$69 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 11, 2014 Check-out: May 12, 2014

RUS Hotel

3 stars
Hospitalna Street, 4, Kiev, 01601
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
22 reviews
excellent, would stay here again

very good value for money, room was small but comfortable, clean, service was great. vastly... See full review

  • Eugo
  • Jun 8, 2011
Lavish and High Class

This hotel is one of the best i've ever stayed in. It was very centally located to walk or take a... See full review

  • Terrible Trevor
  • Mar 3, 2009
The 3* Rus Hotel has 416 rooms including suites, twin and single rooms. The Rus Hotel can host up to 832 guests. All 416 rooms feature a private bath, air-conditioning, natural wood furniture, TV broadcasting international channels, international direct telephone line, direct Internet access in Single Superior rooms and Suites, electronic security system in elevators and all rooms.The rooms offer a spectacular view of the downtown. Dry-cleaning, laundry, and a 24-hour room service is available. Buffet breakfast is included in the room price. The name Rus comes from the Kievan Rus, once a country uniting Slavic principalities with the capital in Kiev. For over 20 years, the Hotel Rus has been the venue for the city's important functions and events. The majority of its guests are international business people, conference delegates, and tourists. Other Facilities at Hotel Rus: Wi-Fi connection on the 1st and 2nd floor of the Hotel Rus, Business facilities, Conference facilities, Banquet facilities, Concierge service, Beauty salon, Gift and magazine shop, Personal safes at the reception, 24-hour room service, Currency exchange.

RUS Hotel Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
Queen/Twin Standard offers 2 beds or queen bed along with air-conditioning system, satellite television, direct international phone line, Wi-Fi Internet access, electronic security system, mini-bar, tea and coffee set and mineral water (except standard rooms), a dresser set, a terry robe, slippers and a hair dryer (except standard rooms).
SUPERIOR - ROOM
Superior Offers 2 beds or king bed along with air-conditioning system, satellite television, direct international phone line, Wi-Fi Internet access, electronic security system, mini-bar, tea and coffee set and mineral water (except standard rooms), a dresser set, a terry robe, slippers and a hair dryer (except standard rooms).

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed RUS Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

50.4359 30.524
Area served
Kyiv.
Nearby airports
Kiev International Airport.
Area description
The 3-star+ Rus Hotel IS located in the heart of Kiev, only a footstep away from the Palace of Sports (Palats Sportu), and the city’s main and famous Kreschatyk Street, is a preferred place for business and leisure travellers. Many tourist attractions and fine restaurants are only a short distance away.

Nearby points of interest

  • Podil: 0.4 mi
  • St. Nicholas Roman Catholic Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Kiev Fortress: 0.5 mi
  • Taras Shevchenko National University of Kyiv: 0.7 mi
  • Khreshchatyk Street: 1 mi
  • October Palace: 1 mi
  • Ukrainian National Opera House: 1.2 mi
  • Mariyinsky Palace: 1.2 mi
  • St Sophia Cathedral: 1.2 mi
  • Kiev Passenger Railway Station: 1.5 mi
  • Kiev-Pechersk Lavra: 1.6 mi
  • St. Michael's Golden-Domed Monastery: 1.7 mi
  • Kiev River Port: 1.7 mi
  • Zamkova Hora: 1.8 mi
  • Great Patriotic War Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Podil: 0.4 mi
  • St. Nicholas Roman Catholic Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Kiev Fortress: 0.5 mi
  • Taras Shevchenko National University of Kyiv: 0.7 mi
  • Khreshchatyk Street: 1 mi
  • October Palace: 1 mi
  • Ukrainian National Opera House: 1.2 mi
  • Mariyinsky Palace: 1.2 mi
  • St Sophia Cathedral: 1.2 mi
  • Kiev Passenger Railway Station: 1.5 mi
  • Kiev-Pechersk Lavra: 1.6 mi
  • St. Michael's Golden-Domed Monastery: 1.7 mi
  • Kiev River Port: 1.7 mi
  • Zamkova Hora: 1.8 mi
  • Great Patriotic War Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Ukrainian National Chornobyl Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Hidropark, Kiev: 2.5 mi
  • Kiev Zoo: 3 mi

Dining

Restaurant
There are 7 restaurants and bars in Hotel Rus. Whether it's a private dinner or a banquet, the Hotel Rus's extensive restaurant facilities offer a wide choice of menus tailored to suit your personal needs. The restaurants can accommodate up to 800 for cocktails The restaurant offers a selection of the most popular dishes of European and Ukrainian cuisine. Live music adds to a nice atmosphere and makes your evening a real enjoyment.
The interior design of VENETIAN hall with an onyx fireplace is a surprising mix of Italian motifs and modern style influenced by paintings of XIX century.
Restaurant
BLUE hall features distinctive wall sculptures to create an elegant venue for private dining. TEA hall is nicely decorated with carved wood panels and is ideal for intimate catering of small groups up to 20 persons. RUSSIAN hall with a seating capacity of 150 persons is used for buffet breakfast every morning and catering of groups during the day.
Restaurant
The LOBBY Bar with a stylish white piano creates a unique relaxing atmosphere for the guests. Adding the classic touch to the atmosphere, the Lobby Bar presents live performances every evening. Open 7:00 - 1:00. TERRACE Bar on the 2nd floor of the hotel is open round the clock and is good for informal meetings. Panoramic windows emphasize a feeling of visual transparency and space. Its cozy interior reminding of medieval times creates a warm relaxing atmosphere. Open 24 hours. Restaurants are open from 7am till 11 pm. Room service is available round the clock.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
For conference and business meetings Rus hotel offers it's fully air conditioned Conference Hall. Meeting capacity - up to 300 guests. Flexible room partitions allow to switch quickly from a general session to workshops. Different kinds of setup can be arranged to meet special requirements of an event.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (22)

Ratings and reviews for RUS Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
22 out of 22
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RUS Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Wethersfield, CT
Jul 29, 2010

Central location--good value

On the whole the hotel experience was good. However, the room was a bit too small. We had two suitcases and two carry-ons, and they were always in the way because there was no place to put them. In addition, I didn't like the fact that the bed was a king-size bed. When I travel with my sister, I like to sleep in a separate bed, so I like a room with two single beds, instead of one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The best feature about the hotel was its central location. Shops and many sites were within walking distance. Kiev's metro system was cheap, fast, and efficient.

Review of RUS Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Missioner Al
NoVA
Jul 16, 2010

Near site of new sports stadium

Average but small rooms. Excellent buffet breakfast. Very nice lobby. Efficient staff. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of RUS Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Charlotte, NC
Jun 3, 2010

Good Value

The hotel was within walking distance of many of the major sites. The room was nice and very comfortable. There is a small grocery shop around the corner that I was able to pick up water and snacks. My first day there I did no feel comfortable with my Russian so I had trouble ordering food in the city but fortunately the hotel has a really nice restaurant and lounge and they speak English well enough to communicate so you can do like I did the first day and choose to eat there. There are two places to get a beer in the hotel so if you are tired from a long day and want to stay in you can. There are much nicer hotels but you will pay two or three times as much for these. There are other hotels for around the same price but I talked to people that said they were horrible. One last thing, the hotel has a desk full time staffed with Avis people. They will pick you up at the airport and transfer you back. They use nice cars and their staff is completely professional and English speaking. I think they charge just a little more but it is a very small amount and the alternative would be to book a cab. One experience was to call a cab an hour before it was needed. 5 minutes before they were supposed to arrive the cab called and said they were not going to come. I think having a reliable transportation is worth the small amount that the Avis people charged. Being in a foreign country by myself was stressful enough so staying at a hotel like Rus, with all the services they provide was really helpful. For the price I think it was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of RUS Hotel

Reviewer score

4
billw_sd
San Diego, CA
Feb 10, 2010

Hotel Rus, Kiev

room was fine. There was some loud music on one of the nights for a few hours. Hotel restaurant was great - great food and reasonably priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

The breakfast buffet is really good - worth staying at Hotel Rus just for this!

Review of RUS Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Phila.
Feb 9, 2010

Great location

The location was great. We were able to go to many differant places. There were many stores and shops in walking distance. This was a very differant trip then I usally take but it was a very enjoyable trip. I would do this trip again. The hotel was nice but the rooms are small. The hotel had a place to exchange money around the corner from the lobby. But all in all a very good trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of RUS Hotel

Reviewer score

2
Katya Koshmar
Business
Moscow, Russia
Jan 24, 2010

Functional, but no frills

This hotel is utilitarian, providing a place to stay without any frills. The room was comfortable, but outdated. The service was cold - a maid demanding I leave my room for her to clean - and the breakfast is absolutely abhorrent, but considering that comparable options in Kiev start at more than double the price of Rus, it has its advantages.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Within walking distance of the PinchukArtCentre, part of the Besarabka Complex

Review of RUS Hotel

Reviewer score

4
vic from montana
antelope montana
Dec 20, 2009

close to down town

Everyone in hotel coould speek english to me. very helpful and important to me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of RUS Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Business
Brussels
Sep 29, 2009

Rus Hotel, Kyiv

Professional good value for money business hotel in convenient location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Golden Gate

Review of RUS Hotel

Reviewer score

2
limeycop
England
Sep 1, 2009

BIG DISSAPPOINTMENT

We had to pay nearly twice as much as was quoted by ebookers. The manager was most unhelpfull and stated it was not his problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of RUS Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Terrible Trevor
Jacksonville, Florida
Mar 3, 2009

Lavish and High Class

This hotel is one of the best i've ever stayed in. It was very centally located to walk or take a taxi anywhere within the city. Everyone I dealt with was very classy and professional, and this is how the culture is. The people were very kind and helpful. I will stay here everytime I stay in Kiev. This hotel is not for families, so I would not recommend this for people with children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

There is entertainment everywhere in Liev, there is a casino, nightclub, and many places to dine other than the hotel, if you so choose.

Back to menu Return to top