$365 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 28, 2014 Check-out: Oct 29, 2014

The Sands at Grace Bay

4 stars
P.O.Box 681, Grace Bay Road, Providenciales,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
110 reviews
Our Stay at The Sands Hotel at Grace Bay

This hotel has such a warm, friendly and more private secluded area filled with lovely foliage that... See full review

  • Beach Bummin Traveler
  • Oct 19, 2014
Honeymoon

This place is in an AWESOME location! if you're looking for peace, quiet, and relaxation! we're... See full review

  • Sunshine C
  • Sep 15, 2014
Relax with comforts of home with kitchen-equipped suites on Grace Bay
The all-suite Sands at Grace Bay sits on 6 oceanfront acres along white-sand Grace Bay Beach, one of the most renowned beaches in the Caribbean. Boasting laid-back luxury among open-air buildings and lush gardens, the resort offers endless water sports options, including scuba diving, snorkeling, paddle boarding and fishing. Guests of the property can also golf at the nearby Provo Golf Club or try their luck at the nearby Casablanca Casino. The Sands at Grace Bay offers free bicycles, Wi-Fi access, a business center and a small conference room.
Highlights
  • Named one of the “Top 30 Hotels In The Caribbean & The Atlantic” by Condé Nast Traveler’s 2012 Readers’ Choice Awards
  • Located on famous Grace Bay Beach
  • Kitchen-equipped suites
  • Spa offers massages, facials and body wraps
  • Complimentary non-motorized water sports and bicycles
  • Free Wi-Fi access
Rooms
The Sands at Grace Bay features 113 guest rooms, which range from studio layouts to one-, two- and three-bedroom suites. Studios have king- or queen-size beds and kitchenettes with mini refrigerators, microwaves, toasters and coffee-makers. Larger suites have king- and queen-size beds, living rooms with pullout sofas, and full kitchens that boast granite countertops and stainless steel appliances. All accommodations have screened, furnished patios, and in-room amenities include air conditioning, cable televisions, electronic room safes, direct-dial telephones and free Wi-Fi access. Some suites also have laundry facilities.
Features
The Sands at Grace Bay offers complimentary non-motorized water sports -- kayaks, windsurfing, snorkeling gear and catamarans -- from its enviable Grace Bay Beach location, as well as complimentary bicycles for guests. The beautifully manicured garden courtyard boast three freeform swimming pools connected by canals, and on-site activities include tennis courts and a fitness center. The Sands at Grace Bay has on-site dining at the beach-side Hemingway's Restaurant and Bar, which serves seafood and island fare all day, and the hotel also offers a complimentary shuttle service to a nearby supermarket for groceries. On-site spa services include massages and body and facial treatments, and guests can find business services, including a computer-equipped business center, free Wi-Fi access and a small conference room for meetings.
Transportation
  • Providenciales International Airport (6.7 mi/10.7 km)
Attractions
  • Provo Golf Club (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Casablanca Casino (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Turtle Cove Marina (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • Caicos Conch Farm (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi access
  • Business center
  • Small meeting room

Hotel Map

21.7953 -72.1877
Area served
Providenciales.
Nearby airports
Providenciales International Airport (PLS).
Area description
Located only 80 minutes by air from Miami, The Sands at Grace Bay feels like a world away. The perfect beach, spectacular views, spacious and beautifully appointed suites make The Sands at Grace Bay the perfect combination of seclusion and sophistication.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Sands at Grace Bay also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

The Sands at Grace Bay Rooms

Studio Gardenview
Room with one king bed includes full bathroom, sitting area, kitchenette-mini-fridge, microwave oven, toaster, coffeemaker, cutlery, crockery, small sink, ceiling fans, air conditioning, electronic in-room safes, dataport hook-ups and highspeed wireless internet, cable television, clock radio, color television with remote, direct dial telephones.
2 Bedroom Suite Oceanview
Room with one king bed and one queen sleeper sofa and one king bed or two twin beds includes two full bathrooms, private screened balcony, a beautifully appointed fitted kitchen containing all modern appliances including a full stove, large microwave, refrigerator, dishwasher, washer/ dryer, toaster, coffeemaker, crockery, cutlery, ceiling fans, air conditioning, electronic in-room safes, dataport hook-ups and high speed wireless internet, cable television, clock radio, color television with remote, direct dial telephones.
Studio Courtyard
Room with one queen bed includes full bathroom, sitting area, kitchenette-mini-fridge, microwave oven, toaster, coffeemaker, cutlery, crockery, small sink, ceiling fans, air conditioning, Electronic in-room safes, dataport hook-ups and high speed wireless internet, cable television, clock radio, color television with remote, direct dial telephones.
Studio Oceanview
Room with one king bed includes full bathroom, sitting area, kitchenette-mini-fridge, microwave oven, toaster, coffeemaker, cutlery, crockery, small sink, ceiling fans, air conditioning, electronic in-room safes, dataport hook-ups and highspeed wireless internet, cable television, clock radio, color television with remote, direct dial telephones.
2 Bedroom Suite Gardenview
Room with one king bed and one queen sleeper sofa and one king bed or two twin beds includes two full bathrooms, private screened balcony, a beautifully appointed fitted kitchen containing all modern appliances including a full stove, large microwave, refrigerator, dishwasher, washer/ dryer, toaster, coffeemaker, crockery, cutlery, ceiling fans, air conditioning, electronic in-room safes, dataport hook-ups and high speed wireless internet, cable television, clock radio, color television with remote, direct dial telephones.
1 Bedroom Suite Gardenview
Room with one king bed and one queen sleeper sofa includes private screened balcony, a beautifully appointed fitted kitchen containing all modern appliances including a full stove, large microwave, refrigerator, dishwasher, washer/ dryer, toaster, coffeemaker, crockery, cutlery, ceiling fans, air conditioning, electronic in-room safes, dataport hook-ups and high speed wireless internet, cable television, clock radio, color television with remote, direct dial telephones.
3 Bedroom Suite Oceanview
Room with one king master bedroom, king or queen sized second bedroom, third bedroom with king or queen sized murphy bed or queen sleeper sofa and a queen sleeper sofa includes a beautifully appointed fitted kitchen containing all modern appliances including a full stove, large microwave, refrigerator, dishwasher, washer/ dryer, toaster, coffeemaker, crockery, cutlery, ceiling fans, air conditioning, electronic in-room safes, dataport hook-ups and high speed wireless internet, cable television, clock radio, color television with remote, direct dial telephones.
1 Bedroom Suite Oceanview
Room with one king bed or one queen bed and one queen sleeper sofa includes private screened balcony, a beautifully appointed fitted kitchen containing all modern appliances including a full stove, large microwave, refrigerator, dishwasher, washer/ dryer, toaster, coffeemaker, crockery, cutlery, ceiling fans, air conditioning, electronic in-room safes, dataport hook-ups and high speed wireless internet, cable television, clock radio, color television with remote, direct dial telephones.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Golf field: 1.7 mi
  • Conch farm: 3.3 mi
  • Cooper Jack marina: 4.1 mi

Dining

Hemingway's Restaurant and Bar
Beachside dining open from 8 a.m. to 9:45 p.m., seven days a week. Enjoy al fresco, casual dining on the deck or open-air patio, virtually steps away from the beach. Chef John Brubaker combines island dishes with traditional favorites. Selections range from light fare, gourmet sandwiches and salads to specialty entrees. A decadent dessert menu completes the offering. On Tuesday and Thursday evenings, Hemingway's hosts Caribbean Night accompanied by live music.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (110)

Ratings and reviews for The Sands at Grace Bay

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
110 out of 110
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Sands at Grace Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
January12Rafael
Business
Norwalk, CT, USA
Sep 20, 2011

10 Year Anniverysary Get-a-way

The hotel does not offer airport pick up which we usually never found to be a problem, except in Turks they charge you per person for the taxi. Cost us $30.00 just to get there and another $30.00 to get back to the airport. Would have been nice for them to pick up their guests. Resort was basically empty which was nice, but we found most of the staff (front desk) to be not so inviting. Food at Hemingway's is pricey, and you don't get a lot for your money. We asked about restaurants one day and we were given a book to look through. Luckily someone on the resort told us about a local place called Smokey's and that was excellent food and excellent prices! The pools were fantastic and having the beach steps away was lovely. Drinks were way over priced, and we thought it would have been nice for the hotel to offer something for its guests like a special or happy hour. They did a "Manager's Special" one night which was great. Gave the guests free beer/rum punch and chips/salsa/veggies for 1 hour. I do not think I will be returning to this hotel in the future. I will look for a hotel that offers more for its guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to local place called Smokey's for a fabulous generous lunch/dinner!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sands at Grace Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sean195
Business
South Carolina, USA
Sep 12, 2011

Anniversary Getaway

Very nice quiet, clean hotel with a great location and beach. September is the off-season so there were not many people there. The hotel staff was a little too laid back. They did everything we asked but not with much enthusiasm. The Sands is a very good value and we would consider going there again. There are also some other places to check out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sands at Grace Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Future Island hopper
Business
Dudley, MA, USA
Sep 9, 2011

The Sands Turks & Caicos

It was amazing. We loved every minute of our stay. The staff was wonderful, polite, and kind.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Smokies a local dive was amazing all the locals go to the restaurant so you get a true feel of the island. Mango Reef right on the beach was amazing. Food was the best on the island and the view at sunset was the best we have ever seen.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sands at Grace Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lawshark
Business
Silver Spring, MD, USA
Sep 7, 2011

The Sands at Turks and Caicos

great central location near shopping and restaurants. Staff was great. Room was a bargain as it was a small suite. excellent access to activiities and very nice vendors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sands at Grace Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Livingston, NJ
Aug 22, 2011

Great vacation

We had a great time at the Sands. Although the staff is a little dry everyone was nice. The beach is one of the best I've ever visited, it is so nice we didn't spend any time in the pools. The food at the market is expensive but you expect it to be in an island (they had everything). The restaurants were also very good especially Marin at The Veranda and the Bay Bistro next door. We are sure to return, it was a relaxing time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sands at Grace Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis, MO
Aug 7, 2011

fantastic family getaway

Our trip was perfect. The hotel was beautiful and very clean. I was very pleased with the service. Our room was cleaned to our satisfaction every day and the grounds were kept up. The food at Hemingways was very good. This trip was oe of the best we have taken. I would definitely go back and stay at the Sands At Grace Bay and have already recommended it to our friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Defiitely figure in enough money for Taxi's because they are very expensive. Or you could rent a car but know that they drive on the opposite side that we do. Renting a car is less expensive but the driving on the other side is a little hard to get used to.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sands at Grace Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Aug 4, 2011

Everything we expected

We went there in July and the hotel was perfect - we had so much fun there. We got a nice 1 bedroom suite with a full-kitchen (utensils included). Everything was clean, in working order and the view was perfect (we were facing the pool). The hotel swimming pools were very relaxing with 3 different ponds that were linked together with streams of water. The landscaping was beautiful and well taken care of. Hotel provided us with everything we needed such as when we called for coffee, or filters, even the laundry detergent (yes the room/suite had a washer/dryer too). Our bedroom and living room, both had televisions with cable, and the wireless internet was excellent. Only thing is you can't watch Netflix movies since Netflix doesn't stream outside of the US. And the only negative that I had for the whole trip was that the TV's in the room were old and small (one of those old 24-32" TV sets) - no flat screen LCD/LEDs. But if you really want to watch TV on a better set, then you can go to the conference center and there they had a large TV. The on-site restaurant (Hemmingway's) was nice and had 2 different menus for lunch and dinner. For off-site restaurants, you can borrow bikes from the hotel or rent a cab. We rode bikes (with our son) to a local dinner and a few other restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Save money by cooking one meal of the day yourself - partly because there aren't that many choices available either (at least we didn't find them). So take the bike from the hotel and ride to the local Gourmet food-store and stock up. There is also a store in front of the lobby that sells things like mineral water, butter, eggs, milk etc as well as medicines.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sands at Grace Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Evie The beach bum Mom!
Business
Effort, PA
Aug 1, 2011

Beautiful Beach

Great place to stay with kids. Very relaxing and the food at Hemingway's was awesome. Didn't have a bad breakfast, lunch or dinner. Staff was friendly. Would go back next year!! Only problem was with the airline JETBLUE. They cancelled my flight and I had to scramble to find another flight home that day. If you are a beach bum like me Turks and Caicos is the place to be. Water is so beautiful and the sand was white and soft like flour. Dreaming of returning next year...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Hemingway's was great. The staff was friendly and the food was great. Enjoyed my salmon with garlic mash potatoes and veggies. Rum punch was great too. Try the key lime pie... very fresh.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sands at Grace Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sunbeam
Business
N.Y.C
Jul 27, 2011

Wonderful trip

The hotel was great and beautiful. I did not like that there was only one restaurant on the resort. If you wanted variety you had to leave the resort or cook for yourself. Also, there was no vending machine which I never experienced on a resort/hotel. They did provide a lot of different activities. The best one was the snorkeling for the entire family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

We walked to the supermarket since our child could not ride a bike. It was pretty long walk but we felt safe walking there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sands at Grace Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NJ
Jul 19, 2011

The Sands

Relaxed on the beach, snorkeled @ Coral Gardens, explored different beaches around the island, and went parasailing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Rent a car; you can explore the island's restaurants, other beaches, and buy groceries...not to mention how much cheaper it is than paying for a taxi!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top