$88 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 1, 2014 Check-out: Dec 2, 2014

The Big Blue Hotel - Pleasure Beach Resort

4 stars
Ocean Boulevard, Blackpool Pleasure Beach, Pleasure Beach, Blackpool, FY4 1ND
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
14 reviews
wonderful hotel

Lovely one night getaway, great staff, brilliant location fantastic room and breakfast. Ideal for... See full review

  • amanda katherine
  • Sep 24, 2014
Great for couples and families

Staff all very polite couldn't do enough for you! Rooms were amazing very spacious and we loved the... See full review

  • Cloi1991
  • May 7, 2014
Welcome to the Big Blue Hotel at Pleasure Beach, Blackpool, where chic, cutting-edge design blends seamlessly with an attention to detail and a level of service that is second to none.

This modern, 4-star hotel is perfectly located for a luxury break, business trip or family holiday, with modern accommodation at affordable prices. Each one of the hotel's spacious rooms and suites provides maximum comfort and ease for guests, with an elegant combination of neutral tones, clean lines of dark woods and sleek furnishings.

The Big Blue offers contemporary family accommodation right next to Pleasure Beach, Blackpool's biggest tourist attraction, and is within easy reach of all of Blackpool's main attractions so families are guaranteed to get the most out of their trip.

The hotel now has an exclusive entrance to the Pleasure Beach for hotel guests only. On all Pleasure Beach opening dates the entrance adjacent to the hotel will be open for the first 90 minutes to allow entrance onto the Pleasure Beach - allowing quick and easy access for guests with a wristband or Pleasurebeach Pass issued at the hotel reception!

The hotel also has complimentary WiFi internet access in all bedrooms, public areas and meeting rooms.

Dining at the Big Blue hotel is an unforgettable experience whether it's a lazy cappuccino in the cafe bar or a delicious gourmet meal in Blues Bar and Brasserie. Children can create their own fresh pizzas while parents can choose from an extensive menu designed with a European feel using only fresh, local produce. Sink into a soft leather armchair and enjoy a long cool drink after a day on the rides or sip a Big Blue cocktail at the bar and just simply people watch. Please Note That The hotel does not accept single sex parties or groups larger than three rooms. Please note: Blackpool Pleasure Beach will be operational until 12:00 midnight on Saturday 08th November 2014

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Big Blue Hotel - Pleasure Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 5.0 out of 5

The Big Blue Hotel - Pleasure Beach Resort Rooms

SUPERIOR - DOUBLE
The room offers 1 Double with Bath & Shower, Flat Screen TV With Freeview, Telephone, Air Conditioning, Tea/Coffee Facilities, Hairdryer, Work Desk and DVD Player.
SUPERIOR - FAMILY
The room offers 1 King with Children's Area Complete With Child Size 5ft Bunk Beds,Bath & Shower, Flat Screen TV With Freeview, Telephone, Air Conditioning, Tea/Coffee Facilities, Hairdryer, Work Desk and DVD Player.
DELUXE - DOUBLE
The room offers 1 Queen or King Bed With Lounge/Seating Area With Contemporary Fireplace, Designer Furnishings, Bath & Shower, Flat Screen TV With Freeview, Telephone, Air Conditioning, Tea/Coffee Facilities, Hairdryer, Work Desk and DVD Player.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Winter Gardens Blackpool: 1.4 mi

Dining

Blues Bar & Brasserie
Dining at the Big Blue hotel is an unforgettable experience whether it's a lazy cappuccino in the cafe bar or a delicious gourmet meal in Blues Bar and Brasserie. Children can create their own fresh pizzas while parents can choose from an extensive menu designed with a European feel using only fresh, local produce.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
A range of meeting rooms are available up to 55 delegates.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (14)

Ratings and reviews for The Big Blue Hotel - Pleasure Beach Resort

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
14 out of 14
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Big Blue Hotel - Pleasure Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maggie
Business
Bolsover
Sep 18, 2010

Best hotel in Blackpool

Comfortable and welcoming. Food was really good. Good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Big Blue Hotel - Pleasure Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ColPam1
Business
Manchester, UK
Feb 21, 2012

As Couple

Very good overall experience. The room, staff and restaurant was very good. I hope to make a return visit in the near future

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Big Blue Hotel - Pleasure Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Holiday maker
Business
west lothian
Jul 11, 2012

Family getaway

excellent overnight stay with theme park bands included

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Big Blue Hotel - Pleasure Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Flying Visitor
Business
Dublin, Ireland
Mar 11, 2013

Very comfortable

Well located at the south end of Blackpool and near the airport, our room (double deluxe) was very comfortable and spacious. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Food was good, if not exceptional, and there was nothing outstanding about the hotel to immediately encourage a return visit. However, it was good standard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Big Blue Hotel - Pleasure Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PJFroggatt
Business
Cheshire
Mar 26, 2013

Freezing Cold

Arrived at the hotel around 3pm on on of the coldest days of the year, we were told we had been upgraded to a deluxe double room. However, on entering the room we were dissapointed at the size of the room and the fact it was like an ice box in there. After trying in vain to get the radiator to warm up I phoned reception, to their credit the duty manager came up and again tried to get the heating on, sadly without success. He went off to investigate this and promised to bring us a fab heater to warm the room up. We sought sanctuary in the hotel bar only to find this freezing as well. We were told that the heating had been fixed and headed off to our room to get showered. Sadly is was now 6.30pm so we decided to head off to explore the town's infamous nightlife. All in all we had a great stay but felt the room was overpriced, we had paid £103 for our room and felt it was very small for the money. The hotel was immaculate and the staff very helpfull and polite. We will probably not return because of both the price and location, at 3 miles from the centre it is very far out especially with a biting sea fron wind.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Sit upstairs in Wetherspoons and enjoy viewing all the goings on. Great value drinks too !!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Big Blue Hotel - Pleasure Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NicolaSimps
Business
Catterick garrison
Aug 26, 2013

Fantastic family hotel

We stayed here for 3 nights and have no complaints.Room was perfect for what we needed and the location for the pleasure beach was brilliant, you can purchase priority passes at the reception so you so not have to que for the park.The staff were brilliant always friendly and willing to help and the breakfast buffet had plenty of choice and was all very tasty. We ate in the restaurant on 2 nights of our stay and the food was fantastic both times with a great choice.Would definitely return to this hotel and would highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Would definitely recommend you eat in the hotel on at least 1 night of your stay.Food is fantastic!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Big Blue Hotel - Pleasure Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ElaineW26
Business
Dublin, Ireland
Dec 10, 2013

Clean, comfortable & cheerful

Had a lovely stay at the Big Blue...., found staff to be very friendly & accommodating. Our room was very clean & comfortable, therefore it served it's purpose. Would very much recommend..., those traveling with children will be glad to know that the rooms come with bunk beds in so a family of four will fit just nicely!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Big Blue Hotel - Pleasure Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
steebee
Business
Yorkshire
Jul 15, 2014

Perfect for the Pleasure beach

Stayed last year and did the same again for a seaside treat with our two girls aged 7 & 5. The family rooms with the bunk beds are perfect when the girls are this age. Hotel clean, staff friendly and efficient and rooms big enough for family of 4. Nice buffet breakfast. The pleasure beach access is great and the walk around passes for the night before are a nice touch, If you are visiting the pleasure beach this is the hotel to book.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Big Blue Hotel - Pleasure Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cloi1991
Business
Newcastle upon tyne
May 7, 2014

Great for couples and families

Staff all very polite couldn't do enough for you! Rooms were amazing very spacious and we loved the little soaps in bathroom and biscuits with tea/coffee facilities were a lovely touch and the welcome book was a great help! Food was out of this world scrambled eggs to die for although had to wait on our last morning for a table it is defiantly worth the wait! Only things that would have made this stay better would have been if there was a swimming pool and a spa/beauty rooms for adults to have a relaxing massage / treatments and I'd it was closer to middle of Blackpool... Although saying that there is a tram station directly outside the hotel and if the hotel was closer it may be more noisy so it is proberbly a good thing that it is further away! would most defiantly return again! Xxx

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Get down to breakfast first thing! And always book a table for evening meal! X

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Big Blue Hotel - Pleasure Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Amberella
Business
Beaver Falls, PA, USA
Mar 24, 2012

Couple Getaway

Excellent experience overall! I absolutely loved the room and the food was spectacular! Went there as a getaway with my boyfriend, who ended up proposing while we were having a fabulous dinner! He couldn't have picked a better place! The food was delicious and we plan to make the trip an annual thing! We both highly recommend this Hotel. It's in a great place and there's so much to experience! We're going back this June, and will be there the same day he proposed last year! Also, the staff is very friendly and helpful! There was not one thing I did not like!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top