$61 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 1, 2014 Check-out: Dec 2, 2014

Erguvan Hotel Istanbul

4 stars
Aksakal Cad. No:3 34400 Sultanhamet, Istanbul, 34400
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
53 reviews
Great Hotel

Excellent Hotel, the best we've ever stayed in. Very clean, tidy, quiet and calm. Great views... See full review

  • Hifzur
  • Sep 4, 2013
Location an price

Small nice hotel, centrally location, very nice buffet breakfast, nice staff. Good quality. See full review

  • Madelurod
  • Nov 23, 2014
19th century building houses hotel for 21st century guests
Istanbul’s history surrounds this small hotel. The terrace dining area and some of the rooms offer views of the Bosphorus, the Hippodrome, the Blue Mosque, and many other famous sights. Other nearby attractions include the Grand Bazaar, Topkapi Palace, and the Istanbul Archaeology Museum. The Erguvan Hotel Istanbul’s building dates back to the 19th century. Guests enjoy a blend of modern amenities and classic design. Hotel amenities include complimentary wireless Internet access.
Highlights
  • Terrace dining area overlooks the Hippodrome
  • Walking distance to the Istanbul Archaeology Museum, Blue Mosque, and other sights
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • Elegant lobby greets guests
Rooms
Room decor features handmade furniture in beautiful cherry wood and original artwork. The art is a good introduction for guests to traditional Ottoman crafts. Most rooms feature beautiful patterned wallpapers and bedding that contrasts bright colors with crisp white sheets. Some rooms have views of the Marmara Sea. Room furniture may include seating areas. Other in-room amenities include LCD televisions and air conditioning.
Features
During early summer, the hotel’s namesake tree -- also known as the Judas Tree or European Redbud -- is covered with purple flowers. Inside the 19th-century building, the decor is warm and inviting. The lobby seating area provides a place to relax or wait for friends.

The hotel’s Café Bar and Courtyard is a peaceful place for breakfast or a midday break. In the evening, diners can enjoy a drink on the hotel terrace overlooking the wall of the Hippodrome.

Erguvan Hotel offers complimentary wireless Internet access throughout the property.
Transportation
  • Cankurtaran Train Station (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Eminonu ferry dock (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Istanbul International Ataturk Airport (12.5 mi/20.1 km)
  • Sabiha Gokcen Airport (28.2 mi/45.4 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Istanbul Archaeology Museum (0.3 mi/0.6 km)
  • Blue Mosque (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Cemberlitas Hamam (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Arap Mosque (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Istanbul Modern Museum (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Suleymaniye Mosque and Complex (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Galata Tower (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Ataturk Cultural Center (3.2 mi/5.2 km)
  • Dolmabahce Palace (3.3 mi/5.2 km)
  • Cicek Pasaji (Flower Passage) (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
Business
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access

Hotel Map

41.0036 28.974
Area served
Istanbul, Turkey.sultanahmet old city , behind of the blue mosque
Nearby airports
Istanbul Ataturk Airport is 15km away and shuttle service can be arranged upon request at a surcharge.
Area description
Erguvan Hotel is one of the first class Istanbul Boutique hotels perfectly located in most convenient spot in Istanbul / Turkey surrounded by The Marmara Sea. Tourist attractions such as Ancient Hippodrome and Blue Mosque. This accommodation is just within walking distance to Byzatine and Ottoman monuments location St.Sophia (Ayasofya), Blue Mosque (SultanahmetCamii), Grand Bazar, Topkapi Palace, Hippodrome, Basilica Cistern, Turkish &Islamic Museum,Archaelogic Museum and Old Traditional Baths. And 15 km. away from Istanbul Ataturk Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Erguvan Hotel Istanbul also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Erguvan Hotel Istanbul Rooms

Triple room
One queen size bed and 1 single beds The design and decoration of our rooms have taken into consideration all the needs of our guests. Every room has air-conditioning, minibar, TV with European channels, direct telephone, hairdryer, daily house keeping service, bathtubs, mini bar, insulated from the out side noise, view of the ancient wall of the Hippodrome.
Single room
One queen size bed or 2 twin beds The design and decoration of our rooms have taken into consideration all the needs of our guests. Every room has air-conditioning, minibar, TV with European channels, direct telephone, hairdryer, daily house keeping service, bathtubs, mini bar, insulated from the out side noise, view of the ancient wall of the Hippodrome.
Sea View Room
One queen size bed or 2 twin beds The design and decoration of our rooms have taken into consideration all the needs of our guests. Every room has air-conditioning, minibar, TV with European channels, direct telephone, hairdryer, daily house keeping service, bathtubs, mini bar, insulated from the out side noise, view of the Marmara sea.
Erguvan Junior Suite
One queen size bed and 2 single beds The design and decoration of our rooms have taken into consideration all the needs of our guests. Every room has air-conditioning, minibar, TV with European channels, direct telephone, hairdryer, daily house keeping service, bathtubs, mini bar, insulated from the out side noise, Consonantal room
Standard Room
One queen size bed or 2 twin beds The design and decoration of our rooms have taken into consideration all the needs of our guests. Every room has air-conditioning, minibar, TV with European channels, direct telephone, hairdryer, daily house keeping service, bathtubs, mini bar, insulated from the out side noise, view of the ancient wall of the Hippodrome.

Amenities

  • Free buffet breakfast
  • Free internet
  • Free parking
General
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Free buffet breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Kucuk Ayasofya Camii (Church of the Saints Sergius and Bacchus): 0.1 mi
  • Turkish and Islamic Arts Museum (Turk ve Islam Eserleri Muzesi): 0.2 mi
  • Blue Mosque: 0.2 mi
  • Hagia Sophia: 0.5 mi
  • Turkish and Islamic Arts Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Walls of Constantinople: 0.5 mi
  • Kapali Carsi: 0.6 mi
  • Basilica Cistern: 0.6 mi
  • Archaeology museum: 0.7 mi
  • Istanbul Archaeology Museum (Arkeoloji Muzesi): 0.7 mi
  • Galata Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Fatih Mosque and Complex (Fatih Camii ve Kulliyesi): 0.8 mi
  • Hodjapasha Cultural Center: 0.8 mi
  • Topkapi Palace: 0.8 mi
  • Istanbul University: 0.9 mi
  • Kucuk Ayasofya Camii (Church of the Saints Sergius and Bacchus): 0.1 mi
  • Turkish and Islamic Arts Museum (Turk ve Islam Eserleri Muzesi): 0.2 mi
  • Blue Mosque: 0.2 mi
  • Hagia Sophia: 0.5 mi
  • Turkish and Islamic Arts Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Walls of Constantinople: 0.5 mi
  • Kapali Carsi: 0.6 mi
  • Basilica Cistern: 0.6 mi
  • Archaeology museum: 0.7 mi
  • Istanbul Archaeology Museum (Arkeoloji Muzesi): 0.7 mi
  • Galata Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Fatih Mosque and Complex (Fatih Camii ve Kulliyesi): 0.8 mi
  • Hodjapasha Cultural Center: 0.8 mi
  • Topkapi Palace: 0.8 mi
  • Istanbul University: 0.9 mi
  • Tünel: 1.2 mi
  • Bosphorus Strait: 1.2 mi
  • Miniaturk: 1.2 mi
  • Galata Tower: 1.5 mi
  • Istanbul Modern Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Maiden`s Tower: 1.8 mi
  • Istanbul Modern: 1.9 mi
  • Golden Horn: 2 mi
  • Haydarpaşa Terminal: 2.4 mi
  • Suleymaniye Mosque: 2.5 mi
  • Beyoglu: 2.5 mi
  • Atatürk Cultural Center: 2.7 mi
  • Kariye Museum (The Chora Church): 2.7 mi
  • Dolmabahce Palace: 2.8 mi
  • Spice Market: 2.9 mi
  • Rahmi M. Koc Museum: 3 mi
  • Kadikoy: 3.6 mi
  • Eyup Sultan Mosque (Eyup Sultan Camii): 3.6 mi
  • Yildiz Park: 3.8 mi
  • Ortakoy: 4.1 mi
  • The Bosphorus Bridge: 5 mi
  • Rumeli Hisarı: 6.9 mi
  • Rumeli Fortress: 7.3 mi
  • Sakip Sabanci Museum: 7.8 mi
  • Emirgan Park: 8.3 mi
  • Istanbul Aquarium: 9.6 mi
  • The Princes' Islands: 11.3 mi

Dining

Terrace Rest.
The Erguvan Terrace Restaurant have most Turkish cuisine; barbecue, seasonal salad-fruit- fish and Turkish snack.An outdoor terrace with a seating capacity for 40 people in winter and 95 people in summer. The elegant and refined decor combines Turkish and a more contemporary style.
Breakfast
open buffet ,typical Turkish Breakfast with home made jams, cakes, pastries in our little court or on terrace with its panoramic view overlooking The Blue Mosque, The Marmara Sea and The ancient wall of Hippodrome
Terrace Bar
Our guest have a chance to see the wall of Hipodrom, the oldest historical site in Istanbul, while they are enjoying their drinks on the terrace.You can have a nice little break in Cafe-bar's warm and relaxing atmosphere.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1200
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (53)

Ratings and reviews for Erguvan Hotel Istanbul

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
53 out of 53
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Erguvan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nana Nance
Business
Florida
Oct 21, 2009

Charming, comfy & central location!

The hotel front desk staff were super friendly and arranged an airport pick-up and drop-off for all 3 of us and our large bags -- despite our late night arrival. The furnishings are simple, yet tasteful, and rooms are quite clean complete with FREE internet access. We found the breakfast buffet (should be included) served on the roof to be quite filling with an array of fruit, assorted pastries, cereals, olives, meats and cheeses. The BEST thing about this hotel, however, is it's central location (just turn left off of the Saliy Yolu -- main drive along the waterfront) on to Aksakal Cad and proceed up the hill until you reach the universal do-not-enter sign; the hotel is on your right. From the hotel, a 5-10 minute walk up the street will take you to the Blue Mosque and Hippodrome to begin your walking overview of Istanbul. Would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Note that there are typically lines to enter the Aya Sofya and the Blue Mosque. Neither men nor women should wear shorts of leave arms uncovered--although body "wraps" appeared to be available at both locations in addition to plastic bags to hold shoes while touring the mosque. The nearby Underground Cistern charges TL 10/ Euro 6 as an entry fee per person and is worth the price. Then, take a short walk up to the Kapali Carsi (Grand Bazaar) for some shopping and a Durum sandwich/wrap!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Erguvan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
California
Oct 20, 2009

Great location

Great location. Wonderful views from the roof top terrace.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Erguvan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Montreal,QC
Sep 20, 2009

Wonderful Boutique Hotel

The hotel was well-located for the sights of Old Istanbul - just down the hill from the Blue Mosque. The rooms were very nice and well appointed. The roof-top restaurant which was used for breakfast had a superb view of the Bosphorous and the Blue Mosque. We would recommend this to all travelers who want to be in the heart of the old city and get away for the typical huge chain hotel. We arrived early and the staff made a great effort to have our room ready for us in a few minutes depsite a busy time. They also made recommendations regarding sightseeing and dining.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Erguvan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
home from home
Business
birmingham, UK
Aug 21, 2009

lovely holiday

we had a superb experience, friendly staff, easy access to historical sights, sea view from the terrace, good variety of breakfast food, hotel staff was informative and very helpful, organised tours to places can be booked from the hotel, very clean and maid service was superb, the only drawback is navigating the local streets, need good head for direction can easily get lost in the old parts of the city

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

make sure to remember some landmark before venturing into the neighbourhood

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Erguvan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
elkhart, in
Jul 23, 2009

Stellar location, splendid hotel.

Two strikes against my full-enjoyment there: I was sick (Cairo Stomach Monster) and only had one day/two nights there. But even so I've got nothing but praise for Erguvan -- especially it's proximity to the Blue Mosque, Ayasofya and, Bosphorous Strait and the local tram. I managed to crawl out of my room for a couple hours and even in a very weakened condition could walk to each.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Erguvan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wiesbaden, Germany
Jul 6, 2009

Perfect location for Istanbul sites

Very clean and quiet room with a great view of Blue Mosque, and Hippodrome wall. Even better view on the rooftop restaurant which includes the view of the Marmara Sea. Walking distance to Blue Mosque, Haghia Sofia, Topkapi Palace, Grand Bazaar, Cemberlitas Hamam, Spice Bazaar, and Kumkapi Fish Market. Doy doy restaurant closeby has excellent turkish food. Very friendly hotel staff will give you recommendations for anything you want to visit and do. You'll have a stress-free holiday at Erguvan Hotel. Bathroom is small but clean. I will recommend hotel to all my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Erguvan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lora from MN
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jul 3, 2009

Wonderful Hospitality

I loved this hotel the minute I ste[[ed inside and was greeted by the manager who did everything to make my stay pleasant. Although I got there early in the morning before my room was ready, they invited me to the rooftop restaurant for breakfast, changed a tour booking for me, made sure I knew the walking area, had my luggage in my room before I returned and were all around helpful. I would return mostly because of the service here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

So many hustlers trying to sell carpets. They start conversations on the street and eventually take you to their showrooms. Don't pay more than 50% of their asking price - and that is probably too much. Plan to spend at least 3 hours in a shop negotiating if you want to buy one. I was happy with my carpet purchased at the first carpet shop across from the Hippodrome area when walking from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Erguvan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
The Netherlands
May 10, 2009

Erguvan

- Good Location for all tourist attractions - very friendly staff - poor beds - clean hotel - poor breakfast -

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

use public transport (train/tram) in Istanbul. It is convenient and cheap

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Erguvan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
USAUSA
Business
USA
May 6, 2009

Excellent Location and Price, Nice Hotel

Comfortable, low to reasonable price, great location, great/respectful staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Erguvan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ngls
Business
Greece
Apr 22, 2009

Very good small hotel!

We stayed for 2 nights at Erguvan Hotel. It's a small high quality hotel in Sultanahmet area. It's very near to Hagia Sophia and the Blue Mosque. The breakfast terrace has a beautiful view! Highly recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top