$195 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 3, 2015 Check-out: Jun 4, 2015

The Sands at Grace Bay

4 stars
View map of P.O.Box 681, Grace Bay Road, Providenciales,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Sands at Grace Bay

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
134 out of 134
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Sands at Grace Bay

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
LindsayChick
Business
Knoxville, TN
Jun 14, 2011

Poor customer service

The hotel had really poor customer service. We noticed the fitness center AC and hot tub were not working (and dirty) and we reported this to the front desk and got a long blank stare. No one replied. We had to reiterate our request that they fix it. We did this on the 1st and 3rd days and neither problem was ever fixed. Our safe was also not working so I called the front desk (3x), only getting a busy signal and recorder. I couldn't get ahold of anyone on the phone at the front desk, help desk or operator. My husband tried calling later and spoke to someone. After he told them the problem they said "Ok" and hung up on him. He called back and said "Someone hung up on me. I was calling about our broken safe". The person on the other line rudely asked a question or two and then came to the room several hours later to try to fix it. Getting anyone to do anything for you at this resort is very difficult. I'm not sure if it's a widespread issue at Turks and Caicos or just this resort, although we had similar problems at restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

There aren't many forms of entertainment in Turks and Caicos. The island is pretty primitive and has few other options besides lying on the beach or taking out kayaks or snorkeling. If you are looking for a place with several other options (diverse dining, shopping, movies etc), it'd be wise to choose another destination.

Review of The Sands at Grace Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lorena&Mike
Business
Mesa, AZ
May 28, 2011

We had a great time!

The Sands is located in a great location on Grace Bay. There are two empty lots on either side of the hotel which was nice compared to the other hotels along Grace Bay that were all side by side and appeared to have busier beaches. Also the water in this area wasn't rocky and was free of seaweed another issue we noticed in other areas. Lots of palapas and the beach attendants can also set up an umbrella in the sand with chairs if all of the palapas are taken. They also have hobie cats, kayaks, snorkel gear, bikes, and even umbrellas at the front desk that you can use. Hemingway's provides breakfast, lunch, and dinner at reasonable prices with good food. It was also a lot nicer looking than some of the other restaurants along the beach. Please note, that it does take a while to get your food, but that seemed like the case at most restaurants. The tour desk was also very helpful with scheduling diving and snorkeling tours. The companies they signed us up with were professional, safe, but also very friendly and entertaining. You can charge the excursions to your room. I contacted concierge services a week before our arrival and they were able to secure reservations for us at the restaurants we wanted to dine at (highly recommended if you want a good table). Their front desk was also helpful with obtaining a rental car for us the same day we asked within an hour of our request. It's within walking distance to other resorts and restaurants, including a sidewalk that takes to you to Regent Village for some shopping and other dining options. The grounds were always clean and so was our room. No matter how much sand we tracked in everyday it was always gone when the room was cleaned. Having a balcony with mesh netting was nice so we didn't have to worry about bugs when sitting out there at night. The room was spacious and the small kitchen area (for the studio) came with a corkscrew and wine and champagne glasses (a must) along with plates and utensils. We would definitely stay here again! It's paradise!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sands at Grace Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
huntrbt
Business
dallas, tx
May 15, 2011

Sands at Grace Bay

This is an excellent place to stay while in turks. More reasonably priced than some of the other resorts, but all that we could have asked for. Great beach right next to the hotel that wasn't very crowded at all compared to other portions of the island. Staff was very helpful and they have numerous amenities including kayaks, bicycles, etc. that were included in the resort stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Coco Bistro. Short bike ride. Excellent food and even better atmosphere for outside dining under a canopy of coconut trees

Review of The Sands at Grace Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
huntrbt
Business
dallas, tx
May 15, 2011

Sands at Grace Bay

This is an excellent place to stay while in turks. More reasonably priced than some of the other resorts, but all that we could have asked for. Great beach right next to the hotel that wasn't very crowded at all compared to other portions of the island. Staff was very helpful and they have numerous amenities including kayaks, bicycles, etc. that were included in the resort stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Coco Bistro. Short bike ride. Excellent food and even better atmosphere for outside dining under a canopy of coconut trees

Review of The Sands at Grace Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hawklady
Business
Raymond, NH
May 9, 2011

Nice location but showing its age

Although this is a very nice hotel it is really showing its age. The paint in the room was chipped in spots and a bit dull. The hotel staff was a mixed bag. The bellmen were superb, friendly and very helpful. The desk staff, though, left a lot to be desired. Although they made calls for us to set up reservations and the like, they were unable to make any recommendations nor did they know much about any excursions available on the island. All this said, though, would I return? Yes! We are planning another trip in April, 2012 already and will most likely stay at the Sands again. It was a nice, quiet location with a beautiful beach and pool and was within walking distance to the "downtown" area of Grace Bay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go eat at Middle Caicos Cafe. It's a local joint with the BEST conch fritters I've ever eaten.

Review of The Sands at Grace Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
burlington,ontario
May 1, 2011

Sands Review

The hotel is very clean and the staff are excelent, very polite and service is incredible. The access to the beah was great and the rooms and all premises were extremely clean. Food at Hemingways was good. Excellent travel experinece, would do it again and recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Most restaurants are within walking distance

Review of The Sands at Grace Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lalaser
Business
ROchester, NY
Feb 7, 2011

Very good vacation - ust shy of

All of the sports equipment was in fairly good shape with the exception of the bicycles. For lack of a relativly small investment, the hotel lost out on a "perfect" rating. It's because the bikes are required to get around, unless you don't mind spending $11 per person on taxi (making each round trip - no matter where - almost $100 for a family of four). Otherwise, the staff were fine, hotel condition was good (lots of cracked ceramic tile making cut bare feet a real risk), not too quiet though with regard to early morning staff trundling about with large wheeled plastic bins of towels. On-site resturant has a great lunch menu, available until 6:00. Overall - we'd go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bay Bistro - absolutely fantastic - have any of the COnch dishes

Review of The Sands at Grace Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
R. Hopps
Business
Chicago, IL
Jan 22, 2011

Perfect!!

This was the perfect hotel. The staff was great from the reception (rum punch..yummy) to housekeeping. The grounds are beautiful. Room are comfortable and clean. You can walk either on the street or on the beach to several dining options. The Salt Mills shopping area and IGA Gourmet supermarket are both within walking distance. The Sands has bikes available which was a great way to ride around the island. They also have theses little sail boats that they'll take you out on and show you how to use. Lots of fun!!! Would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Sands is so close to several dining options and you can walk to shopping.

Review of The Sands at Grace Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sea lover
Business
Wayne, PA
Nov 29, 2010

We will come back

Very good location . Great beach and grounds. We stayed in a one bedroom apt with ocean view, used a lot the kitchen and felt at home. The staff is very kind and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Get a bycicle from the hotel and you can reach shops and supermarket in few minutes

Review of The Sands at Grace Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sea lover
Business
Wayne, PA
Nov 29, 2010

We will come back

Very good location . Great beach and grounds. We stayed in a one bedroom apt with ocean view, used a lot the kitchen and felt at home. The staff is very kind and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Get a bycicle from the hotel and you can reach shops and supermarket in few minutes

Back to menu Return to top