Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen

4 stars
122 Huntly Street, Aberdeen, AB10 1SU
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
7 reviews
Brilliant all rounder

Staff exceptionally friendly and helpful. Lovely food. Relaxing atmosphere. Great value. See full review

  • Fuzzyhead
  • Oct 22, 2013
Nice surprise

Had to book here instead of my usual hotel due to it being a busy period. Very nice location. You... See full review

  • Bruth Trutal
  • Jul 9, 2013
The Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen, Aberdeen's premier hotel, is located in the city centre within easy walking distance of the main shopping area. Behind the granite facade of this historic building one will find traditional charm combined with modern amenities and impeccable service. The Copthorne Aberdeen has a small limited car park under the hotel, this is free on a first-come-first-served basis. Adjacent, to the hotel there is a public car park (500 spaces) charges are applicable in line with the city of Aberdeen parking policy. The tranquillity of the Braemar Countryside and an array of the finest Whisky distilleries and castles are just some of the superb local attractions. Whether travelling for business or pleasure, a warm welcome awaits. The various amenities provided are ballroom, banquet facilities, bar, concierge, conference facilities, disabled facilities, dry cleaning, wireless internet access, laundrys ervice, lift/elevator, non smoking rooms, reception, pets allowed, restaurant, room service 24 hours and smoke free hotel. Pets are allowed. Pets, defined as domesticated cats or dogs, are welcome at the managers discretion. For the comfort of other guests a maximum of 2 pets are allowed per room. Please note that other than transiting to bedrooms pets are not allowed in any of the public areas. A 25.00 charge will apply to the room for the duration of your stay with the exception of guide dogs, any damage or extra cleaning costs required, will be chargeable on departure.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen also booked these hotels.

Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen Rooms

Club Rooms
Complimentary wifi & continental breakfast, free newspaper and mineral water, selection of upgraded toiletries
Connoisseur
The room offers a twin bed with alarm clock, bathroom amenities, color TV, disabled facilities, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, laundry service, non smoking rooms, pay TV, pay-per-view-movies, radio, rooms service, tea and coffee making facilities and telephone.
Standard
The room offers a double bed with alarm clock, bathroom amenities, color TV, disabled facilities, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, laundry service, non smoking rooms, pay TV, pay-per-view-movies, radio, rooms service, tea and coffee making facilities and telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Aberdeen Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Aberdeen Station: 0.4 mi
  • Aberdeen Art Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Aberdeen Antique Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Aberdeen Maritime Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Old Aberdeen Bookshop: 1.1 mi
  • Duthie Park: 1.2 mi
  • Codonas Amusement Park: 1.2 mi
  • Pittodrie Stadium: 1.3 mi
  • Gordon Highlanders Museum: 1.5 mi
  • University of Aberdeen: 1.7 mi
  • Bridge of Dee: 1.8 mi
  • The Robert Gordon University: 2.1 mi
  • Gray's School of Art: 2.3 mi
  • Bridge of Don: 2.4 mi
  • Aberdeen Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Aberdeen Station: 0.4 mi
  • Aberdeen Art Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Aberdeen Antique Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Aberdeen Maritime Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Old Aberdeen Bookshop: 1.1 mi
  • Duthie Park: 1.2 mi
  • Codonas Amusement Park: 1.2 mi
  • Pittodrie Stadium: 1.3 mi
  • Gordon Highlanders Museum: 1.5 mi
  • University of Aberdeen: 1.7 mi
  • Bridge of Dee: 1.8 mi
  • The Robert Gordon University: 2.1 mi
  • Gray's School of Art: 2.3 mi
  • Bridge of Don: 2.4 mi
  • Hazlehead Park: 2.6 mi
  • Royal Aberdeen Golf Club: 2.6 mi
  • AECC: 2.9 mi
  • The Green Aberdeen: 6 mi
  • Balmedie Beach: 7.6 mi
  • Pitmedden Garden: 13.7 mi
  • Dunnottar Castle: 14 mi
  • River Dee: 28.2 mi
  • Macduff Marine Aquarium: 38.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (7)

Ratings and reviews for Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
7 out of 7
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.3

57% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fuzzyhead
Business
Eccleshall
Oct 22, 2013

Brilliant all rounder

Staff exceptionally friendly and helpful. Lovely food. Relaxing atmosphere. Great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Very central

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bruth Trutal
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Jul 9, 2013

Nice surprise

Had to book here instead of my usual hotel due to it being a busy period. Very nice location. You can walk to anything downtown. Hotel is clean and everything you would expect. Decent breakfast with ordering possibilities (rather than buffet). Bar was not very busy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Paul M
Business
Guildford
Sep 13, 2012

Noisy, uncomfortable and unpleasant

Do not stay in this hotel if you intend to sleep. There was some machinery on the roof directly above my bed, which made it sound as though I was in the engine room of an ocean-going ship. The vibrations were violent enough to make the ceiling light fittings rattle. There were other deficiencies too. I'm not tall, but had to crouch to get under the non-adjustable shower head. And you have to open the window because there's no air conditioning/circulation system in the room, which would not be a problem except for the pool of standing water outside that attracts a cloud of midges. Oh, and they don't have a single ale in the bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rickster
Business
Scotland
Aug 22, 2012

Good size room

Just stopped off for the 1 night was eventfull lol,just nodding off to sleep when fire alarms went off. apart from that a pretty good hotel,could add maybe hot chocolate to room selection as my wife doesnt drink tea or coffee. Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A good breakfast can be had at the justice mill on union st,a 5 min walk from hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maga
Business
Wales
Aug 20, 2012

A comfortable night

Comfortable, clean, well located and quiet (apart from an unfortunate problem in the water system in the next bedroom that should really have been reported by the occupier and I am sure would then have been rectified). Would certainly willingly go there again and would recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
because we deserve it
Business
Morayshire
Jul 31, 2012

Traditional Hotel in great need of facelift!!

Bar Service - Ordered 2 x cocktails both inconsistent with ingredients and too much ice!! Staff appeared to be inexperienced when putting together cocktails, particularly when customers are treating themselves as they are not the cheapest of drinks...both £6.00 plus each which is ok when cocktail is made well! Wont be ordering cocktails in the future! Car Parking - is on a first come first served basis, this is not illustrated on the website and the location of the hotel is not in the best of areas in Aberdeen. There is a large complex of flats directly opposite hotel which looked unmaintained and run down. Had no option but to leave my pride and joy audi on a street corner due to lack of allocated car parking. If I would have known this in advance I would not have made the booking. Carpet in standard double room was really really really worn... not quite sure why this has not been identified by staff but the carpet was so threadbare around the bed. The room was very clkean and fresh smelling, bedding was clean and crisp, however the dark dull room, poor lighting and thread bare carpeting left a very negative impression as the hotel rates itself as being a 4 star. How is a hotel able to rate itself a 4 star if it promotes having threadbare carpets to its customers! The stay was both a surprise and a real treat for me and my partner, I felt I let my partner down as the standard was not quality or high level. large amounts of dust was identified on 2 of the bedside lamps which looked grey when lamps were lit. If the hotel is going to provide clean fresh crisp linen and other quality touches then why dishearten customers with thread bare carpets and thick dust on lamp shades. Customers expect good service, quality service and clean crisp accomodation throughout...I felt the hotel did not provide this. The bar ceiling was in great need of restoration and the skirting in the bar area was so thick with dust in areas. 1 special night away from home is all we wanted, staying in a clean good quality hotel which is what we expected. I appreciate that the cost is good value for money, however i feel customers need to be made aware that if it is value for money that customers are looking for then expect to see dust, threadbare carpets in a hotel that promotes itself as being a 4 star hotel, however it beggars belief how a hotel rates itself as being 4 star with some of the concerns I identified during what was supposed to be 1 special night for me and my partner away from home. I shall not be returning to the Copthorne Hotel due to what i believe to be basic standards of quality of service and environment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
xring
Business
Scotland
Jul 27, 2012

Not for the price.

Warm welcome from the receptionist, and friendly bar man. The room carpet was completly threadbare. The old crt television was too low and could not be viewed comfortably in the bed. The shower head was far to low and required squatting for a good shower. A heavy layer of dust covered the sockets behind the TV. Free WIFI would go a long way in the modern world.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top