$72 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

Macdonald Aviemore Inn

3 stars
Aviemore Highland Resort, Aviemore, PH22 1PN
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
13 reviews
Fantastic stay

Upgraded to a lodge. Great time had by us all.Breakfast was very good. No complaints at all. Thanks. See full review

  • Howaythelad
  • Aug 9, 2013
hotel

very good hotel everything perfect.plenty of parking .everything close at and.good breakfast. only... See full review

  • shotts
  • Apr 3, 2013
The Aviemore Inn offers 62 standard bedrooms situated next to the main conference centre and retail outlet. The Aviemore Inn includes Giovanni's Italian restaurant. The Hotel is 3* and is centrally located in Aviemore Town within the Aviemore Highland Resort. As there are four hotels on the resort there is a choice of restaurants and bars to enjoy during your stay. The Aviemore Inn is a short walk to the leisure arena where guests can enjoy swimming, gym activities or our beauty salon. Also on the resort there is a retail outlet with a vast variety of gifts, clothing and food.
If you play golf our Spey Valley Championship golf course is a "must play" course.
Locally you can visit many attractions: Osprey Centre, Strathspey steam railway, Rothiemurchas estate, Wildlife Park, Folk museum, Landmark forest theme park, loch ness, jacobite cruises, heather centre, cawdor castle, glenlivet distillery.

Hotel Map

57.1884 -3.8331
Area served
Locally you can visit many attractions: Cairngorm mountain and funicular railway. Osprey Centre, Strathspey steam railway, Rothiemurchas estate, Wildlife Park, Folk museum, Landmark forest theme park, loch ness, jacobite cruises, heather centre, ca
Nearby airports
Inverness Airport is approximately 34 miles from Aviemore. Edinburgh and glasgow airports are within driving distance of just under 3 hours.
Area description
When you arrive at the resort, Follow signs for the central check in and reception. From here our reception team will direct you to the hotel that you have booked for your stay and inform you of on resort information.

The Resort has plentiful complimentary car parking at each hotel on the resort and at the conference centre.

By Car: From the A9 follow signs for Aviemore. Once on Grampian Road you will see the turning on the left for Macdonald Aviemore Highland Resort.
By Bus: The local bus stop is close to the resort and you will see the resort within walking distance.
By Train: Aviemore Train station is adjacent to the resort and is a short two minute walk from the central reception. If you wish a taxi or help with your luggage the taxi rank is directly outside the train station.

Locally you can visit many attractions: Cairngorm mountain and funicular railway. Osprey Centre, Strathspey steam railway, Rothiemurchas estate, Wildlife Park, Folk museum, Lan

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Macdonald Aviemore Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Macdonald Aviemore Inn Rooms

STANDARD - HOTEL
Standard Twin Bedroom with 2 single beds.
STANDARD - HOTEL
Standard Double room - 1 double bed

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Aviemore Highland Resort has 10 main conference rooms in our on site conference centre. The Osprey arena can hold up to 1150 delegates theatre style, 700 cabaret and 610 classroom style, 890 banquet and 670 for a dinner dance. Conference organisers can be assured that whatever the event, the conference centre has a meeting room or an exhibition space to match. For large events, the whole resort can be placed at your disposal, with different rooms and different spaces used for registration, break out spaces and banqueting. Support services available: Car parking, Business centre, Delegates registration desk, Transport, Marketing, Venue Dressing, Site Security, Additional Space, On-site Technical services, IT Support, Video Conferencing.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (13)

Ratings and reviews for Macdonald Aviemore Inn

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 13
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.5

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Macdonald Aviemore Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
shotts
macdonald avimore inn
Apr 3, 2013

hotel

very good hotel everything perfect.plenty of parking .everything close at and.good breakfast. only one thing to complain about the lift does not work sometimes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

papa rock is excellent dining,also the cairngorm hotel. Plenty ofoutdoor activites ,walking sking,canoe,mountain bike,everything for the out doors.

Review of Macdonald Aviemore Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Howaythelad
Peterhead
Aug 9, 2013

Fantastic stay

Upgraded to a lodge. Great time had by us all.Breakfast was very good. No complaints at all. Thanks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Macdonald Aviemore Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GHAM
Kirkcaldy
Oct 12, 2012

good short break

Good hotel.Excellent value for money. Good breakfast and first class liesure facilities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Macdonald Aviemore Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nytraveler1
New York, NY, USA
Oct 15, 2012

This is a decent hotel.

The hotel is good. The location is near the castle. There is parking. The rooms was nice. There were not problems. Drive into the inner courtyard for parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Macdonald Aviemore Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GHAM
Kirkcaldy
Jun 19, 2013

weekend getaway

Great central location, The leisure facilities are great. Good quality buffett breakfast. The decoration in the rooms is getting slightly tired but good value for money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Macdonald Aviemore Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nicola1
Ayrshire
Jan 31, 2013

Excellent location

Great value, fantastic breakfast, no complaints at all!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Macdonald Aviemore Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sherwood
highlands
Jul 8, 2014

value for money

We really enjoyed our stay here. The facilities for the children were brilliant. A new centre recently opened with a recording studio! The staff were great. The rooms are tired but we didnt plan on staying in the room all day!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Macdonald Aviemore Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sammi12
Carnoustie, Angus
Jul 22, 2013

Disappointing Family stay

I booked 2 rooms, 1 for my teenage son and I and the other for my elderly parents. On arrival, the disabled access request had not been passed on to the hotel and my parents had to be accommodated in a different hotel (Highland Hotel) from us which was very disappointing. The room my parents had was stunning and had free note pads/pens/fruit teabags/shortbread and face cloths which our shabby room did not. Our room was very basic in comparison and had a tiny shower head over the bath that required a correct mix of both hot and cold taps to work compared to the 7jet power shower in my parents' room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Roos Leap - amazing food and plentiful.

Review of Macdonald Aviemore Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
P and J
Aberdeenshire
Jul 12, 2014

Great location but needs an upgrade

Only two things needed to enhance our stay and encourage us back....a working lift to our room and air conditioning for our oven of a room (or at least a fan as a stop gap). Easy walking distance to town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Macdonald Aviemore Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
nytraveler1
New York, NY, USA
Dec 18, 2012

Aviemore Inn is like a dormitory.

The Inn is like a dormitory. There is no lock on the door. The room door could be opened with a credit card. There is no internet. The TV is from the 1980's. There is no refrigerator. There is no safe. There is only one small towel bar in the bathroom. The price for this room varied on different sites. This site is not the cheapest. The hotel staff were amazed that I paid so much. This is a hotel for cheap bus tours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top

Change search