$187 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 19, 2014 Check-out: Aug 21, 2014

Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel

5 stars
Sydney Road, Bath, BA2 6JF
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
15 reviews
Romantic weekend escape

Lovely trip to a gorgeous hotel. Beware steep prices for breakfast - 20£ per person, but otherwise... See full review

  • Hdob
  • May 27, 2014
Nice and elegant

Nice stay, very comfortable rooms, great breakfast See full review

  • Mexican world traveler
  • Apr 19, 2014
The Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel is unquestionably one of the finest 5-star hotels in Bath. The Bath Spa Hotel offers first-class accommodation, stylish meeting and function rooms, private landscaped gardens and a recently upgraded luxury spa. Take time for yourself with a restorative spa treatment and relax in the tropical heat of the outdoor hydropool Children permitted in the pool between the hours of 8am - 5pm. Before dining in our award-winning restaurant. Then enjoy an evening stroll into Bath city centre or retire to your Imperial Suite with private butler service.Peace and serenity pervade your senses when you step into the candlelit tranquility of The Spa at the Bath Spa Hotel. 7 spa treatment rooms, including a double room for couples and disabled guests, a calming relaxation room and nail salon make The Spa is a natural inner sanctuary. Please Note: We do not allow Dogs or Pets within the Hotel, however Guide Dogs are welcome free of charge, at the Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel. Pool Information regarding children usage of the pool - All other amenities " Indoor pool, Jacuzzi, hydro pool & gymnasium will be open as per usual. As will all 7 treatment rooms. Children up to 14 years old are welcome to use the swimming pool between 8am to 5pm within the designated children's lanes and must be accompanied by an adult. Children do not have access to the Thermal Suite and Hydro Pool. The hotel is a Non Smoking Hotel All our Bedrooms are non smoking at the Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel. Car Parking charges apply at 5.00 per stay Please note: Full English Breakfast is1 9.50GBP Continental breakfast - 15.00GBP Free WI-FI is availible in public areas. Scaffolding is going up and around the Macdonald Bath Spa for emergency roof repairs. The opportunity is also being taken at this time, to paint the windows and clean the stone work so the hotel will look even more stunning by the 28th July 2014 This will affect all bookings arriving from now until 28th July 2014 The work will only take place between 9am " 4.00pm Monday to Friday. There will be no weekend working. There is no change to the service offered at the hotel.

Hotel Map

51.3857 -2.3444
Area served
Bath
Nearby airports
Bristol International Airport

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel Rooms

Garden View Rooms
The stunning Garden View bedrooms at Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel offer a breath-taking view over the magical, landscaped private gardens. With generous workspace and plenty of space to spread out, they are a fabulous place to unwind, contemplate and be inspired in our fascinating city. Get comfortable in your bathrobe and slippers or enjoy a long soak with Molton Brown toiletries.
Family Room
Choose our Family Rooms if travelling with a young family or group. Elegantly furnished, spacious and inviting, these rooms offer you comfort as standard, but with a little extra living space. Rooms feature a separate sleeping area, with an extra sofa bed - giving you the space and comfort you need during your stay. The room has a Four poster bed, Sofa bed, Molton Brown toiletries Minibar and Safe.
Classic Room
Choose a Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel Classic Room for comfort, peace and luxury. Listen to your favourite radio station as you take a bath or shower, then wrap up in a bathrobe and watch TV before settling into your comfortable bed for a sound night's sleep.
Imperial Suite
You'll find our Imperial Suites tucked away in a secure separate wing of Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel. Designed for extra special occasions

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Roman Bath: 0.7 mi
  • Mells: 10.3 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meetings and Events at Macdonald Bath Spa,Bath. It would be difficult to find a more elegant meetings venue in Bath. As you approach via the tree-lined driveway, you will be impressed by the magnificent Georgian building, set in private, peaceful gardens just 10 minutes' walk from the city of Bath and only 15 miles from Bristol International Airport. A venue of choice for major UK and international companies and also a favourite film location, the Bath Spa hotel is well-known for its luxury, warm hospitality and professional business support, and offers event organisers a fine alternative to London. Six naturally-lit conference and business suites, executive accommodation, award-winning food and drink, specialised teambuilding activities, a world-class spa and easy access to all major transport links... what are you waiting for?Meetings and Events Support.The Bath Spa Hotel also offers full business centre services, a courier and airport pick-up service

Dining

The Vellore Restaurant
At the Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel, we take hotel dining to a whole new level. Our acclaimed chefs take the highest quality, freshest ingredients and transform them into delectable dishes. We serve only the finest Scottish beef, lamb, pork and wild white fish in our hotel restaurants and source local, organic suppliers for our vegetables and dairy products where possible. Dine in style at Vellore Restaurant, our prestigious hotel restaurant, recently awarded 2 AA Rosettes in recognition of the quality of its food and impeccable service. Once the magnificent ballroom of the original house, the award-winning Vellore Restaurant is an elegant and inviting hotel restaurant with a canopied outdoor terrace. Our menus combine the best in traditional and modern English fare with fine seasonal ingredients and are complemented by an impressive wine list.
The Alfresco Restaurant
The Alfresco, decorated with Roman style murals, provides a light and airy setting for a drink or light lunch in a relaxed atmosphere. or enjoy morning coffee, afternoon tea, light snacks and refreshments in the comfort of the Drawing Room.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1530
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (15)

Ratings and reviews for Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
15 out of 15
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.7

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hdob
Australia
May 27, 2014

Romantic weekend escape

Lovely trip to a gorgeous hotel. Beware steep prices for breakfast - 20£ per person, but otherwise a thoroughly enjoyablw stay! Would definitely visit again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mexican world traveler
Mexico City
Apr 19, 2014

Nice and elegant

Nice stay, very comfortable rooms, great breakfast

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
redskater
Bristol, UK
Dec 11, 2011

Beautiful but not perfect

Good Things include; Walk into town not too far, beautiful scenery on the way too. £5 parking for entire stay, that's great for Bath. Lovely building, restored well and decorated tastefully. Got some nice photo's outside the next day. Molton Brown Toiletries were great. Robes included made the visit to the spa more comfortable. Decent sized pool. The outside pool at the spa was gorgeous both at night and during the day. The spa was well maintained. Things for improvement; At time of booking it wasn't clear that breakfast was not included. No indication about it being room only. I politely mentioned this to the check in staff and she looked at me like she didn't care at all. Otherwise all staff were lovely - again in my opinion ignore any previous reviews in this respect. We ended up having breakfast in town for £4.95 each much better than the hotel at £16 each. Check in and out required waiting in line for a while - not really a problem but I couldn't see why it was so slow. Very few TV channels if your interested in that, we weren't but we did want the TV to have some radio stations which it didn't. Light bulb blown in room and TV remote control missing. Had to contact reception 3 times. Switch to listen to TV/radio in bathroom didn't work. No biscuits with tea and coffee making facilities and very little milk. Drafty window/doors - thankfully the curtains were really thick. Mattress really soft but adequate. Phoned ahead to request a double room (i.e. double bed) and still got two single beds made up together. But the lady on the phone was lovely. The bathroom tiles around the bath could do with a bit of a scrub.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ben's Pancakes in the Podium Shopping Centre - upstairs. They do a full English breakfast for £4.95 and also a veggie one.

Review of Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Doris and friends
surrey
Dec 6, 2011

Brilliant weekend break with friends

We stayed here for Saturday night only to visit the Christmas market in Bath. The location for us was perfect as we all enjoyed the 15min walk into the centre of town. We could not fault the hotel or staff and would definitely stay again. Breakfast was very good with a wide selection of continental pastries etc and a cooked option.would like to try the spa facilities next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MGF32
City of London, UK
Oct 15, 2011

Get a grip!

For a fabulous setting and a beautiful building it is sad to be subject to such awful service at so great a price!! IMHO the problem stems from underinvestment and poor staff trainig! The staff in themselves are OK, but they are poorly managed. The rooms need tarting up or cleaning at the least. The restaraunt, its food and its service is chaotic. Things like surchages for paying by credit card are small minded and mean!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Enjoy Bath avoid this hotel!

Review of Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
traveling Suzanne
Dallas, TX
May 28, 2011

Nice hotel, not so nice staff

We stayed in Bath one night to get an early chance to get to Stonehenge. The hotel has gorgeous landscaping. It is quiet and pretty. The room got warm and the thermostat was not the best especially considering the price of the hotel. Most of the staff were very pleasant but the 2 women checking us in were almost rude. We were excited to be in Bath so we didn't let the rudeness and impolite behavior bother us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
traveling Suzanne
Dallas, TX
May 28, 2011

Nice hotel, not so nice staff

We stayed in Bath one night to get an early chance to get to Stonehenge. The hotel has gorgeous landscaping. It is quiet and pretty. The room got warm and the thermostat was not the best especially considering the price of the hotel. Most of the staff were very pleasant but the 2 women checking us in were almost rude. We were excited to be in Bath so we didn't let the rudeness and impolite behavior bother us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Plymouth, UK
Dec 7, 2010

Luxury retreat & all Bath's facilities

It's hard to beat the Christmas shopping in Bath, a great festive selection. Easy 10 minute walk from the hotel, through a park, canals to enjoy, great restaurant choices. Then back to the hotel for a luxury complimentary spa experience. Skip hotel drinks, way overpriced, unexpected charges for car parking, and Hotel add a couple quid for using a credit card!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Thai Balcony, geat food - next to the Theatre.

Review of Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Plymouth, UK
Dec 7, 2010

Luxury retreat & all Bath's facilities

It's hard to beat the Christmas shopping in Bath, a great festive selection. Easy 10 minute walk from the hotel, through a park, canals to enjoy, great restaurant choices. Then back to the hotel for a luxury complimentary spa experience. Skip hotel drinks, way overpriced, unexpected charges for car parking, and Hotel add a couple quid for using a credit card!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Thai Balcony, geat food - next to the Theatre.

Review of Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Spontaneous Traveller
Denver, CO
Nov 1, 2010

Lovely setting, overly formal staff

The building and grounds are absolutely gorgous. The walk into town is a bit longer than their info would have you believe - we ended up taking taxis since we were there for a short time only and would have spent lots of time walking to and fro. The staff is helpful, but exceedingly formal and did not seem to interact on a personable level with us at all no matter how hard we tried to get them to just 'talk' to us rather than give a standard or very formal answer. We prefer great service coupled with a more humanistic approach to interacting with people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

We loved eating at Jamie's Italian in Bath - we took a cab but you could walk there. It's Jamie Oliver's restaurant, and the pastas are delicious. Drinks are expensive, but the pasta is actually quite reasonable and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Back to menu Return to top