$134 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 23, 2015 Check-out: Sep 24, 2015

Erguvan Hotel Istanbul

4 stars
View map of Aksakal Cad. No:3 34400 Sultanhamet, Istanbul, 34400

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Erguvan Hotel Istanbul

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
60 out of 60
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Erguvan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Iowa, USA
Jan 3, 2010

Well located for major attractions

Well located for major tourist attractions, shopping and public transportation. Hotel staff very helpful in suggesting restaurants, shopping, and how to use public transport. They arranged transport to and from the airport. Breakfast was very good. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Erguvan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Arun
Family
Birmingham UK
Dec 31, 2009

Rooms

This should not be considered 4 star hotel. I would give only 2 star. Only the reception staff are good. Room service is very bad. We have to ask for shampoo & soaps every evening. In winter only heating is on. Therefore it is very hot. The mosque prayers are heard at around 5 am. So everyone was getting up in the morning. The amount we spent on this hotel we could have got a better deal if we book it separately in a different hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Erguvan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Arun
Family
Birmingham UK
Dec 31, 2009

Rooms

This should not be considered 4 star hotel. I would give only 2 star. Only the reception staff are good. Room service is very bad. We have to ask for shampoo & soaps every evening. In winter only heating is on. Therefore it is very hot. The mosque prayers are heard at around 5 am. So everyone was getting up in the morning. The amount we spent on this hotel we could have got a better deal if we book it separately in a different hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Erguvan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Harken
Couples
Hampshire England
Dec 18, 2009

Realy nice little good value hotel

Really nice little hotel very close to the centre of the old part of the city hence everything was in walking distance. The reception staff were very helpful and the standard of cleanliness was top rate. Mini bar, telephone, air conditioning and television were all provided as was free access to the Internet. Advice and information regarding guided tours, taxis and the like was forthcomming. The only minor negative point was that the dining facilites in the evening was somewhat limited which, as we, like most visitors preferred to "eat out" wasnt a problem. Should we choose to visit Istanbul again, we would have no hesitation in staying at this hotel again. It has our recomendation. G J Kenedy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Be careful of bartering in currency other than the Turkish Lira. Exchange rates get lost in the "heat" of the negotiation. Bargain for everything.

Review of Erguvan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Harken
Couples
Hampshire England
Dec 18, 2009

Realy nice little good value hotel

Really nice little hotel very close to the centre of the old part of the city hence everything was in walking distance. The reception staff were very helpful and the standard of cleanliness was top rate. Mini bar, telephone, air conditioning and television were all provided as was free access to the Internet. Advice and information regarding guided tours, taxis and the like was forthcomming. The only minor negative point was that the dining facilites in the evening was somewhat limited which, as we, like most visitors preferred to "eat out" wasnt a problem. Should we choose to visit Istanbul again, we would have no hesitation in staying at this hotel again. It has our recomendation. G J Kenedy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Be careful of bartering in currency other than the Turkish Lira. Exchange rates get lost in the "heat" of the negotiation. Bargain for everything.

Review of Erguvan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Blue Point, NY
Nov 30, 2009

Disappointed

The hotel did not match the description of the hotel. It is a good location and the staff is friendly. However, I would not describe it as "first class", "boutique", or "monmumental rooms". Even though the hotel was about 1/4 booked during the off season, they assigned me the worst room in the hotel. Specifically, it was the room nearest to the open stairwell, faced a wall view, second floor above the lobby, and construction noise was loud because of the building renovation occurring on the other side of the wall in my room. The bed was twin size. Given that the hotel was not even 1/2 booked, it was not necessary to assign this room to me as nearly any other room would have been a better alternative. Make sure not get room # 11.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Erguvan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nana Nance
Family
Florida
Oct 21, 2009

Charming, comfy & central location!

The hotel front desk staff were super friendly and arranged an airport pick-up and drop-off for all 3 of us and our large bags -- despite our late night arrival. The furnishings are simple, yet tasteful, and rooms are quite clean complete with FREE internet access. We found the breakfast buffet (should be included) served on the roof to be quite filling with an array of fruit, assorted pastries, cereals, olives, meats and cheeses. The BEST thing about this hotel, however, is it's central location (just turn left off of the Saliy Yolu -- main drive along the waterfront) on to Aksakal Cad and proceed up the hill until you reach the universal do-not-enter sign; the hotel is on your right. From the hotel, a 5-10 minute walk up the street will take you to the Blue Mosque and Hippodrome to begin your walking overview of Istanbul. Would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Note that there are typically lines to enter the Aya Sofya and the Blue Mosque. Neither men nor women should wear shorts of leave arms uncovered--although body "wraps" appeared to be available at both locations in addition to plastic bags to hold shoes while touring the mosque. The nearby Underground Cistern charges TL 10/ Euro 6 as an entry fee per person and is worth the price. Then, take a short walk up to the Kapali Carsi (Grand Bazaar) for some shopping and a Durum sandwich/wrap!

Review of Erguvan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
California
Oct 20, 2009

Great location

Great location. Wonderful views from the roof top terrace.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Erguvan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Montreal,QC
Sep 20, 2009

Wonderful Boutique Hotel

The hotel was well-located for the sights of Old Istanbul - just down the hill from the Blue Mosque. The rooms were very nice and well appointed. The roof-top restaurant which was used for breakfast had a superb view of the Bosphorous and the Blue Mosque. We would recommend this to all travelers who want to be in the heart of the old city and get away for the typical huge chain hotel. We arrived early and the staff made a great effort to have our room ready for us in a few minutes depsite a busy time. They also made recommendations regarding sightseeing and dining.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Erguvan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
home from home
Couples
birmingham, UK
Aug 21, 2009

lovely holiday

we had a superb experience, friendly staff, easy access to historical sights, sea view from the terrace, good variety of breakfast food, hotel staff was informative and very helpful, organised tours to places can be booked from the hotel, very clean and maid service was superb, the only drawback is navigating the local streets, need good head for direction can easily get lost in the old parts of the city

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

make sure to remember some landmark before venturing into the neighbourhood

Back to menu Return to top