$48 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 22, 2014 Check-out: Jul 23, 2014

Deniz Houses

3 stars
k.ayasofya cad.Cayiroglu sok.No.14, Sultanahmet, Istanbul, 34400
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
22 reviews
holiday

very good, friendly staff. breakfast was lovely and very generous. the cook was very nice. shame... See full review

  • aigj678w
  • Jul 4, 2013
lovely view of the ocean.

the staff was friendly with a beautiful view of the hotel. the room was clean and comfortable. the... See full review

  • sam pherwani
  • Mar 8, 2013
Deniz Houses, formerly Deniz Konak Hotel, consisted of 2 buildings located in the guite and central part of Sultanahmet with a walking distance to the city's major highlights. The buildings are only 20 meters away from each other and both contain private ensuite rooms with same type of facilities. All rooms have parquet (hardwood) flooring and showers and are equipped with individually controlled air-conditioning, double glazed windows, mini bar, hair dryer, TV and telephone by your bed side. Some rooms look over The Sea of Marmara and the others over a nice and quite street. The hotel boasts 27 comfortable, stone-faced rooms on four floors reached by stairs (no elevator/lift).All rooms have lcd-screen plasma television sets (most channels in Turkish, three in English, one in French, one in German), individually-controllable air-conditioning units and peepholes in the doors, a plus for safety-conscious female travelers. The rooms' decent size is another precious asset in this crowded city. The Deniz Houses cosy rooftop breakfast room looks out towards the Sea of Marmara. Its small open-air terrace has views of the Blue Mosque and the Kk Ayasofya Mosque which is just down the street from the hotel. The Hotel also provides Concierge, Internet access - Wireless, Laundry service, Non-smoking rooms, Reception, Room service, Safe deposit box and Tour desk National Rating ; This property does not have a Turkey Ministry of Tourism rating. For the benefit of our customers, we have provided a rating based on our rating system.

Hotel Map

41.0026 28.9741
Area served
Istanbul.
Nearby airports
Ataturk airport or Sabiha Gokcen International airport.
Area description
The hotel is located in a residential area and at a walking distance to the Blue Mosque,St Sophia Museum,Topkapi Palace and Grand Bazaar. Relax once you are off for the day the day in your room overlooking the splendid view of Marmara Sea.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Deniz Houses also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Deniz Houses Rooms

Standard Single room
This room offers one single bed with A/C, Cable/Satellite Tv, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms and Telephone.
Standard Double/Twin room
This room offers one double bed and one twin bed with A/C, Cable/Satellite Tv, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms and Telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
General
Concierge
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle

Nearby points of interest

  • Kucuk Ayasofya Camii (Church of the Saints Sergius and Bacchus): 0.1 mi
  • Turkish and Islamic Arts Museum (Turk ve Islam Eserleri Muzesi): 0.3 mi
  • Blue Mosque: 0.3 mi
  • Hagia Sophia: 0.5 mi
  • Grand Bazaar: 0.6 mi
  • Walls of Constantinople: 0.6 mi
  • Kapali Carsi: 0.7 mi
  • Basilica Cistern: 0.7 mi
  • Archaeology museum: 0.7 mi
  • Istanbul Archaeology Museum (Arkeoloji Muzesi): 0.7 mi
  • Fatih Mosque and Complex (Fatih Camii ve Kulliyesi): 0.8 mi
  • Galata Bridge: 0.8 mi
  • Hodjapasha Cultural Center: 0.9 mi
  • Topkapi Palace: 0.9 mi
  • Istanbul University: 0.9 mi
  • Kucuk Ayasofya Camii (Church of the Saints Sergius and Bacchus): 0.1 mi
  • Turkish and Islamic Arts Museum (Turk ve Islam Eserleri Muzesi): 0.3 mi
  • Blue Mosque: 0.3 mi
  • Hagia Sophia: 0.5 mi
  • Grand Bazaar: 0.6 mi
  • Walls of Constantinople: 0.6 mi
  • Kapali Carsi: 0.7 mi
  • Basilica Cistern: 0.7 mi
  • Archaeology museum: 0.7 mi
  • Istanbul Archaeology Museum (Arkeoloji Muzesi): 0.7 mi
  • Fatih Mosque and Complex (Fatih Camii ve Kulliyesi): 0.8 mi
  • Galata Bridge: 0.8 mi
  • Hodjapasha Cultural Center: 0.9 mi
  • Topkapi Palace: 0.9 mi
  • Istanbul University: 0.9 mi
  • Bosphorus Strait: 1.2 mi
  • Tünel: 1.2 mi
  • Miniaturk: 1.3 mi
  • Galata Tower: 1.6 mi
  • Istanbul Modern Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Maiden`s Tower: 1.8 mi
  • Istanbul Modern: 1.9 mi
  • Golden Horn: 2 mi
  • Haydarpaşa Terminal: 2.4 mi
  • Suleymaniye Mosque: 2.6 mi
  • Beyoglu: 2.6 mi
  • Kariye Museum (The Chora Church): 2.7 mi
  • Atatürk Cultural Center: 2.7 mi
  • Dolmabahce Palace: 2.9 mi
  • Spice Market: 2.9 mi
  • Rahmi M. Koc Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Kadikoy: 3.5 mi
  • Eyup Sultan Mosque (Eyup Sultan Camii): 3.7 mi
  • Yildiz Park: 3.9 mi
  • Ortakoy: 4.1 mi
  • The Bosphorus Bridge: 5 mi
  • Rumeli Hisarı: 7 mi
  • Rumeli Fortress: 7.3 mi
  • Sakip Sabanci Museum: 7.9 mi
  • Emirgan Park: 8.4 mi
  • Istanbul Aquarium: 9.6 mi
  • The Princes' Islands: 11.3 mi

Dining

Restaurant
Only continental type of a rich menu open buffet breakfast served and the cost is included in the room price. No lunch or dinner service.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1200
Check-out:
1030

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (22)

Ratings and reviews for Deniz Houses

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 22
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.7

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Deniz Houses

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
G y Ar
Mx
Jul 8, 2014

Holidays

I stayed here with my couple and the location is excelent. If you want to get to visit the principal historical landmarks and enjoy a traditional experience in Istanbul, this is a fine place to stay. The breakfast was ok, but it could get better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

If you want to have some fish for dinner, beware of the restaurants under the bridge at Eminonu. The zone was recommended by some of the local people, and it might be a good place to eat, but we did not speak turkish and the waiters there try to charge as most as they can for everything (bread, water, service, etc.). Maybe you can try on the Egyptian Bazaar.

Review of Deniz Houses

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Charley and Laura
Santa Cruz, California
May 21, 2014

Great location, excellent service, lovely buffet, nice room!

We stayed at Deniz Houses for the first 3 nights of our Turkey travels. So close to everything. If you are not staying in this district of Istanbul, you will be wasting time and money traveling to and from. The location allowed us to return to our room and rest from jet lag so we could easily and quickly go back out! Clean room and facilities. We chose the sea view which was great. Some current port construction going on 24/7 but we would stay here again even with this. VERY helpful staff. Felt very safe at all times of day/night. We absolutely recommend the Deniz Houses! ~Charley and Laura, AVENTURAS LANGUAGES

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Do the Blue Mosque and Sofia Mosque. The Cistern was the best surprise and a must! Watch out for the carpet sales! They will do anything to get you in the shop, then offer a "tea" under the guises of warm cultural traditions. Know what you are getting into...almost like a time share operation! There are a few shops of different items that are prices marked which we preferred.

Review of Deniz Houses

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sam pherwani
toronto, canada
Mar 8, 2013

lovely view of the ocean.

the staff was friendly with a beautiful view of the hotel. the room was clean and comfortable. the only thing was there was not one english speaking tv channel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Deniz Houses

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jo and My Zhyna
Augusta, Georgia
Dec 18, 2012

Outstanding Vacation

The Staff and the location was great. I will be going back next summer. This trip should be added on anyone's Bucket List

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Deniz Houses

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nerherlander Travelers
New Orleans, LA, USA
Jun 8, 2012

Great ambience!

Excellent hotel for the money! Our room was clean, and away from the noisy train (we were on the non water side) Our room was quaint, everything worked, staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was okay selections not as varied, but for the money it was great value. We were close to all the major attractions, signed up for a few of the tours and found a place to have a great massage. You will not go wrong booking this hotel. It was a classy act for very little money!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Deniz Houses

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nerherlander Travelers
New Orleans, LA, USA
Feb 25, 2012

Fabulous Stay!

It looks exactly what is shown in the photo; only better. The room was nicely appointed, spacious enough for two people, everything is clean and the housekeeping great. Bed was a little hard, yet okay.. We had a corner room on the street side which was relatively quiet For the price everything was really fabulous. Breakfast was typical Istanbul: several types of olives, raisins, cereal, yogurt, boiled eggs, cake, cookies, delicious breads and jellies, a tasty baked cheesy potato dish, wieners, pastries, deviled eggs, apricots, sliced oranges and tomatoes, apples, oranges, coffee, tea, milk and juices in a rooftop setting over looking the sea. . Breakfast starts at 8 and lasts until 10. The hotel is close to all the major attractions, the staff very friendly. We took advantage of a couple of tours, the Bosphorus tour and the Dervish attraction, also a ride from the airport and massages one night. The massages were at the Royal Orca hotel, but we will probably not go back, though it looks like it is a great place for exercising and enjoying the saunas. Spent time at the archaelogical museum, visited Topkapi and the Blue Mosque. We even went to a mall after taking the Bagcilar tram to the outskirts. I brought home some great Turkish towels found in the Grand Bazaar and we ate at a bunch of wonderful restaurants including the Hippodrome right around the corner from our hotel. All in all, it was a wonderful stay. for a fantastic price that included breakfast. I highly recommend this hotel and when we go back, we will stay there again. We had no trouble with locals hawking their wares. Mainly we ignored them, not talking at all and they quickly got the message and went away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit the Hippodrome Restaurant wight around the corner---you will not be disappointed. Don't buy the tourist Turkish teas for sale everywhere. They are awful and taste nothing like what is described on the box. We bought four (apple, strawberry, pineapple and lemon) and left them all there. We did get some teas in the supermarket outside the touristy areas that were palatable.

Review of Deniz Houses

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lahore, Pakistan
Dec 28, 2010

Enjoyed our stay

This hotel is located in the heart of Sultanahmet, where all the major historical attractions such as the Blue Mosque are located. Our room was tiny but comfortable. Breakfast was a meal to look forward to. Would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Deniz Houses

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lahore, Pakistan
Dec 28, 2010

Enjoyed our stay

This hotel is located in the heart of Sultanahmet, where all the major historical attractions such as the Blue Mosque are located. Our room was tiny but comfortable. Breakfast was a meal to look forward to. Would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Deniz Houses

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Oakville Ontario Canada
Oct 3, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

Clean rooms, freindly staff, good breakfast, excellent location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Deniz Houses

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Oakville Ontario Canada
Oct 3, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

Clean rooms, freindly staff, good breakfast, excellent location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top