$37 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 9, 2015 Check-out: Jan 12, 2015

Dara Hotel And Family Rooms

3 stars
Kucuk Ayasofya Mahallesi Su Terazisi Sokak No:25 - Sultanahmet / Istanbul, no:31/1 sultanahmet, Istanbul, 34400
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
10 reviews
A good option in old town

The hotel was good for our 3 nights in Istanbul. We were able to walk to every sight within 15-20... See full review

  • Danob
  • Aug 4, 2014
Good clean

This hotel wass really hard to find but it was close to the blue mosque and good aera. Good hotel See full review

  • jose traveler
  • Mar 2, 2014
Centrally located in the historical city centre of Istanbul, find the Dara Hotel Istanbul . This traditional Turkish hotel offers you fine hotel rooms and a beautiful view from the roof terrace. Dara Hotel Istanbul is centrally located in the historical city center of Istanbul within several minutes of walking distance to Sultana met mosque, Saint Sophia and Topkapi Palace museums. Dara Hotel is decorated with traditional Turkish taste and equipped with multilingual staff and high quality service standarts to serve the best to guests from all around the world. Amenities are Dry cleaning, Lobby and Reception. Remarks: Into all our room types 1 child (up 5 years old) can stay free in the parent bed.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Dara Hotel And Family Rooms also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 5.0 out of 5

Dara Hotel And Family Rooms Rooms

SINGLE - ROOM
Single room offers 1 french BED along with Air conditioning , Alarm clock, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Room service, Safe in room, Shaver in bathroom, Shower, Radio, , Toilet, Shower, Work Desk and Telephone.
DOUBLE or TWIN ROOM
The room includes private air-condition central heating system,mini-bar,free wireless connetion and safe box.Rooms are non-smoking.All rooms have private bathroom includes towels,slippers,hair drier. Most of this type of rooms have one king bed and some of them twin bed.
TRIPLE - ROOM
Triple Room room offers 1 French Bed Plus 1 Single Or / 3 Single Beds along with Air conditioning , Alarm clock, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Room service, Safe in room, Shaver in bathroom, Shower, Radio, , Toilet, Shower, Work Desk and Telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Kucuk Ayasofya Camii (Church of the Saints Sergius and Bacchus): 0.1 mi
  • Turkish and Islamic Arts Museum (Turk ve Islam Eserleri Muzesi): 0.2 mi
  • Blue Mosque: 0.2 mi
  • Turkish and Islamic Arts Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Hagia Sophia: 0.5 mi
  • Kapali Carsi: 0.5 mi
  • Walls of Constantinople: 0.5 mi
  • Basilica Cistern: 0.6 mi
  • Archaeology museum: 0.6 mi
  • Istanbul Archaeology Museum (Arkeoloji Muzesi): 0.7 mi
  • Galata Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Fatih Mosque and Complex (Fatih Camii ve Kulliyesi): 0.7 mi
  • Hodjapasha Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
  • Istanbul University: 0.8 mi
  • Topkapi Palace: 0.8 mi
  • Kucuk Ayasofya Camii (Church of the Saints Sergius and Bacchus): 0.1 mi
  • Turkish and Islamic Arts Museum (Turk ve Islam Eserleri Muzesi): 0.2 mi
  • Blue Mosque: 0.2 mi
  • Turkish and Islamic Arts Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Hagia Sophia: 0.5 mi
  • Kapali Carsi: 0.5 mi
  • Walls of Constantinople: 0.5 mi
  • Basilica Cistern: 0.6 mi
  • Archaeology museum: 0.6 mi
  • Istanbul Archaeology Museum (Arkeoloji Muzesi): 0.7 mi
  • Galata Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Fatih Mosque and Complex (Fatih Camii ve Kulliyesi): 0.7 mi
  • Hodjapasha Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
  • Istanbul University: 0.8 mi
  • Topkapi Palace: 0.8 mi
  • Tünel: 1.1 mi
  • Bosphorus Strait: 1.1 mi
  • Miniaturk: 1.1 mi
  • Galata Tower: 1.5 mi
  • Istanbul Modern Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Maiden`s Tower: 1.8 mi
  • Istanbul Modern: 1.8 mi
  • Golden Horn: 1.9 mi
  • Suleymaniye Mosque: 2.4 mi
  • Beyoglu: 2.5 mi
  • Haydarpaşa Terminal: 2.5 mi
  • Kariye Museum (The Chora Church): 2.6 mi
  • Atatürk Cultural Center: 2.6 mi
  • Dolmabahce Palace: 2.8 mi
  • Spice Market: 2.8 mi
  • Rahmi M. Koc Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Eyup Sultan Mosque (Eyup Sultan Camii): 3.5 mi
  • Kadikoy: 3.7 mi
  • Yildiz Park: 3.8 mi
  • Ortakoy: 4 mi
  • The Bosphorus Bridge: 5 mi
  • Rumeli Hisarı: 6.9 mi
  • Rumeli Fortress: 7.3 mi
  • Sakip Sabanci Museum: 7.8 mi
  • Emirgan Park: 8.3 mi
  • Istanbul Aquarium: 9.5 mi
  • The Princes' Islands: 11.4 mi

Dining

Restaurant
The breakfast buffet is served on the roof terrace restaurant. Enjoy the beautiful panoramic view of the Marmara Sea and the Sokullu Mehmet Pasha Mosque while having a drink or meal.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (10)

Ratings and reviews for Dara Hotel And Family Rooms

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 10
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dara Hotel And Family Rooms

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Briggsmom
Business
Lexington MA
May 31, 2012

Welcoming stay

The Dara is in Sultanahmet, a 10 minute walk from the Blue Mosque and the Tram line so the location is perfect. Our room was small with a nice bathroom and all the amenities. Breakfast was a simple buffet with a lovely view of a mosque roof and the Bosphorus. The waitress remembered our coffee preferences after one day and helped us with our pitiful efforts with Turkish phrases. The desk staff is friendly and helpful. We needed a taxi on an unusually busy Saturday due to a march from Dolmabahce to the Blue Mosque. After waiting for the one we ordered for 45 minutes, one of the nice young men disappeared and returned with a cab he had commandeered for us. When my email account stopped me from contacting home about travel plans, they sent my email for me on their account. It's a perfect hotel for anyone who wishes to be among the Turkish people with the ability to walk to most of the ancient sites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

In Istanbul and other cities, take a Tram to get close to your destination and then either walk or take a cab to save the costs of long cab rides and the time stuck in traffic in a cab.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dara Hotel And Family Rooms

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Baka Couple
Business
Portland, Oregon
Jul 22, 2012

Easy access to history

Lots to love about this little hotel. Super close to the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia, the metro line, etc. The staff was cheerful and helpful. Breakfast on the roof was a treat we looked forward to everyday. There are lots of restaurants and shops in the vicinity to pick up essentials, like water and snacks. The room was tiny! We were aware of this from reading other reviews and so it wasn't a bad thing, just something to keep in mind. There is a mosque just meters away that provides some wake-up opportunities early in the morning and late at night-- just part of the ambiance of the city but also something you should know about. We had a great experience at the Dara and would stay there again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a super Doner/Shawarma place around the corner-- walk up the hill two blocks and one block to the right (towards Blue Mosque). Get the meat plate. They don't speak a lot of English but it's so much better than the high pressure/tourist joints you'll be harangued by in other places.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dara Hotel And Family Rooms

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DiVicenzo
Business
London, UK
Jun 23, 2012

Friendly Hotel in great location

Lovely little hotel and the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. At reception we generally dealt with Aytac who was very attentive. Perfect location just 5 minutes from the Blue Mosque and the Hippodrome. However, the route is via quite steep hill which was fine for us. The rooms (we had two) were small but clean and well-appointed. However, I was under the breakfast terrace on 3rd floor which was noisy from about 6am and I need my sleep. So, I would book a different room on my next visit and I will definitely stay at the Dara again. Breakfast is taken on an open terrace overlooking the Sea of Marmara and again the staff including Samra were very attentive and friendly. I didn't get the young man's name but thanks must go to him too. If you can't find something to eat at the breakfast buffet then there is something wrong with you. You are not going to get a 'Full English' - rememeber one is in Istanbul. I won't go on anymore otherwise they will be getting big heads ☺ Hope to visit again very soon. Thank you Hotel Dara/ Dara Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dara Hotel And Family Rooms

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maggieohana
Business
Ukraine
Sep 24, 2012

Dara Hotel

Breakfast such a joy to feel like part of the family in such a great view and so close to the old city sites, WOW!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dara Hotel And Family Rooms

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Simona the happy mom
Business
Charleston, SC
Jul 1, 2013

Great hotel location

We are a family of 4( including 2 kids). The staff is great. We had booked 1 room, but during the night we experienced some noise due to street work and the management immediately moved us at another floor and even offered us 2 rooms. Very helpful and nice. We had a great experience and if will highly recommend HOTEL DARA. The location is perfect. Breakfast offers much variety and even though very different from typical American breakfast, we started each day pleasantly with much to eat and Fantastic views from open air, roof top terrace. Nice restaurants near by and the main tourist attraction points are just in 5 min walking distance including tram that is very inexpensive and efficient way to travel to other parts of the city. Hotel Dara was exceptionally friendly to our children. If you don't enjoy your stay here, you probably will not enjoy yourself anywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dara Hotel And Family Rooms

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sigdjla
Business
Denver, CO
Jun 10, 2013

stopover before cruising the Mediterranean

The Dara Hotel and Family Rooms is in a perfect location for walking to The Blue Mosque, the Hippodrome Obelisk and the Hagia Sophia Museum. A mosque is located across the street and we could hear the call to worship, starting at 5:30 am! Fantastic Turkish breakfasts on the rooftop and delicious apple tea! A clean hotel and I saw no bugs! The staff is friendly and helpful. I am pleased that we selected The Dara.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dara Hotel And Family Rooms

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jose traveler
Business
west palm beach
Mar 2, 2014

Good clean

This hotel wass really hard to find but it was close to the blue mosque and good aera. Good hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dara Hotel And Family Rooms

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Danob
Business
Toronto, Canada
Aug 4, 2014

A good option in old town

The hotel was good for our 3 nights in Istanbul. We were able to walk to every sight within 15-20 mins. Rooms were small, but had a/c. Bathroom smelled a bit. Breakfast was on the awesome rooftop terrace and had a great variety of turkish food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Near the spice bazaar, there is less touristy, excellent value & tasty restaurants. Best food we had in Istanbul.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dara Hotel And Family Rooms

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SJV65
Business
Finland
Oct 25, 2012

Istanbul

5 bed family rooms available in old side. No elevator.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dara Hotel And Family Rooms

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Istanbul visitor
Business
New York
Jun 5, 2012

Average Hotel

This is a very basic hotel on the older side. Rooms are small and furnishings are old. We were on the second floor facing the street and our view was of a brick wall. Not scenic at all. It's about a 10-minute walk to the nearest metro stop. Decent location. I recommend looking for other hotels in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top