$49 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 16, 2014 Check-out: Apr 17, 2014

Deniz Houses

3 stars
k.ayasofya cad.Cayiroglu sok.No.14, Sultanahmet, Istanbul, 34400
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
17 reviews
holiday

very good, friendly staff. breakfast was lovely and very generous. the cook was very nice. shame... See full review

  • aigj678w
  • Jul 4, 2013
lovely view of the ocean.

the staff was friendly with a beautiful view of the hotel. the room was clean and comfortable. the... See full review

  • sam pherwani
  • Mar 8, 2013
Deniz Houses, formerly Deniz Konak Hotel, consisted of 2 buildings located in the guite and central part of Sultanahmet with a walking distance to the city's major highlights. The buildings are only 20 meters away from each other and both contain private ensuite rooms with same type of facilities. All rooms have parquet (hardwood) flooring and showers and are equipped with individually controlled air-conditioning, double glazed windows, mini bar, hair dryer, TV and telephone by your bed side. Some rooms look over The Sea of Marmara and the others over a nice and quite street. The hotel boasts 27 comfortable, stone-faced rooms on four floors reached by stairs (no elevator/lift).All rooms have lcd-screen plasma television sets (most channels in Turkish, three in English, one in French, one in German), individually-controllable air-conditioning units and peepholes in the doors, a plus for safety-conscious female travelers. The rooms' decent size is another precious asset in this crowded city. The Deniz Houses cosy rooftop breakfast room looks out towards the Sea of Marmara. Its small open-air terrace has views of the Blue Mosque and the Kk Ayasofya Mosque which is just down the street from the hotel. The Hotel also provides Concierge, Internet access - Wireless, Laundry service, Non-smoking rooms, Reception, Room service, Safe deposit box and Tour desk National Rating ; This property does not have a Turkey Ministry of Tourism rating. For the benefit of our customers, we have provided a rating based on our rating system.

Deniz Houses Rooms

Standard Single room
This room offers one single bed with A/C, Cable/Satellite Tv, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms and Telephone.
Standard Double/Twin room
This room offers one double bed and one twin bed with A/C, Cable/Satellite Tv, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms and Telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
General
Concierge
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Deniz Houses also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.0026 28.9741
Area served
Istanbul.
Nearby airports
Ataturk airport or Sabiha Gokcen International airport.
Area description
The hotel is located in a residential area and at a walking distance to the Blue Mosque,St Sophia Museum,Topkapi Palace and Grand Bazaar. Relax once you are off for the day the day in your room overlooking the splendid view of Marmara Sea.

Nearby points of interest

  • Kucuk Ayasofya Camii (Church of the Saints Sergius and Bacchus): 0.1 mi
  • Turkish and Islamic Arts Museum (Turk ve Islam Eserleri Muzesi): 0.3 mi
  • Blue Mosque: 0.3 mi
  • Hagia Sophia: 0.5 mi
  • Grand Bazaar: 0.6 mi
  • Walls of Constantinople: 0.6 mi
  • Kapali Carsi: 0.7 mi
  • Basilica Cistern: 0.7 mi
  • Archaeology museum: 0.7 mi
  • Istanbul Archaeology Museum (Arkeoloji Muzesi): 0.7 mi
  • Fatih Mosque and Complex (Fatih Camii ve Kulliyesi): 0.8 mi
  • Galata Bridge: 0.8 mi
  • Hodjapasha Cultural Center: 0.9 mi
  • Topkapi Palace: 0.9 mi
  • Istanbul University: 0.9 mi
  • Kucuk Ayasofya Camii (Church of the Saints Sergius and Bacchus): 0.1 mi
  • Turkish and Islamic Arts Museum (Turk ve Islam Eserleri Muzesi): 0.3 mi
  • Blue Mosque: 0.3 mi
  • Hagia Sophia: 0.5 mi
  • Grand Bazaar: 0.6 mi
  • Walls of Constantinople: 0.6 mi
  • Kapali Carsi: 0.7 mi
  • Basilica Cistern: 0.7 mi
  • Archaeology museum: 0.7 mi
  • Istanbul Archaeology Museum (Arkeoloji Muzesi): 0.7 mi
  • Fatih Mosque and Complex (Fatih Camii ve Kulliyesi): 0.8 mi
  • Galata Bridge: 0.8 mi
  • Hodjapasha Cultural Center: 0.9 mi
  • Topkapi Palace: 0.9 mi
  • Istanbul University: 0.9 mi
  • Bosphorus Strait: 1.2 mi
  • Tünel: 1.2 mi
  • Miniaturk: 1.3 mi
  • Galata Tower: 1.6 mi
  • Istanbul Modern Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Maiden`s Tower: 1.8 mi
  • Istanbul Modern: 1.9 mi
  • Golden Horn: 2 mi
  • Haydarpaşa Terminal: 2.4 mi
  • Suleymaniye Mosque: 2.6 mi
  • Beyoglu: 2.6 mi
  • Kariye Museum (The Chora Church): 2.7 mi
  • Atatürk Cultural Center: 2.7 mi
  • Dolmabahce Palace: 2.9 mi
  • Spice Market: 2.9 mi
  • Rahmi M. Koc Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Kadikoy: 3.5 mi
  • Eyup Sultan Mosque (Eyup Sultan Camii): 3.7 mi
  • Yildiz Park: 3.9 mi
  • Ortakoy: 4.1 mi
  • The Bosphorus Bridge: 5 mi
  • Rumeli Hisarı: 7 mi
  • Rumeli Fortress: 7.3 mi
  • Sakip Sabanci Museum: 7.9 mi
  • Emirgan Park: 8.4 mi
  • Istanbul Aquarium: 9.6 mi
  • The Princes' Islands: 11.3 mi

Dining

Restaurant
Only continental type of a rich menu open buffet breakfast served and the cost is included in the room price. No lunch or dinner service.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1200
Check-out:
1030

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (17)

Ratings and reviews for Deniz Houses

Overall score

4.2 / 5
17 out of 17
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Deniz Houses

Reviewer score

5
6'9 zoodha
virginia
Dec 28, 2012

a holiday get away

the view of the city was good and the restuarants was great along with experience the culture in Istanbul.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Talk to locals for your desires.

Review of Deniz Houses

Reviewer score

4
Orange22
Kentucky
Feb 3, 2014

Single female traveler

I had a wonderful stay at Deniz Houses! The location, staff, and breakfast was terrific! I would return :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Deniz Houses

Reviewer score

4
Orange22
Kentucky
Feb 3, 2014

coming back

Great location. Felt safe and respected at this hotel as a female single traveler.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Deniz Houses

Reviewer score

4
michalg
Milwaukee, WI
Jan 12, 2014

Excellent hub for sightseeing

My sister and I visited Istanbul for 4 nights (3 full days). We intended on only using the hotel for breakfast and sleeping. And this hotel was perfect for it! Location is less than 10 minutes from Blue Mosque. You can take the metro/tramway to the hotel (with only one transfer). My only complaints are the room I had was tiny. Besides the bed, not much else in the room (had difficulty fitting luggage in, sort of).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the M1 and T1 rail/tram lines to get to the hotel from the airport. Will save you a decent amount of money over shuttle/taxi.

Review of Deniz Houses

Reviewer score

5
aigj678w
istanbul
Jul 4, 2013

holiday

very good, friendly staff. breakfast was lovely and very generous. the cook was very nice. shame there wasn't various kinds of tea available.You need qute an aquired taste to appreciate turkish tea! overall very good place to stay :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Deniz Houses

Reviewer score

4
HMarie
Ann Arbor, MI
Jun 4, 2013

Lovely small hotel in Sultanahmet

This hotel is everything I needed as a woman travelling alone - helpful staff, full breakfast with outdoor terrace, 24 hour front desk, coffee and tea available at any time on the top floor, etc. Though a bit difficult to locate, it is a beautiful old building overlooking the sea, in a relatively quiet corner of Sultanahmet. Within a mile of the Blue Mosque, Aya Sophia, Topkapi Palace and the Archaeology Museum. Dining and shopping nearby. The room was small but cozy, with private bathroom and in-room mini-fridge. Note that there is no elevator for this hotel, and ceilings (especially door frames) are quite low. I had no problems as a 5' 8" woman, but I can imagine wanting to be careful if I were any taller. Great experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Deniz Houses

Reviewer score

5
sam pherwani
toronto, canada
Mar 8, 2013

lovely view of the ocean.

the staff was friendly with a beautiful view of the hotel. the room was clean and comfortable. the only thing was there was not one english speaking tv channel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Deniz Houses

Reviewer score

5
6'9 zoodha
virginia
Dec 28, 2012

a holiday get away

the view of the city was good and the restuarants was great along with experience the culture in Istanbul.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Talk to locals for your desires.

Review of Deniz Houses

Reviewer score

4
Jo and My Zhyna
Augusta, Georgia
Dec 18, 2012

Outstanding Vacation

The Staff and the location was great. I will be going back next summer. This trip should be added on anyone's Bucket List

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Deniz Houses

Reviewer score

3
Traveler Lori
Kabul, Afganistan
Sep 6, 2012

Good but not great

The hotel staff were very nice, the breakfast menu had more choices than usual for a European B&B but not varied from day to day. The food and produce were excellent. The room was tiny and almost as large as the bath. The view was beautiful from the balcony but the constant train was annoying(bring earplugs. Walking distance to everything and I felt very safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Bring an immersion heater and mug. I like to have coffee in the early morning while getting ready. There was only a small fridge in the room. I was able to buy bread, cheese and fruit to have small picnics across the street. I kept a couple boiled eggs everyday from breakfast to have as a snack.

Review of Deniz Houses

Reviewer score

2
Traveler Lori
Kabul, Afganistan
Sep 1, 2012

Never, again

I had heard about everyone is trying to scam you here in Instanbul. I would have never suspected even the hotel was going to. The hotel shuttle was pleasant enough, a private van when all I needed was a taxi but upon arriving they asked question about when I would need another shuttle then after the conversion from euros to lira I needed to pay them 190 lira. Thats almost 100 bucks. Turns out I could have gotten a shuttle to the other airport for 15 euros right around the corner. The room's windows and doors dont shut properly and I can hear the train like it's 5 feet away. The view is nice and it is walking distance to city center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top