$91 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 17, 2015 Check-out: May 18, 2015

Ottoman Hotel Imperial

4 stars
View map of Caferiye Sokak. No : 6/1, ISTANBUL, Istanbul, 34400

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
47 reviews
Couldn't Ask For More

We had an exceptional stay at the Ottoman Hotel Imperial. The service was exceptional with the... See full review

  • PlannerMan
  • Apr 6, 2015
Great Location, friendly people.

Hotel was great. I booked a room with two beds for me and my friend (both males) they asked if we... See full review

  • Bryce M.
  • Feb 20, 2015
19th-century school building gets top grades as a small hotel

The Ottoman Hotel Imperial, originally built as an Ottoman school and hospital in the mid-19th century, today is an elegant and welcoming vision for travelers. The building was converted to a hotel in 2005. From the hotel's elevated location above the Old City guests can take in views of some of the world's most beautiful sights, including the Marmara Sea. The Ottoman Hotel Imperial sits amidst many of the Old City's most popular attractions, including the Hagia Sophia Museum, Topkapi Palace, and the Blue Mosque.

Highlights

  • Historic building was an Ottoman school and hospital
  • Elevated location in the Old City affords stunning views
  • Steps from incredible historic sites, including Hagia Sophia and the Blue Mosque
  • Fine restaurant serves traditional Turkish cuisine

Rooms

Rooms feature traditional Ottoman décor and all the comforts a modern traveler requires. High-speed and wireless Internet access is available (fees may apply). The desks are small and better suited to a casual letter or a computer space than a place for business travelers to spread out. Guests receive a complimentary welcome drink.

Features

The Ottoman Hotel Imperial combines contemporary and traditional décor in an elegant interior with a focus on guest comfort.

 

The hotel has two restaurants. The menu at the fine Matbah Restaurant focuses on traditional Turkish cuisine. Sadrazam Restaurant's buffet features dishes from Turkey and other global influences. The hotel's Saltanat Bar offers wine, beer, and seasonal specialty cocktails.

 

Guests can relax in the hotel's garden or on the terrace. 

Transportation

  • Sultanahmet tram stop (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Cankurtaran Railway Station (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Yenikapi Ferry Terminal (2 mi/3.2 km) 
  • Istanbul International Ataturk Airport (12 mi/19.4 km) 
  • Sabiha Gokcen Airport (28 mi/45 km) 

Nearby attractions

  • Istanbul Archaeology Museum (109 yds/0.1 km) 
  • Hagia Sophia (0.1 mi/0.2 km) 
  • Blue Mosque (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Topkapi Palace (1.2 mi/1.9 km)   
  • Spice Bazaar (1.3 mi/2.1 km) 
  • Istanbul Museum of Modern Art (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Galata Tower (2.5 mi/4 km) 
  • Balat Ahrida Synagogue (2.8 mi/4.5 km)  

Business

  • High-speed Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Business services 

Top hotels

Ottoman Hotel Imperial Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
Standard Room offers King Size bed with balcony / terrace, bathrobe, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron / ironing board, jacuzzi / whirlpool / spa bath, kettle, laundry service, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, room service, safe in room, tea and coffee making facilities, telephone, color Satellite TV, Individually Controlled Air Conditioning, In Room Safe, Direct Dial Phone, Private Bathroom, PC data port, Internet Access with wireless option, Double Glazed Windows, Petite Work Desk and Complimentary Welcome Drink. Standard Rooms are situated on the front building facing the main road of Sultanahmet Square.
PREMIUM - ROOM
Premium Room offers King Size bed with balcony / terrace, bathrobe, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron / ironing board, jacuzzi / whirlpool / spa bath, kettle, laundry service, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, room service, safe in room, tea and coffee making facilities, telephone, Color Satellite TV, Individually Controlled Air Conditioning, In Room Safe, Direct Dial Phone, Private Bathroom, PC data port, Internet Access with wireless option, Double Glazed Windows, Petite Work Desk, Complimentary Welcome Drink.

Premium rooms are situated on the main building facing the Hagia Sophia Museum or Sultan Ahmet area, all complimented by design schemes that bring out the elegance of the traditional Ottoman style, while maintaining an atmosphere of comfort and relaxation.
PREMIUM - JR_SUITE
Premium Junior Suite offers King Size with balcony / terrace, bathrobe, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron / ironing board, jacuzzi / whirlpool / spa bath, kettle, laundry service, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, room service, safe in room, tea and coffee making facilities, telephone, color Satellite TV, Individually Controlled Air Conditioning, Direct Dial Phone, Private Bathroom, PC data port, Internet Access with wireless option, Double Glazed Windows, Petite Work Desk, Complimentary Welcome Drink and Bathrobe.

Premium Junior Suites are a private retreat that offers you comfort and exclusivity. They are situated on main building facing the old town and the Sultanahmet Square.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Room
Satellite TV

Nearby points of interest

  • Hagia Sophia: 0.1 mi
  • Walls of Constantinople: 0.1 mi
  • Archaeology museum: 0.2 mi
  • Basilica Cistern: 0.2 mi
  • Istanbul Archaeology Museum (Arkeoloji Muzesi): 0.2 mi
  • Blue Mosque: 0.2 mi
  • Turkish and Islamic Arts Museum (Turk ve Islam Eserleri Muzesi): 0.3 mi
  • Fatih Mosque and Complex (Fatih Camii ve Kulliyesi): 0.3 mi
  • Topkapi Palace: 0.4 mi
  • Hodjapasha Cultural Center: 0.4 mi
  • Galata Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Turkish and Islamic Arts Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Kucuk Ayasofya Camii (Church of the Saints Sergius and Bacchus): 0.5 mi
  • Kapali Carsi: 0.6 mi
  • Tünel: 0.9 mi
  • Hagia Sophia: 0.1 mi
  • Walls of Constantinople: 0.1 mi
  • Archaeology museum: 0.2 mi
  • Basilica Cistern: 0.2 mi
  • Istanbul Archaeology Museum (Arkeoloji Muzesi): 0.2 mi
  • Blue Mosque: 0.2 mi
  • Turkish and Islamic Arts Museum (Turk ve Islam Eserleri Muzesi): 0.3 mi
  • Fatih Mosque and Complex (Fatih Camii ve Kulliyesi): 0.3 mi
  • Topkapi Palace: 0.4 mi
  • Hodjapasha Cultural Center: 0.4 mi
  • Galata Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Turkish and Islamic Arts Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Kucuk Ayasofya Camii (Church of the Saints Sergius and Bacchus): 0.5 mi
  • Kapali Carsi: 0.6 mi
  • Tünel: 0.9 mi
  • Istanbul University: 1 mi
  • Miniaturk: 1 mi
  • Galata Tower: 1.2 mi
  • Istanbul Modern Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Bosphorus Strait: 1.3 mi
  • Maiden`s Tower: 1.3 mi
  • Istanbul Modern: 1.5 mi
  • Golden Horn: 1.8 mi
  • Beyoglu: 2.2 mi
  • Atatürk Cultural Center: 2.2 mi
  • Haydarpaşa Terminal: 2.2 mi
  • Dolmabahce Palace: 2.3 mi
  • Spice Market: 2.4 mi
  • Suleymaniye Mosque: 2.5 mi
  • Kariye Museum (The Chora Church): 2.6 mi
  • Rahmi M. Koc Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Yildiz Park: 3.3 mi
  • Kadikoy: 3.4 mi
  • Eyup Sultan Mosque (Eyup Sultan Camii): 3.5 mi
  • Ortakoy: 3.6 mi
  • The Bosphorus Bridge: 4.5 mi
  • Rumeli Hisarı: 6.5 mi
  • Rumeli Fortress: 6.8 mi
  • Sakip Sabanci Museum: 7.4 mi
  • Emirgan Park: 7.9 mi
  • Istanbul Aquarium: 9.9 mi
  • The Princes' Islands: 11.5 mi

Dining

Matbah Restaurant
The Ottoman grandeur and warmth prevail at "Matbah" welcomes exclusive guests and gourmets who delight in comforts of a vibrant ambiance within the stylish "Ottoman Palace" cuisine. Matbah's fine "Ottoman Palace" cuisine is presented with exquisite detail and precision with an outstanding backdrop. Preserving the best traditions of the past, Matbah maintains its unique heritage whilst creating an elegant and relaxing atmosphere within the impressive banquettes.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Ottoman Hotel Imperial

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
47 out of 47
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.3

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ottoman Hotel Imperial

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
james n.
Business
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

To hot to sleep!

This was a last minute booking and we didn't expect a five star hotel. We were delighted with the location however the actual hotel left a lot to be desired. We arrived after midnight and couldn't get a cup of tea as the electric jug in our room was broken. We ask at the desk if they could provide a replacement but we're told there wasn't a spare anywhere. The room was so hot ( outback Australia in summer hot) that it was impossible to sleep and yes we did switch the heating off but it seemed to make little difference to the temperature. With the windows opened it was a very noisy room as it overlooked the busy main road and we were treated to the smells from the kebab shop directly beneath us. The cleaning staff were delightful,however the front of house staff generally didn't want to be bothered with our discomfort in an over heated room. We eventually spoke to a young women at the desk who offered to move us although again the room and bathroom was hot. We concluded that the hotel was unable to turn the heating down in the building. Despite having to sleep in a furnace we would go back to Istanbul but not to the Ottoman Imperial.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ottoman Hotel Imperial

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
singleguy
Business
Charlotte, NC, USA
Jan 14, 2012

location is key

great location for sightseing, but with that comes an amount of street noise that may not be OK if your close to the street. It seemed to get quieter around 11pm, BUT this was off season and I think I may have had to move my room if the city was busier. if you plan on being a night owl maybe not an issue - though its a little way from the night spots. Staff was helpful and service was good, but feel like i didnt always get good local info from them in terms of maximizing my value on tours/activities. I will cautiously recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ottoman Hotel Imperial

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Judith and company
Business
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Apr 5, 2014

Ideal for Exploration

The hotel staff was friendly and accommodating and were helpful in providing information on city transit. Situated in a central spot close to the tram and bus lines and within easy walking distance of so many museum and architectural sites made this a very good choice of hotel. The rooms are small but comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ottoman Hotel Imperial

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Countryman
Business
Portsmouth England
Apr 8, 2014

Wonderful Break

This hotel is superbly located, comfortable, friendly and the rooms are of a high standard. Breakfast excellent and staff helpful and efficient. Highly recommended for exploring wonderful Istanbul.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ottoman Hotel Imperial

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Luis R
Business
Greenwich, CT
Nov 14, 2011

beware of the room that you get

We loved the breakfast... the service... the cleanliness of the room. However... we were put on a room that faces a very busy street and it was difficult to sleep a couple of nights due to the noise. Unfortunately... there is no way of telling this at the time of the booking. I just assumed that booking on a 4 star hotel will not have that problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Ask the hotel for suggestions for food. I found them useful. However... the tours that they suggested were not very good: I think it is a problem of Istanbul in general.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ottoman Hotel Imperial

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fenton
Business
London, United Kingdom
Nov 20, 2012

Excellent location and beautiful rooms!

From the moment we got there we experienced great service-complimentary bottle of water everyday, and friendly and helpful staff. The room was stocked up with magazines to help us plan what we would do during our stay. The shower room was amazing, and the bathroom had a TV which was unusual. I would highly recommend this hotel as it was in an excelent location and within walking distance of a lot of the famous sites. It was comfortalbe and a good stop-off point between visits to the nearby sites. However, as it is so close to the mosques, you do get woken up by the call to prayer. But that is likely to happen anywhere you stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure you go to a dance show as this was one of the best nights whilst there-shop around for tickets as some agencies charge commission.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ottoman Hotel Imperial

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JayWPee
Business
New York, NY
Jan 15, 2013

Across the street from Aya Sofya!

Location could not be better. A short walk to Topkapi Palace, across the street from Aya Sofya, a short walk to the Blue Mosque. A short walk to the tram. A moderate walk to the Grand Bazaar. Malbah is an excellent restaurant. Be sure to order the goose kabab!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure to visit the Cistern . . .

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ottoman Hotel Imperial

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Peterxyz
Business
Richmond, VA, USA
Jun 23, 2013

Very Good Location

A very good location but the taxi found it hard to find. The first two rooms we were offered were not up to standard, one promised to be very noisy and the other was very dark.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ottoman Hotel Imperial

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
daveit
Business
Cayman Islands
Aug 22, 2013

Great once we got there!

For some reason the driver of our cab from the cruise terminal had great difficulty finding the hotel. However, once we arrived, we were upgraded to the best room in the house. Although the room wasn't yet ready (we were early) we were invited to take breakfast (at no cost) while we waited. The room itself was most comfortable. We were leaving early the next day for the airport and although breakfast didn't officially start until 6.30 am, we were able to get a very good continental breakfast at 6 am. The staff could not have been more pleasant and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The open-air cafe just down the road serves excellent Turkish food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ottoman Hotel Imperial

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vinj20
Business
uk
Oct 22, 2013

Ideal Istanbul location.

You could not get a better location in Instanbul for sight seeing. However there is a price to pay, make sure you get a room at the front of the hotel overlooking the back of the Sophia mosque as the street side rooms are noisy (trams) and rooms 604/6/8/10 have views of walls 6 foot from the winnow. Also some rooms are tiny.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Get to any of the major sights early to ensure queues are not too long.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top