$176 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 21, 2015 Check-out: Jun 22, 2015

Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel

5 stars
View map of Sydney Road, Bath, BA2 6JF

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
14 reviews
Getaway

Our first night away from the children in over 2 years and what a perfect choice we made. Hotel was... See full review

  • Karen RB
  • Apr 6, 2015
Romantic weekend escape

Lovely trip to a gorgeous hotel. Beware steep prices for breakfast - 20£ per person, but otherwise... See full review

  • Hdob
  • May 27, 2014
The Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel is unquestionably one of the finest 5-star hotels in Bath. The Bath Spa Hotel offers first-class accommodation, stylish meeting and function rooms, private landscaped gardens and a recently upgraded luxury spa. Take time for yourself with a restorative spa treatment and relax in the tropical heat of the outdoor hydro pool Children permitted in the pool between the hours of 8:00 -17:00. Before dining in our award-winning restaurant. Then enjoy an evening stroll into Bath city center or retire to your Imperial Suite with private butler service.Peace and serenity pervade your senses when you step into the candlelit tranquility of The Spa at the Bath Spa Hotel. 7 spa treatment rooms, including a double room for couples and disabled guests, a calming relaxation room and nail salon make The Spa is a natural inner sanctuary. Please Note: We do not allow Dogs or Pets within the Hotel, however Guide Dogs are welcome free of charge, at the Bath Spa Hotel. Pool Information regarding children usage of the pool - All other amenities " Indoor pool, Jacuzzi, hydro pool & gymnasium will be open as per usual. As will all 7 treatment rooms. Children up to 14 years old are welcome to use the swimming pool between 8:00 to 17:00 within the designated children's lanes and must be accompanied by an adult. Children do not have access to the Thermal Suite and Hydro Pool. The hotel is a Non Smoking Hotel All our Bedrooms are non smoking at the Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel. Car Parking charges apply at 5.00 per stay Please note: Full English Breakfast is 9.50 Continental breakfast - 15.00 Free WiFi is available in public areas.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel Rooms

Classic Rooms
A perfect retreat following a day visiting historic Bath or meeting in our flexible conference rooms, our elegant Classic bedrooms offer a blend of comfort and peace ensuring you get a great night's sleep. Sit back and relax, tune into the TV or simply take advantage of a long soak in the bath.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Roman Bath: 0.7 mi
  • Mells: 10.3 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meetings and Events at Macdonald Bath Spa,Bath. It would be difficult to find a more elegant meetings venue in Bath. As you approach via the tree-lined driveway, you will be impressed by the magnificent Georgian building, set in private, peaceful gardens just 10 minutes' walk from the city of Bath and only 15 miles from Bristol International Airport. A venue of choice for major UK and international companies and also a favourite film location, the Bath Spa hotel is well-known for its luxury, warm hospitality and professional business support, and offers event organisers a fine alternative to London. Six naturally-lit conference and business suites, executive accommodation, award-winning food and drink, specialised teambuilding activities, a world-class spa and easy access to all major transport links... what are you waiting for?Meetings and Events Support.The Bath Spa Hotel also offers full business centre services, a courier and airport pick-up service

Dining

The Vellore Restaurant
At the Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel, we take hotel dining to a whole new level. Our acclaimed chefs take the highest quality, freshest ingredients and transform them into delectable dishes. We serve only the finest Scottish beef, lamb, pork and wild white fish in our hotel restaurants and source local, organic suppliers for our vegetables and dairy products where possible. Dine in style at Vellore Restaurant, our prestigious hotel restaurant, recently awarded 2 AA Rosettes in recognition of the quality of its food and impeccable service. Once the magnificent ballroom of the original house, the award-winning Vellore Restaurant is an elegant and inviting hotel restaurant with a canopied outdoor terrace. Our menus combine the best in traditional and modern English fare with fine seasonal ingredients and are complemented by an impressive wine list.
The Alfresco Restaurant
The Alfresco, decorated with Roman style murals, provides a light and airy setting for a drink or light lunch in a relaxed atmosphere. or enjoy morning coffee, afternoon tea, light snacks and refreshments in the comfort of the Drawing Room.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:30 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
14 out of 14
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.6

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Karen RB
Business
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

Getaway

Our first night away from the children in over 2 years and what a perfect choice we made. Hotel was awesome, room amazing, Butler Jeremy was fabulous. Spa facilities brill. Couldn't be happier

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Emily
Business
Gillingham
Feb 4, 2015

Very Relaxing but in Need of Updating

My husband and I have stayed here numerous times now and have always had a fantastic time. The hotel is lovely and the spa exceptional. I would however comment this time that the hotel is starting to show it's age. The grout needs a redoing in the spa and pool areas and the outdoor hydro pool needs a deep clean and tiles replaced. Also it seemed that compared to previous stays the breakfast selection had been scaled back. HOWEVER this did not all impact our stay and I would visit again tomorrow if I could. This is just an observation as I believe some people paying the top Saturday night price may indeed feel that these things are unacceptable. Great stay would highly recommend to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Sub 13 served lovely cocktails and Loch Fyne served us fantastic Oysters!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Barrybloke
Business
Barry
Jan 28, 2015

Comfortable stay, but not a 5 star breakfast

We enjoyed a 24 hr break in Bath at this 5 star hotel in its splendid location by the Holbourne Museum and Kennet & Avon canal. All the key Bath attractions are within a 30 minute walk the £5 overnight parking charge includes the parking time after morning check-out. This hotel is certainly up to 5 star standard in comfort and ambience the Nespresso coffee machine in the bedroom was very welcome. The breakfast was a relative disappointment. The cold buffet was OK, but not up to 5 star standard. We had to wait a long time: first for our order to be taken, and then for the hot food (excellent when it arrived) and hot drinks the dining room was not particularly busy. If you do want breakfast, book a breakfast-inclusive room rate the walk-in price of £19.50 (with a £2.75 supplement for smoked haddock etc) per head did not seem good value for money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
giggs
Business
uk
Sep 16, 2014

quite a disapointment

the hotel looks spettacular on arrival but the rooms (standard) are quite a disapointment, marks on the carpets, some rubbush under the armchair, the towels of a white gone grey color, and the rope so old they looked like rags. Nevertheless, my biggest disapointment was that, regardless to the hotel rules of no kids in the spa area before 10 am, there were kids using the facilities as a water park at 8 am. quite a disapointment if you are there for relaxation. i would definitly not go back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hdob
Business
Australia
May 27, 2014

Romantic weekend escape

Lovely trip to a gorgeous hotel. Beware steep prices for breakfast - 20£ per person, but otherwise a thoroughly enjoyablw stay! Would definitely visit again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mexican world traveler
Business
Mexico City
Apr 19, 2014

Nice and elegant

Nice stay, very comfortable rooms, great breakfast

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
redskater
Business
Bristol, UK
Dec 11, 2011

Beautiful but not perfect

Good Things include; Walk into town not too far, beautiful scenery on the way too. £5 parking for entire stay, that's great for Bath. Lovely building, restored well and decorated tastefully. Got some nice photo's outside the next day. Molton Brown Toiletries were great. Robes included made the visit to the spa more comfortable. Decent sized pool. The outside pool at the spa was gorgeous both at night and during the day. The spa was well maintained. Things for improvement; At time of booking it wasn't clear that breakfast was not included. No indication about it being room only. I politely mentioned this to the check in staff and she looked at me like she didn't care at all. Otherwise all staff were lovely - again in my opinion ignore any previous reviews in this respect. We ended up having breakfast in town for £4.95 each much better than the hotel at £16 each. Check in and out required waiting in line for a while - not really a problem but I couldn't see why it was so slow. Very few TV channels if your interested in that, we weren't but we did want the TV to have some radio stations which it didn't. Light bulb blown in room and TV remote control missing. Had to contact reception 3 times. Switch to listen to TV/radio in bathroom didn't work. No biscuits with tea and coffee making facilities and very little milk. Drafty window/doors - thankfully the curtains were really thick. Mattress really soft but adequate. Phoned ahead to request a double room (i.e. double bed) and still got two single beds made up together. But the lady on the phone was lovely. The bathroom tiles around the bath could do with a bit of a scrub.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ben's Pancakes in the Podium Shopping Centre - upstairs. They do a full English breakfast for £4.95 and also a veggie one.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Doris and friends
Business
surrey
Dec 6, 2011

Brilliant weekend break with friends

We stayed here for Saturday night only to visit the Christmas market in Bath. The location for us was perfect as we all enjoyed the 15min walk into the centre of town. We could not fault the hotel or staff and would definitely stay again. Breakfast was very good with a wide selection of continental pastries etc and a cooked option.would like to try the spa facilities next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MGF32
Business
City of London, UK
Oct 15, 2011

Get a grip!

For a fabulous setting and a beautiful building it is sad to be subject to such awful service at so great a price!! IMHO the problem stems from underinvestment and poor staff trainig! The staff in themselves are OK, but they are poorly managed. The rooms need tarting up or cleaning at the least. The restaraunt, its food and its service is chaotic. Things like surchages for paying by credit card are small minded and mean!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Enjoy Bath avoid this hotel!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
traveling Suzanne
Business
Dallas, TX
May 28, 2011

Nice hotel, not so nice staff

We stayed in Bath one night to get an early chance to get to Stonehenge. The hotel has gorgeous landscaping. It is quiet and pretty. The room got warm and the thermostat was not the best especially considering the price of the hotel. Most of the staff were very pleasant but the 2 women checking us in were almost rude. We were excited to be in Bath so we didn't let the rudeness and impolite behavior bother us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top