The Royal West Indies Resort

4 stars
Grace Bay Road, Providenciales,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
258 reviews
Great resort

RWI on Grace Bay was an amazing stay. Can't beat the location, ocean front right on Grace Bay, one... See full review

  • Jason
  • Jan 18, 2015
Sister Trip

This was my 3rd stay at Royal West Indies and as usual it was fantastic. Much needed trip that did... See full review

  • Dolores D.
  • Dec 29, 2014
Enjoy Caribbean luxury with kitchen-equipped suites, full-service spa
The Royal West Indies Resort boasts all-suite, luxury accommodations along world-renowned Grace Bay Beach, on the northeast end of Providenciales. From its oceanfront location, the resort makes an ideal jumping off point for scuba diving, snorkeling and fishing. Guests of the resort can walk or bike to nearby shopping, dining and nightlife, and the hotel sits close to the Provo Golf Club. The Royal West Indies Resort offers free water sports equipment, bicycles and Wi-Fi access in public areas and guest rooms.
Highlights
  • Oceanfront location on Grace Bay Beach
  • Full-service spa
  • Complimentary water sports equipment and bicycles
  • Free high-speed Internet access
Rooms
The Royal West Indies Resort offers studios, and one- and two-bedroom luxury suites. All have private, furnished balconies with oceanfront, ocean-view or garden-view locations. One- and two-bedroom suites boast king-size beds, living rooms with pullout sofas, and modern, full-size kitchens, which makes them ideal for families. Studios feature single king beds or pairs of queens and kitchenettes with refrigerators, microwaves and sinks. In-room amenities include coffee-makers, air conditioning, cable televisions, DVD players and work desks with free high-speed Internet access.
Features
Situated on Grace Bay Beach, the Royal West Indies Resort offers lush kitchen-equipped suites with easy access to beach water sports and complimentary use of non-motorized water sports like catamarans, windsurfing, snorkeling gear and bicycles. Guests can find world-class scuba diving, snorkeling and fishing in the offshore waters, and nearby land activities include golf, tennis and horseback riding. The property boasts two free-form swimming pools and a sun deck with lounge chairs, towels and umbrellas, and the on-site Spa Tropique offers full-service massage and body treatments. For meals, guests can visit the on-site Pelican Bay Restaurant, which serves international fare poolside, and the Royal West Indies Resort also provides Wi-Fi access (free) in the lobby and guest rooms.
Transportation
  • Providenciales International Airport (8 mi/12.8 km)
Attractions
  • Provo Golf Club (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Casablanca Casino (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Caicos Conch Farm (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
  • Turtle Cove Marina (5.3 mi/8.5 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi access
  • Business services

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Royal West Indies Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

The Royal West Indies Resort Rooms

Studio Botanical View, 540sq ft
These very popular studio suites have set a new deluxe standard in value on Grace Bay! All studios contain 1 King bed and feature sleek mini-kitchens (microwave, refrigerator, sink, coffee maker and all utensils), remarkable furniture, air conditioning, ceiling fan, direct dial telephone with voicemail and dataport, cable television, electronic safe, CD player, washer/dryer, hairdryer and 12-foot sliding glass doors to balcony/patio with a view of the gardens and/or swimming pool.
2 Bedroom Botanical View, 1544sq ft
Connecting suites combine to create this spacious dynamic 2-bedroom lockout featuring a common entrance foyer and breathtaking views from the oversized private balcony. These units allow for a wonderful 2-bedroom accommodation for family and friends while at the same time offering prime value at a luxury location. Combines a Studio with a 1 Bedroom Suite.
1 Bedroom Ocean View, 1004sq ft
Perfect for couples or families, these light and spacious corner suites represent true luxury at an excellent price. The master bedroom contains a King bed and is bright and airy with its signature Caribbean louvered shutters. All suites feature a spacious living area with a Queen size sofabed, fully appointed kitchen with breakfast bar, dining area, air conditioning, ceiling fans, direct dial telephone with voicemail and dataport, cable television, electronic safe, CD player, washer/dryer, hair dryer and 12-foot sliding glass doors opening onto an over-sized wraparound balcony with a view of the ocean.
1 Bedroom Botanical View, 1004sq ft
Perfect for couples or families, these light and spacious corner suites represent true luxury at an excellent price. The master bedroom contains a King bed and is bright and airy with its signature Caribbean louvered shutters. All suites feature a spacious living area with a Queen size sofabed, fully appointed kitchen with breakfast bar, dining area, air conditioning, ceiling fans, direct dial telephone with voicemail and dataport, cable television, electronic safe, CD player, washer/dryer, hair dryer and 12-foot sliding glass doors opening onto an over-sized wraparound balcony with a view of the gardens and/or swimming pool.
2 Bedroom Ocean View, 1544sq ft
Connecting suites combine to create this spacious dynamic 2-bedroom lockout featuring a common entrance foyer and breathtaking views from the oversized private balcony. These units allow for a wonderful 2-bedroom accommodation for family and friends while at the same time offering prime value at a luxury location. Combines a Studio with a 1 Bedroom Suite.
Studio Oceanview, 540 sq ft
These very popular studio suites have set a new deluxe standard in value on Grace Bay! All studios contain 1 King bed and feature sleek mini-kitchens (microwave, refrigerator, sink, coffee maker and all utensils), remarkable furniture, air conditioning, ceiling fan, direct dial telephone with voicemail and dataport, cable television, electronic safe, CD player, washer/dryer, hairdryer and 12-foot sliding glass doors to balcony/patio with a view of the ocean.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Golf field: 0.4 mi
  • Conch farm: 2.1 mi
  • Cooper Jack marina: 5.3 mi

Dining

Pelican Bay Restaurant & Bar
Pelican Bay Restaurant & Bar serves breakfast, lunch and dinner in a casual environment either in their air conditioned dining room or in their outdoor dining area. Enjoy Caribbean and International cuisine in a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
While no official meeting rooms are located on property, the resort invites small meeting groups to stay at the resort and utilize the living & dining area of a 1 or 2 Bedroom Suite or the restaurant's air conditioned dining area for their meeting needs.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (258)

Ratings and reviews for The Royal West Indies Resort

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
43 out of 258
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Royal West Indies Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EJBEJBJTB
Business
New York
Nov 25, 2014

RWI w/ 6 mo. Old Baby

We stayed with our 6 month old son for 5 days/4 nights. Overall we were quite pleased w/ RWI. * Amenities - quite good overall, solid pool, loved the hot bath/whirlpool and plenty of beach umbrellas, beach loungers and beach towels available. * Location - Yes, I'm being picky, but Grace bay is a nearly perfect beach, however, the RWI section of beach had a bit more shell and seaweed than anywhere else we visited. That said, the beach is still an 8.5-9 on a scale of 10, compared to 9-10 everywhere else we visited in Turks and Caicos. Close proximity to restaurants and groceries - if you rent a car. About a 25 minute walk, one way, w/ no car (I walked it most mornings for a bit of nonbeach exercise). * Room cleanliness - felt the cleaning staff did a wonderful job. * Room comfort - reduced this by one star because the room (Room #432 was very comfortable w/ a pretty good view of Grace bay), however, there was essentially only enough hot water for one shower, not two. Not that the second shower was freezing, but was only lukewarm. * Staff - very, very helpful and extremely friendly. Cleaning staff had no problem working around our sons nap schedule. Every staff member we encountered was extremely kind and helpful. * Value - Overall a strong value option for Grace Bay. Though the hot water issue would normally drive us crazy, for the price we paid, we felt it a good deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If traveling with a baby/toddler, do not need a stroller. We brought our B.O.B. stroller, but never took it out of the travel case. Also, again if traveling w/ a youngster, Taylor Bay - though a bit of a drive (approx. 30 minute) from RWI - is a must! Finally, if considering bringing a beach tent, let me just say we are so glad we did NOT bring one, plenty of beach umbrellas, and brought a blanket/mat to lay down on top of the sand...but even then we just laid our son on a beach lounger when he was napping, keeping a close eye on him of course.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal West Indies Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mary Ann scuba diver
Business
NYC
Nov 10, 2014

Beach Trip

Great location and amenities, lovely grounds. The staff was very unhelpful. They made me feel like I was on their personal time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal West Indies Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Terryanne
Business
Wilton, CT
Jul 12, 2014

Great location and value

The hotel is located right on beautiful Grace Bay, and is a 15 minute walk from shopping, restaurants and a supermarket. Since the rooms are equipped with a kitchen, the supermarket is great. The rooms are spacious and clean, the staff are friendly and helpful, and the beach was not crowded at all in July. A great value on a beautiful beach; I'd definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal West Indies Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kbdbzb
Business
massachusetts
Mar 19, 2014

son's 30th bday

All round excellent. Beautiful setting, amazing beach, room very comfortable. Staff on grounds, housekeeping and waterfront very helpful and pleasant. Staff at front desk could up their game. Would definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal West Indies Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hildy Lives To Travel
Business
New York, NY
Jan 27, 2014

Perfect getaway

2 bedroom suite was very comfortable for us and our 3 teenage children. Kitchen facilities allowed us to stick to our budget yet have a first class vacation in a perfect spot. Available bicycles were a great way to get around the island. Rooms are steps away from beach and pool making this the most relaxing vacation ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

three nights of live bands the week we were there no need to leave the resort!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal West Indies Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Skifans
Business
South Carolina
Dec 1, 2013

Perfect Location for relax, swim

Great view, we booked oceanview and had to change, the first room we got was'nt oceanview but the next Day we got the right one. Restaurant was very expensive and the Thanksgiving Menu not our favorite. The Beach is really the best we ever saw!!!! We think, You do'nt need a Car, we took a very small one for 380$. It was also expensive like everything on this island but when you go to the Caribbean You Must know this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal West Indies Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Niatsikas
Business
Warren, MI
Nov 18, 2013

Niatsikas

The staff at the RWI was great and accommodating. The location is great for the family, walk to downtown etc

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal West Indies Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jelo
Business
San Antonio tx
May 31, 2013

Fantastic .

Very clean and nice view see next year the food very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal West Indies Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
AustinTX123
Business
Austin, TX
Apr 21, 2013

Horrible, left after one night

We arrived late afternoon and checked into our room, building 7, second floor, #725 I believe. A one bedroom suite. The condo seemed ok, the furnishings were fine, but not luxury. The bigger issue was the sewer smell in our area of the property, we inquired and they replied it was coming from Club Med next door. Not sure if this is a regular thing or not, but they were unsurprised by our comments so I assume that it is. After getting dinner at the restaurant (which was good, also liked the look of the bar and larger pool area but did not use it) and getting back to our room we realized the A/C was broken. We called to get it fixed. They were on it but it took an hour or so. Finally, when I went to run a bath for our toddler, we were confronted with a tub full of brown water (see attached image). This was the last straw, and we asked to be moved to a different room immediately, preferably well away from building number 7 and the sewage smell. They assured us they were completely full apart from a nearly identical room is the building opposite the pool from ours. My husband went to check the water and it was also brown. Long story short, we spent the next couple of hours calling around the other resorts to find another room and moved first thing the next morning. We will definitely never return and would not recommend this hotel to anyone, even if they think they are getting a fantastic deal. In fact, I'm extremely suspicious of all the of the glowing, positive reviews on this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal West Indies Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
another NY family
Business
new york
Mar 28, 2013

Provo condo hotel

very pleasant grounds, very nice and quiet beach. good place for a quiet vacation. food around is overpriced and limited and we mostly ate home (need a car/taxi for grocery shopping)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Caicos Bakery is excellent

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top