$116 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 21, 2014 Check-out: Apr 23, 2014

Erguvan Hotel Istanbul

4 stars
Aksakal Cad. No:3 34400 Sultanhamet, Istanbul, 34400
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
51 reviews
Great Hotel

Excellent Hotel, the best we've ever stayed in. Very clean, tidy, quiet and calm. Great views... See full review

  • Hifzur
  • Sep 4, 2013
Great Location

We had a lovely three night stay at The Erguvan. It is ideally situated within walking distance of... See full review

  • clique
  • Apr 15, 2013
19th century building houses hotel for 21st century guests
Istanbul’s history surrounds this small hotel. The terrace dining area and some of the rooms offer views of the Bosphorus, the Hippodrome, the Blue Mosque, and many other famous sights. Other nearby attractions include the Grand Bazaar, Topkapi Palace, and the Istanbul Archaeology Museum. The Erguvan Hotel Istanbul’s building dates back to the 19th century. Guests enjoy a blend of modern amenities and classic design. Hotel amenities include complimentary wireless Internet access.
Highlights
  • Terrace dining area overlooks the Hippodrome
  • Walking distance to the Istanbul Archaeology Museum, Blue Mosque, and other sights
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • Elegant lobby greets guests
Rooms
Room decor features handmade furniture in beautiful cherry wood and original artwork. The art is a good introduction for guests to traditional Ottoman crafts. Most rooms feature beautiful patterned wallpapers and bedding that contrasts bright colors with crisp white sheets. Some rooms have views of the Marmara Sea. Room furniture may include seating areas. Other in-room amenities include LCD televisions and air conditioning.
Features
During early summer, the hotel’s namesake tree -- also known as the Judas Tree or European Redbud -- is covered with purple flowers. Inside the 19th-century building, the decor is warm and inviting. The lobby seating area provides a place to relax or wait for friends.

The hotel’s Café Bar and Courtyard is a peaceful place for breakfast or a midday break. In the evening, diners can enjoy a drink on the hotel terrace overlooking the wall of the Hippodrome.

Erguvan Hotel offers complimentary wireless Internet access throughout the property.
Transportation
  • Cankurtaran Train Station (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Eminonu ferry dock (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Istanbul International Ataturk Airport (12.5 mi/20.1 km)
  • Sabiha Gokcen Airport (28.2 mi/45.4 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Istanbul Archaeology Museum (0.3 mi/0.6 km)
  • Blue Mosque (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Cemberlitas Hamam (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Arap Mosque (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Istanbul Modern Museum (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Suleymaniye Mosque and Complex (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Galata Tower (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Ataturk Cultural Center (3.2 mi/5.2 km)
  • Dolmabahce Palace (3.3 mi/5.2 km)
  • Cicek Pasaji (Flower Passage) (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
Business
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access

Erguvan Hotel Istanbul Rooms

Triple room
One queen size bed and 1 single beds The design and decoration of our rooms have taken into consideration all the needs of our guests. Every room has air-conditioning, minibar, TV with European channels, direct telephone, hairdryer, daily house keeping service, bathtubs, mini bar, insulated from the out side noise, view of the ancient wall of the Hippodrome.
Single room
One queen size bed or 2 twin beds The design and decoration of our rooms have taken into consideration all the needs of our guests. Every room has air-conditioning, minibar, TV with European channels, direct telephone, hairdryer, daily house keeping service, bathtubs, mini bar, insulated from the out side noise, view of the ancient wall of the Hippodrome.
Sea View Room
One queen size bed or 2 twin beds The design and decoration of our rooms have taken into consideration all the needs of our guests. Every room has air-conditioning, minibar, TV with European channels, direct telephone, hairdryer, daily house keeping service, bathtubs, mini bar, insulated from the out side noise, view of the Marmara sea.
Erguvan Junior Suite
One queen size bed and 2 single beds The design and decoration of our rooms have taken into consideration all the needs of our guests. Every room has air-conditioning, minibar, TV with European channels, direct telephone, hairdryer, daily house keeping service, bathtubs, mini bar, insulated from the out side noise, Consonantal room
Standard Room
One queen size bed or 2 twin beds The design and decoration of our rooms have taken into consideration all the needs of our guests. Every room has air-conditioning, minibar, TV with European channels, direct telephone, hairdryer, daily house keeping service, bathtubs, mini bar, insulated from the out side noise, view of the ancient wall of the Hippodrome.

Amenities

  • Free buffet breakfast
  • Free internet
  • Free parking
General
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Free buffet breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Erguvan Hotel Istanbul also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.0036 28.974
Area served
Istanbul, Turkey.sultanahmet old city , behind of the blue mosque
Nearby airports
Istanbul Ataturk Airport is 15km away and shuttle service can be arranged upon request at a surcharge.
Area description
Erguvan Hotel is one of the first class Istanbul Boutique hotels perfectly located in most convenient spot in Istanbul / Turkey surrounded by The Marmara Sea. Tourist attractions such as Ancient Hippodrome and Blue Mosque. This accommodation is just within walking distance to Byzatine and Ottoman monuments location St.Sophia (Ayasofya), Blue Mosque (SultanahmetCamii), Grand Bazar, Topkapi Palace, Hippodrome, Basilica Cistern, Turkish &Islamic Museum,Archaelogic Museum and Old Traditional Baths. And 15 km. away from Istanbul Ataturk Airport.

Nearby points of interest

  • Kucuk Ayasofya Camii (Church of the Saints Sergius and Bacchus): 0.1 mi
  • Turkish and Islamic Arts Museum (Turk ve Islam Eserleri Muzesi): 0.2 mi
  • Blue Mosque: 0.2 mi
  • Hagia Sophia: 0.5 mi
  • Grand Bazaar: 0.5 mi
  • Walls of Constantinople: 0.5 mi
  • Kapali Carsi: 0.6 mi
  • Basilica Cistern: 0.6 mi
  • Archaeology museum: 0.7 mi
  • Istanbul Archaeology Museum (Arkeoloji Muzesi): 0.7 mi
  • Galata Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Fatih Mosque and Complex (Fatih Camii ve Kulliyesi): 0.8 mi
  • Hodjapasha Cultural Center: 0.8 mi
  • Topkapi Palace: 0.8 mi
  • Istanbul University: 0.9 mi
  • Kucuk Ayasofya Camii (Church of the Saints Sergius and Bacchus): 0.1 mi
  • Turkish and Islamic Arts Museum (Turk ve Islam Eserleri Muzesi): 0.2 mi
  • Blue Mosque: 0.2 mi
  • Hagia Sophia: 0.5 mi
  • Grand Bazaar: 0.5 mi
  • Walls of Constantinople: 0.5 mi
  • Kapali Carsi: 0.6 mi
  • Basilica Cistern: 0.6 mi
  • Archaeology museum: 0.7 mi
  • Istanbul Archaeology Museum (Arkeoloji Muzesi): 0.7 mi
  • Galata Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Fatih Mosque and Complex (Fatih Camii ve Kulliyesi): 0.8 mi
  • Hodjapasha Cultural Center: 0.8 mi
  • Topkapi Palace: 0.8 mi
  • Istanbul University: 0.9 mi
  • Tünel: 1.2 mi
  • Bosphorus Strait: 1.2 mi
  • Miniaturk: 1.2 mi
  • Galata Tower: 1.5 mi
  • Istanbul Modern Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Maiden`s Tower: 1.8 mi
  • Istanbul Modern: 1.9 mi
  • Golden Horn: 2 mi
  • Haydarpaşa Terminal: 2.4 mi
  • Suleymaniye Mosque: 2.5 mi
  • Beyoglu: 2.5 mi
  • Atatürk Cultural Center: 2.7 mi
  • Kariye Museum (The Chora Church): 2.7 mi
  • Dolmabahce Palace: 2.8 mi
  • Spice Market: 2.9 mi
  • Rahmi M. Koc Museum: 3 mi
  • Kadikoy: 3.6 mi
  • Eyup Sultan Mosque (Eyup Sultan Camii): 3.6 mi
  • Yildiz Park: 3.8 mi
  • Ortakoy: 4.1 mi
  • The Bosphorus Bridge: 5 mi
  • Rumeli Hisarı: 6.9 mi
  • Rumeli Fortress: 7.3 mi
  • Sakip Sabanci Museum: 7.8 mi
  • Emirgan Park: 8.3 mi
  • Istanbul Aquarium: 9.6 mi
  • The Princes' Islands: 11.3 mi

Dining

Terrace Rest.
The Erguvan Terrace Restaurant have most Turkish cuisine; barbecue, seasonal salad-fruit- fish and Turkish snack.An outdoor terrace with a seating capacity for 40 people in winter and 95 people in summer. The elegant and refined decor combines Turkish and a more contemporary style.
Breakfast
open buffet ,typical Turkish Breakfast with home made jams, cakes, pastries in our little court or on terrace with its panoramic view overlooking The Blue Mosque, The Marmara Sea and The ancient wall of Hippodrome
Terrace Bar
Our guest have a chance to see the wall of Hipodrom, the oldest historical site in Istanbul, while they are enjoying their drinks on the terrace.You can have a nice little break in Cafe-bar's warm and relaxing atmosphere.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1200
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (51)

Ratings and reviews for Erguvan Hotel Istanbul

Overall score

3.9 / 5
15 out of 51
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Erguvan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

3
daweic
toronto, canada
Jan 30, 2014

good breakfast

the breakfast was quite nice although to get back onto the main area there is a fairly large hill to walk up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Erguvan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

5
Hifzur
United Kingdom
Sep 4, 2013

Great Hotel

Excellent Hotel, the best we've ever stayed in. Very clean, tidy, quiet and calm. Great views especially from the balcony. Centrally located, just outside the Blue Mosque. In house free internet saved us searching for internet cafes. The staff are very friendly, customer focused and make you feel at home. We absolutely loved our experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Erguvan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

4
Ziya
London
Jul 15, 2013

Nice family-run-style hotel. Good Value.

I've stayed in the Sultan Ahmet district before and comparing all my experiences of hotels, this has been the best. It's not hugely remarkable but it is very clean, the rooms are larger than most hotels at this price range in the area, the wifi was excellent at all times and the staff were pleasant and attentive. The location is perfect. It's not off the beaten track but far enough away from the main hustle and bustle to feel like you've come home and you can relax. As part of a package deal we found the price very reasonable and while we're not talking about great luxury, if you're looking for a nice place to lay your head after a busy day sightseeing, you could do a lot worse than this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Erguvan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

3
RBSP
Bangkok
Mar 10, 2013

great location, so so room

great location.......................... so so room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Erguvan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

4
Mustafa.Crumb
Fethiye Turkey
Mar 2, 2013

A Week in comfort

Since the first day I arrived I was pleasently welcomed into the hotel were we were given a spacious twin beded room which was clean and quite from the outsdide world of istanbul. The Breakfast was outstanding every morning we were there. We would also like to thank the hotel hostess Mine Yavuz who was very friendly and helpfull when it came to giving us tour information from directions and places of historical interest and also Resteraunts in the local Sultan Hamhet area. I would easily recommend the Erguven Hotel to anyone who was visiting Istanbul. Chris Martin and Betty Martin

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Erguvan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

4
Lina N.
Dublin
Feb 21, 2013

Great

Overall very good, location excellent, only a few minutes from the Hippodrome and Blue Mosque and other sightseeings..., the roofterrace -lovely, the breakfast - quite good, the staff- friendly and helpful in guiding u around, room service was everyday, towels changed, the only thing that I didn't like was that we were a couple and got a room with 2 separate beds. The hotel itself is nice and very well located.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a small bazaar - Arista Bazaar good for souveniers just a few minutes away from the hotel

Review of Erguvan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Portland, OR
Aug 22, 2010

Great hotel in a great location!

Had a great stay. Everything interesting in Sultanamet is within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Burhara 93 has great pide (Turkish Pizza)

Review of Erguvan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Orange County, CA
Jul 4, 2010

Excellent location

This hotel is centrally located to all the great local sites. The breakfast was ample and nice. The staff was very courteous and attentive. Our room on the third floor had a view of the Sea of Marmara. The view from the terrace (4th floor) is absolutely gorgeous - the Sea of Marmara and the Blue Mosque! The room has a nice big safe big enough to put a laptop in for security.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a nice and reasonable restaurant, Doy Doy, just a blovck away which has a great view from its' terrace. Arasta Bazaar (open until 9 PM) with many boutique shops and restaurants is a couple of blocks away.

Review of Erguvan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Northern CA
Jun 28, 2010

Great Hotel

We were warmly greeted at the hotel and ushered quickly to our room which was appreciated since it was evening and we were tired. Although the room was small, it was spotlessly clean and modern. The hotel is equal to a small European family-run establishment, and we were quite pleased that we stayed there. The breakfast buffet is large and varied, and the view from the terrace is magnificent. The water in Istanbul is not potable and that's an inconvenience, but we were able to walk across the street and buy several large inexpensive bottles of water. We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it to friends and family!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel's location can't be beat if you want to be able to walk to the Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, and Hippodrome. There are several restaurants recommended by Rick Steves that are located close by. One of them, Doy Doy, has an excellent rooftop view of the Hagia Sophia and Blue Mosque, and good food.

Review of Erguvan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

5
shawzy
Dartmouth Nova Scotia Canada
May 5, 2010

erguvan hotel

Great location very friendly staff good breakfasts good view friom rooftop

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Hagia Sophia, Hippodrome, Blue Mosque

Back to menu Return to top