$74 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 20, 2015 Check-out: Jan 21, 2015

Apex International

4 stars
31-35 Grassmarket, Scotland, Edinburgh, EH1 2HS
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
55 reviews
4 Lady pensioners see the Christmas markets

arrived 8am, we were going to leave the cases but our room ready! Staff very friendly, helpful.... See full review

  • MoniN
  • Dec 7, 2013
Xmas shopping weekend stay

Stayed with a group of friends for a couple of nights beginning of December. Rooms were very clean,... See full review

  • Suzy frequent traveller
  • Dec 15, 2014
Deluxe four-star hotel in one of Edinburgh’s trendiest districts
The Apex International Hotel is located in the heart of Edinburgh’s Grassmarket, with 169 stunning luxury rooms, two restaurants (including Heights with two AA rosettes and fantastic views of Edinburgh Castle), private dining, extensive conference and event venues, and luxurious leisure facilities including pool and gym. Free wireless Internet and telephone access are available so guests can stay connected.
Highlights
  • Located in Edinburgh’s historic yet fashionable Grassmarket
  • Luxury rooftop restaurant with spectacular views of Edinburgh Castle
  • Relaxed bar and brasserie
  • Excellent meeting and business facilities
  • Children under 12 stay and eat free when sharing a room with two adults
Rooms
The Apex International has 169 rooms to choose from, all of which are non-smoking. Five different styles of rooms are available, from standard city queen to deluxe king. All rooms come with at least one queen sized bed, a desk and chair, a bath and/or walk-in power shower, and are decorated with limited edition art. 42” LCD screen televisions come as standard with satellite channels. Deluxe rooms also include a balcony with views of the castle, a fridge, and a safe. Room service is available 24 hours a day.
Features
The hotel has two dining venues, Heights Restaurant and Metro Bar & Brasserie. Heights has an outstanding view of the Castle, balcony access, and two AA rosettes. Breakfast is served seven days a week and dinner is served Thursday-Saturday. Metro is open for lunch and dinner, Monday-Sunday. A traditional Sunday roast is served every week. The restaurants can be hired for private dining, or guests can hire one of the six other private dining venues. Yu Time leisure and fitness zone offers a state-of-the-art gym, tropicarium, and stainless steel pool. Yu Time is only available to guests and is open daily. Free, high-speed Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel.
Transportation
  • Edinburgh Rail Station (4 minutes by taxi)
  • Edinburgh Airport (7.6 mi/12.2 km)
  • Transfer bus from airport to city center
Nearby attractions
  • Edinburgh Castle (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Greyfriars Kirkyard (0.4 mi/0.64 km)
  • Edinburgh Old Town (0.4 mi/0.64 km)
  • Princes Street Gardens (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
Business
  • Free, high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Seven meeting venues
  • Dedicated event planning team
  • Free AV equipment
  • Edinburgh International Conference Centre (0.8 mi/1.28 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Apex International also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Apex International Rooms

City Double
City room amenities include 1 queen bed, 42" widescreen LCD TV, shower, bath, large desk, ground coffee and selected teas, specially blended toiletries, choice of pillows, iron and ironing board, limited edition artwork, free wireless internet access and local calls. The use of warm wood tones, cool decor, textured fabrics and crisp white bedding complete the modern, stylish feel.
Superior Double
Superior room includes 1 queen bed, bathrobes and slippers, savoury and sweet snacks, specially enhanced toiletries, together with standard room amenities of 42" widescreen LCD TV, shower, bath, large desk, ground coffee and selected teas, choice of pillows, iron and ironing board, limited edition artwork, free wireless internet access and local calls. The use of warm wood tones, cool decor, luxury fabrics and crisp white bedding complete the modern, stylish feel.
Deluxe Double
Deluxe room includes 1 king bed, balcony with Castle Views, bathrobes and slippers, savoury and sweet snacks, specially enhanced toiletries, together with standard room amenities of 42" widescreen LCD TV, shower, bath, large desk, ground coffee and selected teas, choice of pillows, iron and ironing board, limited edition artwork, free wireless internet access and local calls. The use of warm wood tones, cool decor, luxury fabrics and crisp white bedding complete the modern, stylish feel.
Family Room
Enjoy your stay in our sophisticated Family rooms measuring an average of 24 square metres with two Queen size beds. The spacious bathrooms have separate bath and/or spacious walk in shower with luxurious Elemis toiletries. Your in-room essentials also include a large desk and chair, fridge, safe, iron, ironing board, tea and coffee facilities, a sweet treat and complimentary still and sparkling water each day.
City Twin
City room amenities include 2 queen beds, 42" widescreen LCD TV, shower, bath, large desk, ground coffee and selected teas, specially blended toiletries, choice of pillows, iron and ironing board, limited edition artwork, free wireless internet access and local calls. The use of warm wood tones, cool decor, textured fabrics and crisp white bedding complete the modern, stylish feel.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • Grassmarket: 0 mi
  • Scotch Whisky Heritage Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Outlook Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Edinburgh Castle: 0.2 mi
  • Lauriston: 0.2 mi
  • Writer's Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Gladstone's Land: 0.2 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.2 mi
  • National Gallery of Scotland: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Scott Monument: 0.3 mi
  • St Giles Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Scotland: 0.3 mi
  • Cowgate: 0.3 mi
  • Princes Street: 0.3 mi
  • Grassmarket: 0 mi
  • Scotch Whisky Heritage Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Outlook Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Edinburgh Castle: 0.2 mi
  • Lauriston: 0.2 mi
  • Writer's Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Gladstone's Land: 0.2 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.2 mi
  • National Gallery of Scotland: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Scott Monument: 0.3 mi
  • St Giles Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Scotland: 0.3 mi
  • Cowgate: 0.3 mi
  • Princes Street: 0.3 mi
  • Underground City: 0.4 mi
  • Meadow park: 0.4 mi
  • Princes Mall: 0.4 mi
  • Jim Garrahy's Fudge Kitchen: 0.5 mi
  • Fountainbridge: 0.5 mi
  • Lochrin: 0.6 mi
  • Royal Mile: 0.6 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Georgian House: 0.6 mi
  • Trinity House: 0.6 mi
  • Marchmont: 0.6 mi
  • People's Story: 0.7 mi
  • The Canongate: 0.7 mi
  • Dumbiedykes: 0.7 mi
  • Haymarket: 0.8 mi
  • Sciennes: 0.8 mi
  • Bruntsfield: 0.8 mi
  • Calton Hill: 0.8 mi
  • Dean Village: 0.9 mi
  • Merchiston: 0.9 mi
  • Dalry: 0.9 mi
  • Scottish Parliament: 0.9 mi
  • Newington: 0.9 mi
  • Holyroodhouse Palace: 1 mi
  • Stockbridge: 1 mi
  • Holyrood: 1 mi
  • Greenhill: 1 mi
  • Canonmills: 1.1 mi
  • Burghmuirhead: 1.1 mi
  • Church Hill: 1.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Apex International is centrally located in Edinburgh's old town, with easy access from Waverley Station. Car parking is available at the hotel at a cost of 12.00 per day, and additional spaces close by at a multi-storey car park on Castle Terrace. There are six rooms in the conference centre, chic and stylish with light reflective black glass table tops and they all come with an impressive range of facilities; TV and video, projector, flipchart, fax and phone, wi-fi internet access, ice-cold drinks fridge, complimentary fresh fruit platter and snacks. The Apex Suite is our largest events room in Edinburgh with a capacity of 250, superb acoustics and feature lighting - perfect for larger meetings, presentations and product launches. The flexible Sydney, San Francisco and Amsterdam rooms are perfect for medium-sized meetings, and the smaller Rome and Montreal rooms are suitable for up to 10 boardroom.

Dining

Heights and Metro
There are two dining venues to choose from. The award-winning Heights Restaurant serves up fresh, imaginative fine cuisine with the stunning backdrop of Edinburgh Castle. Metro Bar and Brasserie offers laid-back dining in cool, relaxing surroundings.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1430
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (55)

Ratings and reviews for Apex International

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
55 out of 55
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Apex International

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bundle
Israel
Dec 2, 2012

Outstanding Experience

When we got here they told us we get a complimentary upgrade to a deluxe room, which was awesome. We had castle view and the room is stunning. Showers are hot and with pressure, the swimming pool is quiet and the area in the pool is warm. The sauna is very good (dry sauna). We didn't eat there so we can't know whether its good or not. The rooms are very warm!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Apex International

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MoniN
Business
South Wales
Dec 7, 2013

4 Lady pensioners see the Christmas markets

arrived 8am, we were going to leave the cases but our room ready! Staff very friendly, helpful. Wonderful breakfast. Comfy beds, great towels and toiletries. Very pretty area, lovely individual shops. We would all stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Apex International

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Askali
Business
London, UK
Nov 18, 2013

Great location and value!

I was tipped off to this property by an American I met on a flight from Rome to London. The reviews were all good and the price right so we went with it. Edinburgh is a walkable city already but if you want to stay by the Castle away from the shops and commercialization of Prince Street, this is the perfect spot. We booked the family room which had the two double beds as expected. We did have a view of the Castle! The hotel staff was friendly and held our bags at the beginning and end of our trip pre- and post-check in. Some items to Note: The walls might be somewhat thin. The outside noise (we were street side for the castle view) didn't bother us much (2nd floor only) but the people in the room next to us were quite loud. At 3 am? And 6 am? Also, the wall between the bathroom and bedroom was thin. I called the hotel a few times while out in Edinburgh to be connected to my Mother in the room and on three occasions I sat on hold waiting for a human to pick up for over 4 minutes each. I did appreciate the coffee maker and biscuits in the room. All in all, we would recommend for a trip! Enjoy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Head halfway up Victoria Street (few minutes away) to pink for an incredible fresh pig sandwich. Get the sage and onion stuffing and make sure they add a piece of the crackling! So good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Apex International

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
crazykate
Business
Leeds, Eng
Oct 3, 2013

Excellent city centre Hotel

Staff welcoming and helpful. Rooms very comfortable and kept clean. This hotel also had the added bonus of a swimming pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Whiskey tasting experience

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Apex International

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SusieQ traveller
Business
Bucks County, PA
Sep 18, 2013

good value and location

Attractive hotel, great view of Edinburgh Castle from the front of the hotel, not from our room however. Was only a one night stay, but hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Were disappointed that breakfast was not included in our price, as 4 other hotels we stayed in during our visit did. Pool looked nice, but we didn't have time to enjoy it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Apex International

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Susanna Supershopper
Business
Finland
Jul 10, 2013

Friendly city hotel

Hotel staff was very helpfull and friendly. Apex International is situated opposite to Edinburgh Castle and therefore has a fantastic view. It is also pretty near the main shopping streets and there are palenty of restaurants nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Apex International

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BoBry
Business
NYC, NY
Jun 16, 2013

Just Fine

The location is great. All of the downtown sights are in easy walking distance. Clean, pleasant. This is not a fancy hotel, but then it doesn't have fancy prices, either. I'd gladly stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Just across the street is a fabulous knitwear shop.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Apex International

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
24 The Road
Business
Canada
Jun 10, 2013

Good location

The hotel was central to what we wished to see & do while in Edinburgh. Staff were very helpful, giving us directions to buses etc. We did not eat at the hotel as I felt the 10 pounds was a little pricey for a simple breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you take the shuttle from the airport, get off at Princes & Lothian Rd. stop & walk the short distance along Lothian & Kings Stable Rd. to the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Apex International

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tennessee Mom
Business
Franklin, Tennessee
May 25, 2013

Watch our for Saturday revelry in Grassmarket St. pubs!

We arrived late on Saturday night and were given a room looking out at Edinburgh Castle and facing Grassmarket. Evidently Friday and Saturday nights are wild at the pubs -- with so much noise that we could not sleep until after 2 AM, even with the windows closed. The next day the staff was happy to move us to another side of the building where it was much quieter. After that, our stay was just fine. The location is excellent for touring the Old Town section of Edinburgh. Just avoid rooms looking out on Grassmarket ST. on Friday and Saturday nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Apex International

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rich St
Business
Rochester, NY
May 13, 2013

Excellent stay

Staff was very accommodating. Room was excellent. When I asked for a room facing the castle, they gladly made the change. What a view!! Hotel had a great location. I would recommend he hotel and stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Apex International

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Harries Family
Business
Cardiff
Apr 12, 2013

A pleasant stay not more than that

I was disappointed with this Hotel. All areas of the Hotel looked very tired indeed. Whilst the room had plenty of room for three of us and the beds were comfortable, it was very warm with no air con. I would hate to think what it would be like in the summer. The public areas were not inviting and the bar looked better in the night than it did in the day- very grubby However the staff were so friendly, efficient and so helpful, it was refreshing. I did not consider it value for money . Location was not great , would have preferred to be more central with buses passing by. Fantastic views of the Castle though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top