$145 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 23, 2015 Check-out: Apr 24, 2015

Bonnington Jumeirah Lakes Towers

5 stars
View map of Cluster J, Jumeirah Lakes Towers, Dubai,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Bonnington Jumeirah Lakes Towers

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
70 out of 70
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.8
Location:
3.7
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Bonnington Jumeirah Lakes Towers

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Expat traveler
Business
Shanghai, China
Feb 19, 2010

Not Quite There Yet

This hotel apartment is still in its soft opening stage. There was still a lot of construction going on in and around the hotel. The construction workers were using the main elevators so it sometimes took up to 20 minutes for an elevator to become available during business hours. Some of the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and some were very unresponsive. The hotel car was not at the airport as promised to pick us up. Our flight was over an hour late arriving in Dubai. We were told that we did not show up for the car so he left. They did call the car back to pick us up because we had already paid and would have been charged as a no show if we had not taken the car, but that took another 30 minutes. The rooms were very clean and decorated nicely. They are still having some problems with the electricity. A circuit breaker would pop every time we started the dryer. Luckily the fuse box was located right by the front door so we could reset it ourselves. The wireless internet did not work at all. My husband had to work while we were there so that was a big problem. We called down to the front desk repeatedly to get a code to access the wireless internet, but no one knew what to do. They said they would send up a cable so we could plug into the wall, but no one showed up with that either. This hotel still has a lot of bugs to work out before they can call themselves a 5 star residence, but at the prices they are charging during their soft opening it was a good deal overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

There are a lot of fun things to do in Dubai. If you want to avoid the crowds get an early start. Most places open at 10-11 am. The water parks and shopping malls don't get crowded until the late afternoon.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bonnington Jumeirah Lakes Towers

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Expat At Large
Feb 14, 2010

Utter Luxury (with a few kinks)

Having found a 1-bedroom serviced hotel apt. at the newly opened Bonnington Towers on sale, we just plain got lucky. Gorgeous equipped kitchen great for cooking and bartending in-hotel, fabulously comfortable bed and couches, lovely little balcony, widescreen TVs in both bedroom and sitting room, astounding view of Lakes Towers & Marina, a dream pool, and all beautifully and tastefully decorated. The down side--they're still new enough in Feb 2010 that the coffee maker didn't work, the door beeped constantly, the toilet ran through the night, the shower got water all over the bathroom floor, the concierge wasn't quite up to speed, and the housekeepers forgot to clean without multiple reminder calls. All in all, this place will be a marvel when they work out the kinks, and in the meantime, the value (5 stars for the price of 2) is unbeatable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Dubai Marina Mall has a Waitrose with a fabulous selection of western food, so you can stock your kitchen and cook for yourself. (Eventually it should be walkable, but currently it's about an 8 minute drive.) It also boasts a Boots, English-language Borders Bookstore, and some great shopping deals.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bonnington Jumeirah Lakes Towers

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DohaJustin
Business
Doha, Qatar
Feb 7, 2010

Dubai - Bonnington Tower

The hotel was great, the service was amazing and the experience was fantastic. The only thing wrong was the mass amounts of construction and the bad location. We had to take a taxi everywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bonnington Jumeirah Lakes Towers

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
D.K
Business
Seoul, South Korea.
Jan 5, 2010

Such a NICE Brand NEW hotel in Dubai

That brand NEW hetel is fantastic... My Family LOVE that place so much.. however, the dubai road construction is still working in that area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bonnington Jumeirah Lakes Towers

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Barney
Business
Milton Keynes, England
Dec 11, 2009

Great Potential

The Hotel was offered at a great price because it is newly opened and has a few finishing touches to be made particularly in the outside areas. What was good. Excellent staff, Nice rooms with good styling, Nice Facilities, Great price What was bad: Roads around the area are chaotic due to the development, It is impossible to walk anywhere, Hot water was very slow to get hot and took up to 15 minutes of leaving the tap running, Steam Room burnt my legs and needs to be fixed. Overall i would definitely recommend this hotel. I am sure if they are listening they can sort out the couple of issues i mentioned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bonnington Jumeirah Lakes Towers

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ann arbor, MI
Dec 7, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price"

all and all it was vvery nice for the price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bonnington Jumeirah Lakes Towers

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
als14
Business
Washington DC
Nov 2, 2009

Good value, but not yet five-star hotel

As a corporate traveler, I regularly log over 200+ hotel nights a year, and have been fortunate to stay at some of the finest hotels in the world. My recent stay at the Bonnington did not meet my expectations for level of hotel service, but offers decent value for a short-term stay. This hotel is NOT recommended for families on vacation, romantic weekend, or any guests looking for a polished five-star hotel upon which Dubai builds its famous reputation. To be fair, the Bonnington is in the midst of a "soft-launch" while in preparation for their Jan 2009 grand opening. I discovered the Bonnington while doing a price search, and noticed an abnormally low-price for five-star hotel in Dubai. Upon further review of the Bonnington's website, it looked like a great deal! First, the location is pretty decent, but exterior landscaping and appearance is poor. The hotel is located in the Jumeriah Lakes area, with close proximity to the Marina and the "New Dubai" beach resorts, as well as close proximity to the new metro station. However, this area is still under heavy construction, with adjacent buildings in various states of repair. The Bonnington itself is only half-finished, with only floors 1-7 open, and the garage and exterior landscaping still giving the appearance of, well, a construction yard. The interior hotel lobby has not yet been fully opened, and a make-shift side counter was being used as the temporary reception area for hotel guests. Second, the check-in process needs to be improved. At most hotels, check-in is a fairly quick process, perhaps 10min max. The Bonnington kept us waiting for about 20 min+, primarily due to IT difficulties. Because the systems are so new, my reservation was unable to be located, even though I had a confirmation code and confirmed reservation. The front desk seemed to realize this, and gave me a room anyway. An additional inconvenience was that the staff seemed to have problems creating a hotel room key. When I asked for my room key, the attendant apologized, and said it would take a few minutes. I then watched while her colleague seemed to run quickly to a back room, up a flight of stairs, to a back office, create a key, and then return back down the stairs and give the key to guests. This process took about 5-10minutes, all the while I was thinking, " "How strange! Wouldn't it be more efficient to simply keep the key maker on the desk in front of you?" Finally, the hotel service and training needs to be greatly improved. Overall, the staff was professional and courteous enough, but I had the sense that the majority of the staff either started that week, or even that day itself, with little or no training. The singularly worst trait I noticed was the staff's attempts to desparately cover up the lack of internet in the building. Throughout our entire stay, I heard multiple comments that "the network was down", or "internet would be available soon", or "we are working on the problem". Ultimately, the truth was that there was no guest internet available in the hotel, and that the temporary system was so overloaded that the hotel would be unable to offer internet access to its guests. This should have been made clear from the start, rather than waste guests time trying to change their configuration settings. Overall, the hotel is still working through its many issues. I've often used online sources as a reliable resource for hotel reviews, but was surprised to see the vast differences in my own eyes. I can only assume that those other reviews are referring to the residential apartments located in the same building, and not the hotel rooms. It was also interesting to see that the interior finishes are very similiar to one of my favorite hotels, the Dubai Grovesnor House, but ultimately fails as a poor comparison using lesser-grade materials and skimping on corners where it could. Our entire hotel experience at the Bonnington had the sense of a hotel that opened earlier than it should hav...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bonnington Jumeirah Lakes Towers

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Europe
Oct 30, 2009

Nice stay

Nice stay overall during soft-opening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bonnington Jumeirah Lakes Towers

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tulsa, OK USA
Oct 28, 2009

Bonnington Towers - Dubai

Bonnington Towers is still finishing off the final touches, such as Internet connection, ATM access, bar. The lack of these features contributed to the excellent price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Taxi service to the Dubai Marina area is only 15 riyals and there are a lot of activities and restaurants there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bonnington Jumeirah Lakes Towers

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bfd
Business
Manchester U.K.
Oct 13, 2009

Excellent brand new hotel

Lovely 4* + hotel/ serviced apts with great facilities and service for the price. Only been open a few months. Close to Marina area (£2 in Taxis). Only downside is difficult to find as so new most taxis don't know where it is exactly and in a building zone so abit of construction noise but most of Dubai has that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Both Marina Walk (Dry) and Madinat Jumeirah area worth checking out

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top