$62 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 19, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel

3 stars
Preston New Road, Samlesbury, Preston, Blackpool, PR5 0UJ
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
4 reviews
Good for a short stop over

The deal was good value for money but the rack rate would have been very expensive. Our deal... See full review

  • South Coast Traveller
  • Aug 25, 2014
Short break

For the room only we were £86.43 for two nights Breakfast was not included in price Breakfast was... See full review

  • Sammyjo
  • Jun 3, 2014
With stunning views over the beautiful River Ribble, yet conveniently close to Preston town centre and the M6, Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel has an ideal location. Following a 0.5 million refurbishment, the hotel has just introduced a beautiful new Riverside Bar and Lounge where you can relax and enjoy a beverage from our new Costa Coffee. Join us at the new Scottish Steak Club where imaginatively reworked Scottish favourites are passionately prepared by our world class chefs, using only the finest and freshest produce. In addition a number of our bedrooms are being re-decorated from top to bottom including beautiful new bathrooms and soft furnishings. The hotel has also retained many traditional features, such as wood beams in our restaurant and an open plan lounge, creating a warm and welcoming ambience. Macdonald Tickled Trout is always a popular meetings venue due to our convenient location, well-equipped conference suites and extensive onsite parking. Alternatively, our riverside terrace is the ideal place to enjoy a morning coffee with friends or relax with a pre dinner drink as you take in the views. Guests can enjoy our delicious food and drink and then relax in contemporary en suite accommodation, whilst our versitile function rooms are perfect for weddings.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel Rooms

EXECUTIVE DOUBLE
Extra space to spread out and additional workspace.
CLASSIC - DOUBLE
Extra space to spread out and additional workspace.
CLASSIC - TWIN
Two large single beds.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Winter Gardens Blackpool: 16.8 mi

Dining

Restaurant
The Macdonald Tickled Trout offers a fantastic Steak & Grill Restaurant, using the finest locally-sourced ingredients. The seasonal menu is complemented with daily specials, and dining is open to non-residents also. Breakfast is also served from the Restaurant every morning. As well as the Restaurant, the hotel offers a Lounge Bar which is open all day and night, offering drinks, bar snacks and light dining options throughout. Also open to non-residents, the Lounge Bar is an ideal setting for casual afternoon meetings, or just to unwind after a long journey. The hotel also has a relaxing outdoor terrace, right by the riverside.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Situated just off the M6 and within easy driving distance of Manchester, the Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel is ideally placed for your next corporate event. Boasting a self-contained Conference Centre with it own entrance and meeting facilities for up to 120 delegates, this welcoming hotel is ready to meet the needs of your conference. Our friendly personalised service, unique accommodation, elegant restaurant and close attention to detail will ensure a successful and professional business event.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (4)

Ratings and reviews for Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
4 out of 4
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.5
Sort by:
Review of Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chris
Not Provided
Sep 20, 2009

Nice Hotel, very friendly peso

Nice Hotel, very friendly pesonal. Good restaurant. Close to Motorway ( not my preferred thing)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
South Coast Traveller
Business
Eastbourne, East Sussex
Aug 25, 2014

Good for a short stop over

The deal was good value for money but the rack rate would have been very expensive. Our deal included breakfast but we were challenged (in a friendly way) 3 times over this and were pleased that we had printed out the confirmation to prove our deal. The food was good and the bed very comfortable. Whilst the outside of the building next to a petrol station is not very pleasant, the view from our bedroom over the river more than made up for this. Beware the 2 steps up to the bathroom from the bedroom as coming back down a trip will land you in the mirrored wardrobe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sammyjo
Business
Scotland
Jun 3, 2014

Short break

For the room only we were £86.43 for two nights Breakfast was not included in price Breakfast was £12.50 each Handy for the M6 motorway Would go back to this Hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sylvest
Business
York
Aug 9, 2013

Room brilliant. Staff average

We stayed here to attend a wedding locally. The rooms were lovely but the staff need to improve their customer service. Breakfast was very slow and the staff needed to smile and realise that 15 minutes is not an acceptable time to wait to have an order taken.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sarah2013
Business
Newcastle-upon-Tyne, UK
Jul 24, 2013

pleasantly surprised but room too hot

For a motorway hotel I was pleasantly surprised and wasn't disturbed at all due to the traffic. The staff were very helpful and room and bathroom were clean and comfortable. Unfortunately due to the hot weather and the fact that the room didn't have any airconditioning I didn't sleep well as the room was roasting hot and even with the windows open there was no airflow. The extractor fan was also extremely loud for about 5 minutes after switching it on but this quietened after this so would advise to persevere despite the noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top