The Royal West Indies Resort

4 stars
Grace Bay Road, Providenciales,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
258 reviews
Great resort

RWI on Grace Bay was an amazing stay. Can't beat the location, ocean front right on Grace Bay, one... See full review

  • Jason
  • Jan 18, 2015
Sister Trip

This was my 3rd stay at Royal West Indies and as usual it was fantastic. Much needed trip that did... See full review

  • Dolores D.
  • Dec 29, 2014
Enjoy Caribbean luxury with kitchen-equipped suites, full-service spa
The Royal West Indies Resort boasts all-suite, luxury accommodations along world-renowned Grace Bay Beach, on the northeast end of Providenciales. From its oceanfront location, the resort makes an ideal jumping off point for scuba diving, snorkeling and fishing. Guests of the resort can walk or bike to nearby shopping, dining and nightlife, and the hotel sits close to the Provo Golf Club. The Royal West Indies Resort offers free water sports equipment, bicycles and Wi-Fi access in public areas and guest rooms.
Highlights
  • Oceanfront location on Grace Bay Beach
  • Full-service spa
  • Complimentary water sports equipment and bicycles
  • Free high-speed Internet access
Rooms
The Royal West Indies Resort offers studios, and one- and two-bedroom luxury suites. All have private, furnished balconies with oceanfront, ocean-view or garden-view locations. One- and two-bedroom suites boast king-size beds, living rooms with pullout sofas, and modern, full-size kitchens, which makes them ideal for families. Studios feature single king beds or pairs of queens and kitchenettes with refrigerators, microwaves and sinks. In-room amenities include coffee-makers, air conditioning, cable televisions, DVD players and work desks with free high-speed Internet access.
Features
Situated on Grace Bay Beach, the Royal West Indies Resort offers lush kitchen-equipped suites with easy access to beach water sports and complimentary use of non-motorized water sports like catamarans, windsurfing, snorkeling gear and bicycles. Guests can find world-class scuba diving, snorkeling and fishing in the offshore waters, and nearby land activities include golf, tennis and horseback riding. The property boasts two free-form swimming pools and a sun deck with lounge chairs, towels and umbrellas, and the on-site Spa Tropique offers full-service massage and body treatments. For meals, guests can visit the on-site Pelican Bay Restaurant, which serves international fare poolside, and the Royal West Indies Resort also provides Wi-Fi access (free) in the lobby and guest rooms.
Transportation
  • Providenciales International Airport (8 mi/12.8 km)
Attractions
  • Provo Golf Club (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Casablanca Casino (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Caicos Conch Farm (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
  • Turtle Cove Marina (5.3 mi/8.5 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi access
  • Business services

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Royal West Indies Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

The Royal West Indies Resort Rooms

Studio Botanical View, 540sq ft
These very popular studio suites have set a new deluxe standard in value on Grace Bay! All studios contain 1 King bed and feature sleek mini-kitchens (microwave, refrigerator, sink, coffee maker and all utensils), remarkable furniture, air conditioning, ceiling fan, direct dial telephone with voicemail and dataport, cable television, electronic safe, CD player, washer/dryer, hairdryer and 12-foot sliding glass doors to balcony/patio with a view of the gardens and/or swimming pool.
2 Bedroom Botanical View, 1544sq ft
Connecting suites combine to create this spacious dynamic 2-bedroom lockout featuring a common entrance foyer and breathtaking views from the oversized private balcony. These units allow for a wonderful 2-bedroom accommodation for family and friends while at the same time offering prime value at a luxury location. Combines a Studio with a 1 Bedroom Suite.
1 Bedroom Ocean View, 1004sq ft
Perfect for couples or families, these light and spacious corner suites represent true luxury at an excellent price. The master bedroom contains a King bed and is bright and airy with its signature Caribbean louvered shutters. All suites feature a spacious living area with a Queen size sofabed, fully appointed kitchen with breakfast bar, dining area, air conditioning, ceiling fans, direct dial telephone with voicemail and dataport, cable television, electronic safe, CD player, washer/dryer, hair dryer and 12-foot sliding glass doors opening onto an over-sized wraparound balcony with a view of the ocean.
1 Bedroom Botanical View, 1004sq ft
Perfect for couples or families, these light and spacious corner suites represent true luxury at an excellent price. The master bedroom contains a King bed and is bright and airy with its signature Caribbean louvered shutters. All suites feature a spacious living area with a Queen size sofabed, fully appointed kitchen with breakfast bar, dining area, air conditioning, ceiling fans, direct dial telephone with voicemail and dataport, cable television, electronic safe, CD player, washer/dryer, hair dryer and 12-foot sliding glass doors opening onto an over-sized wraparound balcony with a view of the gardens and/or swimming pool.
2 Bedroom Ocean View, 1544sq ft
Connecting suites combine to create this spacious dynamic 2-bedroom lockout featuring a common entrance foyer and breathtaking views from the oversized private balcony. These units allow for a wonderful 2-bedroom accommodation for family and friends while at the same time offering prime value at a luxury location. Combines a Studio with a 1 Bedroom Suite.
Studio Oceanview, 540 sq ft
These very popular studio suites have set a new deluxe standard in value on Grace Bay! All studios contain 1 King bed and feature sleek mini-kitchens (microwave, refrigerator, sink, coffee maker and all utensils), remarkable furniture, air conditioning, ceiling fan, direct dial telephone with voicemail and dataport, cable television, electronic safe, CD player, washer/dryer, hairdryer and 12-foot sliding glass doors to balcony/patio with a view of the ocean.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Golf field: 0.4 mi
  • Conch farm: 2.1 mi
  • Cooper Jack marina: 5.3 mi

Dining

Pelican Bay Restaurant & Bar
Pelican Bay Restaurant & Bar serves breakfast, lunch and dinner in a casual environment either in their air conditioned dining room or in their outdoor dining area. Enjoy Caribbean and International cuisine in a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
While no official meeting rooms are located on property, the resort invites small meeting groups to stay at the resort and utilize the living & dining area of a 1 or 2 Bedroom Suite or the restaurant's air conditioned dining area for their meeting needs.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (258)

Ratings and reviews for The Royal West Indies Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
258 out of 258
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Royal West Indies Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Roaming Rochestarian
Business
Rochester,NY
Jul 7, 2014

Couldn't have been better !

Our stay last week was absolutely wonderful! Everything from the friendly,helpful,accommodating staff,the room,grounds,food,drinks,entire atmosphere of the resort could not have been better .I would pick RWI over many of the others that we checked out during our visit. We will definitely stay here again and have already recommended it to other people that we know will be traveling to TCI in the near future. Thank you for a wonderful 30th anniversary vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You don't really need a car. The hotel has free bikes to use,you can easily walk to the grocery store and other shops and restaurants and if you need to go on an excursion ,the hotel or the excursion will arrange your transportation . Taxis(which are mini vans) are easily available.Its also easier to do without since driving is on the left like in the UK.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal West Indies Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York City
Jun 29, 2014

Affordable Option

This is a good hotel to stay at if you are planning on doing a lot of activities around the island throughout the day and you don't plan on spending a lot of time in your room or at the hotel itself. However, it does have a very cool pool area. Other hotels that are more expensive offer more luxury but this hotel is good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal West Indies Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
eddypyall
Business
Boston
Jun 25, 2014

Best value we could imagine!

We wanted to take a last minute vacation on a budget and chose the Royal West Indies based on other recent reviews. Given the fact that it was on the lower end of hotel costs for the area we we're hoping it wouldn't be a disaster. It exceeded all expectations! The hotel was very clean, from the room to the pool to the beach to the bar/restaurant, the staff was very friendly and accommodating and the grounds were luscious and well kept. We walked through several "luxury" properties along Grace Bay priced 3x as much and didn't really feel like we we're missing out at all. It's all the same beautiful beach after all so why pay extra for a gold-plated pool. On that front, there we're towels, beach chairs, umbrellas, sailboats, bicycles, snorkeling equipment and kayaks provided and even bicycles to use to explore. It truly was a paradise for those who like to experience extreme comfort, cleanliness and style without paying ridiculous money. I'd recommend it to all visitors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Everything is more expensive in the Turks and Caicos but if you're their primarily for the breathtaking beaches make use of the 2 supermarkets (Gourmet is the more expensive of the 2) and load up for picnics and snacks and restrict dining out to lunches and 1-2 fancy dinners. Oh and ABSOLUTELY go to the Thursday night Fish Fry!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal West Indies Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SkyPirate
Business
Atlanta, Georgia
Jun 20, 2014

Exceeded Expectations

I spent three nights at the Royal West Indies Resort in mid-June for $150/night. This was the best beach vacation I've ever had, especially for the price. The resort lets guests use its watercraft (including hobbiecat catamaran sailboats) free-of-charge. Altogether, I spent about 6 hours sailing over my trip (this would have cost me hundreds of dollars had I rented it). The beach and the clear turquoise water is exceptional. I've been to Aruba and Grand Cayman but this one is the best. The room itself had a good sized refrigerator with freezer, microwave, toaster, and best of all, a washer and dryer so we could wash our swim clothes after each day. The resort has two nice pools and a large hot tub. The grounds are well-kept with fragrant flowers. There are even complimentary bicycles you can sign out from the hotel to explore town. While this is not a "luxury" 5-star hotel, I can find no faults with it and it was a perfect beach vacation at an affordable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

There are good budget places to eat if you're willing to walk or bike a mile. Thai Orchid and Lupo (Italian) in Regency Village were about $18 to $20 per entre and were pretty good. The Pork Shack does great poboys (fish, chicken, etc) and is about $9 per entre. Anyone who says you have to pay $100 for dinner in Turks and Caicos is making the mistake of eating at hotel restaurants. Get out and eat like the locals!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal West Indies Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JesRN
Business
Cleveland, OH
May 23, 2014

Awesome getaway for a great price!

Perfect spot on Grace Bay, relaxing, lush, well-kept landscaping, and friendly staff. We rented a car to tour the island, went on a snorkeling adventure, but mostly ralaxed and enjoyed the gorgeous beach! The island is definitely not a party place, which is why we chose it. We have been to Aruba many times and felt it was getting too touristy, but here we sometimes felt like the only ones on the beach. Always a beach chair available, free use of snorkeling gear, bikes, kayaks, and much more. Also loved the washer and dryer in the room, we used the dryer before we left to dry any of our wet clothes. Highly recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal West Indies Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kategreat78
Business
Minneapolis, MN
May 18, 2014

Vacation in Paradise

We stayed in a first floor studio which had a king bed, washer/dryer, good size refrigerator/freezer and a small patio with a table, chairs and lounger. We from our building location, we had a 10 second walk to one of the 2 pools and a 90 second walk to the beach. There was always towels and beach chairs available. The staff was helpful and informative. Location was good with many restaurants, shops and a grocery store with in walking distance. Would go back and stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Dining out all the time can get expensive, we brought some snacks from home and hit up the grocery store once we got there to save some money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal West Indies Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mcleave
Business
Boston, MA
May 16, 2014

Relaxing and Stress-Free

RWI offers comfortable, convenient, and well-priced accommodations in Provo - not easy to find. Enjoyed the easy access to grocery and restaurant options via a beautiful walk on the beach or using the resort's bicycles. The Parrot Bay bar is great for happy hour/sunset cocktails, but skip the buffet dinner. The watersports and beach staff are friendly and the resort grounds are beautifully kept. Loved our time there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk the beach (then cross through the Seven Stars grounds) for quick access to the Graceway IGA grocery store (coffee, groceries, sunblock, etc), without walking the busy main road.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal West Indies Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Old Goalie
Business
Canfield, Ohio
May 7, 2014

Hotel set in tropical Gardens

Freshly redone room. excellent housekeeping. Grounds and pool were kept immaculate. Plenty of chairs and umbrellas on the beach. Need more lounges around pool, we had some early risers saving chairs. Grounds caretakers and pool and activity personnel were very friendly. Daily happy hour was 2 for 1. Front desk on arrival should offer at least water. Excellent location. Overall a restful and relaxing vacation. Will go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Rent a car. Go to local restaurants. Mr Grouper, Conch Shack are great. Check out all the beaches.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal West Indies Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Emptynest 51
Business
New York, New York
Apr 13, 2014

Perfect relaxation

From the moment you enter the hotel lobby till the moment you leave, your experience will be a good one. Starting with an organized staff that check you in, with a tropical punch, to getting you to your room. Upon check in I found out we were upgraded from a studio to a one bedroom suite! How wonderful! I was happy to call it home for a week! Everything and more was included. We made our coffee in our room and sat on our patio every morning. I can definitely get use to that! Rooms have a refrigerator, coffee maker, toaster and stove. The walk to the beach was 5 minutes. Chairs and umbrellas were all set up and you just had to choose your spot. The beach was a few steps from there. And what a beach! Beautiful, clean, blue water. No one to bother you on the beach (selling things). They have hobbie cats, kayacks, snorkeling equipment and paddle boards all for free. This hotel is perfect location to the beach, walk to supermarket, stores and many restaurants. Walking should be 15-20 minutes in a safe area but hotel also has bicycles that you can use to go some of these places for free. This being our second trip to Turks and Caicos we were familiar with the area. If you want a peaceful, relaxing time, clean and friendly place to stay...Royal West Indies Resort should be at the top of your list!! Can't say enough good things about everyone here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

15-20 minute walk can offer you choices of pizza, reasonably priced at Pizza Pizza. Nice Italian restaurant, reasonably priced and great dinner special at Bella Luna. Food is delicious.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal West Indies Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GeoH
Business
West Orange, NJ
Mar 23, 2014

Wonderful vacation

The hotel is a gem. The gardens of the hotel give one the feeling of being in a remote paradise. You never get the feeling that you are among hundreds of guests, as the location and orientation of the eight buildings that make up the hotel are situated in a very unobtrusive way. The hotel staff and Pelican Bay Restaurant staff are friendly and helpful. The beach amenities included kayaking, snorkeling, and Hobie Cat catamarans, and I wish they had also included paddle boards. The beach is pristine, and the turquoise water is enticing and enthralling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Wednesdays and Fridays they have all you can buffets, with Lobster fest on Wednesday and Surf and Turk festival on Fridays. Great buffet choices and service. Several evenings they also have live music providing dinner entertainment. Happy hour from 5 to 7 includes two for one drink pricing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top