$76 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 19, 2014 Check-out: Dec 20, 2014

Erguvan Hotel Istanbul

4 stars
Aksakal Cad. No:3 34400 Sultanhamet, Istanbul, 34400
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
53 reviews
Great Hotel

Excellent Hotel, the best we've ever stayed in. Very clean, tidy, quiet and calm. Great views... See full review

  • Hifzur
  • Sep 4, 2013
Location an price

Small nice hotel, centrally location, very nice buffet breakfast, nice staff. Good quality. See full review

  • Madelurod
  • Nov 23, 2014
19th century building houses hotel for 21st century guests
Istanbul’s history surrounds this small hotel. The terrace dining area and some of the rooms offer views of the Bosphorus, the Hippodrome, the Blue Mosque, and many other famous sights. Other nearby attractions include the Grand Bazaar, Topkapi Palace, and the Istanbul Archaeology Museum. The Erguvan Hotel Istanbul’s building dates back to the 19th century. Guests enjoy a blend of modern amenities and classic design. Hotel amenities include complimentary wireless Internet access.
Highlights
  • Terrace dining area overlooks the Hippodrome
  • Walking distance to the Istanbul Archaeology Museum, Blue Mosque, and other sights
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • Elegant lobby greets guests
Rooms
Room decor features handmade furniture in beautiful cherry wood and original artwork. The art is a good introduction for guests to traditional Ottoman crafts. Most rooms feature beautiful patterned wallpapers and bedding that contrasts bright colors with crisp white sheets. Some rooms have views of the Marmara Sea. Room furniture may include seating areas. Other in-room amenities include LCD televisions and air conditioning.
Features
During early summer, the hotel’s namesake tree -- also known as the Judas Tree or European Redbud -- is covered with purple flowers. Inside the 19th-century building, the decor is warm and inviting. The lobby seating area provides a place to relax or wait for friends.

The hotel’s Café Bar and Courtyard is a peaceful place for breakfast or a midday break. In the evening, diners can enjoy a drink on the hotel terrace overlooking the wall of the Hippodrome.

Erguvan Hotel offers complimentary wireless Internet access throughout the property.
Transportation
  • Cankurtaran Train Station (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Eminonu ferry dock (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Istanbul International Ataturk Airport (12.5 mi/20.1 km)
  • Sabiha Gokcen Airport (28.2 mi/45.4 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Istanbul Archaeology Museum (0.3 mi/0.6 km)
  • Blue Mosque (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Cemberlitas Hamam (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Arap Mosque (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Istanbul Modern Museum (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Suleymaniye Mosque and Complex (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Galata Tower (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Ataturk Cultural Center (3.2 mi/5.2 km)
  • Dolmabahce Palace (3.3 mi/5.2 km)
  • Cicek Pasaji (Flower Passage) (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
Business
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Erguvan Hotel Istanbul also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Erguvan Hotel Istanbul Rooms

Triple room
One queen size bed and 1 single beds The design and decoration of our rooms have taken into consideration all the needs of our guests. Every room has air-conditioning, minibar, TV with European channels, direct telephone, hairdryer, daily house keeping service, bathtubs, mini bar, insulated from the out side noise, view of the ancient wall of the Hippodrome.
Single room
One queen size bed or 2 twin beds The design and decoration of our rooms have taken into consideration all the needs of our guests. Every room has air-conditioning, minibar, TV with European channels, direct telephone, hairdryer, daily house keeping service, bathtubs, mini bar, insulated from the out side noise, view of the ancient wall of the Hippodrome.
Sea View Room
One queen size bed or 2 twin beds The design and decoration of our rooms have taken into consideration all the needs of our guests. Every room has air-conditioning, minibar, TV with European channels, direct telephone, hairdryer, daily house keeping service, bathtubs, mini bar, insulated from the out side noise, view of the Marmara sea.
Erguvan Junior Suite
One queen size bed and 2 single beds The design and decoration of our rooms have taken into consideration all the needs of our guests. Every room has air-conditioning, minibar, TV with European channels, direct telephone, hairdryer, daily house keeping service, bathtubs, mini bar, insulated from the out side noise, Consonantal room
Standard Room
One queen size bed or 2 twin beds The design and decoration of our rooms have taken into consideration all the needs of our guests. Every room has air-conditioning, minibar, TV with European channels, direct telephone, hairdryer, daily house keeping service, bathtubs, mini bar, insulated from the out side noise, view of the ancient wall of the Hippodrome.

Amenities

  • Free buffet breakfast
  • Free internet
  • Free parking
General
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Free buffet breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Kucuk Ayasofya Camii (Church of the Saints Sergius and Bacchus): 0.1 mi
  • Turkish and Islamic Arts Museum (Turk ve Islam Eserleri Muzesi): 0.2 mi
  • Blue Mosque: 0.2 mi
  • Hagia Sophia: 0.5 mi
  • Turkish and Islamic Arts Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Walls of Constantinople: 0.5 mi
  • Kapali Carsi: 0.6 mi
  • Basilica Cistern: 0.6 mi
  • Archaeology museum: 0.7 mi
  • Istanbul Archaeology Museum (Arkeoloji Muzesi): 0.7 mi
  • Galata Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Fatih Mosque and Complex (Fatih Camii ve Kulliyesi): 0.8 mi
  • Hodjapasha Cultural Center: 0.8 mi
  • Topkapi Palace: 0.8 mi
  • Istanbul University: 0.9 mi
  • Kucuk Ayasofya Camii (Church of the Saints Sergius and Bacchus): 0.1 mi
  • Turkish and Islamic Arts Museum (Turk ve Islam Eserleri Muzesi): 0.2 mi
  • Blue Mosque: 0.2 mi
  • Hagia Sophia: 0.5 mi
  • Turkish and Islamic Arts Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Walls of Constantinople: 0.5 mi
  • Kapali Carsi: 0.6 mi
  • Basilica Cistern: 0.6 mi
  • Archaeology museum: 0.7 mi
  • Istanbul Archaeology Museum (Arkeoloji Muzesi): 0.7 mi
  • Galata Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Fatih Mosque and Complex (Fatih Camii ve Kulliyesi): 0.8 mi
  • Hodjapasha Cultural Center: 0.8 mi
  • Topkapi Palace: 0.8 mi
  • Istanbul University: 0.9 mi
  • Tünel: 1.2 mi
  • Bosphorus Strait: 1.2 mi
  • Miniaturk: 1.2 mi
  • Galata Tower: 1.5 mi
  • Istanbul Modern Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Maiden`s Tower: 1.8 mi
  • Istanbul Modern: 1.9 mi
  • Golden Horn: 2 mi
  • Haydarpaşa Terminal: 2.4 mi
  • Suleymaniye Mosque: 2.5 mi
  • Beyoglu: 2.5 mi
  • Atatürk Cultural Center: 2.7 mi
  • Kariye Museum (The Chora Church): 2.7 mi
  • Dolmabahce Palace: 2.8 mi
  • Spice Market: 2.9 mi
  • Rahmi M. Koc Museum: 3 mi
  • Kadikoy: 3.6 mi
  • Eyup Sultan Mosque (Eyup Sultan Camii): 3.6 mi
  • Yildiz Park: 3.8 mi
  • Ortakoy: 4.1 mi
  • The Bosphorus Bridge: 5 mi
  • Rumeli Hisarı: 6.9 mi
  • Rumeli Fortress: 7.3 mi
  • Sakip Sabanci Museum: 7.8 mi
  • Emirgan Park: 8.3 mi
  • Istanbul Aquarium: 9.6 mi
  • The Princes' Islands: 11.3 mi

Dining

Terrace Rest.
The Erguvan Terrace Restaurant have most Turkish cuisine; barbecue, seasonal salad-fruit- fish and Turkish snack.An outdoor terrace with a seating capacity for 40 people in winter and 95 people in summer. The elegant and refined decor combines Turkish and a more contemporary style.
Breakfast
open buffet ,typical Turkish Breakfast with home made jams, cakes, pastries in our little court or on terrace with its panoramic view overlooking The Blue Mosque, The Marmara Sea and The ancient wall of Hippodrome
Terrace Bar
Our guest have a chance to see the wall of Hipodrom, the oldest historical site in Istanbul, while they are enjoying their drinks on the terrace.You can have a nice little break in Cafe-bar's warm and relaxing atmosphere.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1200
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (53)

Ratings and reviews for Erguvan Hotel Istanbul

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
7 out of 53
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Erguvan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Needed to Clear Mind
Business
Houston, Texas
Nov 1, 2013

Get Away

It was a nice family oriented hotel. Very pleasant and walking distance to most tourist areas. The room was clean and simple. The noise from the street was loud on the first floor at night. If you are looking for a clean, comfortable, and safe place to lay your head and keep your stuff, this is the place. However, if you are looking for a place with extra amenities where you can hang out and lounge at the hotel or sleep the day away, I would strongly suggest this is not the hotel for you. The room was very basic but functional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You will save money to view the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Tokapi Palace, Grand Bazaar, Basilica Cistern, and the German Fountain. You do not need a tour for this. They are located in the same area and you can actually see signs for them as you walk from one to another. Be sure to buy your tours before you leave to go as it can be cheaper for the cruises and the prince island tours.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Erguvan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AlexNYC
Business
NYC
Mar 8, 2013

Great location

The staff here was fantastic and very accommodating. Also, great location - about a 2 minute walk to the Blue Mosque. On a quiet side street so traffic noise was not an issue. Great view of the city in the breakfast room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Erguvan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Inspector Gadget's Mentor
Business
USA
Mar 5, 2013

not four star:(

Fair but surely not at four star quality; however, it is still stay-able..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Erguvan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ajja
Business
London
Mar 4, 2013

Fantastic single getaway

Pre booked pick up was prompt. Guidance for tourist attractions were to the point supported by a local map. Assistance for booking tours was very helpful. Breakfast was simple with variety and tasty. Guidance regarding outside eating very helpful. Recommend any one who wants a quiet holiday.a

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Safe and secured locality

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Erguvan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Blue Point, NY
Nov 30, 2009

Disappointed

The hotel did not match the description of the hotel. It is a good location and the staff is friendly. However, I would not describe it as "first class", "boutique", or "monmumental rooms". Even though the hotel was about 1/4 booked during the off season, they assigned me the worst room in the hotel. Specifically, it was the room nearest to the open stairwell, faced a wall view, second floor above the lobby, and construction noise was loud because of the building renovation occurring on the other side of the wall in my room. The bed was twin size. Given that the hotel was not even 1/2 booked, it was not necessary to assign this room to me as nearly any other room would have been a better alternative. Make sure not get room # 11.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Erguvan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
elkhart, in
Jul 23, 2009

Stellar location, splendid hotel.

Two strikes against my full-enjoyment there: I was sick (Cairo Stomach Monster) and only had one day/two nights there. But even so I've got nothing but praise for Erguvan -- especially it's proximity to the Blue Mosque, Ayasofya and, Bosphorous Strait and the local tram. I managed to crawl out of my room for a couple hours and even in a very weakened condition could walk to each.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Erguvan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lora from MN
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jul 3, 2009

Wonderful Hospitality

I loved this hotel the minute I ste[[ed inside and was greeted by the manager who did everything to make my stay pleasant. Although I got there early in the morning before my room was ready, they invited me to the rooftop restaurant for breakfast, changed a tour booking for me, made sure I knew the walking area, had my luggage in my room before I returned and were all around helpful. I would return mostly because of the service here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

So many hustlers trying to sell carpets. They start conversations on the street and eventually take you to their showrooms. Don't pay more than 50% of their asking price - and that is probably too much. Plan to spend at least 3 hours in a shop negotiating if you want to buy one. I was happy with my carpet purchased at the first carpet shop across from the Hippodrome area when walking from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top