$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 7, 2015 Check-out: May 8, 2015

Apex International

4 stars
View map of 31-35 Grassmarket, Scotland, Edinburgh, EH1 2HS

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Apex International

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
68 out of 68
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Apex International

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Swiss Dude
Business
Zurich
Jul 21, 2014

amazing view from restaurant

amazing view to castle from top floor restaurant (breakfast) but you need to go early or be very patient to stand in a long waiting queue. long waiting in the dinner restaurant (lowest floor). friendly staff. good location at grassmarket with lots of pubs. quite expensive hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

castle and old town are only a few minutes walk away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Apex International

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Countess L
Business
Chicago
Jul 10, 2014

Average Hotel, Room is small

I've booked a premium room with Edinburgh castle view. But the room was very small and could barely turn around. The hotel was kind of plain, clean but kind of minimum style. We slept well. Next time I will choose a more upscale hotel in Edinburgh

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Apex International

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lois Lee
Business
Hastings
Apr 9, 2014

Apex International

Very clean, excellent location and extremely friendly and helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Dynamic Earth Millenium Project and the Harry Potter Cafe (5 minutes from the hotel)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Apex International

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Loves Scotland
Business
Chicago, IL
Jan 9, 2014

Great Location in Old Town

A nice modern hotel in the midst of Old Town Edinburgh. The staff is friendly, rooms are clean and comfy. Our room didn't have a view of the castle but considering it was New Year's Eve and people were out on the street until very late into the night, being in the back of the hotel was a benefit. But the view is great from the front - ask for a castle view room if possible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Within walking distance of Edinburgh's Hogmanay Street Party, Torchlight Procession and Concerts! A fantastic celebration - don't miss it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Apex International

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jonthn
Business
Little Rock, Arkansas
Dec 28, 2013

Great View and Great Location

We asked to get a view and for a few dollars a night more they moved us from the back to the front with a great view of edinburgh castle. Had dinner upstairs also with view...food and service was great. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Great pubs in plaza across street and royal mile is five minute walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Apex International

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Xmas 2013
Business
Geneva
Dec 27, 2013

Great Scotish hospitality

This hotel is very well located and if you are lucky enough to get a room that faces the castle, the view is wonderful. The staff is very friendly and helpful, the rooms are very clean and sufficiently large (we were 4 people) and the hotel is family-friendly. The pool was beautiful, but too cold for us. Luckily the sauna was toasty. We can only recommend this hotel and we will definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Apex International

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MoniN
Business
South Wales
Dec 7, 2013

4 Lady pensioners see the Christmas markets

arrived 8am, we were going to leave the cases but our room ready! Staff very friendly, helpful. Wonderful breakfast. Comfy beds, great towels and toiletries. Very pretty area, lovely individual shops. We would all stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Apex International

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Askali
Business
London, UK
Nov 18, 2013

Great location and value!

I was tipped off to this property by an American I met on a flight from Rome to London. The reviews were all good and the price right so we went with it. Edinburgh is a walkable city already but if you want to stay by the Castle away from the shops and commercialization of Prince Street, this is the perfect spot. We booked the family room which had the two double beds as expected. We did have a view of the Castle! The hotel staff was friendly and held our bags at the beginning and end of our trip pre- and post-check in. Some items to Note: The walls might be somewhat thin. The outside noise (we were street side for the castle view) didn't bother us much (2nd floor only) but the people in the room next to us were quite loud. At 3 am? And 6 am? Also, the wall between the bathroom and bedroom was thin. I called the hotel a few times while out in Edinburgh to be connected to my Mother in the room and on three occasions I sat on hold waiting for a human to pick up for over 4 minutes each. I did appreciate the coffee maker and biscuits in the room. All in all, we would recommend for a trip! Enjoy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Head halfway up Victoria Street (few minutes away) to pink for an incredible fresh pig sandwich. Get the sage and onion stuffing and make sure they add a piece of the crackling! So good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Apex International

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
crazykate
Business
Leeds, Eng
Oct 3, 2013

Excellent city centre Hotel

Staff welcoming and helpful. Rooms very comfortable and kept clean. This hotel also had the added bonus of a swimming pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Whiskey tasting experience

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Apex International

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SusieQ traveller
Business
Bucks County, PA
Sep 18, 2013

good value and location

Attractive hotel, great view of Edinburgh Castle from the front of the hotel, not from our room however. Was only a one night stay, but hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Were disappointed that breakfast was not included in our price, as 4 other hotels we stayed in during our visit did. Pool looked nice, but we didn't have time to enjoy it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top