$56 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 6, 2015 Check-out: Jan 9, 2015

Avicenna Hotel

4 stars
Mimar Mehmet Aga Cad.Amiral Tafdil Sok No 31-33, AMIRAL TAFDIL SOK. NO:31/33, Istanbul, 34400
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
26 reviews
Perfect Little Hotel

It is a great little hotel at the perfect location. So many nice shops and restaurants around and 5... See full review

  • FrankandKate
  • Nov 13, 2013
Fairy tale hotel

wonderful experience - beautiful, romantic, cozy hotel, helpful staff that is close to attractions,... See full review

  • Suzana61
  • Nov 29, 2014
A renovated 19th century gem in Istanbul’s Old City
Located in the Sultanahmet district, also known as the Old City, the 48-room New Avicenna Hotel offers breezy, open, Mediterranean-style amenities in Istanbul. The hotel is a three-story complex made up of three different 19th century Ottoman buildings that were refurbished and transformed into a hotel in the 1990s. It was completely renovated and redecorated again in 2008. The buildings are connected with walkways that look down upon a beautiful Turkish garden. The décor is enhanced by using splendid fabrics with Ottoman influences. Some rooms have views of the sea from their own balconies. The hotel is just a short walk from such attractions as Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia Museum, and the Blue Mosque. The New Avicenna Hotel is also close to Ataturk International Airport. On the top floor of the hotel is the Sipsi restaurant which provides patrons with a superb outlook over the Marmara Sea. The hotel aims to provide traditional Turkish hospitality with an insight into the culture of Istanbul.
Reasons to stay
  • Within minutes of many of Istanbul's most popular attractions
  • Located in the center of Sultanahmet, the historic old city
  • Close to buses and trams which travel to all parts of the city
New Avicenna Hotel rooms
Rooms at the New Avicenna Hotel are furnished in a fresh, clean, contemporary style with both Eastern and Western influences. Rooms are fitted with direct dial phone, LCD TV and a smoke detector. The private bathrooms, fitted with a shower or tub, also have a shaver and hairdryer. All rooms are air-conditioned and some have their own balcony. Rooms are also complete with alarm clock, in-room safe, phone, internet access, ceiling fan, cable/satellite TV service, and voice mail. Single rooms include one single bed and double rooms have one double or two twin beds.
Things to do nearby
  • Blue Mosque (0.2mi/0.4 km)
  • Topkapi Palace (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Hagia Sophia Basilica (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Church Hagia Irini (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Covered Bazaar (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Hippodrome (0.8 mi/ 1.3 km)
  • Spice Bazaar (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Basilica Cistern (0.9 mi/1.5 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Avicenna Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Avicenna Hotel Rooms

SINGLE - ROOM
Single Room offers Single bed along with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Room service, Safe in room, Shaver in bathroom, Telephone, Valet service and Voice mail.

The standard rooms with modernized Ottomoan decoration. The atmosphere of these pretty rooms makes the feel good luck as the meaning. These rooms equipped with LCD TV, Direct dial phone, smoke detector, private bathroom with hair dryer, evaporated mirror, phone and mostly with shower and a few tubes. Some of these rooms have a balcony. Two of them are connecting room. This is an ideal room type especially for the families with child.
DOUBLE - ROOM
Double/Twin Room offers Double or two Twin beds along with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Room service, Safe in room, Shaver in bathroom, Telephone, Valet service and Voice mail.

The standard rooms with modernized Ottomoan decoration. The atmosphere of these pretty rooms makes the feel good luck as the meaning. These rooms equipped with LCD TV, Direct dial phone, smoke detector, private bathroom with hair dryer, evaporated mirror, phone and mostly with shower and a few tubes. Some of these rooms have a balcony. Two of them are connecting room. This is an ideal room type especially for the families with child.
TRIPPLE - ROOM
Triple Room offers one Double and one twin or 3 twin bed along with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Heating, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Room service, Safe in room, Shaver in bathroom, Telephone, Valet service and Voice mail.

The standard rooms with modernized Ottomoan decoration. The atmosphere of these pretty rooms makes the feel good luck as the meaning. These rooms equipped with LCD TV, Direct dial phone, smoke detector, private bathroom with hair dryer, evaporated mirror, phone and mostly with shower and a few tubes. Some of these rooms have a balcony. Two of them are connecting room. This is an ideal room type especially for the families with child.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Room
Satellite TV

Nearby points of interest

  • Blue Mosque: 0.2 mi
  • Hagia Sophia: 0.3 mi
  • Turkish and Islamic Arts Museum (Turk ve Islam Eserleri Muzesi): 0.3 mi
  • Walls of Constantinople: 0.4 mi
  • Kucuk Ayasofya Camii (Church of the Saints Sergius and Bacchus): 0.4 mi
  • Archaeology museum: 0.5 mi
  • Istanbul Archaeology Museum (Arkeoloji Muzesi): 0.5 mi
  • Basilica Cistern: 0.5 mi
  • Turkish and Islamic Arts Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Fatih Mosque and Complex (Fatih Camii ve Kulliyesi): 0.7 mi
  • Topkapi Palace: 0.7 mi
  • Kapali Carsi: 0.8 mi
  • Galata Bridge: 0.8 mi
  • Hodjapasha Cultural Center: 0.8 mi
  • Istanbul University: 1.1 mi
  • Blue Mosque: 0.2 mi
  • Hagia Sophia: 0.3 mi
  • Turkish and Islamic Arts Museum (Turk ve Islam Eserleri Muzesi): 0.3 mi
  • Walls of Constantinople: 0.4 mi
  • Kucuk Ayasofya Camii (Church of the Saints Sergius and Bacchus): 0.4 mi
  • Archaeology museum: 0.5 mi
  • Istanbul Archaeology Museum (Arkeoloji Muzesi): 0.5 mi
  • Basilica Cistern: 0.5 mi
  • Turkish and Islamic Arts Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Fatih Mosque and Complex (Fatih Camii ve Kulliyesi): 0.7 mi
  • Topkapi Palace: 0.7 mi
  • Kapali Carsi: 0.8 mi
  • Galata Bridge: 0.8 mi
  • Hodjapasha Cultural Center: 0.8 mi
  • Istanbul University: 1.1 mi
  • Tünel: 1.2 mi
  • Miniaturk: 1.3 mi
  • Bosphorus Strait: 1.4 mi
  • Maiden`s Tower: 1.5 mi
  • Galata Tower: 1.5 mi
  • Istanbul Modern Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Istanbul Modern: 1.8 mi
  • Golden Horn: 2.1 mi
  • Haydarpaşa Terminal: 2.1 mi
  • Beyoglu: 2.5 mi
  • Atatürk Cultural Center: 2.5 mi
  • Dolmabahce Palace: 2.6 mi
  • Spice Market: 2.7 mi
  • Suleymaniye Mosque: 2.7 mi
  • Kariye Museum (The Chora Church): 2.8 mi
  • Rahmi M. Koc Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Kadikoy: 3.3 mi
  • Yildiz Park: 3.6 mi
  • Eyup Sultan Mosque (Eyup Sultan Camii): 3.8 mi
  • Ortakoy: 3.8 mi
  • The Bosphorus Bridge: 4.7 mi
  • Rumeli Hisarı: 6.7 mi
  • Rumeli Fortress: 7.1 mi
  • Sakip Sabanci Museum: 7.6 mi
  • Emirgan Park: 8.2 mi
  • Istanbul Aquarium: 9.9 mi
  • The Princes' Islands: 11.2 mi

Dining

Restaurant
The magnificent panoramic view of Marmara Sea and islands is attracting all visitors at SIPSI. In an elegantly furnished dining room, with an eastern and western style combination and in a cosy atmosphere, Hotel offers guests the delicious Turkish and international cuisines. The terrace of the SIPSI is the place where guests have an additional unforgettable memory while drinking their wines. It is a pleasant and relaxing places something to remember and to talk about when you are back home from your vacation.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (26)

Ratings and reviews for Avicenna Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
26 out of 26
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Avicenna Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Revisor
Business
Seattle WA
Feb 9, 2014

Not what you expect!

First of all when we came to Istanbul we tried to get a shuttle from the hotel ,which they say is free,but it turned out to be $18 per person, if you didn't reserve the hotel from their website.We ordered a room with two beds,we got one but the room was so small that the beds were pushed together.They had a minibar everything had price tags,so that was good,but when you take the bag of tea which is not in the minibar menu that you have to make yourself they charge you $2!!!! Always when i travel to different hotels they offer complimentary tea and coffee !This is completely no what you expect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't make tea from the tea bags in the hotel.To save money you can travel from the airport to the hotel by metro to the station Zeintenburnu and then by a trolly

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avicenna Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tatoo
Business
Syria
Oct 14, 2011

Will never do it again

The location is fantastic and the design as well, I was on honeymoon trip we need a room a king size bed 1st we shocked once we saw 2 beds besides one another so easily you can fall on the ground!! but the most things which upset me before departure is when the reception guy ask me to pay for extra charges for soft drink from mini bar which we didn't touch or use!!! and then start to cry if we didn't pay for it he will pay I told him it not my mistakes we never touch or use it, anyway I was to hurry to catch my plan I pay but I promise to never back again, the stuff was miserable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avicenna Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
AP man
Business
LAX
Sep 28, 2011

2 star is the MAX ......

Front door is 4 stars hotel . AC didn't work in room ( staff sent ppl over to check but not to fix ) . Noise & vibration because hotel is next to track( tram ) . We had a bad night expirence in Istanbul ( very lucky was ONE night stay only ).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

5 EUR @ to or from Int'l airport is the most by suttle .

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avicenna Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
cat b
Business
FL
Sep 30, 2011

okay hotel

BE AWARE....that the reception desk does not know english very well at all!!! They put me in a room that has windows to the courtyard where there is breakfast in the morning and the hallway door right outside mine. At night people smoking in the courtyard penetrated through your windows. You could hear people talking and slamming the door and walking down the hall. I couldn't open the blinds to the windows because it would be face level to someone sitting in the courtyard. And forget it if you want to sleep in a little bit because like I said breakfast is in the courtyard and everyone eats out there. Breakfast is not all free. Juices you have to pay for. The airport shuttle that was suppose to pick you up at the front of the hotel was 30mins late and then you had to walk up the street and around to get to the shuttle. And the shuttle takes it's sweet time. My flight was at 12pm and I took the 835am shuttle and I barely made it in enough time to get to my gate. Remember you have to go through 3 different lines of security if you are flying internationally. The location was great though and the bed was comfy. There is a restuarant up stairs that the reception fails to tell you about and where it is. I went up there and no one was eating there. While I was waiting for the late shuttle. I over heard a British woman complaining that someone was drilling all night and she couldn't sleep because it sounded like it was right outside her room. She also complained that her sink constantly fills up with water. I feel bad for her because I saw the reception desk and they had no idea what she was saying because they couldn't understand. They just nodded their heads and smiled. A little ridiculous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Yes the Lira is cheap but I came to find out that nothing is cheap in Istanbul. They raised the prices so much that everything is really unaffordable or you know you could get cheaper in the states. I had a guy in the bazzar try to sell me 1 silk scarf for 350TL!!! That's about $250. He told me (because I was with a friend of his) that they do this because of the tourist. But realize they don't go down in price much when you do bargain. Also, cruise ship tour people...be aware that the tour guides are paid off by some of the bazzar stores to have them take you to their store. Also, be aware that a lot of the stuff is made in China...so be careful what you buy if you want authenic. As a single female....the turks are very insistant on asking you a question, wanting to walk with you, wanting to speak english with you...this is all a ploy...so be careful....it got so tiresome because they won't leave you alone...you basically have to ignore them or be rude.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avicenna Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KilimKing
Business
UK
Nov 24, 2012

Great location for the sights of istanbul

We were warmly greeted, and for a nominal sum upgraded to a large room with balcony overlooking the Bosphorus. The room was clean and service attentive. Only one complaint, and it upset my wife enormously! having traveled to over 100 counties and stayed in 1000's of hotels over the past 40 years, this is the first occasion ever that where tea making facilities are provided in the room, have we been charged per tea bag used (4TL). There was no evident indication that there was a charge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avicenna Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Redlaser
Business
Uk
May 27, 2013

City break

Good clean hotel in a v good location but not a four star. Rooms are tiny and cramped. Service is average. Decent breakfast if you like Turkish breakfast. Only one iron in the whole hotel! Staff didnt know which room had it when we asked for it. Walls are too thin and you can hear things from other adjoining rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit Topkapi Palace museum and Blue Mosque. Only 5 mins walk and Grand Bazaar only 10 mins walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avicenna Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sartre
Business
Argentina
Jul 13, 2013

Great location but problems with room.

This hotel is located near all the sites one might want to see in old Istanbul. However, be prepared to change rooms because of either noise or because the air conditioner doesn't work. The staff worked hard to accomadate us and one time we got lucky during a muggy night because the air conditioner didn't work but the repairman happened to be around late at night and he repaired it. Many times the door to the balcony wouldn't close completely and the air con wouldn't work and at times the air con couldn't be turned off. I heard two people arguing with the front desk that they didn't want to be moved to a fourth room because the previous three they encountered many problems.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

stay away from the roof top dining restaurants near the hotel because they over charge and change the prices of the wines. Try to find the local restaurants a short walk away from the tourist traps that charge 50% less.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avicenna Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mkts
Business
Santorini. Greece
Aug 30, 2013

Great location

They did not have a room available for us when we arrived because of se problem with the rooms. They put us up in a room in a hotel next door for one night and it was not as nice. We were able to eat at their breakfast buffet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avicenna Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
G and A
Business
Chadds Ford, PA 19317, USA
Nov 16, 2011

Perfectly located in a fascinating city

Call ahead and have them arrange for the airport shuttle, half price of taxi and no great delay. Friendly and eager to help staff, were able to store luggage for early arrival and start our museum hopping and restaurant sampling in Istanbul. Breakfast was simple but adequate and was included to the rather reasonable room price. The only negative was the room size, which was very cramped, bath and shower tiny! However, clean , with free WiFi. The location more than made up for the cramped accommodations, waling distance from Aya Sofia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi, Grand Bazaar. Fun and safe to discover the old city Would recommend staying, but would consider the deluxe rooms for an additional 30 Euros/day if room comfort is important.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Good buys in leather goods and carpets. Fun if you can bargain. Depending on establishment you final price should be 1/3 to 1/2 of asking price

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avicenna Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jdperlinghi
Business
Wilson, NC, USA
Dec 2, 2011

Very nice location, very friendly staff, small but very cozy room

I was a very happy customer, with a very friendly staff and a good breakfast

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Main Mosque and cultural institutions are in walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top