still and sparkling water each day.
City Twin
City room amenities include 2 queen beds, 42" widescreen LCD TV, shower, bath, large desk, ground coffee and selected teas, specially blended toiletries, choice of pillows, iron and ironing board, limited edition artwork, free wireless internet access and local calls. The use of warm wood tones, cool decor, textured fabrics and crisp white bedding complete the modern, stylish feel.
City Double
City room amenities include 1 queen bed, 42" widescreen LCD TV, shower, bath, large desk, ground coffee and selected teas, specially blended toiletries, choice of pillows, iron and ironing board, limited edition artwork, free wireless internet access and local calls. The use of warm wood tones, cool decor, textured fabrics and crisp white bedding complete the modern, stylish feel.
Superior Double
Superior room includes 1 queen bed, bathrobes and slippers, savoury and sweet snacks, specially enhanced toiletries, together with standard room amenities of 42" widescreen LCD TV, shower, bath, large desk, ground coffee and selected teas, choice of pillows, iron and ironing board, limited edition artwork, free wireless internet access and local calls. The use of warm wood tones, cool decor, luxury fabrics and crisp white bedding complete the modern, stylish feel.
Deluxe Double
Deluxe room includes 1 king bed, balcony with Castle Views, bathrobes and slippers, savoury and sweet snacks, specially enhanced toiletries, together with standard room amenities of 42" widescreen LCD TV, shower, bath, large desk, ground coffee and selected teas, choice of pillows, iron and ironing board, limited edition artwork, free wireless internet access and local calls. The use of warm wood tones, cool decor, luxury fabrics and crisp white bedding complete the modern, stylish feel.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Apex International also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

55.9472 -3.1965
Area served
Edinburgh, Scotland
Nearby airports
Dundee, (DND), 60.00, MI, S; Newcastle Intl, (NCL), 98.00, MI, NW; Glasgow International, (GLA), 45.00, MI, E; Edinburgh Turnhouse, (EDI), 8.00, MI, E; Glasgow Prestwick, (PIK), 78.00, MI, NE;
Area description
Within the heart of Edinburgh's Old Town in the shadow of Edinburgh Castle sits the Apex International Hotel. With bedrooms that are within what seems touching distance of the castle aswell as a rooftop restaurant with unrestricted views of Edinburgh's show piece attraction there is no better place to stay. With a mix of conferencing facilities aswell as a gym and pool the Apex International is an ideal place to stay on either business or leisure.

Nearby points of interest

  • Grassmarket: 0 mi
  • Scotch Whisky Heritage Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Outlook Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Edinburgh Castle: 0.2 mi
  • Lauriston: 0.2 mi
  • Writer's Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Gladstone's Land: 0.2 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.2 mi
  • National Gallery of Scotland: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Scott Monument: 0.3 mi
  • St Giles Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Scotland: 0.3 mi
  • Cowgate: 0.3 mi
  • Princes Street: 0.3 mi
  • Grassmarket: 0 mi
  • Scotch Whisky Heritage Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Outlook Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Edinburgh Castle: 0.2 mi
  • Lauriston: 0.2 mi
  • Writer's Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Gladstone's Land: 0.2 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.2 mi
  • National Gallery of Scotland: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Scott Monument: 0.3 mi
  • St Giles Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Scotland: 0.3 mi
  • Cowgate: 0.3 mi
  • Princes Street: 0.3 mi
  • Underground City: 0.4 mi
  • Meadow park: 0.4 mi
  • Princes Mall: 0.4 mi
  • Jim Garrahy's Fudge Kitchen: 0.5 mi
  • Fountainbridge: 0.5 mi
  • Lochrin: 0.6 mi
  • Royal Mile: 0.6 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Georgian House: 0.6 mi
  • Trinity House: 0.6 mi
  • Marchmont: 0.6 mi
  • People's Story: 0.7 mi
  • The Canongate: 0.7 mi
  • Dumbiedykes: 0.7 mi
  • Haymarket: 0.8 mi
  • Sciennes: 0.8 mi
  • Bruntsfield: 0.8 mi
  • Calton Hill: 0.8 mi
  • Dean Village: 0.9 mi
  • Merchiston: 0.9 mi
  • Dalry: 0.9 mi
  • Scottish Parliament: 0.9 mi
  • Newington: 0.9 mi
  • Holyroodhouse Palace: 1 mi
  • Stockbridge: 1 mi
  • Holyrood: 1 mi
  • Greenhill: 1 mi
  • Canonmills: 1.1 mi
  • Burghmuirhead: 1.1 mi
  • Church Hill: 1.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Apex International is centrally located in Edinburgh's old town, with easy access from Waverley Station. Car parking is available at the hotel at a cost of 12.00 per day, and additional spaces close by at a multi-storey car park on Castle Terrace. There are six rooms in the conference centre, chic and stylish with light reflective black glass table tops and they all come with an impressive range of facilities; TV and video, projector, flipchart, fax and phone, wi-fi internet access, ice-cold drinks fridge, complimentary fresh fruit platter and snacks. The Apex Suite is our largest events room in Edinburgh with a capacity of 250, superb acoustics and feature lighting - perfect for larger meetings, presentations and product launches. The flexible Sydney, San Francisco and Amsterdam rooms are perfect for medium-sized meetings, and the smaller Rome and Montreal rooms are suitable for up to 10 boardroom.

Dining

Heights and Metro
There are two dining venues to choose from. The award-winning Heights Restaurant serves up fresh, imaginative fine cuisine with the stunning backdrop of Edinburgh Castle. Metro Bar and Brasserie offers laid-back dining in cool, relaxing surroundings.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1430
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (61)

Ratings and reviews for Apex International

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
32 out of 61
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Apex International

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jonthn
Little Rock, Arkansas
Dec 28, 2013

Great View and Great Location

We asked to get a view and for a few dollars a night more they moved us from the back to the front with a great view of edinburgh castle. Had dinner upstairs also with view...food and service was great. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Great pubs in plaza across street and royal mile is five minute walk.

Review of Apex International

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SusieQ traveller
Bucks County, PA
Sep 18, 2013

good value and location

Attractive hotel, great view of Edinburgh Castle from the front of the hotel, not from our room however. Was only a one night stay, but hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Were disappointed that breakfast was not included in our price, as 4 other hotels we stayed in during our visit did. Pool looked nice, but we didn't have time to enjoy it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Apex International

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
24 The Road
Canada
Jun 10, 2013

Good location

The hotel was central to what we wished to see & do while in Edinburgh. Staff were very helpful, giving us directions to buses etc. We did not eat at the hotel as I felt the 10 pounds was a little pricey for a simple breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you take the shuttle from the airport, get off at Princes & Lothian Rd. stop & walk the short distance along Lothian & Kings Stable Rd. to the hotel.

Review of Apex International

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rich St
Rochester, NY
May 13, 2013

Excellent stay

Staff was very accommodating. Room was excellent. When I asked for a room facing the castle, they gladly made the change. What a view!! Hotel had a great location. I would recommend he hotel and stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Apex International

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ejosullivan
Dublin
Apr 9, 2013

Great location but let down by a number of small issues

First off, this is a really nice looking hotel set in a great location and the view of the castle is really nice but our stay was let down by a few small things. The iron in the room did not work. We asked at the front desk for it to be replaced during the day while we were out but it wasn't, so we had to ask them again that night. A small issue. The heights restaurant on the top floor has a stunning view of the castle. Unfortunately we were seated right in front of a pillar so we couldn't see the castle. An argument took place between staff and some guests which was also a bit strange. From my reading of the situation I believe this was the guest being difficult, not the staff. The staff were really nice to us and the food was absolutely amazing. So again a small issue. Check out time is 12 but our free wifi access in the room was cut off well before this due to us booking with a travel agents. To re-enable the room wifi we were told we would have to book another night. This was at 9:30, 2 and a half hours before check out time. I don't think this is acceptable. Staff came to clean our room at 9am on the first 2 mornings until we put the "Do Not Disturb" sign out. This is very early when on holiday. Calling at 10 or 11 to clean the room is surely sufficient. Minor issue though. Also, our room was located at the end of a corridor right beside a supply closet and we were woken every morning to the sound of staff opening and closing the door to this closet. It got frustrating but again a small issue. I'm sure if we were placed in a different hotel room or at a different table in the restaurant I would have been delighted with this hotel but there were just too many small things, that when added together, annoyed me. You expect a top level experience at a 4 star hotel which is why you pay extra, but I don't think we got this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

At the heights restaurant, the smoked salmon starter and the beef main were incredibly nice.

Review of Apex International

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ally 79
Airdrie, scotland
Mar 5, 2013

perfect break

Staff friendly and helpful. Lovely room. Excellent breakfast. Would definitely return again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Apex International

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Girth
Northamptonshire
Feb 18, 2013

Decent weekend break

Great location, perfect to be able to walk everywhere and lovely views from the breakfast room, bedrooms on the back have a car park view and are a bit small. Breakfast was hit and miss with getting served, there was no way of them knowing when you arrived, I waited 40 mins before complaining day 1 then got served within 2 mins Day 2. Overall a decent weekend break hotel but certainly not mind blowing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Angels with Bagpipes restaurant, quite small, on the Royal Mile, excellent food, friendly staff, recommended

Review of Apex International

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bundle
Israel
Dec 2, 2012

Outstanding Experience

When we got here they told us we get a complimentary upgrade to a deluxe room, which was awesome. We had castle view and the room is stunning. Showers are hot and with pressure, the swimming pool is quiet and the area in the pool is warm. The sauna is very good (dry sauna). We didn't eat there so we can't know whether its good or not. The rooms are very warm!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Apex International

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Flying radio surgeon
Norfolk
Oct 11, 2012

Not good value

The price we paid did not include breakfast,and the meals in the hotel were very over priced.we dined at the local pubs.The room was very clean and tidy but not much room for clothing and no draw space.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

about 1 mile .The Standing order(Whetherspoons)

Review of Apex International

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SUPERBOOKIE
uk
Oct 10, 2012

QUALITY

the staff are so welcoming and say hello every time with a big smile they really try to help you room was quite big and bed was good close to a square full of pubs and cafes etc tour buses stop over the road

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

jimmy chungs chinese buffet at the waverley bridge train station is great vfm with really good food

Back to menu Return to top