$117 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2015 Check-out: Sep 3, 2015

Erguvan Hotel Istanbul

4 stars
View map of Aksakal Cad. No:3 34400 Sultanhamet, Istanbul, 34400

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
60 reviews
Home from Home in Istanbul

The staff couldn't do enough and gave this hotel a caring family run feel. Location could not be... See full review

  • Grahame
  • Feb 18, 2015
Good Hotel, Friendly Staff

Excellent hotel, a walking distance from main tourists attractions. See full review

  • Cristina T.
  • Feb 11, 2015
Istanbul’s history surrounds this small hotel. The terrace dining area and some of the rooms offer views of the Bosphorus, the Hippodrome, the Blue Mosque, and many other famous sights. Other nearby attractions include the Grand Bazaar, Topkapi Palace, and the Istanbul Archaeology Museum. The Erguvan Hotel Istanbul’s building dates back to the 19th century. Guests enjoy a blend of modern amenities and classic design. Hotel amenities include complimentary wireless Internet access.
Rooms
Room decor features handmade furniture in beautiful cherry wood and original artwork. The art is a good introduction for guests to traditional Ottoman crafts. Most rooms feature beautiful patterned wallpapers and bedding that contrasts bright colors with crisp white sheets. Some rooms have views of the Marmara Sea. Room furniture may include seating areas. Other in-room amenities include LCD televisions and air conditioning.
Property features
During early summer, the hotel’s namesake tree -- also known as the Judas Tree or European Redbud -- is covered with purple flowers. Inside the 19th-century building, the decor is warm and inviting. The lobby seating area provides a place to relax or wait for friends.

The hotel’s Café Bar and Courtyard is a peaceful place for breakfast or a midday break. In the evening, diners can enjoy a drink on the hotel terrace overlooking the wall of the Hippodrome.

Erguvan Hotel offers complimentary wireless Internet access throughout the property.
Highlights
  • Terrace dining area overlooks the Hippodrome
  • Walking distance to the Istanbul Archaeology Museum, Blue Mosque, and other sights
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • Elegant lobby greets guests
Nearby attractions
  • Istanbul Archaeology Museum (0.3 mi/0.6 km)
  • Blue Mosque (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Cemberlitas Hamam (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Arap Mosque (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Istanbul Modern Museum (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Suleymaniye Mosque and Complex (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Galata Tower (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Ataturk Cultural Center (3.2 mi/5.2 km)
  • Dolmabahce Palace (3.3 mi/5.2 km)
  • Cicek Pasaji (Flower Passage) (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
Business
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access
Transportation
  • Cankurtaran Train Station (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Eminonu ferry dock (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Istanbul International Ataturk Airport (12.5 mi/20.1 km)
  • Sabiha Gokcen Airport (28.2 mi/45.4 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Erguvan Hotel Istanbul also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$74
4.3 / 5 28 reviews
★★★★
$103
4.4 / 5 41 reviews
★★★
$51
3.9 / 5 102 reviews
★★★★
$86
3.9 / 5 14 reviews
★★★★
$110
4.1 / 5 18 reviews
★★★★
$59
4.3 / 5 28 reviews
★★★★
$101
5.0 / 5 2 reviews
★★★★
$93
3.9 / 5 18 reviews
★★★★
$84
4.1 / 5 22 reviews

Erguvan Hotel Istanbul Rooms

Triple room
One queen size bed and 1 single beds The design and decoration of our rooms have taken into consideration all the needs of our guests. Every room has air-conditioning, minibar, TV with European channels, direct telephone, hairdryer, daily house keeping service, bathtubs, mini bar, insulated from the out side noise, view of the ancient wall of the Hippodrome.
Single room
One queen size bed or 2 twin beds The design and decoration of our rooms have taken into consideration all the needs of our guests. Every room has air-conditioning, minibar, TV with European channels, direct telephone, hairdryer, daily house keeping service, bathtubs, mini bar, insulated from the out side noise, view of the ancient wall of the Hippodrome.
Sea View Room
One queen size bed or 2 twin beds The design and decoration of our rooms have taken into consideration all the needs of our guests. Every room has air-conditioning, minibar, TV with European channels, direct telephone, hairdryer, daily house keeping service, bathtubs, mini bar, insulated from the out side noise, view of the Marmara sea.
Erguvan Junior Suite
One queen size bed and 2 single beds The design and decoration of our rooms have taken into consideration all the needs of our guests. Every room has air-conditioning, minibar, TV with European channels, direct telephone, hairdryer, daily house keeping service, bathtubs, mini bar, insulated from the out side noise, Consonantal room
Standard Room
One queen size bed or 2 twin beds The design and decoration of our rooms have taken into consideration all the needs of our guests. Every room has air-conditioning, minibar, TV with European channels, direct telephone, hairdryer, daily house keeping service, bathtubs, mini bar, insulated from the out side noise, view of the ancient wall of the Hippodrome.

Amenities

  • Free buffet breakfast
  • Free internet
  • Free parking
General
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Free buffet breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Kucuk Ayasofya Camii (Church of the Saints Sergius and Bacchus): 0.1 mi
  • Turkish and Islamic Arts Museum (Turk ve Islam Eserleri Muzesi): 0.2 mi
  • Blue Mosque: 0.2 mi
  • Hagia Sophia: 0.5 mi
  • Turkish and Islamic Arts Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Yerebatan Palace: 0.5 mi
  • Kapali Carsi: 0.6 mi
  • Basilica Cistern: 0.6 mi
  • Archaeology museum: 0.7 mi
  • Istanbul Archaeology Museum (Arkeoloji Muzesi): 0.7 mi
  • Galata Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Fatih Mosque and Complex (Fatih Camii ve Kulliyesi): 0.8 mi
  • Hodjapasha Cultural Center: 0.8 mi
  • Topkapi Palace: 0.8 mi
  • Istanbul University: 0.9 mi
  • Kucuk Ayasofya Camii (Church of the Saints Sergius and Bacchus): 0.1 mi
  • Turkish and Islamic Arts Museum (Turk ve Islam Eserleri Muzesi): 0.2 mi
  • Blue Mosque: 0.2 mi
  • Hagia Sophia: 0.5 mi
  • Turkish and Islamic Arts Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Yerebatan Palace: 0.5 mi
  • Kapali Carsi: 0.6 mi
  • Basilica Cistern: 0.6 mi
  • Archaeology museum: 0.7 mi
  • Istanbul Archaeology Museum (Arkeoloji Muzesi): 0.7 mi
  • Galata Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Fatih Mosque and Complex (Fatih Camii ve Kulliyesi): 0.8 mi
  • Hodjapasha Cultural Center: 0.8 mi
  • Topkapi Palace: 0.8 mi
  • Istanbul University: 0.9 mi
  • New Mosque: 1.2 mi
  • Bosphorus Strait: 1.2 mi
  • Miniaturk: 1.2 mi
  • Galata Tower: 1.5 mi
  • Istanbul Modern Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Maiden`s Tower: 1.8 mi
  • Istanbul Modern: 1.9 mi
  • Golden Horn: 2 mi
  • Haydarpaşa Terminal: 2.4 mi
  • Suleymaniye Mosque: 2.5 mi
  • Beyoglu: 2.5 mi
  • Atatürk Cultural Center: 2.7 mi
  • Kariye Museum (The Chora Church): 2.7 mi
  • Dolmabahce Palace: 2.8 mi
  • Spice Market: 2.9 mi
  • Rahmi M. Koc Museum: 3 mi
  • Kadikoy: 3.6 mi
  • Eyup Sultan Mosque (Eyup Sultan Camii): 3.6 mi
  • Yildiz Park: 3.8 mi
  • Ortakoy: 4.1 mi
  • The Bosphorus Bridge: 5 mi
  • Rumeli Hisarı: 6.9 mi
  • Rumeli Fortress: 7.3 mi
  • Sakip Sabanci Museum: 7.8 mi
  • Emirgan Park: 8.3 mi
  • Istanbul Aquarium: 9.6 mi
  • The Princes' Islands: 11.3 mi

Dining

Terrace Rest.
The Erguvan Terrace Restaurant have most Turkish cuisine; barbecue, seasonal salad-fruit- fish and Turkish snack.An outdoor terrace with a seating capacity for 40 people in winter and 95 people in summer. The elegant and refined decor combines Turkish and a more contemporary style.
Breakfast
open buffet ,typical Turkish Breakfast with home made jams, cakes, pastries in our little court or on terrace with its panoramic view overlooking The Blue Mosque, The Marmara Sea and The ancient wall of Hippodrome
Terrace Bar
Our guest have a chance to see the wall of Hipodrom, the oldest historical site in Istanbul, while they are enjoying their drinks on the terrace.You can have a nice little break in Cafe-bar's warm and relaxing atmosphere.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
12:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Erguvan Hotel Istanbul

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
60 out of 60
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Erguvan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Explorer
Couples
London
Feb 21, 2010

Hotel staff made great difference.

Located near blue mosque (however can be bit tricky to find first time). Once at the hotel, Staff gave great service and were really keen in ensuring the trip as enjoyable as possible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Erguvan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Four Irish Girls
Friends
Ireland
Oct 15, 2012

Excellent location, Superior Staff

I stayed at this hotel recently with three friends, and we all loved staying at Erguvan. The location was perfect, our rooms were cleaned everyday and the staff were so friendly and went out of their way to make our stay in Istanbul memorable. We would recommend this hotel to everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Erguvan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hisham Warda
Couples
Egypt
Jan 28, 2013

Great hotel,great staff

This hotel I would recommend for everyone . The staff is really nice ,they were very helpful. I really had fun in this hotel and I would like to thank the staff cigdem , Murat and eyub for their extraordinary efforts to make us feel welcomed. They really know what they are doing I felt at home during my stay.I will definitely come back Thank you very much Hisham Warda

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Erguvan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AlexNYC
Single
NYC
Mar 8, 2013

Great location

The staff here was fantastic and very accommodating. Also, great location - about a 2 minute walk to the Blue Mosque. On a quiet side street so traffic noise was not an issue. Great view of the city in the breakfast room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Erguvan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BrooklynBMJ
Couples
Brooklyn, NY
Mar 18, 2013

Simply outstanding staff, and an unbeatable location

We were absolutely blown away by the kindness, hospitality, and thoughtfulness of the staff at Erguvan. They all speak very workable English, and are very eager to help. The view from the roof of the city, sea, and especially the Blue Mosque is gorgeous. For history buffs, one thing that the other reviews fail to mention is that across the street from the entrance are remains of the old Hippodrome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't forget to walk down the mini-bazaar behind the Blue Mosque. It's a little out of the way if you're only ever walking up Naskilbent street to the main attractions.

Review of Erguvan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
clique
Friends
Istanbul
Apr 15, 2013

Great Location

We had a lovely three night stay at The Erguvan. It is ideally situated within walking distance of the main attractions and restaurants, although be prepared to be woken at 5.30am with the call to prayer at the nearby Blue Mosque! As we were travelling as a group of friends we requested the rooms to be on the same floor, however this was not allocated as the hotel was full, but as all the rooms had interconnecting phones this was not a problem. My room was on the first floor and at the front of the building and the traffic noise was constant, also the market set up in front of my room very early Wednesday morning! The rooms higher up and the ones at the back of the hotel were much quieter. The rooms were clean and well equipped; fresh towels are provided daily. The manager, Mine, was most helpful directing us and booking evening entertainment, with transport provided. The shuttle service to and from the airport was well worth the supplement. Breakfast on the roof top terrace was plentiful and varied. There were a selection of teas, but I would have preferred fresh fruit juice instead of squash! The view was amazing, it’s such a shame that the weather meant we had to stay undercover.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Erguvan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hifzur
Family
United Kingdom
Sep 4, 2013

Great Hotel

Excellent Hotel, the best we've ever stayed in. Very clean, tidy, quiet and calm. Great views especially from the balcony. Centrally located, just outside the Blue Mosque. In house free internet saved us searching for internet cafes. The staff are very friendly, customer focused and make you feel at home. We absolutely loved our experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Erguvan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Baltimore, MD
Jul 16, 2007

fantastic location

The hotel is well-located for exploration of the Old City of Istanbul on foot. It is down a curving hill from the area of the Blue Mosque and within walking distance of the tram in Sultanahmet. This small (22 room) hotel has an exceptionally attentive staff. The generous full breakfast is a great way to start the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is within walking distance of the Hagia Sophia.

Review of Erguvan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Placitas
Sep 11, 2008

very quaint quarters

We stayed just one night before we had to take our flight home. This was a very nice way to end our trip and the area was very picturesque. The room reminded me of a 1040's stage set in Turkish colonial interiors. We were picked-up at the airport and the drive along the seaport was very interesting. I had used up my turkish lira at dinner that night and it was a good thing that I had some dollars left in my purse to pay for the car service to and from the airport. The Beakfast was wonderful and there were many different foods to partake of such as cheeses, breads, pastries, etc. along with fresh coffee and turkish tea in a glass.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are restaurantws to walk to along winding cobblestone streets and there was a band playing in the park wich was down the street from the hotel.

Review of Erguvan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Washington, DC
Jul 27, 2007

Great Value and friendly staff

The hotel was having renovations so it looked uninviting from the outside, but once through the door, the service, the lobby and the rooms were all terrific. It was a very moderately priced hotel and the rooms were spacious with hardwood floors and hand woven turkish rugs. The bathrooms are modern with lovely tile. We had 3 rooms so we saw different ones. The one with the double/king bed is the most ample and faces a quiet street out back. The breakfast is on the upper terrace with a view of the water. I would recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top