$52 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 24, 2015

Avicenna Hotel

4 stars
View map of Mimar Mehmet Aga Cad.Amiral Tafdil Sok No 31-33, AMIRAL TAFDIL SOK. NO:31/33, Istanbul, 34400

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Avicenna Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
26 out of 26
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Avicenna Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
G and A
Business
Chadds Ford, PA 19317, USA
Nov 16, 2011

Perfectly located in a fascinating city

Call ahead and have them arrange for the airport shuttle, half price of taxi and no great delay. Friendly and eager to help staff, were able to store luggage for early arrival and start our museum hopping and restaurant sampling in Istanbul. Breakfast was simple but adequate and was included to the rather reasonable room price. The only negative was the room size, which was very cramped, bath and shower tiny! However, clean , with free WiFi. The location more than made up for the cramped accommodations, waling distance from Aya Sofia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi, Grand Bazaar. Fun and safe to discover the old city Would recommend staying, but would consider the deluxe rooms for an additional 30 Euros/day if room comfort is important.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Good buys in leather goods and carpets. Fun if you can bargain. Depending on establishment you final price should be 1/3 to 1/2 of asking price

Review of Avicenna Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tatoo
Business
Syria
Oct 14, 2011

Will never do it again

The location is fantastic and the design as well, I was on honeymoon trip we need a room a king size bed 1st we shocked once we saw 2 beds besides one another so easily you can fall on the ground!! but the most things which upset me before departure is when the reception guy ask me to pay for extra charges for soft drink from mini bar which we didn't touch or use!!! and then start to cry if we didn't pay for it he will pay I told him it not my mistakes we never touch or use it, anyway I was to hurry to catch my plan I pay but I promise to never back again, the stuff was miserable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Avicenna Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
cat b
Business
FL
Sep 30, 2011

okay hotel

BE AWARE....that the reception desk does not know english very well at all!!! They put me in a room that has windows to the courtyard where there is breakfast in the morning and the hallway door right outside mine. At night people smoking in the courtyard penetrated through your windows. You could hear people talking and slamming the door and walking down the hall. I couldn't open the blinds to the windows because it would be face level to someone sitting in the courtyard. And forget it if you want to sleep in a little bit because like I said breakfast is in the courtyard and everyone eats out there. Breakfast is not all free. Juices you have to pay for. The airport shuttle that was suppose to pick you up at the front of the hotel was 30mins late and then you had to walk up the street and around to get to the shuttle. And the shuttle takes it's sweet time. My flight was at 12pm and I took the 835am shuttle and I barely made it in enough time to get to my gate. Remember you have to go through 3 different lines of security if you are flying internationally. The location was great though and the bed was comfy. There is a restuarant up stairs that the reception fails to tell you about and where it is. I went up there and no one was eating there. While I was waiting for the late shuttle. I over heard a British woman complaining that someone was drilling all night and she couldn't sleep because it sounded like it was right outside her room. She also complained that her sink constantly fills up with water. I feel bad for her because I saw the reception desk and they had no idea what she was saying because they couldn't understand. They just nodded their heads and smiled. A little ridiculous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Yes the Lira is cheap but I came to find out that nothing is cheap in Istanbul. They raised the prices so much that everything is really unaffordable or you know you could get cheaper in the states. I had a guy in the bazzar try to sell me 1 silk scarf for 350TL!!! That's about $250. He told me (because I was with a friend of his) that they do this because of the tourist. But realize they don't go down in price much when you do bargain. Also, cruise ship tour people...be aware that the tour guides are paid off by some of the bazzar stores to have them take you to their store. Also, be aware that a lot of the stuff is made in China...so be careful what you buy if you want authenic. As a single female....the turks are very insistant on asking you a question, wanting to walk with you, wanting to speak english with you...this is all a ploy...so be careful....it got so tiresome because they won't leave you alone...you basically have to ignore them or be rude.

Review of Avicenna Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
AP man
Business
LAX
Sep 28, 2011

2 star is the MAX ......

Front door is 4 stars hotel . AC didn't work in room ( staff sent ppl over to check but not to fix ) . Noise & vibration because hotel is next to track( tram ) . We had a bad night expirence in Istanbul ( very lucky was ONE night stay only ).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

5 EUR @ to or from Int'l airport is the most by suttle .

Review of Avicenna Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jan 30, 2011

Avicenna - recommended

Avicenna is a great place to stay in Istanbul. Room was small but clean. Staff is extremely helpful, and the included breakfast was very good. Location is perfect - you can spend several days walking to many of the best attractions in the city. Also very close to the tram, Bosphorus and great restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Quick walk to Hagia Sofia, Blue Mosque and several other attractions

Review of Avicenna Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
UAE
Dec 24, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price!!!!

Wonderful location and staff!!! Hotel in walking distance to all the historical sites. Had a fabulous time and will definitely stay at the Avicenna Hotel again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top