$81 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 20, 2015 Check-out: Jun 23, 2015

Villa Rotana - Dubai

4 stars
View map of Sheikh Zayed Road Dubai, Parallel To Dubai Intl, Dubai,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Villa Rotana - Dubai

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 20
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.9
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.5

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Villa Rotana - Dubai

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GilbertLUFC
Business
Leeds UK
Oct 29, 2012

Ideal For Getting Around

We'd been to Dubai before and had a famous Friday brunch in another Rotana property which was excellent. So we weren't expecting any real issues as Rotana hotels seem to be generally very good judging by our own experience and feedback of others. However, the Villa Rotana is at the budget end of Rotana's offerings but we needn't have been concerned about that because there is definitely nothing "budget" about this place. It's located on an avenue running parallel to Sheikh Zayed Road, a road which has 6 lanes in each direction and is therefore full of traffic all night long. But funnily enough, after the first night, when you're very aware of it, you don't even notice the traffic. The TV's in the rooms are wall-mounted and can be a bit of a nuisance if your neighboring room likes to stay up late and watch TV. But those were the only noise nuisances we were aware of - and only a couple of nights out of the 8 we stayed here was acceptable to us because the plus points of this hotel far outweigh the minus. There are 2 metro stations within easy walking distance - Business Bay and Burj Khalifa. There's not much to do at Business Bay, but if you walk to the Burj Khalifa station and cross Sheikh Zayed Road there, within another 10 minutes you're at Dubai Mall, the biggest shopping mall in the world, and the absolutely amazing Burj Khalifa, the tallest building in the world at over 800m high. In this area called Downtown, you'll find hundreds of restaurants from quick snack joints to a la carte. I can say with all honesty that in 2 vistis to Dubai, we have never once been left wishing that we hadn't eaten at a particular place. The restaurants are without exception all high quality and if you play your cards right, you can eat very inexpensively. Try the Lebanese food. A taxi back to Villa Rotana from this area is going to cost about 4 quid. The rooms at the Villa Rotana are kept immaculate by housekeeping and though I'm unsure if they're all the same, ours had a fully equipped kitchen with cooker, fridge, freezer, etc which was great becasue 1 hundred yards away on the same side of the road was a very reasonably priced supermarket selling all the stuff you can get at home plus tons of local food which is very very good. Breakfast at the hotel is buffet style with a superb combination of western and local food and the very proud chef cooks your eggs fresh to order any way you want them. If you go hungry at this hotel then you must be the fussiest eater of all time. After breakfast, take the lift up to the 5th floor where you'll find the "Bodylines" rooftop pool area. The pool is small but the views are good and there are plenty of sunbeds available. There's also an excellent indoor area complete with jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and power showers. Excellent for when you've used the very well equipped gym for a workout. To summarise, this hotel will not disappoint in any way at all. It's in a great location for public transport, and it never takes more than a minute to flag down a cab which you can use to get to any of the Dubai areas, Jumeirah, Jumeirah Beach, Marina, Downtown, Madinat, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

If you want to "Do Dubai" in a day, take a walk to the Dubai Mall and locate the City Bus Tour booking desk at the far side of the Mall where all the posh shops are. You can buy a ticket for the bus which you can use for 24 hours and hop on and off the bus at some of Dubai's most famous locations including Atlantis On The Palm, Burj Al Arab, Madinat, Jumeirah, etc. It's quite expensive but well worth it.

Review of Villa Rotana - Dubai

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Terry B.
Business
England
Oct 24, 2012

Celebration

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel. It was ideal for me and my wife, The location was perfect, a five minute walk to the Metro which took us to all the malls. The breakfast choice was really good. served by such pleasant and well mannered staff. The gym, the swimming pool and all the amenities were excellent. I have one small criticism, and that was the hair dryer was fitted in the drawer next to the bed, across the room from the mirror, which made it very awkward for my to dry hair hair.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are plenty of choice restaurants in all of the malls.

Review of Villa Rotana - Dubai

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MDSakisara
Business
London
Oct 15, 2012

Fantastic family getaway

Very good location. Very clean hotel. Excellent facilities, close to metro station, only few stops away to main town center. Very friendly staff and very helpfull

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Villa Rotana - Dubai

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MandyJN
Business
Doha, Qatar
Sep 15, 2012

Worry-free stay

I was in Dubai alone, so I wanted to find a safe, centrally located hotel. This was perfect, a very brief taxi (or one metro stop) away from the Burj Khalifa/Dubai Mall area. Very comfortable room/bed, very attentive staff, great breakfast. And how often can you swim in a rooftop pool while staring up at the tallest building in the world? The one issue was that, even though I had upgraded to a king-sized bed on this site, the hotel was fully booked for king-sized beds. But all I did was politely request a refund for the upgrade, and suddenly I was staying in a suite. Would recommend this hotel to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Burj Khalifa's "At the Top" tour was expensive but not all that impressive (they only take you up to the 124th floor, despite the building being over 200 stories). If you're going to do it, buy tickets in advance online -- you pay about $30 instead of $100! However, the Dubai Fountain water show (every half hour from 1800-2300) is free and highly entertaining.

Review of Villa Rotana - Dubai

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Henry Rupert
Business
London, UK
Jul 8, 2012

Great Location

Location great, staff great with attention to detail and willingness to help. A bit chaotic when I went for the breakfast in the morning with a feel of free for all and no organisation and follow up. This could be due to no one available from of house due to the fact that it was very busy and full. The second day however, much improved. Gym facilities average. Free internet access could have made the visit very appealing with a definite return visit. The hotel management did show resilience to rectify concerns raised on lack of invoicing, which was emailed later, albeit with different customer details on it. Overall, great location, friendly staff, adequate gym facilities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Villa Rotana - Dubai

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Saudi Arabian Expat
Business
Riyadh, Kingdom of Saudi Arabia
Apr 30, 2012

Fantastic Stay

Stayed at the Villa Rotana for 3 nights. The Staff was exceptional and extremely polite. The breakfast buffet had a great variety and choice of well prepared foods to start the day. The location along Sheikh Zayed Road is easily accessible and is a short distance to anywhere in Dubai. The Business Center Metro Station is a short walk over the Sheikh Zayed walk bridge. I rented a car and enjoyed the freedom, however I may simply rely on the Metro and Taxi's for future stays. I will return to Dubai soon and will make the Villa Rotana my choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Fantastic Breakfast.

Review of Villa Rotana - Dubai

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gordie
Business
Bath, UK
Jan 21, 2012

Excellent service

Villa Rotana has a great situation just across from the Business Bay metro station. It's well placed for Jumeira Beach and for getting to both Deira and the Marina/Palm. Breakfasts are superb with a great choice. But the best thing about the hotel is its staff - everyone was just so friendly and helpful. Really great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try the Belgian Bar in the Dubai creek Crowne Plaza. Great food and beers,

Review of Villa Rotana - Dubai

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, Illinois
May 10, 2010

Great experience

Great hotel, excellent location. Very very clean and nice breakfast in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out the Burj Khalifa

Review of Villa Rotana - Dubai

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Make My Day!
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jan 31, 2010

Dubai-Villa Rotana

exercise room open late and close too early. Could not use because I need to leave early and come back late or too tire to go to exercise and work out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to supermarket and inexpensive dinning, Istambul Flower - nice middle eastern food - don't expect great attention in service, but decent food for the price you pay. I did not do much around the area, but it is right across the street from Burj Khalifa (previous Burj Dubai), the world tallest building. For one who are in Dubai to visit Dubai Mall and Emirate Mall and Burj Al Arabia. This is great location close.

Review of Villa Rotana - Dubai

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lockerman
Business
Seattle
Dec 16, 2009

Comfortable, quiet and tasty!

Ask my wife and daughters - I'm very picky about my bed, pillows and quiet. I like soft beds (Westin Heavenly style is perfect), soft pillows, and perfect quiet. The Rotana fulfilled all these wishes and I slept like a baby. Very large room too - easily accomodated a cot for our teen daughter. Interior decor was a bit ultra for us 50-somethings - finished concrete counter, Jetson's style couch and chair; a bit dark; but good HD TV. Continental breakfast selection was the best - and widest selection - of 3 hotels we stayed in this trip - excellent service too. Hotel is centrally located for $10-20 cab rides to Deira district (old town; fun area to walk about) and other attractions. However, it's not a pedestrian friendly area just yet; too much construction in the immediate area and no good sidewalks. However, for comfort, quiet and a good meal to start the day, this hotel exceeded my picky expectations. Thanks Rotana! P.S. By comparison, the beds at Hyatt Regency were way too hard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit the historic school and home in the Deira district to gain an understanding of life in Dubai before the high rises. Also, formal tea service at the Burj, though not inexpensive, is the cheapest way to see the hotel and it IS worth seeing.

Back to menu Return to top