The Sands at Grace Bay

4 stars
P.O.Box 681, Grace Bay Road, Providenciales,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
111 reviews
Our Stay at The Sands Hotel at Grace Bay

This hotel has such a warm, friendly and more private secluded area filled with lovely foliage that... See full review

  • Beach Bummin Traveler
  • Oct 19, 2014
Honeymoon

This place is in an AWESOME location! if you're looking for peace, quiet, and relaxation! we're... See full review

  • Sunshine C
  • Sep 15, 2014
Relax with comforts of home with kitchen-equipped suites on Grace Bay
The all-suite Sands at Grace Bay sits on 6 oceanfront acres along white-sand Grace Bay Beach, one of the most renowned beaches in the Caribbean. Boasting laid-back luxury among open-air buildings and lush gardens, the resort offers endless water sports options, including scuba diving, snorkeling, paddle boarding and fishing. Guests of the property can also golf at the nearby Provo Golf Club or try their luck at the nearby Casablanca Casino. The Sands at Grace Bay offers free bicycles, Wi-Fi access, a business center and a small conference room.
Highlights
  • Named one of the “Top 30 Hotels In The Caribbean & The Atlantic” by Condé Nast Traveler’s 2012 Readers’ Choice Awards
  • Located on famous Grace Bay Beach
  • Kitchen-equipped suites
  • Spa offers massages, facials and body wraps
  • Complimentary non-motorized water sports and bicycles
  • Free Wi-Fi access
Rooms
The Sands at Grace Bay features 113 guest rooms, which range from studio layouts to one-, two- and three-bedroom suites. Studios have king- or queen-size beds and kitchenettes with mini refrigerators, microwaves, toasters and coffee-makers. Larger suites have king- and queen-size beds, living rooms with pullout sofas, and full kitchens that boast granite countertops and stainless steel appliances. All accommodations have screened, furnished patios, and in-room amenities include air conditioning, cable televisions, electronic room safes, direct-dial telephones and free Wi-Fi access. Some suites also have laundry facilities.
Features
The Sands at Grace Bay offers complimentary non-motorized water sports -- kayaks, windsurfing, snorkeling gear and catamarans -- from its enviable Grace Bay Beach location, as well as complimentary bicycles for guests. The beautifully manicured garden courtyard boast three freeform swimming pools connected by canals, and on-site activities include tennis courts and a fitness center. The Sands at Grace Bay has on-site dining at the beach-side Hemingway's Restaurant and Bar, which serves seafood and island fare all day, and the hotel also offers a complimentary shuttle service to a nearby supermarket for groceries. On-site spa services include massages and body and facial treatments, and guests can find business services, including a computer-equipped business center, free Wi-Fi access and a small conference room for meetings.
Transportation
  • Providenciales International Airport (6.7 mi/10.7 km)
Attractions
  • Provo Golf Club (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Casablanca Casino (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Turtle Cove Marina (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • Caicos Conch Farm (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi access
  • Business center
  • Small meeting room

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Sands at Grace Bay also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

The Sands at Grace Bay Rooms

Studio Gardenview
Room with one king bed includes full bathroom, sitting area, kitchenette-mini-fridge, microwave oven, toaster, coffeemaker, cutlery, crockery, small sink, ceiling fans, air conditioning, electronic in-room safes, dataport hook-ups and highspeed wireless internet, cable television, clock radio, color television with remote, direct dial telephones.
2 Bedroom Suite Oceanview
Room with one king bed and one queen sleeper sofa and one king bed or two twin beds includes two full bathrooms, private screened balcony, a beautifully appointed fitted kitchen containing all modern appliances including a full stove, large microwave, refrigerator, dishwasher, washer/ dryer, toaster, coffeemaker, crockery, cutlery, ceiling fans, air conditioning, electronic in-room safes, dataport hook-ups and high speed wireless internet, cable television, clock radio, color television with remote, direct dial telephones.
Studio Courtyard
Room with one queen bed includes full bathroom, sitting area, kitchenette-mini-fridge, microwave oven, toaster, coffeemaker, cutlery, crockery, small sink, ceiling fans, air conditioning, Electronic in-room safes, dataport hook-ups and high speed wireless internet, cable television, clock radio, color television with remote, direct dial telephones.
Studio Oceanview
Room with one king bed includes full bathroom, sitting area, kitchenette-mini-fridge, microwave oven, toaster, coffeemaker, cutlery, crockery, small sink, ceiling fans, air conditioning, electronic in-room safes, dataport hook-ups and highspeed wireless internet, cable television, clock radio, color television with remote, direct dial telephones.
2 Bedroom Suite Gardenview
Room with one king bed and one queen sleeper sofa and one king bed or two twin beds includes two full bathrooms, private screened balcony, a beautifully appointed fitted kitchen containing all modern appliances including a full stove, large microwave, refrigerator, dishwasher, washer/ dryer, toaster, coffeemaker, crockery, cutlery, ceiling fans, air conditioning, electronic in-room safes, dataport hook-ups and high speed wireless internet, cable television, clock radio, color television with remote, direct dial telephones.
1 Bedroom Suite Gardenview
Room with one king bed and one queen sleeper sofa includes private screened balcony, a beautifully appointed fitted kitchen containing all modern appliances including a full stove, large microwave, refrigerator, dishwasher, washer/ dryer, toaster, coffeemaker, crockery, cutlery, ceiling fans, air conditioning, electronic in-room safes, dataport hook-ups and high speed wireless internet, cable television, clock radio, color television with remote, direct dial telephones.
3 Bedroom Suite Oceanview
Room with one king master bedroom, king or queen sized second bedroom, third bedroom with king or queen sized murphy bed or queen sleeper sofa and a queen sleeper sofa includes a beautifully appointed fitted kitchen containing all modern appliances including a full stove, large microwave, refrigerator, dishwasher, washer/ dryer, toaster, coffeemaker, crockery, cutlery, ceiling fans, air conditioning, electronic in-room safes, dataport hook-ups and high speed wireless internet, cable television, clock radio, color television with remote, direct dial telephones.
1 Bedroom Suite Oceanview
Room with one king bed or one queen bed and one queen sleeper sofa includes private screened balcony, a beautifully appointed fitted kitchen containing all modern appliances including a full stove, large microwave, refrigerator, dishwasher, washer/ dryer, toaster, coffeemaker, crockery, cutlery, ceiling fans, air conditioning, electronic in-room safes, dataport hook-ups and high speed wireless internet, cable television, clock radio, color television with remote, direct dial telephones.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Golf field: 1.7 mi
  • Conch farm: 3.3 mi
  • Cooper Jack marina: 4.1 mi

Dining

Hemingway's Restaurant and Bar
Beachside dining open from 8 a.m. to 9:45 p.m., seven days a week. Enjoy al fresco, casual dining on the deck or open-air patio, virtually steps away from the beach. Chef John Brubaker combines island dishes with traditional favorites. Selections range from light fare, gourmet sandwiches and salads to specialty entrees. A decadent dessert menu completes the offering. On Tuesday and Thursday evenings, Hemingway's hosts Caribbean Night accompanied by live music.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (111)

Ratings and reviews for The Sands at Grace Bay

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
111 out of 111
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Sands at Grace Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveling with Three
Business
Washington DC
Jul 1, 2011

Average hotel -- Perfect Beaches!

The best thing about Turks & Caicos is the beach! SO SO SO beautiful!!! It is the most beautiful beach I have ever visited, and we have been to many beaches around the country and world. The Sands has a gorgeous stretch of the beach with a wide space and spread out so that you never feel crowded at all. The hotel is average. There is nothing fancy about it -- solid 'okay'. That said, it offers a kitchen that is fully stocked with utensils, plates, etc. We went to the local grocery store and had breakfast in our hotel most mornings, and having the option to come back to the room for lunch in the heat of the day was very convenient. They even have a washer/dryer in the rooms, so you can do laundry. It was nice not to come home to a bunch of dirty clothes in our suitcases. There are several pools on the premises, but we spent most of our time at the beach -- again, unbelievable! We will definitely be back to Turks and Caicos, but we might try a higher starred hotel next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Sands restaurant, Hemingways, is not a great place to eat. Instead, eat in your room for a few days, and then splurge at Coyaba. It is delicious!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sands at Grace Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Smithtown, NY
Jun 23, 2011

A place to catch your breath

We had really needed a get-away that was relaxing, and not too far from home to stay on budget. We booked the Sands at Grace Bay for our first visit to Turks & Caicos, and were floored from the moment we discovered the grounds, and entered our suite. We reserved an oceanview room; it was clean, nicely decorated, and contained more than the full amenities. The beach was AMAZING with its five shades of blue, and all the water sports available were so much fun. The staff was always super friendly and the food was tasty. We definitely felt rejuvenated when we returned from vacation, and will definitely return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

glass bottom boat, snorkeling at the coral reefs, parasailing, banana boat riding, hobiecat riding

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sands at Grace Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
obnursie
Business
Fountain Hills, AZ.
Jun 19, 2011

Vacation in Paradise

The Sands was a wonderful place to stay. We loved having the extra room this condo style resort provided. The kitchen was well stocked with full sized appliances & equiptment. The living room had comfortable furniture. The kitchen table/ chairs were set up to fit four. There were three stools for the kitchen counter. The bed was king sized and comfortable. The large porch was screened and contained a table, chairs and two recliners. The bathroom was good size. Housekeeping provided fresh supplies and cleaned daily unless you requested no service. The three pools were large, as was the jacuzzi. The beach was set up with enough straw umbrellas and lounge/ water chairs to provide for everyone. The beach was beautiful with a gentle slope & minimal waves, perfect for families with small children. Towels were provided by the beach access. The Hemingway was a convenient place to eat with friendly staff & pleanty of seating. I would recommend The Sands to everyone, from honeymoon couples, families & retirement age. The only possible drawback is that there are no elevators. We were on the top (third) floor & sure got our exercise!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take advantage of a snorkling excursion. We chose the half day & had a great time. Also, remember to use sunscreen, frequently! It's very easy to get sunburned.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sands at Grace Bay

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
LindsayChick
Business
Knoxville, TN
Jun 14, 2011

Poor customer service

The hotel had really poor customer service. We noticed the fitness center AC and hot tub were not working (and dirty) and we reported this to the front desk and got a long blank stare. No one replied. We had to reiterate our request that they fix it. We did this on the 1st and 3rd days and neither problem was ever fixed. Our safe was also not working so I called the front desk (3x), only getting a busy signal and recorder. I couldn't get ahold of anyone on the phone at the front desk, help desk or operator. My husband tried calling later and spoke to someone. After he told them the problem they said "Ok" and hung up on him. He called back and said "Someone hung up on me. I was calling about our broken safe". The person on the other line rudely asked a question or two and then came to the room several hours later to try to fix it. Getting anyone to do anything for you at this resort is very difficult. I'm not sure if it's a widespread issue at Turks and Caicos or just this resort, although we had similar problems at restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

There aren't many forms of entertainment in Turks and Caicos. The island is pretty primitive and has few other options besides lying on the beach or taking out kayaks or snorkeling. If you are looking for a place with several other options (diverse dining, shopping, movies etc), it'd be wise to choose another destination.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sands at Grace Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lorena&Mike
Business
Mesa, AZ
May 28, 2011

We had a great time!

The Sands is located in a great location on Grace Bay. There are two empty lots on either side of the hotel which was nice compared to the other hotels along Grace Bay that were all side by side and appeared to have busier beaches. Also the water in this area wasn't rocky and was free of seaweed another issue we noticed in other areas. Lots of palapas and the beach attendants can also set up an umbrella in the sand with chairs if all of the palapas are taken. They also have hobie cats, kayaks, snorkel gear, bikes, and even umbrellas at the front desk that you can use. Hemingway's provides breakfast, lunch, and dinner at reasonable prices with good food. It was also a lot nicer looking than some of the other restaurants along the beach. Please note, that it does take a while to get your food, but that seemed like the case at most restaurants. The tour desk was also very helpful with scheduling diving and snorkeling tours. The companies they signed us up with were professional, safe, but also very friendly and entertaining. You can charge the excursions to your room. I contacted concierge services a week before our arrival and they were able to secure reservations for us at the restaurants we wanted to dine at (highly recommended if you want a good table). Their front desk was also helpful with obtaining a rental car for us the same day we asked within an hour of our request. It's within walking distance to other resorts and restaurants, including a sidewalk that takes to you to Regent Village for some shopping and other dining options. The grounds were always clean and so was our room. No matter how much sand we tracked in everyday it was always gone when the room was cleaned. Having a balcony with mesh netting was nice so we didn't have to worry about bugs when sitting out there at night. The room was spacious and the small kitchen area (for the studio) came with a corkscrew and wine and champagne glasses (a must) along with plates and utensils. We would definitely stay here again! It's paradise!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sands at Grace Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
huntrbt
Business
dallas, tx
May 15, 2011

Sands at Grace Bay

This is an excellent place to stay while in turks. More reasonably priced than some of the other resorts, but all that we could have asked for. Great beach right next to the hotel that wasn't very crowded at all compared to other portions of the island. Staff was very helpful and they have numerous amenities including kayaks, bicycles, etc. that were included in the resort stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Coco Bistro. Short bike ride. Excellent food and even better atmosphere for outside dining under a canopy of coconut trees

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sands at Grace Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hawklady
Business
Raymond, NH
May 9, 2011

Nice location but showing its age

Although this is a very nice hotel it is really showing its age. The paint in the room was chipped in spots and a bit dull. The hotel staff was a mixed bag. The bellmen were superb, friendly and very helpful. The desk staff, though, left a lot to be desired. Although they made calls for us to set up reservations and the like, they were unable to make any recommendations nor did they know much about any excursions available on the island. All this said, though, would I return? Yes! We are planning another trip in April, 2012 already and will most likely stay at the Sands again. It was a nice, quiet location with a beautiful beach and pool and was within walking distance to the "downtown" area of Grace Bay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go eat at Middle Caicos Cafe. It's a local joint with the BEST conch fritters I've ever eaten.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sands at Grace Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
burlington,ontario
May 1, 2011

Sands Review

The hotel is very clean and the staff are excelent, very polite and service is incredible. The access to the beah was great and the rooms and all premises were extremely clean. Food at Hemingways was good. Excellent travel experinece, would do it again and recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Most restaurants are within walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sands at Grace Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lalaser
Business
ROchester, NY
Feb 7, 2011

Very good vacation - ust shy of

All of the sports equipment was in fairly good shape with the exception of the bicycles. For lack of a relativly small investment, the hotel lost out on a "perfect" rating. It's because the bikes are required to get around, unless you don't mind spending $11 per person on taxi (making each round trip - no matter where - almost $100 for a family of four). Otherwise, the staff were fine, hotel condition was good (lots of cracked ceramic tile making cut bare feet a real risk), not too quiet though with regard to early morning staff trundling about with large wheeled plastic bins of towels. On-site resturant has a great lunch menu, available until 6:00. Overall - we'd go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bay Bistro - absolutely fantastic - have any of the COnch dishes

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sands at Grace Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
R. Hopps
Business
Chicago, IL
Jan 22, 2011

Perfect!!

This was the perfect hotel. The staff was great from the reception (rum punch..yummy) to housekeeping. The grounds are beautiful. Room are comfortable and clean. You can walk either on the street or on the beach to several dining options. The Salt Mills shopping area and IGA Gourmet supermarket are both within walking distance. The Sands has bikes available which was a great way to ride around the island. They also have theses little sail boats that they'll take you out on and show you how to use. Lots of fun!!! Would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Sands is so close to several dining options and you can walk to shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top