$52 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 23, 2014 Check-out: Jul 24, 2014

Agan Hotel Istanbul

3 stars
Ebusuud Caddesi Saffetipapa Sokak 6 Sirkeci Istanbul, Istanbul, 34110
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
95 reviews
Fantastic Hotel

Excellent Services.Hospitality. I spend great two days. See full review

  • Haytham
  • Jan 25, 2014
Great location and great value for money

I had a great time at the hotel staff very friends and helpful the only problem I had was the air... See full review

  • Aussie dude
  • Oct 31, 2013
Service-oriented hotel in the heart of the Old City

Hotel Agan is a warm and friendly small hotel in the Old City. The hotel's focus on guest comfort is apparent inside and out. Agan has large cushions set up outside the building for guests who want to enjoy a drink from the pub next door. The hotel is in easy walking distance of Old City attractions. Agan provides complimentary wireless Internet access and a buffet breakfast. Guests who do not have their own computers may use the guest-dedicated lobby computer.

Highlights
  • Known for friendly and welcoming staff
  • Cushions that line seating area outside the hotel offers one of the best people-watching spots in the Old City
  • Neighboring Salute Pub serves drinks and food
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access and buffet breakfast
Rooms

The décor in Hotel Agan's 31 rooms drew inspiration from traditional Turkish design. The rooms feature brilliant reds and gold tones as well as bold classic Turkish patterns. Many of the rooms feature tufted upholstered headboards and wood and upholstered furniture. Rooms are air conditioned. The hotel offers 24-hour room service.

Features

The hotel is close to several forms of public transportation. The location is a good starting point for those who want to tour the city or to take a cruise on the Bosphorus.

 

Agan is also near beautiful Gulhane Park. The park was once the outer gardens of Topkapi Palace. The park has wonderful open spaces with paths perfect for guests who enjoy exercise walking, or, of course, leisurely strolling.

 

The hotel can arrange airport transfers and on-site babysitting services.

Transportation
  • Gulhane tram stop (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Sirkeci Railway Station (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Eminonu Ferry Terminal (0.9 mi/1.4 km) 
  • Istanbul International Ataturk Airport (11.7 mi/18.9 km) 
  • Sabiha Gokcen Airport (27.6 mi/44.5 km) 
Nearby attractions
  • Hagia Sophia (0.2 mi/0.4 km) 
  • Istanbul Archaeology Museum (0.3 mi/0.5 km) 
  • Blue Mosque (0.6 mi/1 km) 
  • Spice Bazaar (1 mi/1.6 km) 
  • Topkapi Palace (1.1 mi/1.8 km)  
  • Istanbul Museum of Modern Art (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Galata Tower (1.9 mi/3 km) 
  • Balat Ahrida Synagogue (2.4 mi/3.9 km)  
  • Dolmabahce Palace (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
Business
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access
  • Photocopier available for guest use

Hotel Map

41.0129 28.9768
Area served
Istanbul.
Nearby airports
Istanbul International Airport.
Area description
Hotel Agan is located at the center of the Old City in Eminonu-Istanbul at the starting point of both land and sea transportation and is just near Sultanahmet.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Agan Hotel Istanbul also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Agan Hotel Istanbul Rooms

Single room
The room offers one twin bed with air conditioning, cable, color V, hairdryer, heating, internet access,mini bar, non smoking rooms, room service and telephone.
Double room
The room offers one double bed bed with air conditioning, cable, color V, hairdryer, heating, internet access,mini bar, non smoking rooms, room service and telephone.
Triple room
The room offers one double bed and one twin bed with air conditioning, cable, color V, hairdryer, heating, internet access,mini bar, non smoking rooms, room service and telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle

Nearby points of interest

  • Basilica Cistern: 0.1 mi
  • Fatih Mosque and Complex (Fatih Camii ve Kulliyesi): 0.1 mi
  • Hodjapasha Cultural Center: 0.2 mi
  • Galata Bridge: 0.2 mi
  • Walls of Constantinople: 0.3 mi
  • Istanbul Archaeology Museum (Arkeoloji Muzesi): 0.3 mi
  • Archaeology museum: 0.3 mi
  • Topkapi Palace: 0.3 mi
  • Hagia Sophia: 0.3 mi
  • Grand Bazaar: 0.4 mi
  • Kapali Carsi: 0.5 mi
  • Turkish and Islamic Arts Museum (Turk ve Islam Eserleri Muzesi): 0.5 mi
  • Blue Mosque: 0.5 mi
  • Tünel: 0.6 mi
  • Kucuk Ayasofya Camii (Church of the Saints Sergius and Bacchus): 0.7 mi
  • Basilica Cistern: 0.1 mi
  • Fatih Mosque and Complex (Fatih Camii ve Kulliyesi): 0.1 mi
  • Hodjapasha Cultural Center: 0.2 mi
  • Galata Bridge: 0.2 mi
  • Walls of Constantinople: 0.3 mi
  • Istanbul Archaeology Museum (Arkeoloji Muzesi): 0.3 mi
  • Archaeology museum: 0.3 mi
  • Topkapi Palace: 0.3 mi
  • Hagia Sophia: 0.3 mi
  • Grand Bazaar: 0.4 mi
  • Kapali Carsi: 0.5 mi
  • Turkish and Islamic Arts Museum (Turk ve Islam Eserleri Muzesi): 0.5 mi
  • Blue Mosque: 0.5 mi
  • Tünel: 0.6 mi
  • Kucuk Ayasofya Camii (Church of the Saints Sergius and Bacchus): 0.7 mi
  • Miniaturk: 0.8 mi
  • Istanbul University: 0.9 mi
  • Galata Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Istanbul Modern Museum: 1 mi
  • Bosphorus Strait: 1.1 mi
  • Istanbul Modern: 1.2 mi
  • Maiden`s Tower: 1.3 mi
  • Golden Horn: 1.5 mi
  • Beyoglu: 1.9 mi
  • Atatürk Cultural Center: 2 mi
  • Dolmabahce Palace: 2.2 mi
  • Spice Market: 2.2 mi
  • Suleymaniye Mosque: 2.2 mi
  • Kariye Museum (The Chora Church): 2.4 mi
  • Haydarpaşa Terminal: 2.4 mi
  • Rahmi M. Koc Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Yildiz Park: 3.2 mi
  • Eyup Sultan Mosque (Eyup Sultan Camii): 3.2 mi
  • Ortakoy: 3.5 mi
  • Kadikoy: 3.7 mi
  • The Bosphorus Bridge: 4.5 mi
  • Rumeli Hisarı: 6.4 mi
  • Rumeli Fortress: 6.7 mi
  • Sakip Sabanci Museum: 7.2 mi
  • Emirgan Park: 7.7 mi
  • Istanbul Aquarium: 9.8 mi
  • The Princes' Islands: 11.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1200
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (95)

Ratings and reviews for Agan Hotel Istanbul

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
95 out of 95
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Agan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ticoandmax
seattle
Jun 28, 2014

ms

I had a good stay.The Staff was great and you can't beat the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Not Applicable

the asia side has better shopping.

Review of Agan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
luluNYC5
New York
May 28, 2014

There's better hotels out there.

Have no idea where to begin..but this was our honeymoon and it was great except for the hotel we were staying at which really ruined the experience. We were on the 6th floor. Elevator only goes up to 5th floor so we had to walk up a spiral staircase up the stairs each time we came back after a long day out. It was not very pleasant. Especially on our last day with all of our luggage. First day and they put us in a room that did not have shower doors. It seemed like two panels were taken off and were never put back on. We called to speak to someone and they finally sent someone up, who said this is "normal". They were able to change our room to the one next door which was the decent thing to do. The toilet does not flush unless you hold it down. for a very long time. Seriously?? The room was super tiny. There is literally 1-2 feet of space between the bed and the wall. There is no iron in the room or in the hotel for that matter so we had to resort to wearing wrinkled clothes. I get that some hotels do not provide irons to each and every single room, but usually there is one at the hotel so you can request it. However, we were told that it was at least 2-3 lira per article of clothing if you wanted to have your clothes ironed to a place they send the laundry too!! We made do with trying to steam our clothes from the shower to get the wrinkles out if we could but as a matter of principle, I was not going to pay them for a service that should already be provided. There was bird droppings on the window, really not a nice sight to look at every day. Lastly, the customer service was absolutely horrible. The staff there hardly ever smiled at us, much less look at our direction or said a simple hello. It was really rude and I never experienced such poor service anywhere before. Personally, I would go back to a hotel if the customer service is excellent, but I really did not care for staff that lacked basic social skills. I traveled to Istanbul before and the reason why we chose this hotel because the one I really wanted, which was about 1 block away, was full. Pros: Great location , close to a lot of sights and to the tram and Bosphorous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Agan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Derry1
Dublin
Apr 20, 2014

Location location location

We stayed for five nights, family city brake. Great location - short walks to see all the sights, and the ferries.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Agan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
would be world traveler
Iowa
Apr 4, 2014

awesome location/staff

fabulous one night stay. easy to get to using train/tram from airport, short walk to important sites. could not have been more pleased. also, fantastic included breakfast!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Agan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CMTNEXT
Madison, Wisconsin
Feb 25, 2014

Comfort Hotel

I got the twin bed deal and so the room had enough space for one. There are larger options for more people. Close to the tour sites and Blue Mosque. There is a 30 Euro pick-up charge from the airport even though the site says airport pick-up available. Return to airport shuttle is 5 Euro. Staff are friendly and the free breakfast is well served. Close to stores and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Blue Mosque and other attractions.

Review of Agan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ezzyie
Dublin, Ireland
Feb 24, 2014

Excellent stay

Good location for visiting the Blue Mosque and such surrounding attractions. Great friendly staff, bar and restaurant below the hotel great for relaxing and food was nice also. We booked the deluxe room which had a seating area and jacuzzi in the bath and large double bed which was lovely and clean. Easy to book trips at the hotel desk also. Surrounding area has lots of bars and restaurants to choose from also. Also there is a little supermarket up the road.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Agan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
RH2014
UK
Feb 6, 2014

Cheap and not so cheerful ...

Room very small and not very clean the bathroom was smelling of damp and needed to be updated. The room itself had plaster coming away from the walls and the bed sheets were very itchy both nights I stayed there. Breakfast buffet was very poor and I can understand why it's free. The electricity went in the second night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Agan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Helga Bek
Odessa, Ukraine
Jan 28, 2014

Perfect place for those who prefer comfort but have limited budget

We stayed at hotel only one night, but had an early check-in and were offered a free breakfast even though our breakfast was included only next morning. The room was small but clean and comfortable. Wi-Fi signal was perfect. Hotel has a really nice location - walking distance from old city and beatiful park, a lot of restaurants located nearby. It is also very easy and cheap to get to hotel from Ataturk airport by public transportation (first take metro - 3 TL, than tram - 3 TL and walk 3 minutes)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Agan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Haytham
Istanbual
Jan 25, 2014

Fantastic Hotel

Excellent Services.Hospitality. I spend great two days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Agan Hotel Istanbul

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jfoahs04
Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Jan 23, 2014

Perfect location, everything else was OK.

The hotel is situated perfectly in the Sirkeci section of the city. It's on the corner of two pedestrian only streets with great access to all of the Old City's major sights and attractions. Not to mention, it's a stone's throw from the T1 tram line, Sirkeci rail station and the Marmaray (transcontinental subway). The latter has an entrance literally two buildings over. The hotel itself is Ok. I was neither a highlight or lowlight of our trip. It was fine as a home base to see the city and the country. Our room (2 twin room on 3rd floor) was small but that's to be expected in the old city. In fact, I find Istanbul's collection of thousands of small, boutique hotels to be a big plus. This is one of them. If you want mega hotels, head over to Taksim. Agan fits the Old City's mold. It wasn't dirty (though we did find an old banana peel under a bed), and it was reasonably comfortable. People have complained about noise from the street below. For us, it wasn't too bad, especially with the window shut. By the end of the trip, we slept through the call to prayer as well. The staff was mixed. One of the staff members was outstanding. I needed to print boarding passes for a domestic flight and he was glad to spend 10 minutes helping me with that. When I tipped, he seemed surprised. Other than that, the staff was fairly quiet (I had a few unreturned greetings). Breakfast was fine. I had seen some negative reviews, but coming from the U.S., Agan's breakfast blows what most 3-4 star hotels here offer out of the water. We had better breakfast at another hotel in Turkey, but for this was totally adequate and fairly large. My only gripe is that the dining area is small and sitting outside can be a little hot/cold depending on what time of year you're in town. We also notice that even though the breakfast is advertised as served until 10, it really ends around 9:30. I sat outside each morning and if I tried to go get a cup of tea after breakfast and it was after 9:30, there were either no cups left (and none coming) or the door was locked. Don't expect to come down at 9:45 and have a good breakfast. Also, if you're doing local transfers or or excursions, search the web a little. The in-house travel agency is a little expensive. We found (and took) a Gallipoli tour that was quite a bit cheaper than what the hotel advertised. SAW airport transfers can easily be had for 10eur per person through many agencies (the hotel charges 11), although the IST transfer for 5eur is pretty solid. Overall it was a find experience. I would have no problem returning, although I don't feel that Hotel Agan provided an experience or value that can't be had elsewhere in the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a few markets within 2 blocks that sell things like bread, cheese, beer, wine, etc. The mini bar at Agan is just a fridge, so you can store goods in their. Save money by buying snacks at the market and passing on the mini bar. Walk toward the Spice Bazaar for cheap street food.

Back to menu Return to top