$183 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 26, 2015 Check-out: May 28, 2015

The Royal West Indies Resort

4 stars
View map of Grace Bay Road, Providenciales,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Royal West Indies Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
274 out of 274
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Royal West Indies Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ana K
Business
New York, New York
May 16, 2010

Quiet, Relaxing and Absolutely Beautiful

I am no uptight traveler, but I do need to stay in hotels that are ranked with at least 4 stars or else I'm just not comfortable. For the price, this hotel couldn't be any better. If you're looking for a quiet getaway, this is the place to stay. The structure is not massive, the buildings are low and spaced out allowing for privacy as you walk to the pool or beach. The food is excellent and the beach is beautiful. I would recommend this resort in a heart beat, but only if you're looking for a quiet getaway...restaurant closes at 10 and the beach is quite empty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Don't leave Turks and Caicos without going snorkeling.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal West Indies Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lyn Dell
Business
Clearwater, FL
May 14, 2010

The perfect place to do nothing

This vacation was purely on the whim. We didn't have enough time research/review/decide where we wanted - and it was just a 4 day/3 night vacation. We could not have been HAPPIER at our decision to stay at Royal West Indies. This is THE place to go to get away from it all. There are no schedules/no nightlife/nothing to do except meet other ppl there, swim in the beautiful, tranquil unbelievably blue waters, and just VEDGE OUT. The only "regrets" we had w/ the resort were: 1) they didn't play caribbean-inspired music (at the restaurant -- who doesn't want to hear that when vacationing in the Caribbean??) 2) it'd be really nice if they had tiki torches lit at night, during sunset, or offered a cocktail hour (b1/g1) and set the outside "water desk" as the "bar" for an hour or 2 at night. 3) Prices were very high -- but that's also because everything has to be shipped in from the states. Pack any travel-friendly food w/ you (oatmeal; cereal; snack bars; mixed nuts; dried fruit; etc.) 4) We absolutely overpacked for this trip !! Had we paid attention to the description of the hotel, we wouldn't have packed so many clothes. There is a stackable washer/dryer in the room. All you need is 2 pairs of shorts; 2 tops; 2 pairs of shoes; 2 bathing suits and you're done ! 1 WARNING -- No matter if you burn easily or not, absolutely put a very good/waterproof sunblock on your 1st day to the beach. You can't help but want to stay in the water for hours, but if you don't use sunblock, you will regret it. The environment is COMPLETELY LAID BACK AND PERFECT. There is no formal attire required AT ALL!! No reservations are rq'd for the restaurant. It's all about rest, relaxation, and taking in the calm that completely surrounds you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Be prepared for the expense of beverages at the local grocery store. A case of 12 SmartWater is $44.00. This is not a typo. Everything is expensive. It's best to get a gallon or 2 of Zephyrhills water ($1.99) each; maybe grap some cold cuts and some fruit, so you can make your own lunch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal West Indies Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dartmouth, MA
May 11, 2010

Quiet & Relaxing

Beautiful grounds & landscaping. Really nice pools. The resort is right on the beach. They have Hobie Cats, snorkling equipment, boogie boards, beach chairs/umbrellas all complimentary. The restaurant is casual and the food is fresh & nicely prepared. You can walk to some shopping areas & restaurants but to get to the grocery store you need to take one of the bikes which have big baskets on them (only 4 of them available). The grocery store is new and clean and expensive but still worthwhile stocking up on basics your first day. Taxis are very expensive and would probably rent a car next time. The staff was mostly pleasant but a few times we felt we were imposing. Our overall experience was very positive and we would go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Go see the acoustic singing duo NADA if they are playing nearby the resort. We saw them outside at Seven Stars resort (short beach walk) and had a great time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal West Indies Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio, TX
May 11, 2010

Review of Royal West Indies Resort

First of all the Royal West Indies in Turks and Caicos was very nice, the staff is very friendly and accomadating. A slight inconvience was the lack of a courtesy shuttle to and from airport. Taxi's are $15 a head. However there is a administrator waiting for tourist right out of the airport who will ask for your destination and flag down a taxi for you. Upon arrival at the resort, the staff will prepare some juice or water for you, which was a nice touch. The staff seems eager to want to make your stay all the more enjoyable. I chose the one bedroom botanical suite which included a small kitchenette. I would highly recommend the ocean view, our room was facing the pool and although it was not very loud at all, you can still hear people or kids talking. For the quality of the Resort it would have been nice to have a LCD tv in the room but we had an old CRT tv. Other than that minor inconvience the room was very nice and clean. The Kitchenette was small as advertised but efficient. The location of the Royal West felt a little isolated from the rest of the resorts, which is good for the extra quiet but walking to other restaurants took a little time getting to on foot. The resort provides bikes to use but they only have about five for the entire resort with a two hour time limit. In retrospect rent a vehicle instead. Overall it was a very enjoyable trip and I would recommend this resort for the family or honeymooners. Fyi Turks does not cater to the spring break crowd and as such there is no night life so don't worry about excessive noise. Turks is expensive so come prepared.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal West Indies Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Boo yah Son!
Business
San Diego, CA
May 6, 2010

Very Nice

The Hotel is a very nice hotel that is cheaper than most on the island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Coco Bistro. All restaurants were expensive but this had the best food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal West Indies Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
long island, NY
Apr 18, 2010

Turks & Caicos

Nice place but didnt have that resort feeling, it is more of a condo residence. the grounds are kept nice and the pools could be nicer in comparison to other resorts. there is no bar or drink service at the beach so you have to walk back to the pool if you want drinks or go to you room. rooms are nice size and ours had full kitchen, which saved us money cooking in..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

dont eat at Anaconoa in the Grace Bay Club. Food is no good........

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal West Indies Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GoGirlGo
Business
Virginia
Apr 16, 2010

Great Place

This was our 5th trip to Turks & Caicos and we always stay at Royal West Indies. Great location right on the beach, beautifully landscaped property, lovely pools, friendly staff, and just perfect for a restful vacation. Great restaurant (Mango Reef) on site. One BR suite is perfect space when traveling with a child (sofabed, W/D, and full kitchen in unit).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

IGA grocery store within walking distance of hotel. Use it to pick up essentials: sodas, beer, ice cream, snacks, breakfast items, and save quite a lot of money (especially when traveling with kids).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal West Indies Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mama Jules
Business
Abilene, TX
Apr 10, 2010

Royal West Indies

Extremely pleseant. Outdoor beauty with quiet gardens. Very relaxing. I already gave two friends your name and their booked in May and July. Perfect for couples or families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

You can supply food in room for snack items including water. We ate at the extrodinary restaraunt every meal. It was splendid. If we had stayed longer, we would have needed extra groceries. The hot water runs out quickly so shower fast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal West Indies Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mama Jules
Business
Abilene, TX
Apr 10, 2010

Royal West Indies

Extremely pleseant. Outdoor beauty with quiet gardens. Very relaxing. I already gave two friends your name and their booked in May and July. Perfect for couples or families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

You can supply food in room for snack items including water. We ate at the extrodinary restaraunt every meal. It was splendid. If we had stayed longer, we would have needed extra groceries. The hot water runs out quickly so shower fast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal West Indies Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AJDad
Business
Greensboro, NC
Apr 5, 2010

T&C Family Getaway

Very nice resort. Room very clean and well appointed. Unfortunately, the room did have a slight musty smell. Location is pretty good, if you do not mind a 10-15 minute walk. Other resorts were a little closer to a small shopping complex. A bakery was across the street and had fresh pastries for sale each day. The resort had water sports equipment and bicycles, but they were not always available. There were only 4 bikes for the entire complex. Very friendly and helpful staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top