$128 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 28, 2014

The Fitzwilliam Hotel

5 stars
1-3 Great Victoria Street, BELFAST BT2 7HR, Belfast, BT2 7BQ
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
22 reviews
Fitzwilliam

We had a great stay. Staff were courteous and helpful, breakfast was great and a quiet bar to... See full review

  • Yukon2
  • May 9, 2014
Fantastic hotel

My fiancée and I stayed here for my birthday, although we had a table booked at a restaurant in... See full review

  • R.johnston
  • Jan 14, 2014
A haven within a busy city where old world courtesy invite the guest to linger and feel cosseted and pampered. Contemporary Fitzwilliam Hotel designed in a style that is often startling and always strikingly original Belfast first Design Hotel. Superbly located in the heart of the city, adjacent to the Grand Opera House and within walking distance of the central business district, main shopping areas and places of historical interest. Also close to all major transport links.

The Fitzwilliam Hotel Rooms

Superior King
The superior space is even more expansive than the Executive featuring floor to ceiling feature windows and plenty of space to relax with the chic designer interiors one would expect with your very own corner seating area. A superior King Size bed compliments this space draped in luxurious crisp Egyptian linen Surf online in comfort with complimentary highspeed wireless and wired internet access and a spacious ergonomic workstation with angle poise lighting. Experience movies on demand on your 26" flatscreen television or listen to your favorite track on your mini Sony music system with i-Pod / MP3 connectivity. In-room dining completes the luxurious experience. A haven for relaxation - your extra large Monochrome bathroom where you can appreciate the separate deep bath and powerful sunflower shower with bespoke toiletries.
Deluxe King
All located on the corner of the property the Deluxe Class is a credit to urban design with chic interiors throughout. A Deluxe King Size Bed perfectly positioned leaving floor to ceiling windows offering panoramic views to the city and beyond. Perfect for relaxing with a stunning Sunflower shower the Monochrome style continues complimented with your personal supply of bespoke toiletries.
Studio Suite
Located on their own Exclusive floor our collection of six Studio Suites demonstrate contemporary luxury living at its best. Allow your senses to be captivated with the floor to ceiling glass wall taking in the stunning views across North Belfast as far as Cavehill Mountains and Belfast Castle. Completely open plan complemented with luxury textures and fabrics, and a separate seating area plus all the modern conveniences you would expect from a space that exudes cutting edge design. A superb separate wet room with Sunflower shower and his and hers hand basins and stand alone bath makes this perfect for two.
Executive Double
Executive Double offers 1 king size bed including all modern amenities. Non smoking

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Fitzwilliam Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

54.5953 -5.9346
Area served
Belfast.
Nearby airports
Belfast International Airport (BFS / EGAA).
Area description
Belfast.

Nearby points of interest

  • Cathedral Quarter: 0.4 mi
  • Grand Opera House: 0.4 mi
  • Aurora Building: 0.4 mi
  • Odyssey Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Shankill Road: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Victoria Hospital: 0.7 mi
  • Botanic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Ulster Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Windsor Park: 1.5 mi
  • Malone Road: 1.9 mi
  • Cave Hill: 3.8 mi
  • Stormont Castle: 4.2 mi
  • Sir Thomas And Lady Dixon Park: 4.2 mi
  • Belfast Lough: 8.7 mi
  • Carrickfergus: 10 mi
  • Cathedral Quarter: 0.4 mi
  • Grand Opera House: 0.4 mi
  • Aurora Building: 0.4 mi
  • Odyssey Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Shankill Road: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Victoria Hospital: 0.7 mi
  • Botanic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Ulster Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Windsor Park: 1.5 mi
  • Malone Road: 1.9 mi
  • Cave Hill: 3.8 mi
  • Stormont Castle: 4.2 mi
  • Sir Thomas And Lady Dixon Park: 4.2 mi
  • Belfast Lough: 8.7 mi
  • Carrickfergus: 10 mi
  • St. George'S Market: 23.9 mi
  • Stranraer: 41.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (22)

Ratings and reviews for The Fitzwilliam Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
22 out of 22
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
sssst
london, uk
Apr 23, 2013

5-star disappointment - please avoid Fitzwilliam

Overall, I thought this hotel was average and did NOT warrant a 5 start rating in any way. The staff was not very friendly and the concierge service was awful - I was directed to a nearby breakfast establishment that was closed (as was many others), but most importantly, they booked me for a trip that wanted an extra 10 pounds per person to actually enter the venues clearly offered in the brochure the concierge gave me. Once on the tour, I told the bus driver and he said the hotel was well aware of this, and that it's 'the fine print' - however, there was none in the brochure - though their website did allude to 'additional fees' - no exact price was mentioned - the hotel misrepresented this tour and the hotel staff was unwilling to take any responsibility for this oversight - they said they never heard of anyone else with a problem, but clearly this tour to Giant's Causeway has been used for over 4years, and the staff was not very in their apology. I told them I was leaving unhappy and paid the tour fee on my hotel bill, regardless, even though the tour was NOT what I was told - please note that the 10pound extra (2 persons) was approximately 40% additional to the tour price I agreed to pay, and it should have included admission to all the items listed in the brochure they showed me at the previously agreed upon tour price... I also found it annoying that there were no washcloths in the room on my first night - I had to ask the hotel maid to get some for my 2nd and 3rd nights. Also, there was a hotel 'charity' fee attached to my bill - supposedly to cure traca in Ethiopia, but the fact that I had to demand the hotel remove the fee to a charity I did not wish to support was in very poor taste - they initially said no one else seemed to mind and they tacked that 'charity' fee on to all guests' bills - I've never seen an opt-out charity fee like this before - charities should best be left as purely voluntary and OPT-IN ONLY - the hotel did remove this charge, but just the fact that it was there and I had to actively request its removal at checkout was very annoying and again, in very poor taste... Finally, there was road construction and re-tarring of the road - the noise and smell in the room (even with windows closed on an upper floor) was very offensive during the nights we stayed there... All of this says 2-3 star quality at best - definitely NOT 5-star - I've stayed in Holiday Inn's with better service, and I've also stayed in 4 and 5-star hotels across Europe and Asia - definitely NOT worthy of 4 or 5-star quality. Furthermore, I did not see any evidence the hotel staff attended a quality hotel management school or any real customer service training.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of The Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Experienced Hotel-Hopper
Denver, CO
Sep 23, 2013

Great customer service

The heat didn't work but they brought a heater right away and fixed the heat the next day. We couldn't get the safe to open but they came immediately and opened it for us. We requested a few more things and they fulfilled those pronto too. Besides that, the room and bed and large tub and sofa made for a great stay. The location is perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy a day bus pass. Busses come often and show you the people of Belfast.

Review of The Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
K & J
San Francisco, CA
Dec 2, 2009

Trendy, Fun Hotel with Great Dining

We were passing through Belfast for an evening, and this hotel was the perfect location for making the most of a short stay. The hotel is a destination in and of itself, for its beautifully decorated lobby and the amazing cuisine at the hotel's restaurant, where having dinner is a must. (The restaurant's open late so you can dine late after visiting a few of Belfast's fine pubs.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

One of the best meals we've ever eaten was at the hotel's restaurant: homemade breads, delicious food, great wine.

Review of The Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lotsie
Galway, Ireland
Jan 6, 2014

Great Location

The hotel is really nice and in a brilliant location. Very close to all amenities, museums, city centre, Odyssey Arena etc. The rooms were very clean and spacious too. But I was disappointed that there wasn't enough towels in the room or any bathrobes as an alternative. The cleaning staff were banging about next door and on the corridor both mornings I stayed so that was a bit disappointing too as they woke me up both mornings. The mini bar was locked so you can't even be tempted by it, I don't know if that's a good thing or bad thing. Other than that we had a nice stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Deane's on Howard street and other places around it are nice too.

Review of The Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
wilmington, nc
Aug 6, 2011

Great location and great staff

Only had one day in Belfast, so location was important. This hotel was a good choice. Also found the rooms to be comfortable and the staff was very helpful and efficient. I would definitely recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
proach
michigan
Dec 5, 2009

nice hotel

It is a very nice hotel, just opened in the spring of this year (2009). It is in a good location, close to the bus station and walkable to city hall and shopping areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BethroTull
Chicago, IL
Mar 28, 2014

Friendly staff, comfortable rooms

Spent one night here at the end of a vacation in the United Kingdom. The hotel itself was great. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were comfortable and had many amenities. The decor was a little over the top, but clearly a lot of thought put into the design. The location is a short walk to the bus centre, which connects to the airport. It is also in the city center, but on a Sunday, things were pretty quiet in the area. It was actually hard to find a place serving breakfast at 8am. Not a lot to do and see, but a good resting point.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Crown bar is definitely worth seeing--amazing Victorian pub with good beer selection. The restaurant upstairs had great food.

Review of The Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
proach
michigan
Dec 5, 2009

nice hotel

It is a very nice hotel, just opened in the spring of this year (2009). It is in a good location, close to the bus station and walkable to city hall and shopping areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
K & J
San Francisco, CA
Dec 2, 2009

Trendy, Fun Hotel with Great Dining

We were passing through Belfast for an evening, and this hotel was the perfect location for making the most of a short stay. The hotel is a destination in and of itself, for its beautifully decorated lobby and the amazing cuisine at the hotel's restaurant, where having dinner is a must. (The restaurant's open late so you can dine late after visiting a few of Belfast's fine pubs.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

One of the best meals we've ever eaten was at the hotel's restaurant: homemade breads, delicious food, great wine.

Review of The Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
wilmington, nc
Aug 6, 2011

Great location and great staff

Only had one day in Belfast, so location was important. This hotel was a good choice. Also found the rooms to be comfortable and the staff was very helpful and efficient. I would definitely recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top