$91 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 13, 2014 Check-out: Oct 16, 2014

Gardenhouse Hotel Istanbul

4 stars
Kucuk Ayosofya Mahallesi Sehit Mehmet Pasa Sokak 11-13, Sultanahmet Istanbul, Istanbul, TR-34400
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
30 reviews
Cozy and Friendly

Very excellent experience with super helpful staff, unique rooms (all different from each other)... See full review

  • Collmari83
  • Aug 18, 2014
Excellent place to stay

Close to all sites, staffs are very friendly. Excellent breakfast. Rooms very clean and spacious.... See full review

  • Khay7
  • Feb 24, 2014
Character Ottoman townhouse hotel with unique charm

The recently remodeled Garden House Hotel is a traditional Ottoman mansion house turned into a unique hotel, providing 24 individual guest accommodations. The hotel is in a tranquil setting yet is only moments from many major tourist attractions. While the hotel has a rich history, amenities and services are all modern and up to date. Wireless Internet and a business corner with access to a free computer are available. The Garden House Hotel serves delicious Turkish fare in an open-air restaurant and light refreshments and coffee in the hotel bar.

3 Reasons to Stay:
  • Excellent buffet breakfast served in the leafy surroundings of the hotel's interior garden

  • Elegant 19th century Ottoman mansion house restored to its former glory with traditional interiors and furnishings

  • Historic sites such as the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace and Grand Bazaar all a short walk away

Garden House Hotel Rooms

No two rooms are the same at the Garden House Hotel in Istanbul. Each guestroom or suite is individually styled, creating a real home-from-home atmosphere. Richly polished wooden floors strewn with jewel colored carpets and gilded furnishings strongly reflect the opulent Ottoman style. Guests feel comfortable and welcome with complimentary tea/coffee in the room, mini bar, pillow menu, bathrobes, herbal bath toiletries and a hairdryer. Also featured in all rooms are a TV, safe to accommodate a laptop, Internet access and two phone lines. Deluxe rooms come with balconies and some have a Turkish bath. On the fifth floor is a luxury suite decorated in a style that is more contemporary. This light and airy suite offers a sea view with balcony, a separate seating area and bathroom with Jacuzzi. There is no elevator in the Garden House Hotel.

Things to Do:
  • Theodosius Obelisk (0.2mi/0.3km)

  • Blue Mosque (0.3mi/0.4km)

  • Mosaic Museum (0.3mi/0.4km)

  • Hagia Sophia (0.5mi/0.8km)

  • Basilica Cistern (0.8mi/1.2km)

  • Grand Bazaar (0.9mi/1.4km)

  • Topkapi Palace (2.1mi/3.3km)

  • Istanbul Museum of Modern Art (3.5mi/5.6km)

  • Taksim Square (4.4mi/7km)

  • Spice Market (5.2mi/8.3km)

Hotel Map

41.0041 28.9725
Area served
Istanbul.
Nearby airports
Ataturk International Airport .
Area description
The Gardenhouse Hotel is located at Sultanahmet Peninsula in the heart of old Istanbul known as one of the biggest open air museum in the world.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Gardenhouse Hotel Istanbul also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Gardenhouse Hotel Istanbul Rooms

Standard Room
One double or two single beds are available, all rooms have parquet floor, private bathrooms, minibar, satellite tv, direct dial telephone and safety deposit box.
Economy Double
One double bed is available, private bathrooms with shower,minibar, satellite tv, direct dial phone, safety deposit box.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Kucuk Ayasofya Camii (Church of the Saints Sergius and Bacchus): 0.1 mi
  • Turkish and Islamic Arts Museum (Turk ve Islam Eserleri Muzesi): 0.2 mi
  • Blue Mosque: 0.3 mi
  • Grand Bazaar: 0.4 mi
  • Hagia Sophia: 0.5 mi
  • Kapali Carsi: 0.5 mi
  • Walls of Constantinople: 0.6 mi
  • Basilica Cistern: 0.6 mi
  • Archaeology museum: 0.7 mi
  • Istanbul Archaeology Museum (Arkeoloji Muzesi): 0.7 mi
  • Galata Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Fatih Mosque and Complex (Fatih Camii ve Kulliyesi): 0.8 mi
  • Hodjapasha Cultural Center: 0.8 mi
  • Istanbul University: 0.8 mi
  • Topkapi Palace: 0.9 mi
  • Kucuk Ayasofya Camii (Church of the Saints Sergius and Bacchus): 0.1 mi
  • Turkish and Islamic Arts Museum (Turk ve Islam Eserleri Muzesi): 0.2 mi
  • Blue Mosque: 0.3 mi
  • Grand Bazaar: 0.4 mi
  • Hagia Sophia: 0.5 mi
  • Kapali Carsi: 0.5 mi
  • Walls of Constantinople: 0.6 mi
  • Basilica Cistern: 0.6 mi
  • Archaeology museum: 0.7 mi
  • Istanbul Archaeology Museum (Arkeoloji Muzesi): 0.7 mi
  • Galata Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Fatih Mosque and Complex (Fatih Camii ve Kulliyesi): 0.8 mi
  • Hodjapasha Cultural Center: 0.8 mi
  • Istanbul University: 0.8 mi
  • Topkapi Palace: 0.9 mi
  • Bosphorus Strait: 1.1 mi
  • Tünel: 1.1 mi
  • Miniaturk: 1.1 mi
  • Galata Tower: 1.5 mi
  • Istanbul Modern Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Maiden`s Tower: 1.8 mi
  • Istanbul Modern: 1.8 mi
  • Golden Horn: 1.9 mi
  • Suleymaniye Mosque: 2.4 mi
  • Beyoglu: 2.5 mi
  • Haydarpaşa Terminal: 2.5 mi
  • Kariye Museum (The Chora Church): 2.6 mi
  • Atatürk Cultural Center: 2.6 mi
  • Dolmabahce Palace: 2.8 mi
  • Spice Market: 2.9 mi
  • Rahmi M. Koc Museum: 3 mi
  • Eyup Sultan Mosque (Eyup Sultan Camii): 3.6 mi
  • Kadikoy: 3.7 mi
  • Yildiz Park: 3.8 mi
  • Ortakoy: 4.1 mi
  • The Bosphorus Bridge: 5 mi
  • Rumeli Hisarı: 7 mi
  • Rumeli Fortress: 7.3 mi
  • Sakip Sabanci Museum: 7.8 mi
  • Emirgan Park: 8.3 mi
  • Istanbul Aquarium: 9.5 mi
  • The Princes' Islands: 11.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (30)

Ratings and reviews for Gardenhouse Hotel Istanbul

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
30 out of 30
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.6

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gardenhouse Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Steve398
Prague, Czech Republic
Jul 26, 2012

A wonderful 4 days in Istanbuk

We have just spent 4 excellent nights at the Garden House Hotel. We would unhesitatingly recommend this hotel to anybody visiting Istanbul. It is in a perfectl location, only a few minutes walk from the principal sights. The rooms are attractive, very clean and extremely comfortable - and exceptionally good value for money. It was quite hot during our stay, and we appreciated the very effective air-conditioning.There is a beautiful garden/outside eating area, which is a haven of peace in this busy city. The buffet breakfast (included in the room price) is excellent, with lots of fresh fruit as well as other local and international offerings. There were also lots of those 'little touches' that make the difference between a nice stay stay and a really memorable one. These included a complimentary half-bottle of wine, a basket of fresh fruit and bottled water in the room, free water and Turkish pastries throughout the day. However, the thing that impressed us most was the friendliness and helpfulness of all the staff. Nothing was too much trouble for them, and the Guest Relationship Manager was particularly helpful - he spent time with us to help us plan our visit, suggesting a whole range of things to see and places to eat. And best of all, he then arranged all the reservations and transport when we asked for it! We hope to be able to visit Istanbul again soon, and will certainly stay at the Garden House! Steve and Alexandra

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Visit a Hammam!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gardenhouse Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ek Sultan
USA
Jul 9, 2012

confortable but problematic

It was a pleasant stay but with one very big minus- when I arrived- they did not have a free room at the hotel which I reserved and they offered me a room smaller and at the very top without elevator. I said no and was very angry because I already payed for a specific type of room in advance. So after an hour of discussion, they arranged a room for me in neighbor hotel and I spent one night there. I think its a awful practice- the hotel management cannot do such things with clients. Also their standart (they also have lower class -budget- but dont take it) room is ok for a single person but too small for a couple. Otherwise the breakfast is pleasant- its in the garden outside, and the airconditionning worked well and soundless. The location is ok, I would say not bad for old town. On the quiet old little street close to Little Ayasofia. The hotel dont have turkish bath, and no fitness as well. But they have a good wifi, everyday a free bottle of mineral water, a basket of fruits and half a bottle of vine upon arriving and tea/coffee maker in the room. So could be a good choice of accomodation in Istanbul if they dont play games and give you immediately the nice room with great view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

close to Sultanahmet area with major mosques and Topkapi

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gardenhouse Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ErikW
Washington DC
Feb 24, 2012

Clean, Comfortable, Close to Sites -- Solid Value

We booked 3 rooms for 5 days. Everything was very clean, beds were comfortable, staff was helpful, and the breakfast buffet was great. All the Sultanahmet sites are within a 10-minute easy walk. We had a couple of small plumbing issues like slow drains and slight odors from one of the rooms' bathroom -- but nothing that I would consider a deal-breaker.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Nearby restaurants weren't that good. Go to Taksim.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gardenhouse Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pete and Liz
Hereford, UK
Feb 18, 2012

Recommended

Excellent hotel, really well placed for looking around the city whilst still being protected from too much noise and bustle. Staff genuine, friendly. Clean and lovely rooms. Only down side is that it doesnt have any real view, but overall a great base for sightseeing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gardenhouse Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mahmoud
Doha, Qatar
Jan 17, 2012

nice hotel

very nice and friendly hotel best location and very clean good stuff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gardenhouse Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mrs RB
Fairbanks, Alaska
Nov 12, 2011

Wonderful Holiday Hotel in Istanbul

Located close to shopping, restaurants and many historical sites, it was easy to walk everywhere. The staff is very helpful, treats you as if you are a guest in their home. Snacks, tea and coffee available at all times, and a good breakfast with made to order omelets and a wide variety of other dishes. We would definitely go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many good restaurants nearby. You should avoid the Akbiyik Fish Restaurant however.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gardenhouse Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tohin
Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan
Nov 7, 2011

Great location!!!!

We spent a week in The Garden House Hotel. This hotel located near all most important historical places. So, we spent the whole week just exploring around the hotel. But if you want to see other parts of Istanbul you can always take a bus tour. Buses leave from the Sultanahmed square which is 5 min walk from the hotel. Also, it will take you only 5 min to get to the beach of the Sea of Marmara. The staff was so nice! Great service! Had a really good experience at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gardenhouse Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Barracuda
Little America in Germany
Feb 23, 2011

Excellent Trip

The hotel was very nice. The room was small but that doesn't matter when there are so many things to do in Istanbul. The bed was very comfortable and was made every day by the housekeepers. They refilled our teas and coffees every day. We booked 4 nights and received a complimentary bottle of wine and fruit basket. Breakfast was also very, very good. There were many types of cheeses, grilled vegetables, natural honey comb, and awesome bread. The staff was also super helpful. Very nice people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a really nice cooking class that you can take right by the Arasta Baazaar. It is called Cooking Alaturk. You learn how to cook 5 courses and they give you wine, tea, and coffee. I would definately reccommend this.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gardenhouse Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Franky
France
Dec 15, 2010

Very good address - Très bonne adresse

The hotel is very well located. Rooms are big and confortable. Breakfast is good and huge. The hotel staff was very friendly and gave us good advices for our visit of Istanbul. L'hôtel est très bien situé. Les chambres sont spacieuses et confortables. Le petit-déjeuner très bon et copieux. Le personnel était très serviable et aimable. Je recommande.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gardenhouse Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Coram
Nov 24, 2008

Great Location!!!

The Garden House Hotel was very comfortable and clean. The room was a triple and larger than most in Europe. The bathroom was large and the shower was excellent. There was plenty of room for our suitcases and other stuff. The hotel staff were so pleasant and very helpful. We were situated in a fabulous location so every important site was within walking distance. We only had two full days in Istanbul, so the staff guided us as to what to focus on each day. The second full day, we decided to forgo the long trip on the Bosphorus for a 1/2 day tour by one of the recommended companies. We were very pleased and because of their suggestion, we were able to get three more activities in for that day. I can't say enough about the staff, the comfort of the hotel, the location, and out time in Istanbul. I must note that they even recommended two restaurants that sent a car for us and also took us home after the meals (in one case there was a show as well). Both places were excellent and so convenient with the added transportation. On the first night they recommended an area that we walked to and it was great, too! What a wonderful stay!! I would recommend this hotel and would love to return one day myself!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Within walking distance of our hotel are the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia, Basilica Cistern, Topkapi Palace, Grand Bazaar, Spice Bazaar, Turkish Bath. I emailed the hotel ahead of time and arranged transportation to and from the airport. The cost was 30 Euros to the hotel and 25 Euros to the airport.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top