$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 27, 2015 Check-out: Sep 28, 2015

Apex International

4 stars
View map of 31-35 Grassmarket, Scotland, Edinburgh, EH1 2HS

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Apex International

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
65 out of 65
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Apex International

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bundle
Couples
Israel
Dec 2, 2012

Outstanding Experience

When we got here they told us we get a complimentary upgrade to a deluxe room, which was awesome. We had castle view and the room is stunning. Showers are hot and with pressure, the swimming pool is quiet and the area in the pool is warm. The sauna is very good (dry sauna). We didn't eat there so we can't know whether its good or not. The rooms are very warm!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Apex International

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kelley
Couples
Dublin
Jan 4, 2015

Lovely holiday

Loved our staff at apex!! Great location, excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Apex International

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Suzy frequent traveller
Friends
Dumfries, Scotland, UK
Dec 15, 2014

Xmas shopping weekend stay

Stayed with a group of friends for a couple of nights beginning of December. Rooms were very clean, comfortable beds with great pillows, Internet available Missed having a fridge, ice available at the bar if required. Good location and in walking distance of bars restaurants and attractions

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

But tickets in advance also worth looking at voucher sites some have good discounts for restaurants and attractions

Review of Apex International

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LindyB
Friends
Dublin
Dec 8, 2014

Girls weekend

Great hotel and fantastic location, helpful, friendly staff. One or two little problems but they didn't spoil the overall stay at the hotel. Rooms near the reception side of the hotel had no windows that could be opened and were extremely hot, there was air conditioning in these rooms but it was fixed at a certain temperature which was still way too warm. Reception said nothing could be done about the temperature but they provided a fan and an ice bucket which helped. The only other issue was the breakfast on the second day which was a bit disorganised and we had to wait nearly an hour to get our food, we weren't in a hurry but it took away from what was otherwise a very enjoyable stay in a great hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Murder Mystery walking tour - good fun and very informative

Review of Apex International

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Countess L
Couples
Chicago
Nov 20, 2014

Quite an average hotel

We stayed at Apex over July 4th weekend. The overall impression of the hotel is quite plain. The decoration is pretty much minimalist style. The location is in an average neighborhood. The room was small but with a very nice view of the Edinburgh Castle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Apex International

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super partner
Couples
Nottingham
Sep 24, 2014

Couple weekend break

Great staff, great location, great food and great price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mussels and steak = great food

Review of Apex International

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Crushing couple
Couples
Washington, DC, USA
Aug 1, 2014

No A/C

No A/C, and windows didn't open very much. Very hot and stuffy in room and lobby! Most nice modern 4 star hotels in the area have it. We had wanted to stay at their Waterloo location, but they didn't have two nights, so we never even checked for a/c at this one since the Waterloo has it. Lesson learned! The room was shabby modern. Terrible pillows, awful bed -very lumpy. Mold in the shower. Very high awkward bath tub/shower combo to step out of, nearly fell. Huge gauges/scratches in the wooden floor that should have been repaired. Would never call this a 4 star!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Breakfast was very good at their upstairs restaurant. Great view of the castle.

Review of Apex International

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Swiss Dude
Couples
Zurich
Jul 21, 2014

amazing view from restaurant

amazing view to castle from top floor restaurant (breakfast) but you need to go early or be very patient to stand in a long waiting queue. long waiting in the dinner restaurant (lowest floor). friendly staff. good location at grassmarket with lots of pubs. quite expensive hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

castle and old town are only a few minutes walk away

Review of Apex International

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Countess L
Couples
Chicago
Jul 10, 2014

Average Hotel, Room is small

I've booked a premium room with Edinburgh castle view. But the room was very small and could barely turn around. The hotel was kind of plain, clean but kind of minimum style. We slept well. Next time I will choose a more upscale hotel in Edinburgh

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Apex International

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lois Lee
Friends
Hastings
Apr 9, 2014

Apex International

Very clean, excellent location and extremely friendly and helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Dynamic Earth Millenium Project and the Harry Potter Cafe (5 minutes from the hotel)

Review of Apex International

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Loves Scotland
Friends
Chicago, IL
Jan 9, 2014

Great Location in Old Town

A nice modern hotel in the midst of Old Town Edinburgh. The staff is friendly, rooms are clean and comfy. Our room didn't have a view of the castle but considering it was New Year's Eve and people were out on the street until very late into the night, being in the back of the hotel was a benefit. But the view is great from the front - ask for a castle view room if possible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Within walking distance of Edinburgh's Hogmanay Street Party, Torchlight Procession and Concerts! A fantastic celebration - don't miss it.

Back to menu Return to top