$56 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 31, 2015 Check-out: Feb 1, 2015

Erguvan Hotel Istanbul

4 stars
Aksakal Cad. No:3 34400 Sultanhamet, Istanbul, 34400
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
56 reviews
Exotic City

Great location near the Hippodrome and lots of restaurants. Terrace at top of hotel has great view... See full review

  • Sally
  • Jan 28, 2015
Great Hotel

Excellent Hotel, the best we've ever stayed in. Very clean, tidy, quiet and calm. Great views... See full review

  • Hifzur
  • Sep 4, 2013
19th century building houses hotel for 21st century guests
Istanbul’s history surrounds this small hotel. The terrace dining area and some of the rooms offer views of the Bosphorus, the Hippodrome, the Blue Mosque, and many other famous sights. Other nearby attractions include the Grand Bazaar, Topkapi Palace, and the Istanbul Archaeology Museum. The Erguvan Hotel Istanbul’s building dates back to the 19th century. Guests enjoy a blend of modern amenities and classic design. Hotel amenities include complimentary wireless Internet access.
Highlights
  • Terrace dining area overlooks the Hippodrome
  • Walking distance to the Istanbul Archaeology Museum, Blue Mosque, and other sights
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • Elegant lobby greets guests
Rooms
Room decor features handmade furniture in beautiful cherry wood and original artwork. The art is a good introduction for guests to traditional Ottoman crafts. Most rooms feature beautiful patterned wallpapers and bedding that contrasts bright colors with crisp white sheets. Some rooms have views of the Marmara Sea. Room furniture may include seating areas. Other in-room amenities include LCD televisions and air conditioning.
Features
During early summer, the hotel’s namesake tree -- also known as the Judas Tree or European Redbud -- is covered with purple flowers. Inside the 19th-century building, the decor is warm and inviting. The lobby seating area provides a place to relax or wait for friends.

The hotel’s Café Bar and Courtyard is a peaceful place for breakfast or a midday break. In the evening, diners can enjoy a drink on the hotel terrace overlooking the wall of the Hippodrome.

Erguvan Hotel offers complimentary wireless Internet access throughout the property.
Transportation
  • Cankurtaran Train Station (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Eminonu ferry dock (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Istanbul International Ataturk Airport (12.5 mi/20.1 km)
  • Sabiha Gokcen Airport (28.2 mi/45.4 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Istanbul Archaeology Museum (0.3 mi/0.6 km)
  • Blue Mosque (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Cemberlitas Hamam (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Arap Mosque (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Istanbul Modern Museum (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Suleymaniye Mosque and Complex (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Galata Tower (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Ataturk Cultural Center (3.2 mi/5.2 km)
  • Dolmabahce Palace (3.3 mi/5.2 km)
  • Cicek Pasaji (Flower Passage) (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
Business
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Erguvan Hotel Istanbul also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Erguvan Hotel Istanbul Rooms

Triple room
One queen size bed and 1 single beds The design and decoration of our rooms have taken into consideration all the needs of our guests. Every room has air-conditioning, minibar, TV with European channels, direct telephone, hairdryer, daily house keeping service, bathtubs, mini bar, insulated from the out side noise, view of the ancient wall of the Hippodrome.
Single room
One queen size bed or 2 twin beds The design and decoration of our rooms have taken into consideration all the needs of our guests. Every room has air-conditioning, minibar, TV with European channels, direct telephone, hairdryer, daily house keeping service, bathtubs, mini bar, insulated from the out side noise, view of the ancient wall of the Hippodrome.
Sea View Room
One queen size bed or 2 twin beds The design and decoration of our rooms have taken into consideration all the needs of our guests. Every room has air-conditioning, minibar, TV with European channels, direct telephone, hairdryer, daily house keeping service, bathtubs, mini bar, insulated from the out side noise, view of the Marmara sea.
Erguvan Junior Suite
One queen size bed and 2 single beds The design and decoration of our rooms have taken into consideration all the needs of our guests. Every room has air-conditioning, minibar, TV with European channels, direct telephone, hairdryer, daily house keeping service, bathtubs, mini bar, insulated from the out side noise, Consonantal room
Standard Room
One queen size bed or 2 twin beds The design and decoration of our rooms have taken into consideration all the needs of our guests. Every room has air-conditioning, minibar, TV with European channels, direct telephone, hairdryer, daily house keeping service, bathtubs, mini bar, insulated from the out side noise, view of the ancient wall of the Hippodrome.

Amenities

  • Free buffet breakfast
  • Free internet
  • Free parking
General
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Free buffet breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Kucuk Ayasofya Camii (Church of the Saints Sergius and Bacchus): 0.1 mi
  • Turkish and Islamic Arts Museum (Turk ve Islam Eserleri Muzesi): 0.2 mi
  • Blue Mosque: 0.2 mi
  • Hagia Sophia: 0.5 mi
  • Turkish and Islamic Arts Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Walls of Constantinople: 0.5 mi
  • Kapali Carsi: 0.6 mi
  • Basilica Cistern: 0.6 mi
  • Archaeology museum: 0.7 mi
  • Istanbul Archaeology Museum (Arkeoloji Muzesi): 0.7 mi
  • Galata Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Fatih Mosque and Complex (Fatih Camii ve Kulliyesi): 0.8 mi
  • Hodjapasha Cultural Center: 0.8 mi
  • Topkapi Palace: 0.8 mi
  • Istanbul University: 0.9 mi
  • Kucuk Ayasofya Camii (Church of the Saints Sergius and Bacchus): 0.1 mi
  • Turkish and Islamic Arts Museum (Turk ve Islam Eserleri Muzesi): 0.2 mi
  • Blue Mosque: 0.2 mi
  • Hagia Sophia: 0.5 mi
  • Turkish and Islamic Arts Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Walls of Constantinople: 0.5 mi
  • Kapali Carsi: 0.6 mi
  • Basilica Cistern: 0.6 mi
  • Archaeology museum: 0.7 mi
  • Istanbul Archaeology Museum (Arkeoloji Muzesi): 0.7 mi
  • Galata Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Fatih Mosque and Complex (Fatih Camii ve Kulliyesi): 0.8 mi
  • Hodjapasha Cultural Center: 0.8 mi
  • Topkapi Palace: 0.8 mi
  • Istanbul University: 0.9 mi
  • Tünel: 1.2 mi
  • Bosphorus Strait: 1.2 mi
  • Miniaturk: 1.2 mi
  • Galata Tower: 1.5 mi
  • Istanbul Modern Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Maiden`s Tower: 1.8 mi
  • Istanbul Modern: 1.9 mi
  • Golden Horn: 2 mi
  • Haydarpaşa Terminal: 2.4 mi
  • Suleymaniye Mosque: 2.5 mi
  • Beyoglu: 2.5 mi
  • Atatürk Cultural Center: 2.7 mi
  • Kariye Museum (The Chora Church): 2.7 mi
  • Dolmabahce Palace: 2.8 mi
  • Spice Market: 2.9 mi
  • Rahmi M. Koc Museum: 3 mi
  • Kadikoy: 3.6 mi
  • Eyup Sultan Mosque (Eyup Sultan Camii): 3.6 mi
  • Yildiz Park: 3.8 mi
  • Ortakoy: 4.1 mi
  • The Bosphorus Bridge: 5 mi
  • Rumeli Hisarı: 6.9 mi
  • Rumeli Fortress: 7.3 mi
  • Sakip Sabanci Museum: 7.8 mi
  • Emirgan Park: 8.3 mi
  • Istanbul Aquarium: 9.6 mi
  • The Princes' Islands: 11.3 mi

Dining

Terrace Rest.
The Erguvan Terrace Restaurant have most Turkish cuisine; barbecue, seasonal salad-fruit- fish and Turkish snack.An outdoor terrace with a seating capacity for 40 people in winter and 95 people in summer. The elegant and refined decor combines Turkish and a more contemporary style.
Breakfast
open buffet ,typical Turkish Breakfast with home made jams, cakes, pastries in our little court or on terrace with its panoramic view overlooking The Blue Mosque, The Marmara Sea and The ancient wall of Hippodrome
Terrace Bar
Our guest have a chance to see the wall of Hipodrom, the oldest historical site in Istanbul, while they are enjoying their drinks on the terrace.You can have a nice little break in Cafe-bar's warm and relaxing atmosphere.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1200
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (56)

Ratings and reviews for Erguvan Hotel Istanbul

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
56 out of 56
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Erguvan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AlexNYC
Business
NYC
Mar 8, 2013

Great location

The staff here was fantastic and very accommodating. Also, great location - about a 2 minute walk to the Blue Mosque. On a quiet side street so traffic noise was not an issue. Great view of the city in the breakfast room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Erguvan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Inspector Gadget's Mentor
Business
USA
Mar 5, 2013

not four star:(

Fair but surely not at four star quality; however, it is still stay-able..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Erguvan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ajja
Business
London
Mar 4, 2013

Fantastic single getaway

Pre booked pick up was prompt. Guidance for tourist attractions were to the point supported by a local map. Assistance for booking tours was very helpful. Breakfast was simple with variety and tasty. Guidance regarding outside eating very helpful. Recommend any one who wants a quiet holiday.a

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Safe and secured locality

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Erguvan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mustafa.Crumb
Business
Fethiye Turkey
Mar 2, 2013

A Week in comfort

Since the first day I arrived I was pleasently welcomed into the hotel were we were given a spacious twin beded room which was clean and quite from the outsdide world of istanbul. The Breakfast was outstanding every morning we were there. We would also like to thank the hotel hostess Mine Yavuz who was very friendly and helpfull when it came to giving us tour information from directions and places of historical interest and also Resteraunts in the local Sultan Hamhet area. I would easily recommend the Erguven Hotel to anyone who was visiting Istanbul. Chris Martin and Betty Martin

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Erguvan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr P
Business
UK
Feb 26, 2013

A good hotel in a good location

Good value for money, very conveniently located and quiet. We did have a inner courtyard facing room but the adjacent roads didn't seem that busy anyway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

It's fairly obvious but avoid cafes in the street immediately around the Tokapi Palace. Go a little further away and prices drop considerably.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Erguvan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lina N.
Business
Dublin
Feb 21, 2013

Great

Overall very good, location excellent, only a few minutes from the Hippodrome and Blue Mosque and other sightseeings..., the roofterrace -lovely, the breakfast - quite good, the staff- friendly and helpful in guiding u around, room service was everyday, towels changed, the only thing that I didn't like was that we were a couple and got a room with 2 separate beds. The hotel itself is nice and very well located.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a small bazaar - Arista Bazaar good for souveniers just a few minutes away from the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Erguvan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hisham Warda
Business
Egypt
Jan 28, 2013

Great hotel,great staff

This hotel I would recommend for everyone . The staff is really nice ,they were very helpful. I really had fun in this hotel and I would like to thank the staff cigdem , Murat and eyub for their extraordinary efforts to make us feel welcomed. They really know what they are doing I felt at home during my stay.I will definitely come back Thank you very much Hisham Warda

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Erguvan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Meczch
Business
Saugatuck,Michigan
Dec 1, 2012

Great location

Short walk to the Blue Mosque....a great view of which can be seen from the roof terrace of the hotel...the hotel borders a portion of the original Hippodrome foundation, dating back to the first century AD! Nice restaruarants and shops located nearby, but a bit of a longer walk takes you to the Grand Bazaar. A taxi stand nearly next door affords one of inexpensive trips to other sites farther afield. Recommend this hotel higlyly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Seafood restaurants in this city abound and shoujld not be missed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Erguvan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Four Irish Girls
Business
Ireland
Oct 15, 2012

Excellent location, Superior Staff

I stayed at this hotel recently with three friends, and we all loved staying at Erguvan. The location was perfect, our rooms were cleaned everyday and the staff were so friendly and went out of their way to make our stay in Istanbul memorable. We would recommend this hotel to everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Erguvan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jeti
Business
Budapest, Hungary
Oct 3, 2011

Don't expect anything extraordinary

For a four-star hotel as Erguvan was advertised on your website, I had a small room with an extremely small bathroom with a tiny shower in it. Out of the 5 nights I spent here, I had no hot running water on two nights. No special amenities that you would expect from a four star hotel except the magnificent view from the breakfast area on the top floor. So don't expect anything extraordinary and you'll be fine. I won't stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top