$54 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2015 Check-out: Apr 30, 2015

Agan Hotel Istanbul

3 stars
View map of Ebusuud Caddesi Saffetipapa Sokak 6 Sirkeci Istanbul, Istanbul, 34110

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Agan Hotel Istanbul

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
100 out of 100
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Agan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mmekt2
Business
US
Jan 8, 2013

great

nice place and great location to stay at. very close to attractions

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Agan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mmekt2
Business
US
Dec 27, 2012

First time in Turkey

the room was too tight, probably that is europe style of living but it was not comfortable at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Agan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
inna1
Business
Baltimore, MD
Dec 3, 2012

European vacation

We stayed in 4 hotels on this trip in Budapest, Vienna and Istanbul and so far this was the best . Staff was very attentive and made our stay productive and enjoyable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Agan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aelkirsh
Business
Cairo, Egypt
Nov 24, 2012

Perfect location and good service

The hotel is in walking distance of The blue mosque and hagia sophia and also less than 3 minutes walking of Gulhane tram station which can get you to other locations in no time. I just had one simple problem with the hotel because my laundry was a one day late than usual. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to enjoy istanbul and I will definitely come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the tram from Gulhane tram station and go to biyazit enjoy the restaurants there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Agan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Husky Traveler
Business
Painted Post, NY
Nov 20, 2012

Great value for solo traveler

I had a very good one-night stay at Hotel Agan as a solo, value-minded traveler. I chose this hotel during my first visit to Istanbul based on price and favorable reviews. Without asking, I was upgraded to a "suite" since I was only there for one night and an upgrade was available. The room wasn't frankly much of an upgrade in terms of size but it was fine for my purposes. The bathroom was on the small side but clean and efficient. The complimentary wi-fi worked well. Some staff were friendly and helpful, but others did not speak English and seemed to prefer not being bothered with questions. The location of the hotel is terrific, within walking distance of all the major tourist sites. Breakfast started about 20 minutes late, which was a bit annoying, but it was decent enough and it turned out that I would have been too early to Topkapi Palace anyway had I eaten breakfast at 7:30am as I had planned. Overall I think this is one of the best value hotels I've stayed at in recent years. I would highly recommend Hotel Agan to solo travelers and maybe even to couples without kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Agan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bryan thompson
Business
u.k.
Nov 19, 2012

Very nice, economic

Great experience. Lovely old city location. Easy reach of Blue Mosque and Bosphorus. Delightful staff and restaurant fun on the pavement outside at night. Basic room, but clean and everything working as it should. Good FREE Wi-Fi supplied throughout the hotel. Easy (half hour) access to airport BUT USE the hotel's supplied shuttle service or you will pay MUCH MORE for the shuttle services offered in the airport. Those services will all tell you the hotel doesn't supply a shuttle, but, yes, it does! €2 for the trip one way when I was staying there. Beware of airport shuttle service crooks!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Blue Mosque and Bosphorus close by

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Agan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rosario G
Business
Lima Peru
Oct 23, 2012

My 4 nights in Agan Hotel

There are somethings I didn t like: clean: down the bed and the tablecloths in the restaurant Also people sleeping in the reception area: we were of the first to take breakfast at 7:30 ( late for my opinion) and nobody was there. People who should be attending breakfast were outside talking. On the other side i can say that the owner was very friendly and helpful plus worker. I think this is more a hotel for young people. Istanbul is expensive, may be is not easy to find the wright hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Visit the Chorus Church Do the shopping in the european side.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Agan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stevebsu
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Oct 19, 2012

Agan Hotel

This is a great hotel for the value. Steps from the tramway which goes up to the neighborhood of the Topkopi Palace (also a 10 minute walk) and down to the Spice Bazaar and then crosses the Galata Bridge to the other side of the Golden Horn. The staff is fantastic. They were very helpful and also very pleasant and they were so willing to help me. A real great value in Istanbul.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Agan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
T92ny
Business
Bayside, NY
Sep 23, 2012

A decent hotel in Sultanahmet

Agan hotel is located in the middle of Sultanahmet and is easily accessible to many attractions - Aya Sofia, Blue mosque, Basilica cistern, Egyptian bazaar, Bosphorous cruise, etc. The room is small but clean. The wall is quite thin and the noise from the street below can be a distraction if you're a light sleeper. The breakfast served each morning is quite sumptuous and after a while you develop a taste for it. I didn't have much interaction the staff, however, I noticed that they spent a lot of time chit-chatting with young girls by the table set in front of the hotel. Overall, this place served its purpose as a budget hotel and I would rate my stay as average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Agan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jaseface
Business
Virginia
Sep 15, 2012

Fantastic Location

Staff was very welcoming. The guy at the front desk was funny and tried to memorize our names when we walked in. If you get a room that ends in 01 expect a very tiny room! Its like a closet they turned into a room. Our room was clean but the bathroom shower head wasnt working correctly and had a little mold in the shower. There was air conditioning but it wasnt running before got to the room, so it was like a sauna when we arrived. Took 3 hours or so for the air conditioning to have an effect on the temperature of the room, and made really weird noises.The greatest thing this hotel has is its proximity to the Hagia Sofia and blue mosque; Its a 2-5 minute walk, cant beat that! Overall worth the 100$ we paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Best three things to see are the Blue Mosque(Free) Hagia Sofia (15TL) and the Cisterns (10TL). Saw the Palace, it was alright but dont think it was worth the 40(TL).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top