$69 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 16, 2015 Check-out: Apr 19, 2015

Golden Sands Hotel Apartments

4 stars
View map of Mankhool Street, Bur Dubai, Bur Dubai, Dubai,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Golden Sands Hotel Apartments

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
74 out of 74
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.1

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Golden Sands Hotel Apartments

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
earthangel713
Business
Jordan, Amman
Feb 25, 2010

Wonderful!

It was amazing stay at Golden Sand Hotel Apartments from check in to check out! Was in G5, staying 4 and half days. Much cheaper then Jordan if you ever go to Jordan and so modern with high tech in Dubai. Very mixed community like america is and very friendly people. I felt at home away from my own home there and so did my husband. Which my Husband is from KAS and from USA though we live in Jordan for his schooling. We arrived late from the airport at midnight to go to the hotel. We had to find a taxi on the way side from departure area since I don't think they were allowed to stop at that area. Decent price from the airport to the hotel. It was about 45 AED which is alot cheaper then Jordan which is 20 JOD!! The hotel was very friendly and was fast on any of our request. Food is very cheap. Alot of shops in the area. A Spinneys near by which was great. We basically walked everywhere since everything is in walking distance saving us money getting to know the areas. Going to a China town resturant which was wonderful that first day and went to Bur Juman Centre Mall. We took the Metro on our second day by Bur Juman Centre which was cheap for sliver card for all zones which was 20 AED each. We took the Metro everywhere exploring from one end to the other end and even went to Emirates Mall. We ate at a Indian food court there. It was so spicy and delicious plus they handed us 4 coupons where if we spend 10 AED we would get 2 AED back from certain areas. We never got to go to Dubai Mall though since it was getting way late and had to walk home from the metro from Bur Juman Centre. Third day we had made a booking in G3 from the second day we were there since it was full that day to go to the beach free. They have a Open Beach and a girls only beach which we didn't know about until we got there on the bus. Just tell the driver your going to Open beach or your going to get confuse of them telling you it's a girls only. hehe It's from 9:30 am to 4pm. The bus is in G5 in the parking lot. Beautiful beach indeed and sooo relaxing. They actually have two tracks one for runners and other for roller blades plus bikes. Which I wish I had roller blades :( The food at the beach is bit costy when got some, but there is a Spinneys across the street when the bus dropped us off, which we should have done and got sun screen lotion as well. I got so sun burn since I didn't prepare myself to bring anything down the beach nor did I think I was going to swim. That's what I get for being in a hurry of us being late to the bus, which we weren't. The water is so warm as well more then I can say for the pacific ocean, even the water is even more salter. They do have walk way out on the rock cliffs that we sat on enjoying the view, taking pictures as well and on the other side as well. There were two cliffs on each side of the beach. 4th day we stayed in since I hurt to much at lease there is a pharmacy close by to get sun burn pain relieve, but was sad to stay in. We left that morning our flight left at 8am. All together I had wonderful time in Dubai and the hotel. Which I would love to live in Dubai then here in Jordan. So many things to do and to explore and people are much friendly then act as if your terrorist even to there own local people in Jordan. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Sands Hotel Apartments

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dr Cure
Business
New Jersey
Feb 19, 2010

Not Satisfied

This was my third stay at Goldensands, first thing they don't mention which goldensands u r going to at the time of booking and I don't think its a good thing.... previously I stayed for a day for 2 times but this time had to stay bit longer.... on day one when I checked in room was not in a good shape and I don't know if they even changed the beddings, trash was lying on the floor, AC thermostat was broken, extremly poor internet connection, although they mention that they have wifi but its just in the restaurant not in the rooms, if you don't have traveler's adapter for your electronic items better get one with you. No fixed timings for the room make up thing, sometime they will come up at 11am and sometime u'll have to beg them to come and clean it....... last two days of my stay were miserable, no internet connection at all.... Anyways, if you are planing to stay at this place for day or two than its ok but if wana stay for a longer period better find some better place as I don't think this place worth staying for a longer period.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Closer to Burjuman and metro station aprox 15 mins walk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Sands Hotel Apartments

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
dont go to dubai go to vegas
Business
Oklahoma
Feb 12, 2010

tried to get a way but..

well it started at the checking,i was bounced around five locations before i got to the golden sands 3 and the cab driver had the meter going on and on,the hotel was too far from everything, when they cleaned the room they just made the bed without changing the sheets i have it recorded in a video..too much charge for the food not a place to relax may be for old people well i guess it wouldn't work for old people either because off the noise and not respecting the do not disturb sign bottom line [...].

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Sands Hotel Apartments

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
tehran
Nov 17, 2009

good

resting

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Sands Hotel Apartments

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Soby
Business
UK
Nov 1, 2009

Dubai Golden Sands 3 Apartments

We stayed at the hotel for 7 nights during the October half-term break and it was an ideal base for our stay with a supermarket and exchange bureau very close-by. Dubai Museum and creek area were a 20 minute walk from the hotel. We booked a number of excursions via the Hotel Tourism desk. Official taxis were easily attainable from outside the hotel and Golden Sands also operated a daily beach shuttle which was handy to reach the Jumeriah beach area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Sands Hotel Apartments

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Healdsburg, CA
Sep 27, 2009

Just Right

The were expecting us. They had free secure parking. The rooms were large and clean and even attractive. The Lonely Planet guide rated this one "adequate." I don't know what they expected. It's the only place I've stayed in Dubai. For the price, it's the best value I've seen. The hotel is in a rather anonymous hotel district with restaurants on the nearby main street. It was too hot even at night to walk very far.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Sands Hotel Apartments

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Haseeb
Business
London, UK
Sep 13, 2009

Golden Sands Hotel experience

The experience was an average one although a little dissapointing and in-convenient. The hotel room was of a good size, clean and regularly serviced. However the furniture was quite old the kitchen utilise (sink, fridge etc) were quite old and not modern. The hotel is certainly very close to old Dubai (Bur Dubai) but it's very far from the major attractions that people go to Dubai to see. The restaurant is quite good and swimming pool is great. Taxis are near enough impossible to get and you really have to wait a long time for a taxi to come outside the hotel. Once you get a taxi, they do charge a lot of money so really it's more value for money by paying extra for a better hotel on Sh Zayd Road. However if you are on a tight budget or you have booked late in a busy period and cannot get booked into another hotel (our situation as we could not book at any other hotel) the this hotel is good as a last resort. My honest suggestion would be to spend a little extra and stay at a hotel on Sh Zayd Road where you can easily get taxis and you can walk down to some nice shops and it's really the start of a wonderful experience in Dubai. Especially with the metro system opening soon, it will be much cheaper to get the metro which will be accessible from hotels on Sh Zayd road

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Take the MegaBus tour which costs around £25 per person for a whole day. You can jump on and jump off at various attractions. You can do both Old Dubai and New Dubai routes. Really will save you a lot of money on taxis.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Sands Hotel Apartments

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NJae
Business
Ipswich, England
Aug 16, 2009

Great family getaway

We stayed at Golden Sands 10 (there are 11) from August 5th-15th 2009. The hotel staff were very good to us providing quick service when and where needed. We arrived to the hotel at 8:00am and they checked us in without even a question of the time. The rooms were clean, the bedding and all towels were changed every day. Room were large and beds comfortable, definitely a home from home. We didn't use the hotel's restaurant, so I'm unable to comment on it. All appliances worked and utensils, iron, ironing board, microwave etc were all included. Wireless Internet was only provided free in the reception area but at a cost in the rooms. Malls, shops, supermarket and sites are all in close proximity of the hotel. Beware of the white taxis outside the hotels, they are much more expensive than the Dubai-taxi service and you can't view their meters while they're driving as it's in the glove compartment. A good advert for Hotel-Apartments at a good price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Burjamin Mall - Have a lot of money with you as this is one of the more expensive malls in Dubai

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Sands Hotel Apartments

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jul 28, 2009

Anniversary vacation on a Budget

Golden Sands Hotel Apartment #3 is well located with lots of facilities within 10 mins walking. Staff was friendly, but had VERY poor communication with each other, as they did not brief the new staff on duty. So sadly be prepared to repeat things at least 3 times to different people.Car rental and Tours for all Golden Sands are at #3 so that was very convenient for bookings. Still shop around before you book.For Currency exchange, go to exchange Bureau across from Ramada Hotel (about 5-7 mins walk) as rates are very low at Hotels.for example hotel gives for US$1 = 3.50 Drhms but at Bureau US $1 = 3.65DrhmsThe Beds...oh the BEDS...Worst night sleep I ever had. If you are over 6" tall forget it...they call a double bed ...KING Perfect if you want low key accommodation, self-catering facilities, and then use your funds for tours and stuff. For $54 pn for 1 Bed Studio we got what we paid for.Watch how you travel in metered taxi. If you will be doing multiple trips and stops may be more economic to Hire a luxury taxi (Lexus)at the front of hotel. For a safe, friendly and reliable driver for City tour and hourly trips, we travelled with [...] 971 508 194 292, He is EXCELLENT and accommodating. If you contact him with your arrival date he will meet you at the airport and take great care of you and your family.Happy travel folks.....:-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Self-Catering is definitely more economical if you have young ones or on a Budget. For short journeys use metered taxis and don't be afraid to ask locals for cheap resturants with good food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Sands Hotel Apartments

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mangel
Business
Coral Springs, FL
Jul 6, 2009

unbeatable location for the price

Hotel was very nice and location was perfect. you can walk to shopping center and supermarket. Staff were very friendly and helpful. I enjoy my stay at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't be afraid to ask for discount at the market.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top