Agan Hotel Istanbul

3 stars
Ebusuud Caddesi Saffetipapa Sokak 6 Sirkeci Istanbul, Istanbul, 34110
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
95 reviews
Fantastic Hotel

Excellent Services.Hospitality. I spend great two days. See full review

  • Haytham
  • Jan 25, 2014
Great location and great value for money

I had a great time at the hotel staff very friends and helpful the only problem I had was the air... See full review

  • Aussie dude
  • Oct 31, 2013
Service-oriented hotel in the heart of the Old City

Hotel Agan is a warm and friendly small hotel in the Old City. The hotel's focus on guest comfort is apparent inside and out. Agan has large cushions set up outside the building for guests who want to enjoy a drink from the pub next door. The hotel is in easy walking distance of Old City attractions. Agan provides complimentary wireless Internet access and a buffet breakfast. Guests who do not have their own computers may use the guest-dedicated lobby computer.

Highlights
  • Known for friendly and welcoming staff
  • Cushions that line seating area outside the hotel offers one of the best people-watching spots in the Old City
  • Neighboring Salute Pub serves drinks and food
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access and buffet breakfast
Rooms

The décor in Hotel Agan's 31 rooms drew inspiration from traditional Turkish design. The rooms feature brilliant reds and gold tones as well as bold classic Turkish patterns. Many of the rooms feature tufted upholstered headboards and wood and upholstered furniture. Rooms are air conditioned. The hotel offers 24-hour room service.

Features

The hotel is close to several forms of public transportation. The location is a good starting point for those who want to tour the city or to take a cruise on the Bosphorus.

 

Agan is also near beautiful Gulhane Park. The park was once the outer gardens of Topkapi Palace. The park has wonderful open spaces with paths perfect for guests who enjoy exercise walking, or, of course, leisurely strolling.

 

The hotel can arrange airport transfers and on-site babysitting services.

Transportation
  • Gulhane tram stop (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Sirkeci Railway Station (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Eminonu Ferry Terminal (0.9 mi/1.4 km) 
  • Istanbul International Ataturk Airport (11.7 mi/18.9 km) 
  • Sabiha Gokcen Airport (27.6 mi/44.5 km) 
Nearby attractions
  • Hagia Sophia (0.2 mi/0.4 km) 
  • Istanbul Archaeology Museum (0.3 mi/0.5 km) 
  • Blue Mosque (0.6 mi/1 km) 
  • Spice Bazaar (1 mi/1.6 km) 
  • Topkapi Palace (1.1 mi/1.8 km)  
  • Istanbul Museum of Modern Art (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Galata Tower (1.9 mi/3 km) 
  • Balat Ahrida Synagogue (2.4 mi/3.9 km)  
  • Dolmabahce Palace (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
Business
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access
  • Photocopier available for guest use

Agan Hotel Istanbul Rooms

Single room
The room offers one twin bed with air conditioning, cable, color V, hairdryer, heating, internet access,mini bar, non smoking rooms, room service and telephone.
Double room
The room offers one double bed bed with air conditioning, cable, color V, hairdryer, heating, internet access,mini bar, non smoking rooms, room service and telephone.
Triple room
The room offers one double bed and one twin bed with air conditioning, cable, color V, hairdryer, heating, internet access,mini bar, non smoking rooms, room service and telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle

Hotel Map

41.0129 28.9768
Area served
Istanbul.
Nearby airports
Istanbul International Airport.
Area description
Hotel Agan is located at the center of the Old City in Eminonu-Istanbul at the starting point of both land and sea transportation and is just near Sultanahmet.

Nearby points of interest

  • Basilica Cistern: 0.1 mi
  • Fatih Mosque and Complex (Fatih Camii ve Kulliyesi): 0.1 mi
  • Hodjapasha Cultural Center: 0.2 mi
  • Galata Bridge: 0.2 mi
  • Walls of Constantinople: 0.3 mi
  • Istanbul Archaeology Museum (Arkeoloji Muzesi): 0.3 mi
  • Archaeology museum: 0.3 mi
  • Topkapi Palace: 0.3 mi
  • Hagia Sophia: 0.3 mi
  • Grand Bazaar: 0.4 mi
  • Kapali Carsi: 0.5 mi
  • Turkish and Islamic Arts Museum (Turk ve Islam Eserleri Muzesi): 0.5 mi
  • Blue Mosque: 0.5 mi
  • Tünel: 0.6 mi
  • Kucuk Ayasofya Camii (Church of the Saints Sergius and Bacchus): 0.7 mi
  • Basilica Cistern: 0.1 mi
  • Fatih Mosque and Complex (Fatih Camii ve Kulliyesi): 0.1 mi
  • Hodjapasha Cultural Center: 0.2 mi
  • Galata Bridge: 0.2 mi
  • Walls of Constantinople: 0.3 mi
  • Istanbul Archaeology Museum (Arkeoloji Muzesi): 0.3 mi
  • Archaeology museum: 0.3 mi
  • Topkapi Palace: 0.3 mi
  • Hagia Sophia: 0.3 mi
  • Grand Bazaar: 0.4 mi
  • Kapali Carsi: 0.5 mi
  • Turkish and Islamic Arts Museum (Turk ve Islam Eserleri Muzesi): 0.5 mi
  • Blue Mosque: 0.5 mi
  • Tünel: 0.6 mi
  • Kucuk Ayasofya Camii (Church of the Saints Sergius and Bacchus): 0.7 mi
  • Miniaturk: 0.8 mi
  • Istanbul University: 0.9 mi
  • Galata Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Istanbul Modern Museum: 1 mi
  • Bosphorus Strait: 1.1 mi
  • Istanbul Modern: 1.2 mi
  • Maiden`s Tower: 1.3 mi
  • Golden Horn: 1.5 mi
  • Beyoglu: 1.9 mi
  • Atatürk Cultural Center: 2 mi
  • Dolmabahce Palace: 2.2 mi
  • Spice Market: 2.2 mi
  • Suleymaniye Mosque: 2.2 mi
  • Kariye Museum (The Chora Church): 2.4 mi
  • Haydarpaşa Terminal: 2.4 mi
  • Rahmi M. Koc Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Yildiz Park: 3.2 mi
  • Eyup Sultan Mosque (Eyup Sultan Camii): 3.2 mi
  • Ortakoy: 3.5 mi
  • Kadikoy: 3.7 mi
  • The Bosphorus Bridge: 4.5 mi
  • Rumeli Hisarı: 6.4 mi
  • Rumeli Fortress: 6.7 mi
  • Sakip Sabanci Museum: 7.2 mi
  • Emirgan Park: 7.7 mi
  • Istanbul Aquarium: 9.8 mi
  • The Princes' Islands: 11.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1200
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (95)

Ratings and reviews for Agan Hotel Istanbul

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
95 out of 95
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Agan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aelkirsh
Cairo, Egypt
Nov 24, 2012

Perfect location and good service

The hotel is in walking distance of The blue mosque and hagia sophia and also less than 3 minutes walking of Gulhane tram station which can get you to other locations in no time. I just had one simple problem with the hotel because my laundry was a one day late than usual. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to enjoy istanbul and I will definitely come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the tram from Gulhane tram station and go to biyazit enjoy the restaurants there.

Review of Agan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Husky Traveler
Painted Post, NY
Nov 20, 2012

Great value for solo traveler

I had a very good one-night stay at Hotel Agan as a solo, value-minded traveler. I chose this hotel during my first visit to Istanbul based on price and favorable reviews. Without asking, I was upgraded to a "suite" since I was only there for one night and an upgrade was available. The room wasn't frankly much of an upgrade in terms of size but it was fine for my purposes. The bathroom was on the small side but clean and efficient. The complimentary wi-fi worked well. Some staff were friendly and helpful, but others did not speak English and seemed to prefer not being bothered with questions. The location of the hotel is terrific, within walking distance of all the major tourist sites. Breakfast started about 20 minutes late, which was a bit annoying, but it was decent enough and it turned out that I would have been too early to Topkapi Palace anyway had I eaten breakfast at 7:30am as I had planned. Overall I think this is one of the best value hotels I've stayed at in recent years. I would highly recommend Hotel Agan to solo travelers and maybe even to couples without kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Agan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bryan thompson
Business
u.k.
Nov 19, 2012

Very nice, economic

Great experience. Lovely old city location. Easy reach of Blue Mosque and Bosphorus. Delightful staff and restaurant fun on the pavement outside at night. Basic room, but clean and everything working as it should. Good FREE Wi-Fi supplied throughout the hotel. Easy (half hour) access to airport BUT USE the hotel's supplied shuttle service or you will pay MUCH MORE for the shuttle services offered in the airport. Those services will all tell you the hotel doesn't supply a shuttle, but, yes, it does! €2 for the trip one way when I was staying there. Beware of airport shuttle service crooks!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Blue Mosque and Bosphorus close by

Review of Agan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rosario G
Lima Peru
Oct 23, 2012

My 4 nights in Agan Hotel

There are somethings I didn t like: clean: down the bed and the tablecloths in the restaurant Also people sleeping in the reception area: we were of the first to take breakfast at 7:30 ( late for my opinion) and nobody was there. People who should be attending breakfast were outside talking. On the other side i can say that the owner was very friendly and helpful plus worker. I think this is more a hotel for young people. Istanbul is expensive, may be is not easy to find the wright hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Visit the Chorus Church Do the shopping in the european side.

Review of Agan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stevebsu
Chicago, Illinois
Oct 19, 2012

Agan Hotel

This is a great hotel for the value. Steps from the tramway which goes up to the neighborhood of the Topkopi Palace (also a 10 minute walk) and down to the Spice Bazaar and then crosses the Galata Bridge to the other side of the Golden Horn. The staff is fantastic. They were very helpful and also very pleasant and they were so willing to help me. A real great value in Istanbul.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Agan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
T92ny
Bayside, NY
Sep 23, 2012

A decent hotel in Sultanahmet

Agan hotel is located in the middle of Sultanahmet and is easily accessible to many attractions - Aya Sofia, Blue mosque, Basilica cistern, Egyptian bazaar, Bosphorous cruise, etc. The room is small but clean. The wall is quite thin and the noise from the street below can be a distraction if you're a light sleeper. The breakfast served each morning is quite sumptuous and after a while you develop a taste for it. I didn't have much interaction the staff, however, I noticed that they spent a lot of time chit-chatting with young girls by the table set in front of the hotel. Overall, this place served its purpose as a budget hotel and I would rate my stay as average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Agan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jaseface
Virginia
Sep 15, 2012

Fantastic Location

Staff was very welcoming. The guy at the front desk was funny and tried to memorize our names when we walked in. If you get a room that ends in 01 expect a very tiny room! Its like a closet they turned into a room. Our room was clean but the bathroom shower head wasnt working correctly and had a little mold in the shower. There was air conditioning but it wasnt running before got to the room, so it was like a sauna when we arrived. Took 3 hours or so for the air conditioning to have an effect on the temperature of the room, and made really weird noises.The greatest thing this hotel has is its proximity to the Hagia Sofia and blue mosque; Its a 2-5 minute walk, cant beat that! Overall worth the 100$ we paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Best three things to see are the Blue Mosque(Free) Hagia Sofia (15TL) and the Cisterns (10TL). Saw the Palace, it was alright but dont think it was worth the 40(TL).

Review of Agan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bea1983
switzerland
Sep 11, 2012

Fantastic Stay

I was there with my friend for four days and the stay was really, really nice. Very friendly staff, good food and the room is very ok for the money! Good situated - close to the Grand Bazar and Hagia Sophia. Really great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Agan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tariq
Business
Saudi Arabia
May 20, 2012

Nice Location

This is a second time i have been there i like it .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Agan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
daniel w
los angeles
Mar 2, 2012

enjoyable stay

we had a nice room--good size. great location, close to the major attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top