$62 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

Royal Cardiff Hotel

4 stars
88 St Mary Street, Wales, Cardiff, CF10 1DW
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
13 reviews
Just steps away from everything

The hotel is located just 1 street away from the Cardiff Train station as well as Coach station.... See full review

  • AL88
  • Jul 16, 2014
Perfect business hotel

Easily reached from the train station I was a little confused about getting to reception but... See full review

  • Auspom
  • Jun 26, 2014
The Royal Hotel Cardiff boasts one of the best city centre locations within Wales' Capital. It is a Grade II Listed Victorian building in Italianate Style built in 1866 and is Cardiff's oldest hotel. The 60 bedrooms in this urban retreat are of a contemporary style with the latest technology which includes Air Conditioning, 37-42 inch HD TV's, in room safe and free Wi-Fi which is available throughout the Hotel. Relax and unwind in Fitz's bar with our great selection of light meals, snacks and sample our made to order cocktails. Located on the second floor above the hustle and bustle of the vibrant capital city, The hotel is situated at the junction of St Mary Street, Wood Street and Westgate Street, with entrances on both St Mary Street and Westgate Street. The closest Hotel to the Millennium Stadium gates, many of our rooms overlook the iconic building, home to major international sporting events and concerts. Just two minutes walk away, the St David's Shopping centre boasts some of the world's finest designer shops. Breakfast is served most mornings in the famous Oak Panelled Scott Room which can seat up to 130 guests and it was in this room that Captain Robert Falcon Scott held his farewell dinner prior to his fateful expedition to the Antarctic in 1910. Please Note: All credit cards are subject to a 2.00 GBP administration fee (this does not apply to Debit cards).

Hotel Map

51.4779 -3.1778
Area served
Cardiff.
Nearby airports
Cardiff International Airport (CWL EGFF). This airport is about 9 miles from the centre of Cardiff, United Kingdom.
Area description
The hotel is situated at the junction of St Mary Street, Wood Street and Westgate Street, with entrances on both St Mary Street and Westgate Street. The closest Hotel to the Millennium Stadium gates, many of our rooms overlook the iconic building, home to major international sporting events and concerts. Just two minutes walk away, the St David's Shopping centre boasts some of the world's finest designer shops. Car parking is available at the Cardiff Arms Park for 10 per day. This is located at the top end of Westgate Street, opposite the Angel Hotel and through the iron gates. The postcode is CF10 1JA. Alternative parking is available at the NCP car parks on Quay Street (accessed by Westgate Street) and Wood Street (accessed by St Mary Street).

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal Cardiff Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 5.0 out of 5

Royal Cardiff Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Double Room
Deluxe Double Room offers 1 king size bed in the largest rooms in the Hotel. All 60 bedrooms at The Royal Hotel Cardiff are contemporary with a combination of neutral colors and bold furnishings. With 100% Egyptian percale cotton bed sheets on pocket sprung beds and over-sized goose down pillows you'll rarely enjoy a more comfortable nights sleep. Bathrooms are finished in natural limestone, with invigorating massage showers or deep baths, complete with luxurious towels. All rooms have: air-conditioning, triple glazing, a selection of teas and coffees, safe, salon-style hairdryer, luxurious BeeKind bathroom products, 50 inch HD TV's, free high-speed wi-fi Internet access. Deluxe extras include bathrobes, mineral water and a bottle of wine on arrival (colour of your choice)
Standard Twin Room
Standard Twin Room offers two single beds. All 60 bedrooms at The Royal Hotel Cardiff are contemporary with a combination of neutral colors and bold furnishings. With 100% Egyptian percale cotton bed sheets on pocket sprung beds and over-sized goose down pillows you'll rarely enjoy a more comfortable nights sleep. Bathrooms are finished in natural limestone, with invigorating massage showers or deep baths, complete with luxurious towels. All rooms have: air-conditioning, triple glazing, a selection of teas and coffees, safe, salon-style hairdryer, luxurious BeeKind bathroom products, 32-42 inch HD TV's, free high-speed wi-fi Internet access.
Standard Double Room
Standard Double Room offers 2 single double bed. All 60 bedrooms at The Royal Hotel Cardiff are contemporary with a combination of neutral colors and bold furnishings. With 100% Egyptian percale cotton bed sheets on pocket sprung beds and over-sized goose down pillows you'll rarely enjoy a more comfortable nights sleep. Bathrooms are finished in natural limestone, with invigorating massage showers or deep baths, complete with luxurious towels. All rooms have: air-conditioning, triple glazing, a selection of teas and coffees, safe, salon-style hairdryer, luxurious BeeKind bathroom products, 32-42 inch HD TV's, free high-speed wi-fi Internet access.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled

Nearby points of interest

  • Cardiff Crown Court: 0.2 mi
  • Millenium Stadium Cardiff: 0.2 mi
  • Cardiff International Arena: 0.3 mi
  • Motorpoint Arena Cardiff: 0.4 mi
  • River Taff: 0.6 mi
  • Cardiff Metropolitan University: 0.8 mi
  • Cardiff City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • The Gate Arts Centre: 0.9 mi
  • Wales Millennium Centre: 0.9 mi
  • Bute Park: 1 mi
  • Cardiff City Stadium: 1.1 mi
  • Mermaid Quay: 1.3 mi
  • Cardiff International Pool: 1.9 mi
  • Cardiff victoria Park: 2 mi
  • Roath Park: 2.2 mi
  • Cardiff Crown Court: 0.2 mi
  • Millenium Stadium Cardiff: 0.2 mi
  • Cardiff International Arena: 0.3 mi
  • Motorpoint Arena Cardiff: 0.4 mi
  • River Taff: 0.6 mi
  • Cardiff Metropolitan University: 0.8 mi
  • Cardiff City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • The Gate Arts Centre: 0.9 mi
  • Wales Millennium Centre: 0.9 mi
  • Bute Park: 1 mi
  • Cardiff City Stadium: 1.1 mi
  • Mermaid Quay: 1.3 mi
  • Cardiff International Pool: 1.9 mi
  • Cardiff victoria Park: 2 mi
  • Roath Park: 2.2 mi
  • Llandaff Cathedral: 2.4 mi
  • St Fagans National History Museum: 4.1 mi
  • Castell Coch: 5.3 mi
  • Parc Play: 5.8 mi
  • Rhondda Heritage Park: 12.9 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting and Events rooms are available, the largest being the famous Oak Paneled Scott Room which can seat up to 130 guests and is an ideal wedding venue. It was in this room that Captain Scott held his farewell dinner prior to his fateful expedition to the Antarctic.

Dining

Fitz's Bar
Relax and unwind in Fitz's bar with our great selection of light meals, snacks and sample our made to order cocktails. Hot food served from 5pm-9.30pm, Monday-Saturday.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (13)

Ratings and reviews for Royal Cardiff Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 13
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Cardiff Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Roslyn
Not Provided
Apr 4, 2009

Fantastic, we were able to check

Fantastic, we were able to check in early and also leave our cases before our train left The staff were wonderfully polite and helpful 2 minor observations only, the toilet roles were a bit 'cheap' (we like really soft ones..) we were given a map with instructions to the inernatioal arena, but we didnt realise at first that there were 2 entrances, and the map reflected the journey from the opposite enrance to which we entered

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Royal Cardiff Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AL88
Hong Kong
Jul 16, 2014

Just steps away from everything

The hotel is located just 1 street away from the Cardiff Train station as well as Coach station. The hotel is fully air-conditioned, with lift and free wifi. Staff are friendly and helpful. Room are not biggest but is reasonable, and clean. Especially impressed by the shampoo and shower gel which are made from organic honey with lemon grass extracts. The hotel is also just few minutes walk away from a variety of good restaurants eg Bill's kitchen, ASK and Jamie Oliver, as well as shopping mall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Bill's kitchen offers a very nice environment and food. The Wok on walk - takeaway style Chinese food just at the back of the hotel is also very good, reasonable price with good quality.

Review of Royal Cardiff Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Auspom
Business
Perth australia
Jun 26, 2014

Perfect business hotel

Easily reached from the train station I was a little confused about getting to reception but figured the lift out to the lobby fairly quickly. Reception staff were very friendly and had my room ready ahead of schedule. The room was better than I expected given the price and was really well presented and clean. I stay in many hotels and e key items for me are comfortable beds (obviously), a clean and working iron and ironing board, good towels and toiletries and a good temperature. Even though it was a very hot day by Cardiff standards the room was comfortable and i didn't even need the air con. The bed was excellent and the bathroom faultless. I didn't eat at the hotel as it is so centrally located there are myriad bars , cafés and restaurants around. However the breakfast room and bar area looked good. Overall it was an excellent stay and huge value for money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take out annual travel insurance. Saves you in so many ways.

Review of Royal Cardiff Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Evans4358
Barry, South Wales
Apr 25, 2014

Too warm , no Helpfull staff

Started well nice friendly welcome , upon waking into room we were hit with how hot and stuffy the room was , tried opening the window and they're bolted shut so no fresh air to start with , turned on the so called air conditioning and the lowest temperature available was 19 degrees so that weren't too Helpful either especially when it didn't work , tried ringing reception about the window and air con , no answer , they then tried charging us for that call and told us there was nothing they can do about the heat , all In all it's a good hotel for the winter but that's it only .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Royal Cardiff Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Hopefulswan
woodbridge
Jan 6, 2014

Noy good enough

Although a well presented hotel in a great area of Cardiff during my stay I encountered a few issues. The first one being the lack of information about parking and when finally told the fact that is cost £12 per car. Which I feel was very expensive for hotel parking. Overall Cleanliness of the room was good however the chair provided was filthy all over. My last issue was with the door to the room. Every time a neighbouring room open/closed their door our door slammed against the frame waking my partner and I up thoughout the night. The hotel did offer us a free upgrade next time we stayed however this was only a verbal agreement with the receptionist, I won't be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Royal Cardiff Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
McBais
Winnipeg Manitoba
Sep 25, 2013

September Vacation

Great location as it is near the castle and shops. Great bus system and easy access. Had a few problems that were solved in a timely fashion. A lot of great eateries near by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Royal Cardiff Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Snewbury
Neath South Wales
Jul 19, 2013

Cardif break

Very nice hotel pleasant staff excelent location didn't eat in hotel so can not comment but would definatlly stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Royal Cardiff Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ErikCJ
Richmond VA
Apr 5, 2013

Excellent value, location and service

Great city center location on St.Mary's pedestrian zone, close to teh castle, stadium and train/bus stations, and not far from Cardiff Bay. Staff were great, rooms were clean and overall an excellent value for the price. Only weird thing was the lack of asoap dish or shelf in the showers, but heated towel racks were a nice touch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the Live Lounge for live music nearby almost every night.

Review of Royal Cardiff Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Conn and the Boys
Wicklow
Feb 13, 2013

W/E with 5 Old Fella's

Staff were really really nice and very helpful especially Leighton on arrival Late Bar staff also bril. Only semi complaint, breakfast very expensive at £11.50 for a fry that you could get down the street for as little as £4. So we went down the road. Mind you would not rush back to Cardiff, a bit dead, and food options not good, in fact awful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't spend money on supposed good restaurants. There don't seems to be any in central Cardiff

Review of Royal Cardiff Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fish9
Business
bristol, uk
Jan 28, 2013

Great overnight stay

I just wanted a hotel to stay overnight in Cardiff and I had a very good experience here. The facilities were perfect and with it's great central location it was ideal. Definitely would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Cardiff Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Paul
Not Provided
Jun 21, 2009

I though that the check in time

I though that the check in time was relativly late (3pm) compared with other hotels that I have stayed in. However, when we did return earlier at 2pm we were checked in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search