Barcelo Saray

4 stars
Yeniceriler Cd. 77, Istanbul, 34130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
18 reviews
me,my husband ,sister and her husband

The hotel was the best . everything was very good the location ,room,breakfast and the staff were... See full review

  • sam sarab
  • Sep 17, 2013
An almost perfect week in Istanbul

We just returned from a perfect week in Istanbul. When going on a tourism trip, much of the... See full review

  • FrancescoOlivia
  • Sep 2, 2013
A modern property on the historic peninsula

The Barcelo Saray provides a contemporary retreat in Old City. Guests find all the modern amenities one would expect with the added benefit of proximity to some of Istanbul's most famous attractions. The activity of the Grand Bazaar lures from just blocks to the Barcelo Saray. Business and leisure travelers in need of a relaxing retreat enjoy the hotel's sauna and traditional Turkish hamam. The hotel also offers massage and body treatment services. Barcelo Saray offers three function rooms for corporate travelers in need of work or meeting space.

Highlights
  • Located just steps from the Grand Bazaar
  • Decor in modern guest rooms features clean lines and bold pops of color
  • Relax in the traditional Turkish hamam or bath
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access
Rooms

The hotel offers a range of modern and comfortable room options including singles, suites, family rooms, and more. The rooms have clean lines and a mix of earth tones and bold colors. Some rooms afford views of the Beyazit Mosque or the Marmara Sea. All guest rooms and suites offer complimentary wireless Internet access and an LCD satellite television. Guests enjoy 24-hour room service and an in-room mini-bar.

Features

The hotel offers several dining options. Vista Restaurant, overlooking the Beyazit Mosque and Istanbul University, serves Turkish and international dishes from the buffet or a la carte. For light meals, sweets, or coffee, visit the Saray Café at the hotel entrance or stop by the piano bar for drinks and live music. Schedule a traditional body treatment in the Turkish hamam, open daily from 3:30 p.m. to 10:30 p.m.

Transportation
  • Beyazit tram (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Kumkapi Railway Station (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Istanbul International Ataturk Airport (11 mi/17.8 km) 
  • Sabiha Gokcen Airport (32.6 mi/52.4 km) 
Nearby attractions
  • Grand Bazaar (0.3 mi/0.5 km) 
  • Blue Mosque (1.1 mi/1.7 km) 
  • Istanbul Archaeology Museum (1.1 mi/1.8 km) 
  • Hagia Sophia (1.2 mi/1.9 km) 
  • Galata Bridge (2.9 mi/4.6 km)  
  • Topkapi Palace (2.9 mi/4.7 km) 
  • Istanbul Museum of Modern Art (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
  • Lutfi Kyrdar Convention & Exhibition Center (5.1 mi/8.3 km) 
Business
  • Complimentary Internet access
  • Fax service
  • Meeting space

Barcelo Saray Rooms

STANDARD - HOTEL
All rooms fitted with: Air conditioning, Heating, Telephone Satellite TV, Minibar, Shower, Make-up mirror, Hair dryer, Safe for valuables, 24-hour room service, free WI-FI
SUPERIOR VIEW ROOM
Enjoy views of the Beyazit Mosque or the Sea of Marmara from your suite; these fantastic rooms are fully equipped and have a double bed or 2 single beds.
TRIPLE ROOM
We offer you every different combination. Our triple rooms, which are fully equipped, have 3 single beds. Stay in comfort in these large, light and vibrant rooms.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Barcelo Saray also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.0091 28.9639
Area served
Istanbul - Old City
Area description
The Barcelo Saray**** hotel is situated in the Beyazit district of the old city, in Istanbul's European quarter. This magnificent location is just 200 metres from the entrance of the Great Bazaar and a short walk from the following major tourist attractions: Hagia Sophia, the Blue Mosque and Topkapi Palace make this hotel the ideal base for discovering this fantastic city

Nearby points of interest

  • Istanbul University: 0.2 mi
  • Kapali Carsi: 0.3 mi
  • Grand Bazaar: 0.3 mi
  • Bosphorus Strait: 0.5 mi
  • Kucuk Ayasofya Camii (Church of the Saints Sergius and Bacchus): 0.6 mi
  • Turkish and Islamic Arts Museum (Turk ve Islam Eserleri Muzesi): 0.6 mi
  • Galata Bridge: 0.6 mi
  • Blue Mosque: 0.7 mi
  • Miniaturk: 0.7 mi
  • Hodjapasha Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
  • Basilica Cistern: 0.8 mi
  • Tünel: 0.8 mi
  • Hagia Sophia: 0.8 mi
  • Walls of Constantinople: 0.8 mi
  • Fatih Mosque and Complex (Fatih Camii ve Kulliyesi): 0.9 mi
  • Istanbul University: 0.2 mi
  • Kapali Carsi: 0.3 mi
  • Grand Bazaar: 0.3 mi
  • Bosphorus Strait: 0.5 mi
  • Kucuk Ayasofya Camii (Church of the Saints Sergius and Bacchus): 0.6 mi
  • Turkish and Islamic Arts Museum (Turk ve Islam Eserleri Muzesi): 0.6 mi
  • Galata Bridge: 0.6 mi
  • Blue Mosque: 0.7 mi
  • Miniaturk: 0.7 mi
  • Hodjapasha Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
  • Basilica Cistern: 0.8 mi
  • Tünel: 0.8 mi
  • Hagia Sophia: 0.8 mi
  • Walls of Constantinople: 0.8 mi
  • Fatih Mosque and Complex (Fatih Camii ve Kulliyesi): 0.9 mi
  • Archaeology museum: 0.9 mi
  • Istanbul Archaeology Museum (Arkeoloji Muzesi): 0.9 mi
  • Topkapi Palace: 1 mi
  • Galata Tower: 1.3 mi
  • Golden Horn: 1.5 mi
  • Istanbul Modern Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Istanbul Modern: 1.7 mi
  • Suleymaniye Mosque: 1.9 mi
  • Kariye Museum (The Chora Church): 2 mi
  • Maiden`s Tower: 2 mi
  • Beyoglu: 2.2 mi
  • Rahmi M. Koc Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Atatürk Cultural Center: 2.5 mi
  • Dolmabahce Palace: 2.8 mi
  • Spice Market: 2.8 mi
  • Haydarpaşa Terminal: 3 mi
  • Eyup Sultan Mosque (Eyup Sultan Camii): 3 mi
  • Yildiz Park: 3.8 mi
  • Ortakoy: 4.1 mi
  • Kadikoy: 4.2 mi
  • The Bosphorus Bridge: 5.2 mi
  • Rumeli Hisarı: 7 mi
  • Rumeli Fortress: 7.4 mi
  • Sakip Sabanci Museum: 7.8 mi
  • Emirgan Park: 8.3 mi
  • Istanbul Aquarium: 9.1 mi
  • The Princes' Islands: 12 mi

Dining

Vista Restaurant
Situated on the upper floor, the restaurant has a fantastic view of the Beyazit mosque and Istanbul University, with a-la-carte menu and a Turkish and international buffet service.
Saray Cafe
Situated in the hotel entrance, this is the ideal spot to enjoy light snacks or sweet pastries with a large variety of teas and coffees.
Piano Bar
The piano bar is the perfect place to sit and relax with live music after sightseeing in the city.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Barcelo Saray**** hotel is in an exclusive location, right in the heart of Istanbul's historic old quarters opposite the Grand Bazaar. The hotel, which is easily accessible and well-communicated, has a 120 m private meetings area, distributed as 3 adjoining rooms with a large area for catering and a cyber corner. The area also has free Wi-Fi available

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (18)

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Saray

Overall score

4.2 / 5
18 out of 18
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Saray

Reviewer score

4
Thomas Z. Wong
Canton, China
Dec 28, 2013

Excellent location for touring the attractions

Good breakfast, good service ... We had a triple room which was quiet. Hagis Sophia, Topkapi Palace and the Blue Mosque are all within 10 minutes of walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Hamdi Restorant is worth trying, you may take the tram to go there. It costs only 3 t.

Review of Barcelo Saray

Reviewer score

2
homied71
Los Angeles
Nov 15, 2013

Istanbul vacation

Very nice cozy hotel. Very friendly nice staff. Except that the housekeeping doesn't know what "Do Not Disturb" sign means! However the is not as advertised. It said there was a Fitness center. Nope! No such thing. They said there was a piano bar. Nope! There was a piano bar, but it was always closed. The guy said sorry we don't have a piano player!!! Also the rooms were small. Nice size closet but that's it. Also there was no napkin, coffee maker or anything. If you need a napkin you have to used the toilet paper. The location was just fantastic. A bit noisy but it was close to everything. I ended up moving to a different hotel after my third night. And no! They didn't reimburse me for the 4 nights I had left on my reservation. So no! I'm not going back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Bazaar! Wow. Amazing place to buy virtually everything! But as soon as they find out you're not a local they triple the price on you, as there are no prices written on anything. They just make it up as they go. You have to bargain with them. There are few places where they have the prices listed, so I suggest to buy from them. Also if you use a credit card, make sure they change you the amount you have agreed to. (Once they charged me 800, when we agreed to a 500 price. I only noticed it when I got back to the hotel. Last thing, don't change any currency at hotels. They have awful rates and charge a commission. There are a plenty of Currency exchange places all over the city with no commission and better rates.

Review of Barcelo Saray

Reviewer score

5
sam sarab
macomb michigan
Sep 17, 2013

me,my husband ,sister and her husband

The hotel was the best . everything was very good the location ,room,breakfast and the staff were so so good. i never have a good staff like this hotel speacaily the manager so i really recomended and diffently i will stay there again.the best thing the hotel was close to grand bazar witch shopping is my favo thing to do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Barcelo Saray

Reviewer score

5
FrancescoOlivia
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 2, 2013

An almost perfect week in Istanbul

We just returned from a perfect week in Istanbul. When going on a tourism trip, much of the success/failure of the experience has to do with the choice of the accomodations. Not knowing Istanbul at all on this our first trip, we landed in Barceló Saray a bit by chance. What good luck we had! The hotel is situated practically at the tram station that leads you to the main center of the city & the Galata tower at the Golden Horn. Across the street from the hotel is the entrance to the Grand Bazar, which also leads you to the Spice Bazar. Ten min walking from the hotel downhill leads you to the Seafood market on JFK Kennedy Blvd. but the pièce de résistance, is 10-15 min from the hotel walking: Haya Sophia, the Palace, the Cistern, the Blue Mosque - a paradise for culture, history and art aficionados! Even better than location, location, location is the hotel gentile staff (well trained, respectful, prompt, responsive, English-speaking, and Spanish and Turkish), the cleanliness of the rooms & venue in general, the A/C and the free wifi. And the food is fine too - although we only tasted the superb breakfasts (but, while there is good variety of plates: hot, cold, cheeses, cold cuts, sweets, fruits - there is the SAME variety day after day - so, after 3 days of sampling a superb brunch, you've pretty much saturated yourself with the choices - the variety of choices of foods at breakfast could be varied a bit more across different days). Some rooms (rooms with the view on the Mosque) are a bit noisy due to the street people & car traffic - double-glass windows would help. Other rooms, with view on the inside, are fantastic!!! Quiet, comfortable, clean. We had one of these - loved it!!! This, in our long history of travels & hotels abroad, is by far one of our BEST, almost perfect (see notes on breakfast above) experiences.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Ideal location: walking distance from the pearls of the Old City, tram-away (3 Turkish Lira - get token from jetomatic kiosk) (note: tram is jammed, but a seat soon is available - tram is A/C ...weak though) & finicular-away from Galata tower & Taksim. Short walk downhill to seafood market. Across the street from Grand Bazar entrance - IDEAL location Taxi cabs take many, many, many extra loops in the road to get you there (and you end up spending up to 50 TL perhaps... Avoid cabs if you can)

Review of Barcelo Saray

Reviewer score

5
az2011
Washington
Jul 19, 2013

Great hotel!

Our stay at Barceló Saray was excellent. The staff was friendly and the location was great, it couldn't get better. Turgut, the front office manager, was especially helpful and even upgraded our room, free of charge. He answered all our questions and made sure we were comfortable. Hasan, the hotel manager, was really friendly as well. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Barcelo Saray

Reviewer score

4
llcpa
Pennsylvania
Jul 9, 2013

Excellent Hotel/Staff is A-1

Good Location. A short walk to the Grand Bazaar. Very clean. Staff is excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Barcelo Saray

Reviewer score

3
cand
North Carolina
May 15, 2013

Great location, Amenities in the Mix

Some examples: Pillows were of excellent quality and varying thicknesses. But why only three for two people? Why not four? Only 2 towels, and no washcloths? We needed some ice, the helpers took awhile to bring it but finally we got it. The little balcony was awesome, and the location was incredible!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the tram!

Review of Barcelo Saray

Reviewer score

4
Ivona
London
Apr 17, 2013

Fantastic Istanbul experience

Fantastic hotel with very good value for the money standard. Very convenient location with a very short walk to the Grand Bazar and the Blue Mosque. Very friendly and helpful staff ready to go an extra mile to accommodate clients needs. I can definitely recommend this hotel to my friends as staying there was very enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Grand Bazar just around the corner with massive selection of everything you can only dream of. A real paradise for the bargain hunters and shopping lovers!

Review of Barcelo Saray

Reviewer score

5
joe daddy joe
Florida
Mar 6, 2013

Wonderful Hotel

We stayed here for a few days and really enjoyed it. The staff was helpful and friendly. The rooms were clean and cozy. The location is very central. If you want a nice clean cozy room in a good location this is it. If you prefer more scenic views and opulence then there are better options, but for us this was just perfect. We tried to book again on our return and the hotel was full.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Barcelo Saray

Reviewer score

4
mort.P
oakland ca
Dec 16, 2012

istanbul hotel

Friendly and helpful staff. Hoof location and comfortable setting

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Local dancing

Back to menu Return to top