$40 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 3, 2015 Check-out: Mar 6, 2015

Agan Hotel Istanbul

3 stars
View map of Ebusuud Caddesi Saffetipapa Sokak 6 Sirkeci Istanbul, Istanbul, 34110

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
96 reviews
Wonderful hotel, great location

I stayed here solo for five nights in December 2014. The room was clean and comfortable (the bed... See full review

  • Jake N
  • Feb 12, 2015
Perfect stay

I took a solo trip to Istanbul in December 2014, and stayed at the Hotel Agan for five nights. The... See full review

  • Jake N
  • Jan 17, 2015
Service-oriented hotel in the heart of the Old City

Hotel Agan is a warm and friendly small hotel in the Old City. The hotel's focus on guest comfort is apparent inside and out. Agan has large cushions set up outside the building for guests who want to enjoy a drink from the pub next door. The hotel is in easy walking distance of Old City attractions. Agan provides complimentary wireless Internet access and a buffet breakfast. Guests who do not have their own computers may use the guest-dedicated lobby computer.

Highlights
  • Known for friendly and welcoming staff
  • Cushions that line seating area outside the hotel offers one of the best people-watching spots in the Old City
  • Neighboring Salute Pub serves drinks and food
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access and buffet breakfast
Rooms

The décor in Hotel Agan's 31 rooms drew inspiration from traditional Turkish design. The rooms feature brilliant reds and gold tones as well as bold classic Turkish patterns. Many of the rooms feature tufted upholstered headboards and wood and upholstered furniture. Rooms are air conditioned. The hotel offers 24-hour room service.

Features

The hotel is close to several forms of public transportation. The location is a good starting point for those who want to tour the city or to take a cruise on the Bosphorus.

 

Agan is also near beautiful Gulhane Park. The park was once the outer gardens of Topkapi Palace. The park has wonderful open spaces with paths perfect for guests who enjoy exercise walking, or, of course, leisurely strolling.

 

The hotel can arrange airport transfers and on-site babysitting services.

Transportation
  • Gulhane tram stop (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Sirkeci Railway Station (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Eminonu Ferry Terminal (0.9 mi/1.4 km) 
  • Istanbul International Ataturk Airport (11.7 mi/18.9 km) 
  • Sabiha Gokcen Airport (27.6 mi/44.5 km) 
Nearby attractions
  • Hagia Sophia (0.2 mi/0.4 km) 
  • Istanbul Archaeology Museum (0.3 mi/0.5 km) 
  • Blue Mosque (0.6 mi/1 km) 
  • Spice Bazaar (1 mi/1.6 km) 
  • Topkapi Palace (1.1 mi/1.8 km)  
  • Istanbul Museum of Modern Art (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Galata Tower (1.9 mi/3 km) 
  • Balat Ahrida Synagogue (2.4 mi/3.9 km)  
  • Dolmabahce Palace (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
Business
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access
  • Photocopier available for guest use

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Agan Hotel Istanbul also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Agan Hotel Istanbul Rooms

Single room
The room offers one twin bed with air conditioning, cable, color V, hairdryer, heating, internet access,mini bar, non smoking rooms, room service and telephone.
Double room
The room offers one double bed bed with air conditioning, cable, color V, hairdryer, heating, internet access,mini bar, non smoking rooms, room service and telephone.
Triple room
The room offers one double bed and one twin bed with air conditioning, cable, color V, hairdryer, heating, internet access,mini bar, non smoking rooms, room service and telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle

Nearby points of interest

  • Basilica Cistern: 0.1 mi
  • Fatih Mosque and Complex (Fatih Camii ve Kulliyesi): 0.1 mi
  • Hodjapasha Cultural Center: 0.2 mi
  • Galata Bridge: 0.2 mi
  • Walls of Constantinople: 0.3 mi
  • Istanbul Archaeology Museum (Arkeoloji Muzesi): 0.3 mi
  • Archaeology museum: 0.3 mi
  • Topkapi Palace: 0.3 mi
  • Hagia Sophia: 0.3 mi
  • Turkish and Islamic Arts Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Kapali Carsi: 0.5 mi
  • Turkish and Islamic Arts Museum (Turk ve Islam Eserleri Muzesi): 0.5 mi
  • Blue Mosque: 0.5 mi
  • Tünel: 0.6 mi
  • Kucuk Ayasofya Camii (Church of the Saints Sergius and Bacchus): 0.7 mi
  • Basilica Cistern: 0.1 mi
  • Fatih Mosque and Complex (Fatih Camii ve Kulliyesi): 0.1 mi
  • Hodjapasha Cultural Center: 0.2 mi
  • Galata Bridge: 0.2 mi
  • Walls of Constantinople: 0.3 mi
  • Istanbul Archaeology Museum (Arkeoloji Muzesi): 0.3 mi
  • Archaeology museum: 0.3 mi
  • Topkapi Palace: 0.3 mi
  • Hagia Sophia: 0.3 mi
  • Turkish and Islamic Arts Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Kapali Carsi: 0.5 mi
  • Turkish and Islamic Arts Museum (Turk ve Islam Eserleri Muzesi): 0.5 mi
  • Blue Mosque: 0.5 mi
  • Tünel: 0.6 mi
  • Kucuk Ayasofya Camii (Church of the Saints Sergius and Bacchus): 0.7 mi
  • Miniaturk: 0.8 mi
  • Istanbul University: 0.9 mi
  • Galata Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Istanbul Modern Museum: 1 mi
  • Bosphorus Strait: 1.1 mi
  • Istanbul Modern: 1.2 mi
  • Maiden`s Tower: 1.3 mi
  • Golden Horn: 1.5 mi
  • Beyoglu: 1.9 mi
  • Atatürk Cultural Center: 2 mi
  • Dolmabahce Palace: 2.2 mi
  • Spice Market: 2.2 mi
  • Suleymaniye Mosque: 2.2 mi
  • Kariye Museum (The Chora Church): 2.4 mi
  • Haydarpaşa Terminal: 2.4 mi
  • Rahmi M. Koc Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Yildiz Park: 3.2 mi
  • Eyup Sultan Mosque (Eyup Sultan Camii): 3.2 mi
  • Ortakoy: 3.5 mi
  • Kadikoy: 3.7 mi
  • The Bosphorus Bridge: 4.5 mi
  • Rumeli Hisarı: 6.4 mi
  • Rumeli Fortress: 6.7 mi
  • Sakip Sabanci Museum: 7.2 mi
  • Emirgan Park: 7.7 mi
  • Istanbul Aquarium: 9.8 mi
  • The Princes' Islands: 11.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
12:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (96)

Ratings and reviews for Agan Hotel Istanbul

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
96 out of 96
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Agan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
RH2014
Business
UK
Feb 6, 2014

Cheap and not so cheerful ...

Room very small and not very clean the bathroom was smelling of damp and needed to be updated. The room itself had plaster coming away from the walls and the bed sheets were very itchy both nights I stayed there. Breakfast buffet was very poor and I can understand why it's free. The electricity went in the second night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Agan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
luluNYC5
Business
New York
May 28, 2014

There's better hotels out there.

Have no idea where to begin..but this was our honeymoon and it was great except for the hotel we were staying at which really ruined the experience. We were on the 6th floor. Elevator only goes up to 5th floor so we had to walk up a spiral staircase up the stairs each time we came back after a long day out. It was not very pleasant. Especially on our last day with all of our luggage. First day and they put us in a room that did not have shower doors. It seemed like two panels were taken off and were never put back on. We called to speak to someone and they finally sent someone up, who said this is "normal". They were able to change our room to the one next door which was the decent thing to do. The toilet does not flush unless you hold it down. for a very long time. Seriously?? The room was super tiny. There is literally 1-2 feet of space between the bed and the wall. There is no iron in the room or in the hotel for that matter so we had to resort to wearing wrinkled clothes. I get that some hotels do not provide irons to each and every single room, but usually there is one at the hotel so you can request it. However, we were told that it was at least 2-3 lira per article of clothing if you wanted to have your clothes ironed to a place they send the laundry too!! We made do with trying to steam our clothes from the shower to get the wrinkles out if we could but as a matter of principle, I was not going to pay them for a service that should already be provided. There was bird droppings on the window, really not a nice sight to look at every day. Lastly, the customer service was absolutely horrible. The staff there hardly ever smiled at us, much less look at our direction or said a simple hello. It was really rude and I never experienced such poor service anywhere before. Personally, I would go back to a hotel if the customer service is excellent, but I really did not care for staff that lacked basic social skills. I traveled to Istanbul before and the reason why we chose this hotel because the one I really wanted, which was about 1 block away, was full. Pros: Great location , close to a lot of sights and to the tram and Bosphorous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Agan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mmekt2
Business
US
Dec 27, 2012

First time in Turkey

the room was too tight, probably that is europe style of living but it was not comfortable at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Agan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Simu
Business
Germany
Mar 28, 2013

Good lokation

Rooms are very small especially, single rooms are inexceptable. The restaurant is too small as well. Guests have to que for breakfirt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Small rooms for high price in walking distance to main attractions

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Agan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mayous
Business
Saudi Arabia
Sep 17, 2013

Prime location, overall acceptable

the location of the hotel compensated to a great extent on the shortcomings. these included: 1/ the fact that there are stray cats around the tables in the outer seating area, and on some occasion inside. 2/ stained duvets with no covers (at arrival) , although the friendly staff were happy to provide covers which 'we' had to put on ourselves. 3/ rooms are tiny. 4/ noisy until midnight. staff did offer their best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Yeldiz restaurant in Eyup best restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Agan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tariq
Business
Saudi Arabia
Feb 13, 2012

Nice location

This is a second time stay at this hotel i like the location the neighborhood very nice you can find resturants, Antique shops. But the staff was unfriendly Especially the Reception guy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The grand Pazar takes ten minute walking from the Hotel. Sutlan Ahmed Mosque also take 5 minute walking from the Hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Agan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tariq
Business
Saudi Arabia
May 20, 2012

Nice Location

This is a second time i have been there i like it .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Agan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jaseface
Business
Virginia
Sep 15, 2012

Fantastic Location

Staff was very welcoming. The guy at the front desk was funny and tried to memorize our names when we walked in. If you get a room that ends in 01 expect a very tiny room! Its like a closet they turned into a room. Our room was clean but the bathroom shower head wasnt working correctly and had a little mold in the shower. There was air conditioning but it wasnt running before got to the room, so it was like a sauna when we arrived. Took 3 hours or so for the air conditioning to have an effect on the temperature of the room, and made really weird noises.The greatest thing this hotel has is its proximity to the Hagia Sofia and blue mosque; Its a 2-5 minute walk, cant beat that! Overall worth the 100$ we paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Best three things to see are the Blue Mosque(Free) Hagia Sofia (15TL) and the Cisterns (10TL). Saw the Palace, it was alright but dont think it was worth the 40(TL).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Agan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
T92ny
Business
Bayside, NY
Sep 23, 2012

A decent hotel in Sultanahmet

Agan hotel is located in the middle of Sultanahmet and is easily accessible to many attractions - Aya Sofia, Blue mosque, Basilica cistern, Egyptian bazaar, Bosphorous cruise, etc. The room is small but clean. The wall is quite thin and the noise from the street below can be a distraction if you're a light sleeper. The breakfast served each morning is quite sumptuous and after a while you develop a taste for it. I didn't have much interaction the staff, however, I noticed that they spent a lot of time chit-chatting with young girls by the table set in front of the hotel. Overall, this place served its purpose as a budget hotel and I would rate my stay as average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Agan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stevebsu
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Oct 19, 2012

Agan Hotel

This is a great hotel for the value. Steps from the tramway which goes up to the neighborhood of the Topkopi Palace (also a 10 minute walk) and down to the Spice Bazaar and then crosses the Galata Bridge to the other side of the Golden Horn. The staff is fantastic. They were very helpful and also very pleasant and they were so willing to help me. A real great value in Istanbul.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top