Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel ★★★★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$138
avg/night
Rate and special offer based on
Check-in: Mar 1, 2016 Check-out: Mar 3, 2016
4.3 /5
Overall score
85%
Would recommend
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8
1 2 3 4 5

Select your room

Overview

The Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel is unquestionably one of the finest 5-star hotels in Bath. The Bath Spa Hotel offers first-class accommodation, stylish meeting and function rooms, private landscaped gardens and a recently upgraded luxury spa. Take time for yourself with a restorative spa treatment and relax in the tropical heat of the outdoor hydro pool Children permitted in the pool between the hours of 8:00 -17:00. Before dining in our award-winning restaurant. Then enjoy an evening stroll into Bath city center or retire to your Imperial Suite with private butler service.Peace and serenity pervade your senses when you step into the candlelit tranquility of The Spa at the Bath Spa Hotel. 7 spa treatment rooms, including a double room for couples and disabled guests, a calming relaxation room and nail salon make The Spa is a natural inner sanctuary. Please Note: We do not allow Dogs or Pets within the Hotel, however Guide Dogs are welcome free of charge, at the Bath Spa Hotel. Pool Information regarding children usage of the pool - All other amenities " Indoor pool, Jacuzzi, hydro pool & gymnasium will be open as per usual. As will all 7 treatment rooms. Please Note* The Outdoor Hydro Pool will be closed for the 15th and 16th December 2015 due to essential maintenance work Children up to 14 years old are welcome to use the swimming pool between 8:00 to 17:00 within the designated children's lanes and must be accompanied by an adult. Children do not have access to the Thermal Suite and Hydro Pool. The hotel is a Non Smoking Hotel All our Bedrooms are non smoking at the Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel. Car Parking charges apply at 5.00 per stay Please note: Full English Breakfast is 9.50 Continental breakfast - 15.00 Free WiFi is available in public areas.

Dining

The Vellore Restaurant
Once the magnificent ballroom of the original house, the award-winning Vellore Restaurant is an elegant and inviting hotel restaurant with a canopied outdoor terrace. Our menus combine the best in traditional and modern English fare with fine seasonal ingredients and are complemented by an impressive wine list.
Drawing Room
Settle into one of our comfortable sofas in our Drawing Room and take in the glorious scenery, with views of the gardens complimenting each sip of fine tea.
Colonnade and Rotunda Bars
Our newly refurbished Colonnade and Rotunda Bars offers beautiful surroundings from which to enjoy a relaxing drink and light meal. Visit with a group of friends, meet with business associates or mingle with wedding guests in our sophisticated luxury lounge and bar.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meetings and Events at Macdonald Bath Spa,Bath. It would be difficult to find a more elegant meetings venue in Bath. As you approach via the tree-lined driveway, you will be impressed by the magnificent Georgian building, set in private, peaceful gardens just 10 minutes' walk from the city of Bath and only 15 miles from Bristol International Airport. A venue of choice for major UK and international companies and also a favourite film location, the Bath Spa hotel is well-known for its luxury, warm hospitality and professional business support, and offers event organisers a fine alternative to London. Six naturally-lit conference and business suites, executive accommodation, award-winning food and drink, specialised teambuilding activities, a world-class spa and easy access to all major transport links... what are you waiting for?Meetings and Events Support.The Bath Spa Hotel also offers full business centre services, a courier and airport pick-up service

Recommendations for you

Guest score 4.5 / 5
$97

Hilton Bath City

★★★★
Guest score 4.2 / 5
$103
Guest score 4.5 / 5
$106
Guest score 3.0 / 5
$118
Guest score 3.4 / 5
$63
Guest score 4.2 / 5
$86

Amenities

Featured

  • Free Wi-Fi in Room
  • Free parking
  • Pool

General

  • Concierge

Activities

  • Pool
  • Fitness Center
  • Spa

Dining

  • Restaurant
  • Room service

Services

  • Conference facilities

Internet

  • Free Wi-Fi in Room

Parking

  • Free parking

Accessibility

  • Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Reviews

4.3 /5 Overall score

85% Would recommend

  • Amenities: 4.5/5
  • Cleanliness: 4.5/5
  • Hotel staff: 4/5
  • Comfort: 4.3/5
  • Location: 4.6/5
  • Value: 3.8/5

Not really 5 star

Would not recommend Tue, Nov 24, 2015
Service was pretty appalling - having to wait over 40 minutes on 2 days for breakfast is unacceptable. Most of the staff seem to have no interest in their customers.

| N/A Friends

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 2 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 1 /5

Love this hotel

Would recommend Sat, Oct 24, 2015
Relaxing hotel with comfortable rooms , good service, lovely hydro pool and a pleasant walk into town to some great restaurants.

| Aylesbury Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Rather expensive for what it was

Would not recommend Wed, Jun 10, 2015
We chose the Bath Spa Hotel for an overnight stay to celebrate our wedding anniversary as we had had our wedding reception there many years ago. Overall we did enjoy our stay there, especially chilling out in the various spa baths. Breakfast was good too, and it was great to be able to walk easily into the city centre which is beautiful. However, there were a few unfortunate things that justify the overall 3 rating. First off, the safe was locked when we got into the room so we had to get a member of staff to unlock it. Then there was a miserly number of coffee and milk pods there so we had to ask housekeeping for some more. Then the aircon kept switching off after 5 minutes, making the room unbearably hot. So we alerted staff who gave us a fan. The bathroom was a little grotty in places, although I note that they are undergoing a refurbishment programme - we must have got one of the old rooms. And then, having paid a very large sum of money for one night, we were charged £5 to park in the large car park. It felt a bit cheap of the hotel. I wouldn't have minded if it had been a 3 star hotel, but having paid such a lot of money we felt a bit underwhelmed.

| N/A Couples

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 2 /5

Getaway

Would recommend Mon, Apr 6, 2015
Our first night away from the children in over 2 years and what a perfect choice we made. Hotel was awesome, room amazing, Butler Jeremy was fabulous. Spa facilities brill. Couldn't be happier

| N/A Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Very Relaxing but in Need of Updating

Would recommend Wed, Feb 4, 2015
My husband and I have stayed here numerous times now and have always had a fantastic time. The hotel is lovely and the spa exceptional. I would however comment this time that the hotel is starting to show it's age. The grout needs a redoing in the spa and pool areas and the outdoor hydro pool needs a deep clean and tiles replaced. Also it seemed that compared to previous stays the breakfast selection had been scaled back. HOWEVER this did not all impact our stay and I would visit again tomorrow if I could. This is just an observation as I believe some people paying the top Saturday night price may indeed feel that these things are unacceptable. Great stay would highly recommend to friends.

Nightlife hint

Sub 13 served lovely cocktails and Loch Fyne served us fantastic Oysters!

| Gillingham Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Comfortable stay, but not a 5 star breakfast

Would recommend Wed, Jan 28, 2015
We enjoyed a 24 hr break in Bath at this 5 star hotel in its splendid location by the Holbourne Museum and Kennet & Avon canal. All the key Bath attractions are within a 30 minute walk the £5 overnight parking charge includes the parking time after morning check-out. This hotel is certainly up to 5 star standard in comfort and ambience the Nespresso coffee machine in the bedroom was very welcome. The breakfast was a relative disappointment. The cold buffet was OK, but not up to 5 star standard. We had to wait a long time: first for our order to be taken, and then for the hot food (excellent when it arrived) and hot drinks the dining room was not particularly busy. If you do want breakfast, book a breakfast-inclusive room rate the walk-in price of £19.50 (with a £2.75 supplement for smoked haddock etc) per head did not seem good value for money.

| Barry Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

quite a disapointment

Would not recommend Tue, Sep 16, 2014
the hotel looks spettacular on arrival but the rooms (standard) are quite a disapointment, marks on the carpets, some rubbush under the armchair, the towels of a white gone grey color, and the rope so old they looked like rags. Nevertheless, my biggest disapointment was that, regardless to the hotel rules of no kids in the spa area before 10 am, there were kids using the facilities as a water park at 8 am. quite a disapointment if you are there for relaxation. i would definitly not go back

| uk Couples

2 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 2 /5
  • Hotel staff: 2 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 1 /5

Nice and elegant

Would recommend Sat, Apr 19, 2014
Nice stay, very comfortable rooms, great breakfast

| Mexico City Family

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Beautiful but not perfect

Would recommend Sun, Dec 11, 2011
Good Things include; Walk into town not too far, beautiful scenery on the way too. £5 parking for entire stay, that's great for Bath. Lovely building, restored well and decorated tastefully. Got some nice photo's outside the next day. Molton Brown Toiletries were great. Robes included made the visit to the spa more comfortable. Decent sized pool. The outside pool at the spa was gorgeous both at night and during the day. The spa was well maintained. Things for improvement; At time of booking it wasn't clear that breakfast was not included. No indication about it being room only. I politely mentioned this to the check in staff and she looked at me like she didn't care at all. Otherwise all staff were lovely - again in my opinion ignore any previous reviews in this respect. We ended up having breakfast in town for £4.95 each much better than the hotel at £16 each. Check in and out required waiting in line for a while - not really a problem but I couldn't see why it was so slow. Very few TV channels if your interested in that, we weren't but we did want the TV to have some radio stations which it didn't. Light bulb blown in room and TV remote control missing. Had to contact reception 3 times. Switch to listen to TV/radio in bathroom didn't work. No biscuits with tea and coffee making facilities and very little milk. Drafty window/doors - thankfully the curtains were really thick. Mattress really soft but adequate. Phoned ahead to request a double room (i.e. double bed) and still got two single beds made up together. But the lady on the phone was lovely. The bathroom tiles around the bath could do with a bit of a scrub.

Dining

Ben's Pancakes in the Podium Shopping Centre - upstairs. They do a full English breakfast for £4.95 and also a veggie one.

| Bristol, UK Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Brilliant weekend break with friends

Would recommend Tue, Dec 6, 2011
We stayed here for Saturday night only to visit the Christmas market in Bath. The location for us was perfect as we all enjoyed the 15min walk into the centre of town. We could not fault the hotel or staff and would definitely stay again. Breakfast was very good with a wide selection of continental pastries etc and a cooked option.would like to try the spa facilities next time.

| surrey Friends

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Top hotels

Nearby points of interest

Roman Bath 0.7 mi
Mells 10.3 mi

Hotel Policies

  • Check-in: 3:30 PM
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

$138
avg/night
Choose dates
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 1, 2016 Check-out: Mar 3, 2016