$284 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

The Royal West Indies Resort

4 stars
Grace Bay Road, Providenciales,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
255 reviews
Sister Trip

This was my 3rd stay at Royal West Indies and as usual it was fantastic. Much needed trip that did... See full review

  • Dolores D.
  • Dec 22, 2014
Quiet and peaceful !

The resort overall was beautiful, well manicured and well taken care of. Staff was friendly,... See full review

  • Epinema
  • Nov 29, 2014
Enjoy Caribbean luxury with kitchen-equipped suites, full-service spa
The Royal West Indies Resort boasts all-suite, luxury accommodations along world-renowned Grace Bay Beach, on the northeast end of Providenciales. From its oceanfront location, the resort makes an ideal jumping off point for scuba diving, snorkeling and fishing. Guests of the resort can walk or bike to nearby shopping, dining and nightlife, and the hotel sits close to the Provo Golf Club. The Royal West Indies Resort offers free water sports equipment, bicycles and Wi-Fi access in public areas and guest rooms.
Highlights
  • Oceanfront location on Grace Bay Beach
  • Full-service spa
  • Complimentary water sports equipment and bicycles
  • Free high-speed Internet access
Rooms
The Royal West Indies Resort offers studios, and one- and two-bedroom luxury suites. All have private, furnished balconies with oceanfront, ocean-view or garden-view locations. One- and two-bedroom suites boast king-size beds, living rooms with pullout sofas, and modern, full-size kitchens, which makes them ideal for families. Studios feature single king beds or pairs of queens and kitchenettes with refrigerators, microwaves and sinks. In-room amenities include coffee-makers, air conditioning, cable televisions, DVD players and work desks with free high-speed Internet access.
Features
Situated on Grace Bay Beach, the Royal West Indies Resort offers lush kitchen-equipped suites with easy access to beach water sports and complimentary use of non-motorized water sports like catamarans, windsurfing, snorkeling gear and bicycles. Guests can find world-class scuba diving, snorkeling and fishing in the offshore waters, and nearby land activities include golf, tennis and horseback riding. The property boasts two free-form swimming pools and a sun deck with lounge chairs, towels and umbrellas, and the on-site Spa Tropique offers full-service massage and body treatments. For meals, guests can visit the on-site Pelican Bay Restaurant, which serves international fare poolside, and the Royal West Indies Resort also provides Wi-Fi access (free) in the lobby and guest rooms.
Transportation
  • Providenciales International Airport (8 mi/12.8 km)
Attractions
  • Provo Golf Club (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Casablanca Casino (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Caicos Conch Farm (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
  • Turtle Cove Marina (5.3 mi/8.5 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi access
  • Business services

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Royal West Indies Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

The Royal West Indies Resort Rooms

Studio Botanical View, 540sq ft
These very popular studio suites have set a new deluxe standard in value on Grace Bay! All studios contain 1 King bed and feature sleek mini-kitchens (microwave, refrigerator, sink, coffee maker and all utensils), remarkable furniture, air conditioning, ceiling fan, direct dial telephone with voicemail and dataport, cable television, electronic safe, CD player, washer/dryer, hairdryer and 12-foot sliding glass doors to balcony/patio with a view of the gardens and/or swimming pool.
2 Bedroom Botanical View, 1544sq ft
Connecting suites combine to create this spacious dynamic 2-bedroom lockout featuring a common entrance foyer and breathtaking views from the oversized private balcony. These units allow for a wonderful 2-bedroom accommodation for family and friends while at the same time offering prime value at a luxury location. Combines a Studio with a 1 Bedroom Suite.
1 Bedroom Ocean View, 1004sq ft
Perfect for couples or families, these light and spacious corner suites represent true luxury at an excellent price. The master bedroom contains a King bed and is bright and airy with its signature Caribbean louvered shutters. All suites feature a spacious living area with a Queen size sofabed, fully appointed kitchen with breakfast bar, dining area, air conditioning, ceiling fans, direct dial telephone with voicemail and dataport, cable television, electronic safe, CD player, washer/dryer, hair dryer and 12-foot sliding glass doors opening onto an over-sized wraparound balcony with a view of the ocean.
1 Bedroom Botanical View, 1004sq ft
Perfect for couples or families, these light and spacious corner suites represent true luxury at an excellent price. The master bedroom contains a King bed and is bright and airy with its signature Caribbean louvered shutters. All suites feature a spacious living area with a Queen size sofabed, fully appointed kitchen with breakfast bar, dining area, air conditioning, ceiling fans, direct dial telephone with voicemail and dataport, cable television, electronic safe, CD player, washer/dryer, hair dryer and 12-foot sliding glass doors opening onto an over-sized wraparound balcony with a view of the gardens and/or swimming pool.
2 Bedroom Ocean View, 1544sq ft
Connecting suites combine to create this spacious dynamic 2-bedroom lockout featuring a common entrance foyer and breathtaking views from the oversized private balcony. These units allow for a wonderful 2-bedroom accommodation for family and friends while at the same time offering prime value at a luxury location. Combines a Studio with a 1 Bedroom Suite.
Studio Oceanview, 540 sq ft
These very popular studio suites have set a new deluxe standard in value on Grace Bay! All studios contain 1 King bed and feature sleek mini-kitchens (microwave, refrigerator, sink, coffee maker and all utensils), remarkable furniture, air conditioning, ceiling fan, direct dial telephone with voicemail and dataport, cable television, electronic safe, CD player, washer/dryer, hairdryer and 12-foot sliding glass doors to balcony/patio with a view of the ocean.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Golf field: 0.4 mi
  • Conch farm: 2.1 mi
  • Cooper Jack marina: 5.3 mi

Dining

Pelican Bay Restaurant & Bar
Pelican Bay Restaurant & Bar serves breakfast, lunch and dinner in a casual environment either in their air conditioned dining room or in their outdoor dining area. Enjoy Caribbean and International cuisine in a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
While no official meeting rooms are located on property, the resort invites small meeting groups to stay at the resort and utilize the living & dining area of a 1 or 2 Bedroom Suite or the restaurant's air conditioned dining area for their meeting needs.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (255)

Ratings and reviews for The Royal West Indies Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
255 out of 255
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Royal West Indies Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
AustinTX123
Business
Austin, TX
Apr 21, 2013

Horrible, left after one night

We arrived late afternoon and checked into our room, building 7, second floor, #725 I believe. A one bedroom suite. The condo seemed ok, the furnishings were fine, but not luxury. The bigger issue was the sewer smell in our area of the property, we inquired and they replied it was coming from Club Med next door. Not sure if this is a regular thing or not, but they were unsurprised by our comments so I assume that it is. After getting dinner at the restaurant (which was good, also liked the look of the bar and larger pool area but did not use it) and getting back to our room we realized the A/C was broken. We called to get it fixed. They were on it but it took an hour or so. Finally, when I went to run a bath for our toddler, we were confronted with a tub full of brown water (see attached image). This was the last straw, and we asked to be moved to a different room immediately, preferably well away from building number 7 and the sewage smell. They assured us they were completely full apart from a nearly identical room is the building opposite the pool from ours. My husband went to check the water and it was also brown. Long story short, we spent the next couple of hours calling around the other resorts to find another room and moved first thing the next morning. We will definitely never return and would not recommend this hotel to anyone, even if they think they are getting a fantastic deal. In fact, I'm extremely suspicious of all the of the glowing, positive reviews on this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal West Indies Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bibina
Business
Hollywood, FL
Jul 25, 2011

Scary experience

The room I was originally checked in to 214 smelled badly and the shower did not work. I was forced to use a cup to throw the water over my body. That wasn't the worst of it. One of my family member knew I was staying at the hotel went to the front desk and provided her with my name and information and requested a copy of my room key and the front desk clerk gave her a copy. At 2:00 am while I was sleeping, She just opened the door on me. Security is poor. What if it was a criminal who happened to know my name and knew I was staying at hotel they would have just provided him or her with a copy of my room key, to rob, take advantage of me, or better yet kill me. I tried to dial 911 on the phone and it did not allow me to dial out- not even to 911! What an experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal West Indies Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Stacy in Atlanta
Business
Atlanta metro area
Jul 23, 2009

Some disappointment

The grounds and pool area were beautiful. The resort looked clean and the staff were friendly for the most part. I was upset about the lack of hot showers. I spoke in person to someone at the front desk who assured me it would be taken care of. No one came. Nothing was done. My girlfriend and I took cool showers the whole time we were there. That is unacceptable for a resort that is several hundred dollars a night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Rent a car and see the island like a native.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal West Indies Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JS luvs2travel
Business
Richmond, VA
May 26, 2011

The good and the bad.

This resort has the worst customer service I have ever experienced! Even though we confirmed an ocean view king room we were placed in an ocean view with double beds. On the day of check in they reluctantly (after much debate) agreed to move us to a better room the following day. Of course the day of the move they claimed they could not find any notations that we were to be moved and that they didn't have any available rooms. They made no attempt to accomdate or compensate us for the inconvenience. They never even followed up with us even though we called and went to the front desk numerous times. They basically did not care that they were not honoring our reservation. The quality of the room was average-the towels and bedding were of low quality but the view from the balcony and the beach location was absolutely amazing. I would love to go back to Provo but will not stay at this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Go to Magnolia resturant and wine bar. It is located on a hill with the best sunset view over the marina. To top it off the food and service were excellent!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal West Indies Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
PRKS
Business
Pennsylvania
Jul 18, 2014

What a disappointment

I paid for a king size bed and got 2 double beds. When I questioned the staff I was told that there were no king beds available. On top of that we had to wait an additional hour for the room to be made available. The room was never cleaned, straightened but never cleaned. Except for the first day we never had a full compliment of towels and the floors were never vacuumed. I would suggest that people try other resorts first, I will not be going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Caicos Cafe

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal West Indies Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TC 2012
Business
West Chester, PA, USA
Mar 5, 2012

TC 2012

Overall very good. We stayed at another resort last year that had some little things that RWI didn't have. A gym, ice machines, water by the beach/pool and tables between beach chairs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal West Indies Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AbDee
Business
Clemmons,NC
May 8, 2012

Great Spot!

First greeted with a rum punch as soon as you walk-in! Room was clean and A/C works great. It was very quiet and relaxing. It felt as if my wife and I were the only two at the resort. Food was good! Great beach and great location! Short bike ride to all good things. Beware of the sand flies, when laying out on the beach!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Rent a car your first day and last day.(50$) Cabs will hit that wallet hard.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal West Indies Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ioda
Business
Montreal
Apr 27, 2013

good value on exquisite beach

An overall Ok experience. The restaurant was disappointing. If you like spending time on a great and quiet beach and swimming in the ocean this hotel is perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Check out Graceway Gourmet supermarket.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal West Indies Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SaRaH J.
Business
PA
Jun 2, 2013

Unfriendly staff

We arrived at the hotel at 1pm on a Sunday and were told our room would not be ready until 3... It actually wasn't ready until 330 and we were basically told to find something to do until it was ready. I called for a few more bath towels and about 4 hours later still had not received them so I went down to the front desk and had to get them myself. The restaurant does not have good food at all but the happy hour at the bar was nice, half price on all drinks. Wouldn't go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal West Indies Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mkincaid
Business
charleston, wv
Jun 29, 2013

no title

This hotel was a good value, but customer service was terrible. We wanted to use a chair to watch the sunset on the beach, but we were reprimanded because the chairs are off limits "after sunset".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top