$365 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 1, 2015 Check-out: Jun 2, 2015

The Sands at Grace Bay

4 stars
View map of P.O.Box 681, Grace Bay Road, Providenciales,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Sands at Grace Bay

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
125 out of 125
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Sands at Grace Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BeachBum51
Business
Talbot, Oregon
Dec 10, 2013

Pleasant but unspectacular

Check in was slow but we were given a complimentary drink and offered the use of the hospitality suite while we waited. The room was as advertised and while we booked an ocean view room, be advised the only rooms fronting the beach were sold as ocean front suites. The rest had a remote view of the ocean and no ocean sounds as they are distant from the beachfront. I must say that with few exceptions, the staff was friendly and courteous if not very knowledgeable. Perhaps the best part of the room was the screened in spacious balconies. The larger suites had enormous balconies. Overall, this resort offered good value compared to others in Provo. As far as the rest of the experience in Provo, if you are looking for an active vacation with nightlife and a lively atmosphere, this is not the place for you. We were bored after a few days and there is simply nothing to do but sit on the beach, very limited snorkeling without hiring an expensive boat, or going out to eat which seems to be the main focus. Forget shopping as there are only a handful of stores in a couple of areas and the merchandise is outrageously priced. There were 128 restaurants in the dining guide as well as others that don't advertise. As you might expect, the prices are high and portion sizes are mediocre. Conch and lobster are featured everywhere but I was not impressed with the quality. Also, the govrmnt charges12% tax and many places also add a 10% service fee which I was told does not get to the servers so with a reasonable tip, what looks like a $25 lunch for two quickly turns into $40+. For the life of me, I don't see how the beach at Grace bay is rated so high. True it is very white since it's not true sand but decomposed coral and the water is the beautiful blue hues found in the Carribean but it is often quite narrow and severely sloped making it uncomfortable to walk on and very "fluffy" so you sink in a lot. I personally prefer a flatter wider beach for walking. Overall, I am glad we went but for our purposes, many other places (think Mexico) work out better and certainly offer better value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Try Mr Groupers for their Conch chowder for lunch. At $8.50 a bowl it will be the best food for the dollar you spend.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sands at Grace Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jrw dgw
Business
massachusetts
Dec 9, 2013

Paradise !

Fabulous vacation at beautiful Resort. Great location to bike into town and the beach is incredibly beautiful and breath taking. Can't think of anything I would change. Staff goes out of their way to make you comfortable and feel welcome. Plenty to do and lots of privacy and quiet. Loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sands at Grace Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TravelingFamilyofFour
Business
Texas
Dec 1, 2013

Family vacation

We stayed in a two bedroom suite. The rooms were great and the kitchen had almost everything we needed to prepare our own meals. The full size washer and dryer were a great addition as well. The staff were friendly and housekeeping was great. We loved the landscaping and the beautiful white sand beach. Even when the resort was full, there was still a private feel to the resort. Definitely plan on returning

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Snorkeling at Smith's Reef is definitely worth renting a car or taking a cab ride.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sands at Grace Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beach Only Travelers
Business
Sayreville, New Jersey
Nov 19, 2013

Best Beach We have been to yet

Our first time and we would definitely return. Only wish they had a happy hour.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Snorkeling and conch hunting 1/2 day trip was a blast, well worth it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sands at Grace Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sonia tennislady
Business
crofton, MD
Nov 7, 2013

great get away at The Sands

The Sands is a beautiful resort. Check in was short and sweet. Our room was much bigger that I expected with washer/dryer and full kitchen. Front desk was helpful and answered all our questions. Beach area was great with lounge chairs and huts. Pool areas very nice and clean. Hemingways is a very nice restaurant-staff and food are the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

coco bistro fabulous atmosphere and service and food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sands at Grace Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Peggidy
Business
Berlin Maryland
Oct 27, 2013

Great!

We were so pleased; the staff was friendly, prompt service; clean and pretty property; the location was perfect we found ourselves walking to shops and restaurants; the beach was absolutely to die for! Enjoyed the serenity of going this time of year, not crowded. We can't wait to go back.to the Sands at Grace Bay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good food, good prices, good service, fun time at Danny Buoy's Sports Bar! Manager was very attentive! Thank you.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sands at Grace Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Older but better
Business
Memphis
Oct 17, 2013

Great Value; Great Beach!

Just got back from 6 days at the Sands. Its beach is one of the broadest on the island which you'll appreciate if you walk down to the underwater coral garden. Plan to snorkel it; the water is fantastic; clearer than any I've ever seen. Love the big rooms, our own fridge and the screened porch. Hemingway's restaurant is good and the staff friendly but it's menu pales in comparison to others close by, namely, Mango Reef. Biggest negative of hotel was 3rd floor walk-up. This old gal needs an elevator at 71 and, although the exercise is good; my sacroiliac was screaming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Caution: Taxis are not regulated. Ask for Majestic Taxi, Leonard or Antoinette The best on the island, totally reliable, on time, fair fares. Avoid Angela's Taxi; she tried to rip us off but failed because we made her take us back to the hotel when she upped the fare from the one initially agreed upon ... which goes to show you shouldn't try to take advantage of little old ladies!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sands at Grace Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
October escapees
Business
Houston, Texas
Oct 13, 2013

Great vacation

We enjoyed our stay in this hotel, great beach, good restaurant, great pool, very quite place. For our taste there were just enough amenities as we were not looking for any-This is not the place where you have exercise instructors at the pool with loud music (Thank God)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Food is expensive in Providenciales as all is imported so you may want to prepare some meals at the suit. We bought some cereal and some lunch meat for sandwiches at a supermarket not too far from the hotel. We alternated with Hemingway's at the resort or we would wander into town to one of the nice restaurants there. We recommend Vix (great grouper)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sands at Grace Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Northwest NJ
Business
NJ
Sep 27, 2013

Great off peak property & location - No Crowds!!!

Hot sun. Beautiful ocean water. Well kept property. Great restaurant. Staff always helpful and willing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sands at Grace Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
2013 Couples
Business
Provo
Sep 9, 2013

Excellent

It was a wonderful experience..will visit again. Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top