$71 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2015 Check-out: Aug 26, 2015

Legend Hotel Istanbul

3 stars
View map of Peykhane Caddesi No:16 Sultanahmet, Istanbul, 34400

Hotel Overview

Legend-Hotel-Istanbul-Guest-Room
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
27 reviews
Perfect stay

It was very convenient to see the historic sites.We walked to all the major sites easily. See full review

  • guide13
  • May 29, 2014
Good hotel

I stayed 2 nights at the Legend. Very good value and location. See full review

  • The great 3
  • May 28, 2015
The Hotel Legend Istanbul is a true part of Istanbul’s most historic section. The hotel is housed in a former Ottoman house that was built during the 19th century. Decor throughout the hotel is true to the building’s history. Many of the furnishings and patterns are similar to the ones that decorated old Ottoman houses. The house is in easy walking distance to many of Istanbul’s most famous landmarks. The Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace, and the Grand Bazaar are just minutes away. On-site amenities include a rooftop bar and restaurant.
Rooms
The Hotel Legend is home to 22 rooms and suites featuring decor that is reminiscent of the building’s Ottoman past. Rooms are accented with rich colors and beautiful wood details. Some rooms have private balconies overlooking the Bosphorus. All rooms have air conditioning, cable and television. Complimentary wireless Internet available in all rooms.
Property features
Relax over drinks or Turkish cuisine at the hotel’s rooftop bar and restaurant with its stunning views of the Bosphorus. The Garden Cafe’s menu also focuses on Turkish cuisine. The lobby bar serves local and imported drinks. The hotel’s breakfast room serves a complimentary Turkish breakfast from 7 a.m. to 10 a.m. daily.

The lobby -- which also features traditional decor -- is an airy and comfortable place. Guests are welcome to relax in the lobby during downtime from city excursions.

The hotel sits close to Gulhane Park. The park is a favorite local spot for joggers or exercise walkers. Gulhane is also a beautiful place for a picnic lunch.
Highlights
  • Originally an Ottoman house built in the 19th century
  • Hotel has just 22 rooms
  • Walking distance to historic sites of Old Town
  • Close to public transportation
Nearby attractions
  • Basilica Cistern (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Grand Bazaar (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Blue Mosque (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Hagia Sophia (0.3 mi/0.6 km)
  • Turkish and Islamic Art Museum (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
Business
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access
Transportation
  • Cankurtaran Railway Station (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Sultanahmet Tram Station (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Sirkeci Railway Station (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Eminonu Ferry Dock (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Istanbul International Ataturk Airport (12.5 mi/20.1 km)
  • Sabiha Gokcen Airport (28.2 mi/45.4 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Legend Hotel Istanbul also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Legend Hotel Istanbul Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
Single room offers one single bed along with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Kettle, Laundry service, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Refrigerator, Room service and Telephone.
STANDARD - ROOM
Double/Twin room offers one double bed along with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Kettle, Laundry service, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Refrigerator, Room service and Telephone.
STANDARD - ROOM
Triple room offers one single bed and one double bed along with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Kettle, Laundry service, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Refrigerator, Room service and Telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Turkish and Islamic Arts Museum (Turk ve Islam Eserleri Muzesi): 0.1 mi
  • Blue Mosque: 0.2 mi
  • Kucuk Ayasofya Camii (Church of the Saints Sergius and Bacchus): 0.2 mi
  • Turkish and Islamic Arts Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Kapali Carsi: 0.4 mi
  • Hagia Sophia: 0.4 mi
  • Basilica Cistern: 0.4 mi
  • Walls of Constantinople: 0.5 mi
  • Galata Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Archaeology museum: 0.6 mi
  • Hodjapasha Cultural Center: 0.6 mi
  • Istanbul Archaeology Museum (Arkeoloji Muzesi): 0.6 mi
  • Fatih Mosque and Complex (Fatih Camii ve Kulliyesi): 0.6 mi
  • Istanbul University: 0.7 mi
  • Topkapi Palace: 0.7 mi
  • Turkish and Islamic Arts Museum (Turk ve Islam Eserleri Muzesi): 0.1 mi
  • Blue Mosque: 0.2 mi
  • Kucuk Ayasofya Camii (Church of the Saints Sergius and Bacchus): 0.2 mi
  • Turkish and Islamic Arts Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Kapali Carsi: 0.4 mi
  • Hagia Sophia: 0.4 mi
  • Basilica Cistern: 0.4 mi
  • Walls of Constantinople: 0.5 mi
  • Galata Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Archaeology museum: 0.6 mi
  • Hodjapasha Cultural Center: 0.6 mi
  • Istanbul Archaeology Museum (Arkeoloji Muzesi): 0.6 mi
  • Fatih Mosque and Complex (Fatih Camii ve Kulliyesi): 0.6 mi
  • Istanbul University: 0.7 mi
  • Topkapi Palace: 0.7 mi
  • Tünel: 0.9 mi
  • Miniaturk: 1 mi
  • Bosphorus Strait: 1 mi
  • Galata Tower: 1.3 mi
  • Istanbul Modern Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Istanbul Modern: 1.6 mi
  • Maiden`s Tower: 1.7 mi
  • Golden Horn: 1.7 mi
  • Beyoglu: 2.3 mi
  • Suleymaniye Mosque: 2.3 mi
  • Kariye Museum (The Chora Church): 2.4 mi
  • Atatürk Cultural Center: 2.5 mi
  • Haydarpaşa Terminal: 2.5 mi
  • Dolmabahce Palace: 2.6 mi
  • Spice Market: 2.7 mi
  • Rahmi M. Koc Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Eyup Sultan Mosque (Eyup Sultan Camii): 3.4 mi
  • Yildiz Park: 3.7 mi
  • Kadikoy: 3.7 mi
  • Ortakoy: 3.9 mi
  • The Bosphorus Bridge: 4.9 mi
  • Rumeli Hisarı: 6.8 mi
  • Rumeli Fortress: 7.2 mi
  • Sakip Sabanci Museum: 7.7 mi
  • Emirgan Park: 8.2 mi
  • Istanbul Aquarium: 9.5 mi
  • The Princes' Islands: 11.6 mi

Dining

Restaurant
In Special Class Istanbul Legend Hotel, Hotel offers to guest’s traditional Turkish hospitality with a warm atmosphere of the 19th century. The Roof Bar&Restaurant offers super Bosphorus view as well as outstanding specialities of Turkish cuisine.
Discover your legendary drink at your Legend Bar. At Legend Hotel Garden, get the delicious taste of Turkish dishes and traditional Turkish hospitality with the service of experienced and friendly personel.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
12:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Legend Hotel Istanbul

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
27 out of 27
Amenities:
2.8
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.4

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Legend Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Victoria in SD
Business
San Diego, CA
Sep 24, 2012

Very misleading

This hotel must have hired the most talented photographer in the world for their website. While the location is decent, this hotel is very over-priced and not at all worth the money. The rooms are incredibly small and there's barely enough room to open your suitcase on the floor and continue to walk around. The lobby is dingy and the hotel staff not very helpful. I would recommend staying elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Legend Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Global Traveller 2012
Business
Germany
Dec 29, 2012

Awful hotel!

Save yourself the aggravation and stay someplace else! I arranged a pick up at the airport, no one showed. When I asked about it when I did get there, the clerk said, "Well, do you have the email proving you talked to someone?" Nice beginning; but that was the way it was the entire time. If something was not done, it was always an attempt to deflect the blame on another person, not “I am sorry, what can I do to make it right?” The rooms are VERYsmall with no place to put your luggage other than the floor. I had a problem with that because of the roaches I saw in the bathroom and I did not want to bring them back as souvenirs! I asked for a wakeup call the next morning, it never came; again I asked at the desk and was told, “Who did you ask?” Unreliable desk clerks! The power was also out for several hours each day. Of course that was due to a fire in the city as they told me at the front desk, but it was not, power outages are common in Istanbul so make sure your hotel has a generator, this one does not. As far as breakfast is concerned, it really is nothing more than coffee (if they have power) bread, and some cheese. If staying in a tent had been an option, I would have considered it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

BY the tram line and the Blue Mosque there are numerous good restaurants down many of the roads. Hop On busses are located in front of the plaza between the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sofia. If you change money in the Grand Bazaar, you will find much better deals.

Review of Legend Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
globtrotter
Business
Colorado
Sep 27, 2011

Not so hot

Upon arrival at 11:00 pm, we were told that we had a water problem and we had walk severl blocks to another hotel -- where the room for two was not bigger than 8x12 feet. The next day, we moved to the original hotel and were given a slightly larger room. The people at the desk were extremely friendly, but for the price we paid, they are several notches belelow Motel 6. Not worth the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Legend Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Istanbul travel
Business
Madrid, Spain
Feb 28, 2014

Istanbul

Even the hotel is well located, it is around about five minutes on foot from Blue Mosque and just few miles from Ataturk Airport, it had turned out a can or worms. To beginning with it was extremely noise because the hotel was under repair and workers have not stopped to hammer until midnight came. In addition the hotel has strong fresh paint and varnish smell, some used black bags made of plastic were into the closed, the rug looks it has not be cleaned since along and a cockroach run happily on the floor. THE HOTEL HAS NOT RESTAURANT, SO YOU SHALL FORGET TO GET A VIEW OF ISTANBUL LIKE THE PICTURES THAT ARE SHOWN ( I think photographs could be taken from a restaurant closed there, but it doesn't belong to hotel)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Legend Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Donzbox
Business
USA
May 1, 2014

Ummm...well...!

I stayed here 3 nights, which were prepaid. If I had to do it all over again I would stay else ware. Staff was friendly and helpful, the room was just okay. Perhaps it was just my room but it would be nice to at least have room for a chair to sit down other than having to sit on the bed all the time. To add, I asked for a non-smoking room, and they said that the hotel is a non-smoking hotel except for a few room. After the first night it was clear that it was the other way around. This is a smoking hotel with some rooms that are non-smoking. I say this because around ten in the evening when most of the guests were in their rooms the entire hotel smelled of cigarettes, including the staff area in the reception. When I pay $120 US per night I personally expect a little more than friendly staff and location. if you can get it for cheaper price it's an "ok" stay. Cheers

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Almost, grand bazaar, Egyptian spice market, shopping, restaurants and the port, all the short walk from the hotel.

Review of Legend Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
skiman
Business
ireland
Nov 19, 2012

A Room With No View

The room was very small with no ventilation.On my last night I got bitten with some type of bugs. Not pleasant.Breakfast was very simple. However I enjoyed the city very much and will go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Check all prices before you purchase

Review of Legend Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Madison, WI
Apr 25, 2011

Legend Hotel April 2011

If your number one priority in an Istanbul hotel is its location and don't plan to actually spend much time at the hotel itself this might be a good choice. It is only three blocks from the Grand Bazaar and a short walk to the Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace and Aya Sofya. As for the hotel itself there were some issues. For starters the power went off twice while I was there, once for five minutes and once for several hours. The room had a "mini bar" which was actually a small, broken refrigerator with a few cans of warm soda and bottled water that was not replenished. The only bathroom amenity was a small, unwrapped bar of soap--nothing else. There was a continental breakfast available with a very meager offering. There was an old fashioned radiator with no discernible way of turning it off so the room was very hot. The staff was generally friendly and spoke English well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Only 3 blocks to Grand Bazaar.

Review of Legend Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ibn Batotah
Business
San Francisco,Ca
Jul 9, 2010

Great location but outdated

It was not easy to find it since google does not work very well with Turkish streets but when we found it it was great and easy access to public transportations and to the touristic area,staff was nice and the room were clean every day but the bed and the tv were so outdated and not comfortable at all, for future i will make booking only for couple days first and if i like will book the rest of the trip

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

It was so quick to get to the grand bazar,and lots of shops there,lots of resturants

Review of Legend Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
armagh hip
Business
newry co. down
Jun 21, 2012

close to all old city sites

This hotel is small, as are the rooms; don't be mislead by the photos on the web site. However rooms spotless, staff friendly and helpful. The location is perfect for all the old city sights, everything within walking distance. We would return with our expectations slightly lowered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Legend Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mick butch
Business
england
Aug 12, 2012

idealy placed

this hotel is smack bang in the middle of the old part of Istanbul ideal for the city and right by the blue mosque. easy access to the tram system that takes you anywhere in Istanbul. the hotel rooms are cleaned every day the breakfast is great and you eat it with a view to die for from the roof top. everyone that is involved in the day to day running i found to be polite and happy to help when needed. the only downfalls was the TV pictures were bad and even tho it says the rooms come with iron it means there is one that all rooms share so take your own

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

go to the antakya restaurant great food great people great price. if you out for the day take t1 tram then boat taxi to other parts of the island its very cheap. car taxi is expensive and they drive like mad people on drugs

Back to menu Return to top