$35 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 29, 2015 Check-out: Mar 30, 2015

RUS Hotel

3 stars
View map of Hospitalna Street, 4, Kiev, 01601

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RUS Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
22 out of 22
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RUS Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wethersfield, CT
Jul 29, 2010

Central location--good value

On the whole the hotel experience was good. However, the room was a bit too small. We had two suitcases and two carry-ons, and they were always in the way because there was no place to put them. In addition, I didn't like the fact that the bed was a king-size bed. When I travel with my sister, I like to sleep in a separate bed, so I like a room with two single beds, instead of one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The best feature about the hotel was its central location. Shops and many sites were within walking distance. Kiev's metro system was cheap, fast, and efficient.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RUS Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Missioner Al
Business
NoVA
Jul 16, 2010

Near site of new sports stadium

Average but small rooms. Excellent buffet breakfast. Very nice lobby. Efficient staff. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RUS Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte, NC
Jun 3, 2010

Good Value

The hotel was within walking distance of many of the major sites. The room was nice and very comfortable. There is a small grocery shop around the corner that I was able to pick up water and snacks. My first day there I did no feel comfortable with my Russian so I had trouble ordering food in the city but fortunately the hotel has a really nice restaurant and lounge and they speak English well enough to communicate so you can do like I did the first day and choose to eat there. There are two places to get a beer in the hotel so if you are tired from a long day and want to stay in you can. There are much nicer hotels but you will pay two or three times as much for these. There are other hotels for around the same price but I talked to people that said they were horrible. One last thing, the hotel has a desk full time staffed with Avis people. They will pick you up at the airport and transfer you back. They use nice cars and their staff is completely professional and English speaking. I think they charge just a little more but it is a very small amount and the alternative would be to book a cab. One experience was to call a cab an hour before it was needed. 5 minutes before they were supposed to arrive the cab called and said they were not going to come. I think having a reliable transportation is worth the small amount that the Avis people charged. Being in a foreign country by myself was stressful enough so staying at a hotel like Rus, with all the services they provide was really helpful. For the price I think it was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RUS Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
billw_sd
Business
San Diego, CA
Feb 10, 2010

Hotel Rus, Kiev

room was fine. There was some loud music on one of the nights for a few hours. Hotel restaurant was great - great food and reasonably priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The breakfast buffet is really good - worth staying at Hotel Rus just for this!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RUS Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phila.
Feb 9, 2010

Great location

The location was great. We were able to go to many differant places. There were many stores and shops in walking distance. This was a very differant trip then I usally take but it was a very enjoyable trip. I would do this trip again. The hotel was nice but the rooms are small. The hotel had a place to exchange money around the corner from the lobby. But all in all a very good trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RUS Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Katya Koshmar
Business
Moscow, Russia
Jan 24, 2010

Functional, but no frills

This hotel is utilitarian, providing a place to stay without any frills. The room was comfortable, but outdated. The service was cold - a maid demanding I leave my room for her to clean - and the breakfast is absolutely abhorrent, but considering that comparable options in Kiev start at more than double the price of Rus, it has its advantages.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Within walking distance of the PinchukArtCentre, part of the Besarabka Complex

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RUS Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vic from montana
Business
antelope montana
Dec 20, 2009

close to down town

Everyone in hotel coould speek english to me. very helpful and important to me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RUS Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brussels
Sep 29, 2009

Rus Hotel, Kyiv

Professional good value for money business hotel in convenient location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Golden Gate

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RUS Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
limeycop
Business
England
Sep 1, 2009

BIG DISSAPPOINTMENT

We had to pay nearly twice as much as was quoted by ebookers. The manager was most unhelpfull and stated it was not his problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RUS Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Terrible Trevor
Business
Jacksonville, Florida
Mar 3, 2009

Lavish and High Class

This hotel is one of the best i've ever stayed in. It was very centally located to walk or take a taxi anywhere within the city. Everyone I dealt with was very classy and professional, and this is how the culture is. The people were very kind and helpful. I will stay here everytime I stay in Kiev. This hotel is not for families, so I would not recommend this for people with children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

There is entertainment everywhere in Liev, there is a casino, nightclub, and many places to dine other than the hotel, if you so choose.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top