$219 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 1, 2014

The Royal West Indies Resort

4 stars
Grace Bay Road, Providenciales,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
249 reviews
not good for kids

I don't give ratings but this was the best we've ever stayed at See full review

  • jack the contractor
  • Nov 21, 2014
Great place to stay!

Perfect getaway place! Close to lots of restaurants and hotels, beautiful beach, and great rooms.... See full review

  • ChiMara
  • Nov 17, 2014
Enjoy Caribbean luxury with kitchen-equipped suites, full-service spa
The Royal West Indies Resort boasts all-suite, luxury accommodations along world-renowned Grace Bay Beach, on the northeast end of Providenciales. From its oceanfront location, the resort makes an ideal jumping off point for scuba diving, snorkeling and fishing. Guests of the resort can walk or bike to nearby shopping, dining and nightlife, and the hotel sits close to the Provo Golf Club. The Royal West Indies Resort offers free water sports equipment, bicycles and Wi-Fi access in public areas and guest rooms.
Highlights
  • Oceanfront location on Grace Bay Beach
  • Full-service spa
  • Complimentary water sports equipment and bicycles
  • Free high-speed Internet access
Rooms
The Royal West Indies Resort offers studios, and one- and two-bedroom luxury suites. All have private, furnished balconies with oceanfront, ocean-view or garden-view locations. One- and two-bedroom suites boast king-size beds, living rooms with pullout sofas, and modern, full-size kitchens, which makes them ideal for families. Studios feature single king beds or pairs of queens and kitchenettes with refrigerators, microwaves and sinks. In-room amenities include coffee-makers, air conditioning, cable televisions, DVD players and work desks with free high-speed Internet access.
Features
Situated on Grace Bay Beach, the Royal West Indies Resort offers lush kitchen-equipped suites with easy access to beach water sports and complimentary use of non-motorized water sports like catamarans, windsurfing, snorkeling gear and bicycles. Guests can find world-class scuba diving, snorkeling and fishing in the offshore waters, and nearby land activities include golf, tennis and horseback riding. The property boasts two free-form swimming pools and a sun deck with lounge chairs, towels and umbrellas, and the on-site Spa Tropique offers full-service massage and body treatments. For meals, guests can visit the on-site Pelican Bay Restaurant, which serves international fare poolside, and the Royal West Indies Resort also provides Wi-Fi access (free) in the lobby and guest rooms.
Transportation
  • Providenciales International Airport (8 mi/12.8 km)
Attractions
  • Provo Golf Club (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Casablanca Casino (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Caicos Conch Farm (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
  • Turtle Cove Marina (5.3 mi/8.5 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi access
  • Business services

Hotel Map

21.7997 -72.1682
Area served
Grace Bay Beach
Nearby airports
Providenciales Int'l Airport (PLS)
Area description
Ports of Call Shopping Center; Dive Provo; Provo Golf & Country Club, IGA Grocery Store.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Royal West Indies Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

The Royal West Indies Resort Rooms

Studio Botanical View, 540sq ft
These very popular studio suites have set a new deluxe standard in value on Grace Bay! All studios contain 1 King bed and feature sleek mini-kitchens (microwave, refrigerator, sink, coffee maker and all utensils), remarkable furniture, air conditioning, ceiling fan, direct dial telephone with voicemail and dataport, cable television, electronic safe, CD player, washer/dryer, hairdryer and 12-foot sliding glass doors to balcony/patio with a view of the gardens and/or swimming pool.
2 Bedroom Botanical View, 1544sq ft
Connecting suites combine to create this spacious dynamic 2-bedroom lockout featuring a common entrance foyer and breathtaking views from the oversized private balcony. These units allow for a wonderful 2-bedroom accommodation for family and friends while at the same time offering prime value at a luxury location. Combines a Studio with a 1 Bedroom Suite.
1 Bedroom Ocean View, 1004sq ft
Perfect for couples or families, these light and spacious corner suites represent true luxury at an excellent price. The master bedroom contains a King bed and is bright and airy with its signature Caribbean louvered shutters. All suites feature a spacious living area with a Queen size sofabed, fully appointed kitchen with breakfast bar, dining area, air conditioning, ceiling fans, direct dial telephone with voicemail and dataport, cable television, electronic safe, CD player, washer/dryer, hair dryer and 12-foot sliding glass doors opening onto an over-sized wraparound balcony with a view of the ocean.
1 Bedroom Botanical View, 1004sq ft
Perfect for couples or families, these light and spacious corner suites represent true luxury at an excellent price. The master bedroom contains a King bed and is bright and airy with its signature Caribbean louvered shutters. All suites feature a spacious living area with a Queen size sofabed, fully appointed kitchen with breakfast bar, dining area, air conditioning, ceiling fans, direct dial telephone with voicemail and dataport, cable television, electronic safe, CD player, washer/dryer, hair dryer and 12-foot sliding glass doors opening onto an over-sized wraparound balcony with a view of the gardens and/or swimming pool.
2 Bedroom Ocean View, 1544sq ft
Connecting suites combine to create this spacious dynamic 2-bedroom lockout featuring a common entrance foyer and breathtaking views from the oversized private balcony. These units allow for a wonderful 2-bedroom accommodation for family and friends while at the same time offering prime value at a luxury location. Combines a Studio with a 1 Bedroom Suite.
Studio Oceanview, 540 sq ft
These very popular studio suites have set a new deluxe standard in value on Grace Bay! All studios contain 1 King bed and feature sleek mini-kitchens (microwave, refrigerator, sink, coffee maker and all utensils), remarkable furniture, air conditioning, ceiling fan, direct dial telephone with voicemail and dataport, cable television, electronic safe, CD player, washer/dryer, hairdryer and 12-foot sliding glass doors to balcony/patio with a view of the ocean.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Golf field: 0.4 mi
  • Conch farm: 2.1 mi
  • Cooper Jack marina: 5.3 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
While no official meeting rooms are located on property, the resort invites small meeting groups to stay at the resort and utilize the living & dining area of a 1 or 2 Bedroom Suite or the restaurant's air conditioned dining area for their meeting needs.

Dining

Pelican Bay Restaurant & Bar
Pelican Bay Restaurant & Bar serves breakfast, lunch and dinner in a casual environment either in their air conditioned dining room or in their outdoor dining area. Enjoy Caribbean and International cuisine in a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (249)

Ratings and reviews for The Royal West Indies Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
249 out of 249
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Royal West Indies Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Long Island, New York
Apr 5, 2010

A Beachfront Paradise

The 1,000 square foot suite was comfortable, clean, equipped with a modern kitchen, and in a beautiful location overlooking a pool, hot tub and lush gardens. We booked this room from Monday to Saturday, but on Thursday were told that we were getting a "complimentary upgrade" for our last night. This meant that we had to move just for one night to a larger suite. We had to check out of our room and wait hours to get into the new room. Granted, the new room was twice the size, but the inconvenience of having to move was very frustrating. Plus, we lost several hours that we could have devoted to swimming or sitting on the beautiful beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you want to experience a bit of hominess amidst the luxury, and save money at the same time, buy some groceries at the state of the art supermarket called Graceway. You can cook breakfast and lunch in your suite and eat dinner at the restaurants. The Mango Reef restaurant, part of the resort, has excellent food. Everything is light, fresh and healthy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal West Indies Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Largo, Fl.
Apr 3, 2010

Fantastic Trip!!!!!

This was a great getaway for reenergizing!!! The resort landscaping was absolutely gorgeous. The staff was there when you needed something but they did not get in your way.We spent most of our time divided between the beach and the quiet pool. The staff was very helpful if you wanted to go on a cruise etc. We would highly recommend this resort. A big plus was how clean the whole property is. Spotless!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal West Indies Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
James "Sonny" Crockett
Business
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
Apr 1, 2010

the royal west indies

very nice, just F.Y.I no elevators. pool side restaurant is good and cheaper that most other places. beautiful beach to walk on. In hotel excursion person ([...]) was great. Having a rental car was necessary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

skip all the rest, big momma's store has all the souveniers you need.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal West Indies Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baton Rouge, LA
Mar 31, 2010

Great vacation

We had a great time - first trip to Turks & Caicos - will go again. Mattress needs to be upgraded. Water was beyond beautiful! Beach was great, Mango Reef restaurant was so convenient and good food! We had dinner at several nearby restaurants within walking distance and it was all wonderful! They could also upgrade their bikes. Front desk was SO helpful, made reservations for us as well as transportation anywhere we wanted to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

We found a great shop across the street from Salt Mills that had the best shirts, etc. I think it was called Turks & Caicos Adventures(?). If we had found that shop first, we would not gone anywhere else!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal West Indies Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shiny Objects
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 28, 2010

Perfect in (almost!) every way!

Seriously, the most amazing place we've ever stayed- and we have been all over the Caribbean and Central America. The peaceful, beautifully maintained grounds, rooms and beach were beyond expectations. The rooms were HUGE and tastefully appointed. We mostly relaxed by the beach and at the two pool areas. The chaise lounges were very comfortable. We also did a snorkel/island hopping cruise, fishing and scuba diving which was arranged thru the concierge in the front office. All but one of the employees (described below) were gracious, helpful, cheerful and kind. We ate at the delicious Mango Reef restaurant often (the mango mojitos are awesome!) and walked into town for other meals. There is no real need for a car if you can walk a mile or so. Our last evening, the resort hosted a lovely cocktail party at the quiet pool area with appetizers, a great musician pair and rum punches. It was so nice and we chatted with the other visitors. The only real glitch was one particular front desk worker, who could not have been much ruder about helping us with using the bikes. I waited in or near the front office for four hours one morning for the next available bikes and she kept giving them out to other people first. I finally grabbed someone in the driveway who was returning with a pair, who gave them to us to use. This girl at the front desk got mad at ME because the previous people did not check the bikes back into the office themselves. Then she said, "I can't let you use them- we have to give one of them to the man who has been sitting here waiting for ten minutes." (After I had been waiting FOUR hours!) She was incredibly rude to me and unfortunately, this incident stained an otherwise near perfect stay. Every other time we wanted to use the bikes, the other office staff were friendly, fair and helpful. The other disappointment was the tours were quite expensive and did not deliver the quality we had hoped. We were told we would be having conch salad on one tour so skipped lunch. (no conch salad was served!) Also, on the fishing trip, it was basically reef fishing and my husband ended up baiting his own hook, removing fish etc and helping others. It was expensive for something he almost should have been paid to help with! My son was 'sharply reprimanded' for not taking a refresher scuba class from the dive company, but we had called and asked about it the day before and they said none was necessary. Fortunately, they met up with another boat so the woman on the 2nd boat there was very helpful to my son and allayed his fears before the dive. This said, however, Royal West Indies was an incredible place and we would definitely return there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Most of the dining near the resort along the beach was lovely but quite expensive. There were lots of reasonable places to eat a little bit further away which we found by the end of the stay. Our favorite was Danny Buoy's, an Irish Pub on the main street. Great variety and lovely stone building cozily lit at night. Another great place was the little diner in The Saltmills shopping center. Their daily specials were great and under $15. Also, the Graceway food store was a wonderful treat! Great food and selection.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal West Indies Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Mar 26, 2010

Best beachfront deal on T&C

I went to T&C to sit on the beach and that's what the Royal West Indies offers. It is on a crescent of powdery white sand and azure water. Free use of kayaks and hobie cats. Restaurant is very good and the rooms are clean, simple-all that you need. Near a grocery and bakery, shops etc. Feels lively, not crowded. Really couldn't find a better beachfront deal on T&C.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal West Indies Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Peg W
Business
Hayfield, MN.
Mar 9, 2010

Wonderful location and beautiful beach

We really enjoyed our stay at RWI the staff were really helpful and friendly. We had a wonderful view of the gardens and pool, our room was right above them. Spent a lot of time on the beach which was wonderful. There were many good restaurant's our favorite one was Magnolia very good food and service. Was nice to have a couple very good bakeries and grocery store close by we could walk to or ride bikes to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Also was nice to take a taxi to some of the other good restaurant's that were farther away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal West Indies Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Quincy, MA
Mar 6, 2010

Nice place to stay with good service

We had a great experience at the Royal West Indies Resort. The property was very well maintained with good service and a great onsite restaurant. The beach was amazing and not overcrowded. The washer and dryer in the room was very convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Eating out on the island is very expensive with 11% tax. Also, not that 10% gratuity is included in the restaurant bills. We found the 15-minute walk to Graceway Gourmet to be a good way to save money by stocking our fridge and eating breakfast on the balcony of our room each morning. Graceway Gourmet has a good selection of prepared foods and a great java bar.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal West Indies Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
emmaus, pa
Feb 20, 2010

royal west indies

a short (20 minute) walk to the first traffic circle and a supermarket

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal West Indies Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Grand Rapids Michigan
Feb 15, 2010

Great place to stay

We rented a vehicle and traveled all over the island. Had fun exploring the beaches, restaurants, local joints and checked out other hotels. We were very happy with our own resort. Island is easy to navigate - unhurried - not big party place but very nice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Locals highly respect the hotel restaurant-says something!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top