$27 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 20, 2014 Check-out: Dec 21, 2014

Deniz Houses

3 stars
k.ayasofya cad.Cayiroglu sok.No.14, Sultanahmet, Istanbul, 34400
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
23 reviews
excellent

excellent place to stay in Istanbul. The staff is wiling to help you all the time See full review

  • Juan Reales Vera
  • Nov 14, 2014
holiday

very good, friendly staff. breakfast was lovely and very generous. the cook was very nice. shame... See full review

  • aigj678w
  • Jul 4, 2013
Deniz Houses, formerly Deniz Konak Hotel, consisted of 2 buildings located in the guite and central part of Sultanahmet with a walking distance to the city's major highlights. The buildings are only 20 meters away from each other and both contain private ensuite rooms with same type of facilities. All rooms have parquet (hardwood) flooring and showers and are equipped with individually controlled air-conditioning, double glazed windows, mini bar, hair dryer, TV and telephone by your bed side. Some rooms look over The Sea of Marmara and the others over a nice and quite street. The hotel boasts 27 comfortable, stone-faced rooms on four floors reached by stairs (no elevator/lift).All rooms have lcd-screen plasma television sets (most channels in Turkish, three in English, one in French, one in German), individually-controllable air-conditioning units and peepholes in the doors, a plus for safety-conscious female travelers. The rooms' decent size is another precious asset in this crowded city. The Deniz Houses cosy rooftop breakfast room looks out towards the Sea of Marmara. Its small open-air terrace has views of the Blue Mosque and the Kk Ayasofya Mosque which is just down the street from the hotel. The Hotel also provides Concierge, Internet access - Wireless, Laundry service, Non-smoking rooms, Reception, Room service, Safe deposit box and Tour desk National Rating ; This property does not have a Turkey Ministry of Tourism rating. For the benefit of our customers, we have provided a rating based on our rating system.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Deniz Houses also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Deniz Houses Rooms

Standard Single room
This room offers one single bed with A/C, Cable/Satellite Tv, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms and Telephone.
Standard Double/Twin room
This room offers one double bed and one twin bed with A/C, Cable/Satellite Tv, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms and Telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
General
Concierge
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle

Nearby points of interest

  • Kucuk Ayasofya Camii (Church of the Saints Sergius and Bacchus): 0.1 mi
  • Turkish and Islamic Arts Museum (Turk ve Islam Eserleri Muzesi): 0.3 mi
  • Blue Mosque: 0.3 mi
  • Hagia Sophia: 0.5 mi
  • Turkish and Islamic Arts Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Walls of Constantinople: 0.6 mi
  • Kapali Carsi: 0.7 mi
  • Basilica Cistern: 0.7 mi
  • Archaeology museum: 0.7 mi
  • Istanbul Archaeology Museum (Arkeoloji Muzesi): 0.7 mi
  • Fatih Mosque and Complex (Fatih Camii ve Kulliyesi): 0.8 mi
  • Galata Bridge: 0.8 mi
  • Hodjapasha Cultural Center: 0.9 mi
  • Topkapi Palace: 0.9 mi
  • Istanbul University: 0.9 mi
  • Kucuk Ayasofya Camii (Church of the Saints Sergius and Bacchus): 0.1 mi
  • Turkish and Islamic Arts Museum (Turk ve Islam Eserleri Muzesi): 0.3 mi
  • Blue Mosque: 0.3 mi
  • Hagia Sophia: 0.5 mi
  • Turkish and Islamic Arts Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Walls of Constantinople: 0.6 mi
  • Kapali Carsi: 0.7 mi
  • Basilica Cistern: 0.7 mi
  • Archaeology museum: 0.7 mi
  • Istanbul Archaeology Museum (Arkeoloji Muzesi): 0.7 mi
  • Fatih Mosque and Complex (Fatih Camii ve Kulliyesi): 0.8 mi
  • Galata Bridge: 0.8 mi
  • Hodjapasha Cultural Center: 0.9 mi
  • Topkapi Palace: 0.9 mi
  • Istanbul University: 0.9 mi
  • Bosphorus Strait: 1.2 mi
  • Tünel: 1.2 mi
  • Miniaturk: 1.3 mi
  • Galata Tower: 1.6 mi
  • Istanbul Modern Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Maiden`s Tower: 1.8 mi
  • Istanbul Modern: 1.9 mi
  • Golden Horn: 2 mi
  • Haydarpaşa Terminal: 2.4 mi
  • Suleymaniye Mosque: 2.6 mi
  • Beyoglu: 2.6 mi
  • Kariye Museum (The Chora Church): 2.7 mi
  • Atatürk Cultural Center: 2.7 mi
  • Dolmabahce Palace: 2.9 mi
  • Spice Market: 2.9 mi
  • Rahmi M. Koc Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Kadikoy: 3.5 mi
  • Eyup Sultan Mosque (Eyup Sultan Camii): 3.7 mi
  • Yildiz Park: 3.9 mi
  • Ortakoy: 4.1 mi
  • The Bosphorus Bridge: 5 mi
  • Rumeli Hisarı: 7 mi
  • Rumeli Fortress: 7.3 mi
  • Sakip Sabanci Museum: 7.9 mi
  • Emirgan Park: 8.4 mi
  • Istanbul Aquarium: 9.6 mi
  • The Princes' Islands: 11.3 mi

Dining

Restaurant
Only continental type of a rich menu open buffet breakfast served and the cost is included in the room price. No lunch or dinner service.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1200
Check-out:
1030

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (23)

Ratings and reviews for Deniz Houses

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
23 out of 23
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Deniz Houses

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Traveler Lori
Business
Kabul, Afganistan
Sep 1, 2012

Never, again

I had heard about everyone is trying to scam you here in Instanbul. I would have never suspected even the hotel was going to. The hotel shuttle was pleasant enough, a private van when all I needed was a taxi but upon arriving they asked question about when I would need another shuttle then after the conversion from euros to lira I needed to pay them 190 lira. Thats almost 100 bucks. Turns out I could have gotten a shuttle to the other airport for 15 euros right around the corner. The room's windows and doors dont shut properly and I can hear the train like it's 5 feet away. The view is nice and it is walking distance to city center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Deniz Houses

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Abu Islam
Business
Vigo, Spain
Sep 14, 2014

Excelent location

Excellent location hotel in the middle of the ancient area. But, First the hotel photo view you see on the website is for the good location hotel, Because when you see the hotel photos you see the first hotel building photos with good view on Marmara see. But when you arrive to the hotel, you will be surprised that they will host you in another building behind the hotel with no view and rooms underground. Second When you book and choose the hotel includes Airport Shuttle service you will be having an impression that the Airport Shuttle is free, But after booking you will be surprised that the Airport Shuttle not free and you have to pay 25 Euros for one way Airport Shuttle service and 50 Euros for round trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Historical areas.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Deniz Houses

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveler Lori
Business
Kabul, Afganistan
Sep 6, 2012

Good but not great

The hotel staff were very nice, the breakfast menu had more choices than usual for a European B&B but not varied from day to day. The food and produce were excellent. The room was tiny and almost as large as the bath. The view was beautiful from the balcony but the constant train was annoying(bring earplugs. Walking distance to everything and I felt very safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Bring an immersion heater and mug. I like to have coffee in the early morning while getting ready. There was only a small fridge in the room. I was able to buy bread, cheese and fruit to have small picnics across the street. I kept a couple boiled eggs everyday from breakfast to have as a snack.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Deniz Houses

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
YAH1
Business
UK
Oct 23, 2014

Location Great - Quality and VALUE

Location is excellent - hotel rooms are clean and well maintained - simply furnished - staff are pleasant and knowledgeable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Deniz Houses

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Robert77
Business
Switzerland
Jul 24, 2012

Nice location, good value, very kind staff!

As described on the hotel website within walking distance to the hagia sophia, hippodrom, blue mosque and a short ride with public transport system to the grand baazar, also to the modern side of the city with the galata tower and so on... I stayed at the deniz houses b, nice clean room, enough space for one person, a/c and tv working well, western style bathroom with toilet. shower and a small sink, room service every day Went to the breakfast just once, was just to early for me :-) but with just 15 minutes left there was enough left on the buffett, nice black tea, coffee and local food like olives, cheese and sweets! I can recommend this hotel very much and the next time i'm coming to istanbul i will stay there again for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Deniz Houses

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jo and My Zhyna
Business
Augusta, Georgia
Dec 18, 2012

Outstanding Vacation

The Staff and the location was great. I will be going back next summer. This trip should be added on anyone's Bucket List

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Deniz Houses

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HMarie
Business
Ann Arbor, MI
Jun 4, 2013

Lovely small hotel in Sultanahmet

This hotel is everything I needed as a woman travelling alone - helpful staff, full breakfast with outdoor terrace, 24 hour front desk, coffee and tea available at any time on the top floor, etc. Though a bit difficult to locate, it is a beautiful old building overlooking the sea, in a relatively quiet corner of Sultanahmet. Within a mile of the Blue Mosque, Aya Sophia, Topkapi Palace and the Archaeology Museum. Dining and shopping nearby. The room was small but cozy, with private bathroom and in-room mini-fridge. Note that there is no elevator for this hotel, and ceilings (especially door frames) are quite low. I had no problems as a 5' 8" woman, but I can imagine wanting to be careful if I were any taller. Great experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Deniz Houses

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
michalg
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Jan 12, 2014

Excellent hub for sightseeing

My sister and I visited Istanbul for 4 nights (3 full days). We intended on only using the hotel for breakfast and sleeping. And this hotel was perfect for it! Location is less than 10 minutes from Blue Mosque. You can take the metro/tramway to the hotel (with only one transfer). My only complaints are the room I had was tiny. Besides the bed, not much else in the room (had difficulty fitting luggage in, sort of).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the M1 and T1 rail/tram lines to get to the hotel from the airport. Will save you a decent amount of money over shuttle/taxi.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Deniz Houses

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Orange22
Business
Kentucky
Feb 3, 2014

Single female traveler

I had a wonderful stay at Deniz Houses! The location, staff, and breakfast was terrific! I would return :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Deniz Houses

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Orange22
Business
Kentucky
Feb 3, 2014

coming back

Great location. Felt safe and respected at this hotel as a female single traveler.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top