$260 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 10, 2015 Check-out: Sep 13, 2015

Alexandra Resort

4 stars
View map of Princess Drive, Providenciales,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Alexandra Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
55 out of 55
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Alexandra Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Adnan Z.
Family
Suffern
Jan 14, 2015

Family Get-a-way

Amazing stay, location, location, location...not the most luxurious but no shortcomings...amazing staff, amazing location, and best of all, beaches weren't crowded.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Alexandra Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Arn k
Couples
N/A
Jan 7, 2015

Great atmosphere

My wife and I had a great time at Alexandra last winter. The 1 bedroom with kitchen was a nice layout and very clean. Kitchen was fully equipped but we never used it. Spent most of our time on the beach and used the complementary kayaks and paddleboards. Snorkled once but didn't see any fish, definitely have to go on an excursion for that. Pretty laid back resort perfect for relaxing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Dined at Mr. Grouper's one of the nights and ordered a couple fish plates. Food took a while to come out but was good.

Review of Alexandra Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Supermom1233
Family
Cleveland, Ohio
Dec 2, 2014

AWESOME!

On the beach, AWESOME. Right on the beach, and offes great amenities at a great price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Alexandra Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DaDaDa20
Couples
Sherman Oaks, CA
Oct 24, 2014

Loved the Alexandra!

My husband and I did lots of research before booking our 2nd wedding anniversary trip to Turks & Caicos. We were very pleased with the Alexandra hotel and had a wonderful vacation. The hotel is conveniently located in the middle of Grace Bay so you can walk up or down the beach to visit restaurants at other hotels. We only did this one night as we found restaurant food to upset our stomachs. It was delicious, just a little rough on our tummies for some reason. We took advantage of the shuttle to the grocery store the 2nd day after arriving and got enough to last us the rest of our 4 days. Prices were higher than in the states, but $80 for two people for meals for nearly 4 days didn't seem too unreasonable when one dinner alone cost that much. We bought booze at the duty free store in Miami, so we didn't have to worry about the high alcohol prices on the island. The shuttle driver is wonderful and also took us to the airport on our last day. The best part about this resort is the beach! The sand is the softest we'd ever felt and the water was so crystal clear. The pool was pretty nice as well. We spent a couple of days hanging out by the pool since it was the only place you could really escape the sun. It was HOT! Bring lots of sunscreen - 30 SPF or higher - trust me. We attended the manager's reception on Monday evening, which was nice. Free drinks and appetizers and a chance to mingle with other hotel guests. We did receive a couple's massage at the on-site spa. My massage was really wonderful and my husband enjoyed his as well. The spa isn't what you would call impressive - it's basically a converted hotel room -- but it didn't detract from the experience overall. And we get a lot of massages at home in LA. We used the resorts bikes on two separate occasions to explore and shop. The bikes are definitely rickety, but they get you to and from where you need to go. It's nice that the resort has them for free and they were always available when we needed them. Our room itself was very nice, albeit slightly outdated. The only thing that really needed upgrading was the furniture. We had a studio room with a mini kitchen, which was really nice. The microwave, coffee maker, toaster, fridge and freezer were all used heavily during our stay! Housekeeping visits your room often, which normally would bother my husband, but we didn't have a choice here and we ended up going through a lot of towels every day, so it worked out. We did take the 1/2 day snorkeling excursion through Caicos Dream Tours. This was definitely the highlight of our trip! Highly recommend. It is very convenient that their pick-up is on the beach next to the Alexandra. We had our anniversary dinner on the sand at the Mango Reef. The dinner and service were both great - we weren't in a rush -- and it was so nice to sink our toes into the sand while we ate. We had escargot, filet and lobster and it was all delicious! All in all we would highly recommend this resort to anyone visiting Turks & Caicos! We hope to return ourselves someday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Do a Caicos Dream Tours excursion!

Review of Alexandra Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Veets34
Family
Saint Louis, Missouri
Jul 31, 2014

Relaxing Family Vacation

The resort was on an amazing beach, the best I have ever seen. Many available covered lounges on the beach and the resort was not very crowded. The room was updated and large, with a very nice Kitchen. Staff was less than accommodating and pool was a bit dirty. The Mango Reef Restaurant had a good dinner menu. There was no entertainment (besides the fish fry on Thursday) and the food and transportation was very expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mr. Grouper and Mango Reef were my favorite restaurants.

Review of Alexandra Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
David the Traveller
Couples
Cincinnati
Jun 10, 2014

Beautiful island, great value hotel!

My wife and I very much enjoyed our week long vacation in Provo. Resort: When we first arrived we were given a ground floor garden view room (which is what we paid for). After a call to the front desk (and learning that a garden view room meant it would be on the ground or second floor) we asked if a second floor room would be available. We were told no second floor rooms were available for the week. Long story short, the front desk called back soon after and said another room is available. Turns out, they put us on the 4th floor with an ocean view! Surprised by this, I asked if the room rate would be increased. They said it was complimentary!! I have to assume this was because we were there in their "off season" (first week of June), but who cares the reason. We were pleasantly surprised and extremely grateful for the significant upgrade! The rooms were nice - high ceilings, crown molding, granite counters, shower (no tub), kitchenette with a sink, mini-frig, microwave, coffee maker, toaster, blender, and all utensils needed. Maid service was great, never disruptive, and provided extra towels if requested. We used the complimentary bikes often. We rode them to the Graceway grocery store and Saltmill shopping area a few times (4, I think). We only had to wait for about an hour for two bikes to return on one occasion. The bikes aren't in the greatest shape but they did the trick. Baskets on the bikes (for groceries) would be nice should the resort decide to upgrade. Food: The Mango Reef restaurant was delicious. We tried others on the island as well and enjoyed them all but we ate at the Mango on three separate occasions and enjoyed our meals each time. The swim-up pool bar was a disappointment (in disrepair, rarely staffed, and slow service when waitstaff were nearby) but we didn't spend much time at the pool so it wasn't a big deal. The Islands: Beautiful beach outside of the resort and in Grace Bay. Soft white sand, truly amazing turquoise water, and plenty of wildlife! We did the 1/2 day snorkel and conch tour through the resort and loved it! We also did the day tour to Middle and North Caicos. Another great tour with a knowledgeable tour guide and a great way to see two of the relatively "virgin" islands in the chain. Overall: A wonderfully relaxing vacation, but still with things to do and see, at a very nice resort on a beautiful island!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Other restaurants we tried and enjoyed: Somewhere Cafe (a longer beach walk), Bay Bistro (a short beach walk), Hemingways (next to Bay Bistro), and Big Al's (in the Saltmills shopping area).

Review of Alexandra Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JS TandC
Family
NJ
May 31, 2014

Phenomenal Resort

Huge rooms and great service! Location was superb and amenities were plentiful. Loved our stay and will definitely go back here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Alexandra Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Caribbean First Timer
Couples
San Jose, California
Apr 24, 2014

Great Location, Amazing Value, Best Stretch of Beach

Booked a last minute trip to Turks and Caicos and found Alexandra Resort. I was a bit skeptical at the (much lower) price compared to other neighboring resorts (what was wrong with this place? Is it "really" on the beach?), but could not have been more pleased. Stayed in a one bedroom with slight ocean view and was impressed with the size and modern amenities. It was awesome to have a washer/dryer and full kitchen so that we could enjoy a homemade breakfast on the patio each day plus wash our swimsuits that got extensive use throughout the week. The resort is literally on the beach and after walking along the beach past many resorts, I think that Alexandra Resort has one of the best beach locations - spacious with lots of chairs and powder soft sand, and far less kids (and subsequent screaming/throwing things/beach crowding) - it was totally serene without being stuffy. There were also lots of complimentary water sport items - for example, we borrowed free snorkel gear and walked down to Bight Reef (maybe 10-15 minutes) and swam right in free of charge. It was also great that one of the major Snorkel Trip companies was literally situated on Alexandra's beach, which made it super easy to hop on a fun half-day snorkel and conch dive tour. The on-site restaurant was surprisingly good and provided great volume - we tried food at a few other places (resort and off-site), and while Providenciales isn't a foodie's heaven, the resort reastaurant was definitely one of the more tasty places. The only drawback to this resort is that it would be nice to have a small shop on site - though luckily the resort has complimentary bicycles and the grocery store and small tourist area is only a 5-10 minute easy ride away. Overall, I definitely recommend this resort and would come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Don't miss the opportunity to snorkel along the outer reefs - Turks and Caicos has the world's third best reefs behind Australia and Belize. Caicos Dream Tours picks up directly on Alexandra Resort's beach!

Review of Alexandra Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BruceGo
Family
NY
Mar 16, 2014

Very comfortable and good value

After just getting back from Turks and staying previously at both Seven Stars and Grace BayEstates I can say the Alexandra is a very nice place but not the caliber of the others. The location is good and the staff very nice and friendly. The rooms are Large and very clean...the outside terrace is huge with nice furniture. Didn't like the hard pillows And after asking housekeeping that was all they could offer. Beds were a bit small..no kings offered. Beach is Wonderful..walk to town but not very very close. Good Value overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Mr Grouper for dinner..no cab ride needed Casual and very good food

Review of Alexandra Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dakota 1111
Couples
Connecticut
Jan 28, 2014

Amazing weekend

We absolutely loved our stay at the Alexandra. The staff, location and price are very good. It was a great place to stay for a quick weekend getaway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top