$121 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 12, 2015 Check-out: Jul 13, 2015

Apex International

4 stars
View map of 31-35 Grassmarket, Scotland, Edinburgh, EH1 2HS

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Apex International

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
69 out of 69
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Apex International

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
marina0229
Business
Ames, IA, USA
Jun 9, 2012

fantastic family getaway

very good stay, the room is clean, staff is very friendly, there are lots of good pubs to eat and listen to life music around. really enjoyed our stay! hotel swimming-pool helps to relax in the evening after a long day of sightseeing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

everything is close

Review of Apex International

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MNlady
Business
Minneapolis, MN, USA
May 27, 2012

Great stay!

My mom and I stayed here for a night while visiting Edinburgh. Once we got there after a bit of searching around, we were pleased to find such a welcoming staff and great rooms. It was comfortable, modern and quiet. We would stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Apex International

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Albert A.
Business
Tampa, FL
May 16, 2012

Great location. Room service needs a little help.

The Apex International was a very nice place to stay in Edinburgh. Great view of Edinburgh Castle. Close to everything. Room was clean, quaint and quiet. Hotel restaurants had nice views but food was nothing special and way over priced. Plenty of better or at least equal options for far less money all up and down he street. We ordered room service one night. It was something very simple, a pizza and an order of fish and chips. They brought us a pizza and chips. When we told them there wasn't any fish, the guy said " oh, ok I'll take that off the bill so you don't pay for it". However, we ordered that because we wanted it and it took 3 phone calls for them to figure out that we didn't want it taken off the bill, rather, we wanted the fish. So, I had to wait for my wife's meal to finally arrive and I ate a cold pizza. They did nothing to compensate for this. Beyond this, I have nothing but good things to say about Apex International.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Apex International

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
William D.
Business
Phoenix, AZ
May 14, 2012

What a dump Apex "Motel"

If you are coming from a warm country to this hotel, be sure to bring your own space heater & electric blanket. The rooms have no heat source. The "hot" water is lukewarm at best, and the rooms are extremely outdated. The hallways are dark, and unsafe. The staff throughout the hotel are rude and stuck up, and don't give a hoot about your well being. Front desk does not answer your calls. There is no soundproofing to block the noise outside. Bring your ear plugs if you're planning on sleeping at night, as there is a lot of loud noise from the drunks screaming, and the police cars wailing all night. Do yourself a favour, and look elsewhere.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Apex International

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JodyErin
Business
Newport, Wales
Dec 31, 2011

Superb location and stunning views

We spent four nights over Christmas in the Apex International. We arrived to the pleasant surprise that we had been upgraded to a room with a stunning view of the castle. It was located in my favourite area of the city, the Grassmarket and the small touches like fluffy bathrobes and jelly beans made our room feel really welcoming. I would undoubtedly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Muscle Inn in the New Town does THE most incredible seafood chowder. Ghost tours are superb - try Mercat for humour and storytelling and try City of The Dead to be truly terrified.

Review of Apex International

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sadder but Wiser
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Aug 31, 2011

Lost Property

we left two spoons in the bathroom of the hotel on Day 2 of a 4-day stay. we had not had room service and these spoons looked nothing like the hotels -- we brought them from home. they were missing when we returned to our room. I reported it immediately to the front desk and said I presumed the maid picked them up by mistake and that they were in the kitchen. the next morning (Day 3), I discussed with the head of the cleaning staff on the floor. the maid was off that day and no one could fine these. i even showed her a picture of these spoons as thet are a Towle stainless pattern. The next day (day 4), when we were checking out, I finally talked to the head of housekeeping who had no ideas anything was missing as he had been out. Then he tells me I have to file a police report to get the two spoons reported -- come on!!! are they serious???? as we were checking out?? and I made it clear I wasn't accusing the maid -- just thought she made a mistake. we're out $70 for the replacement cost of the spoons. What a bunch of incompetents!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Apex International

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NOVA
Jul 26, 2011

Nice place, convenient location

The room was small but clean, and the hotel is in the Grassmarket which is close to everything. I walked everywhere! I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Apex International

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NOVA
Jul 26, 2011

Nice place, convenient location

The room was small but clean, and the hotel is in the Grassmarket which is close to everything. I walked everywhere! I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Apex International

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Durham, NC
Jul 6, 2011

Perfect location!

Handsome modern hotel, ideal location, close to the heart of the town, on a scenic square lined with nice little restaurants, with the castle looming above. Outstanding breakfast buffet. Friendly & helpful staff. Negatives: no air conditioning - room got very hot even in coolish weather. Definitely not handicap accessible; you have to drag your suitcases up half a dozen steps to get to the lobby, and again to get to the elevators. A bit noisy at night if you keep windows open to cool off. Free wireless; a bt slow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Apex International

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Durham, NC
Jul 6, 2011

Perfect location!

Handsome modern hotel, ideal location, close to the heart of the town, on a scenic square lined with nice little restaurants, with the castle looming above. Outstanding breakfast buffet. Friendly & helpful staff. Negatives: no air conditioning - room got very hot even in coolish weather. Definitely not handicap accessible; you have to drag your suitcases up half a dozen steps to get to the lobby, and again to get to the elevators. A bit noisy at night if you keep windows open to cool off. Free wireless; a bt slow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top