$45 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 13, 2015 Check-out: Sep 15, 2015

Golden Sands Hotel Apartments

4 stars
View map of Mankhool Street, Bur Dubai, Bur Dubai, Dubai,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Golden Sands Hotel Apartments

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
76 out of 76
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.8
Value:
4

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Golden Sands Hotel Apartments

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cleo
Couples
Michigan, USA
Aug 29, 2011

It was Alright...

We had to stay here for a couple of weeks, the room was not very clean, seemed like they hadn't cleaned it when we first arrived; staff is pretty friendly and always ready to help, but I do wish they'd clean the rooms properly...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Golden Sands Hotel Apartments

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Atlanta, GA
Jul 28, 2009

Anniversary vacation on a Budget

Golden Sands Hotel Apartment #3 is well located with lots of facilities within 10 mins walking. Staff was friendly, but had VERY poor communication with each other, as they did not brief the new staff on duty. So sadly be prepared to repeat things at least 3 times to different people.Car rental and Tours for all Golden Sands are at #3 so that was very convenient for bookings. Still shop around before you book.For Currency exchange, go to exchange Bureau across from Ramada Hotel (about 5-7 mins walk) as rates are very low at Hotels.for example hotel gives for US$1 = 3.50 Drhms but at Bureau US $1 = 3.65DrhmsThe Beds...oh the BEDS...Worst night sleep I ever had. If you are over 6" tall forget it...they call a double bed ...KING Perfect if you want low key accommodation, self-catering facilities, and then use your funds for tours and stuff. For $54 pn for 1 Bed Studio we got what we paid for.Watch how you travel in metered taxi. If you will be doing multiple trips and stops may be more economic to Hire a luxury taxi (Lexus)at the front of hotel. For a safe, friendly and reliable driver for City tour and hourly trips, we travelled with [...] 971 508 194 292, He is EXCELLENT and accommodating. If you contact him with your arrival date he will meet you at the airport and take great care of you and your family.Happy travel folks.....:-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Self-Catering is definitely more economical if you have young ones or on a Budget. For short journeys use metered taxis and don't be afraid to ask locals for cheap resturants with good food.

Review of Golden Sands Hotel Apartments

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
tehran
Nov 17, 2009

good

resting

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Golden Sands Hotel Apartments

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Haseeb
Couples
London, UK
Sep 13, 2009

Golden Sands Hotel experience

The experience was an average one although a little dissapointing and in-convenient. The hotel room was of a good size, clean and regularly serviced. However the furniture was quite old the kitchen utilise (sink, fridge etc) were quite old and not modern. The hotel is certainly very close to old Dubai (Bur Dubai) but it's very far from the major attractions that people go to Dubai to see. The restaurant is quite good and swimming pool is great. Taxis are near enough impossible to get and you really have to wait a long time for a taxi to come outside the hotel. Once you get a taxi, they do charge a lot of money so really it's more value for money by paying extra for a better hotel on Sh Zayd Road. However if you are on a tight budget or you have booked late in a busy period and cannot get booked into another hotel (our situation as we could not book at any other hotel) the this hotel is good as a last resort. My honest suggestion would be to spend a little extra and stay at a hotel on Sh Zayd Road where you can easily get taxis and you can walk down to some nice shops and it's really the start of a wonderful experience in Dubai. Especially with the metro system opening soon, it will be much cheaper to get the metro which will be accessible from hotels on Sh Zayd road

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Take the MegaBus tour which costs around £25 per person for a whole day. You can jump on and jump off at various attractions. You can do both Old Dubai and New Dubai routes. Really will save you a lot of money on taxis.

Review of Golden Sands Hotel Apartments

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Clarity1
Business
Arizona
Sep 2, 2014

Great value

clean room, friendly staff, good location - all for a great price. What more do you need?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Indian food at Gazebo - around the corner a few blocks

Review of Golden Sands Hotel Apartments

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
S s kapoor
Business
pleasanton
Apr 27, 2015

fair deal.

It's budget studio apartment.. location is good. Staff are friendly. rooms are good & clean. but washroom is cramped.. recommended for budget..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Golden Sands Hotel Apartments

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
G Baecke
Couples
Netherlands
Feb 10, 2014

Price value perfect

Had a good time there, and everybody was very helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Golden Sands Hotel Apartments

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lucky Lainey
Couples
Co Mayo, Ireland
Feb 10, 2014

Excellent service great value and professional staff

We were delighted with this hotel. Staff were very helpful and polite. Building is very clean, large room, rooftop pool, great breakfast and a light evening meal also offered. Exercise room had everything we needed. No noise in the hotel and good room service. We were more than happy with this hotel and would definitely recommend. The area is not a tourist area so cover up shoulders and knees and ideally take taxis door to door at night. Train runs from this area to all the tourist spots. We visited the Aquarium in dubai mall, ski dubai, Atlantis hotel, the Outlet mall and saw the fountains several times during our 6 days there. Just enough time to see it all in a relaxed way. It's all about shopping and you won't believe how much time you will spend in the mall. It's another world. Shop till you drop!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The first carriage on the train is for Gold Card holders. This is less crowded with more comfortable seats. Better choice during rush hours and it costs just 7 Dirham one way for a Gold Zone ticket.

Review of Golden Sands Hotel Apartments

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NJae
Family
Ipswich, England
Aug 16, 2009

Great family getaway

We stayed at Golden Sands 10 (there are 11) from August 5th-15th 2009. The hotel staff were very good to us providing quick service when and where needed. We arrived to the hotel at 8:00am and they checked us in without even a question of the time. The rooms were clean, the bedding and all towels were changed every day. Room were large and beds comfortable, definitely a home from home. We didn't use the hotel's restaurant, so I'm unable to comment on it. All appliances worked and utensils, iron, ironing board, microwave etc were all included. Wireless Internet was only provided free in the reception area but at a cost in the rooms. Malls, shops, supermarket and sites are all in close proximity of the hotel. Beware of the white taxis outside the hotels, they are much more expensive than the Dubai-taxi service and you can't view their meters while they're driving as it's in the glove compartment. A good advert for Hotel-Apartments at a good price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Burjamin Mall - Have a lot of money with you as this is one of the more expensive malls in Dubai

Review of Golden Sands Hotel Apartments

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Soby
Family
UK
Nov 1, 2009

Dubai Golden Sands 3 Apartments

We stayed at the hotel for 7 nights during the October half-term break and it was an ideal base for our stay with a supermarket and exchange bureau very close-by. Dubai Museum and creek area were a 20 minute walk from the hotel. We booked a number of excursions via the Hotel Tourism desk. Official taxis were easily attainable from outside the hotel and Golden Sands also operated a daily beach shuttle which was handy to reach the Jumeriah beach area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top