$61 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 23, 2014 Check-out: Oct 24, 2014

Kata Palm Resort & Spa

4 stars
60 KATA RD., KATA BEACH, MUANG,, PHUKET 83100 THAILAND, Phuket, 0
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
8 reviews
Kata Palm

We were very please with the Kata Palm. We had a confirmed reservation with another hotel so made... See full review

  • M, K & P
  • Jan 20, 2010
nice place

This is a nice place quiet and good location. Away from the crowds but close to everything, They... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Oct 13, 2009
Luxury in the palm of your hand at enchanting property near Kata Beach

Repeat guests praise the value at this inviting, 180-room property in a quiet corner of Kata. The grounds resemble a Thai royal palace with soaring pavilions, teak furniture, ornate gold carvings, and billowing gauze curtains. Kata Beach is a five-minute stroll or free shuttle away. Most guests gravitate toward the lushly landscaped pools. The main pool feels like a jungle stream as it meanders past towering palms and faux ancient ruins. The spa and kids club add to this property's tremendous appeal.

Highlights
  • Beautifully landscaped and decorated property
  • Five-minute walk or free shuttle to Kata Beach
  • Two lushly landscaped pools, plus hot tub and two wading pools for kids
  • Spa, kids club, and cooking classes add to family-friendly appeal
Rooms

Teak furniture, ornate carvings, and lovely silk accessories carry on the traditional Thai decor. The 180 comfortably sized rooms -- three of them suites -- all measure at least 355 sq ft and include a balcony or terrace, safe, mini-bar and free Wi-Fi. Pool-access rooms (484 sq ft) allow guests to step right into the pool from their terrace.

Features
Guests savor the buffet breakfast in the greenhouse-like Palm Leaf restaurant. The Palm serves fresh local seafood under the stars and giant palms. Guests can swim up to the pool bar for a cocktail or head to the adjacent Angkor restaurant for a light lunch. Guests also can learn to prepare their own Thai specialties in a cooking class.
 
Two immaculately landscaped swimming pools meander past towering palms and faux ancient ruins. Kids can splash in two wading pools or spend the day in the kids club. Spa-goers can elect a Thai honey-sesame scrub at the tranquil Warintorn Spa or a Thai massage poolside. A free shuttle takes guests to Kata Beach.
Transportation
  • Phuket International Airport (29 mi/46.7 km)
  • Airport transfer available
  • Motorbike and jeep rentals
Nearby attractions
  • Kata Beach (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Wat Chalong (5.4 mi/8.8 km)
  • Patong Beach (5.8 mi/9.4 km)
  • Jungceylon (7 mi/11.4 km)
  • Phuket FantaSea (12.2 mi/19.7 km)
Business
  • Meeting room for 30-100 people
  • Business center with free Wi-Fi

Hotel Map

7.819 98.3009
Area served
Location: Located in the Southern of Phuket and great location in centrally of Kata Beach. 50 minutes drives from Phuket International Airport, 20 minutes to Phuket Town, 12 minutes to Patong Beach and a few minutes to interesting areas.
Nearby airports
Phuket International Airport.
Area description
Location: Located in the Southern of Phuket and great location in centrally of Kata Beach. 50 minutes drives from Phuket International Airport, 20 minutes to Phuket Town, 12 minutes to Patong Beach and a few minutes to interesting areas.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Kata Palm Resort & Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Kata Palm Resort & Spa Rooms

SUPERIOR POOL VIEW ROOM
Superior Pool View: 36 sqm - 80 rooms A ground floor room has a private terrace with a few steps to swimming pool, 2nd, 3rd and 4th floor has a private balcony overlook to swimming pool with relaxing chairs and table. It has no day bed in room, extra person is on rollaway bed only.
DELUXE POOL VIEW ROOM
Deluxe Pool View: 45 sqm - 83 rooms Located on 2nd, 3rd and 4th floor has a private balcony overlook to swimming pool with relaxing chairs and table. A daybed will be set up as extra bed for extra person.
DELUXE POOL ACCESS ROOM
Deluxe Pool Access: 45 sqm - 14 rooms Located at ground floor, has a private terrace, sunbed, tea/coffee corner and direct access to swimming pool. A daybed will be set up as extra bed for extra person.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Calypso Divers: 0.6 mi
  • Hillside: 0.8 mi
  • Kata Noi Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Chalong Big Buddha: 1 mi
  • Kata View Point: 1.3 mi
  • Karon Beach: 2.2 mi
  • Elephant Trekking: 2.3 mi
  • Sea Bees Diving: 2.7 mi
  • Ao Sane Beach: 2.9 mi
  • Rawai: 3.2 mi
  • Nai Harn Beach: 3.3 mi
  • Phuket Sea Shell Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Simon Cabaret: 4.2 mi
  • Jungceylon Shopping Mall: 4.9 mi
  • Tri Trang Beach: 4.9 mi
  • Calypso Divers: 0.6 mi
  • Hillside: 0.8 mi
  • Kata Noi Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Chalong Big Buddha: 1 mi
  • Kata View Point: 1.3 mi
  • Karon Beach: 2.2 mi
  • Elephant Trekking: 2.3 mi
  • Sea Bees Diving: 2.7 mi
  • Ao Sane Beach: 2.9 mi
  • Rawai: 3.2 mi
  • Nai Harn Beach: 3.3 mi
  • Phuket Sea Shell Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Simon Cabaret: 4.2 mi
  • Jungceylon Shopping Mall: 4.9 mi
  • Tri Trang Beach: 4.9 mi
  • Jungceylon: 5 mi
  • Jungle Bungee Jump: 5.2 mi
  • Paradise beach, Phuket: 5.3 mi
  • Patong Boxing Stadium, Patong: 5.6 mi
  • Ao Yon Beach: 6.1 mi
  • Panwa Beach: 6.4 mi
  • Patong Go Kart Speedway: 6.4 mi
  • Panwa Cape: 6.4 mi
  • Central Festival Phuket: 6.8 mi
  • Coral Island: 7.2 mi
  • Phuket Aquarium: 7.4 mi
  • Nakalay Beach: 7.6 mi
  • Phuket Cable Ski: 7.7 mi
  • Phuket Butterfly Garden and Insectarium: 7.8 mi
  • Phuket Zoo: 7.8 mi
  • Wat Chalong: 7.8 mi
  • Two Heroines Monument: 7.8 mi
  • Loch Palm Golf Club: 8.1 mi
  • Phuket City: 8.2 mi
  • Thalang National Museum: 8.3 mi
  • Rang Hill: 8.5 mi
  • Siray Bay: 9.5 mi
  • Phuket FantaSea: 9.5 mi
  • Laem Sing Beach: 10.5 mi
  • Surin Beach: 11.1 mi
  • Pansea Beach: 11.4 mi
  • Siam Niramit: 12 mi
  • Bang Tao Beach: 13.1 mi
  • Cherng Talay: 13.8 mi
  • Layan Beach: 14.1 mi

Dining

Room Service:
Available from 06.00 - 23.00 hrs. (Last order 22.30 hrs)
Palm Leaf Restaurant:
Daily serving American Breakfast Buffet from 06.30 hrs. - 10.30 hrs.
Angkor Restaurant:
Relax and casual Restaurant for a Daytime with variety of foods and drinks serving from 10.00 hrs. - 18.00 hrs.
The Palm Restaurant:
A la carte Restaurant serving International Food, Sea Food and Thai food opens daily from 14.00 - 23.00 hrs. Live Band & entertainment starts from 19.00 hrs.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Umporn Meeting Room: is provided with standard equipment. Venue Banquet Theatre Classroom U-Shape Umporn 40 100 60 45 Dimensions 9 x 15 m Ceiling Height 3 meter Meeting Room equipment: Standing & Wireless microphone Whiteboard Flipchart Projector Screen LCD Projector Podium & register's table

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (8)

Ratings and reviews for Kata Palm Resort & Spa

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 8
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kata Palm Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Loretta Denver
Business
Denver, CO
Jan 6, 2013

Overpriced and poor service

We stayed at this hotel in January 2013 ( your system did not let me choose 2013). Very dissatisfied with this hotel. At the very best a 3 star. The sheets had yellow stains, the towels were the worst I have ever seen- really looked like rugs. Supposely we got an upgrade, already paid for the more expensive room (do not remember if the deluxe or superior was more expensive) I woder how the other rooms were. Everything seemed old and cheap, breakfast was average, I did not find one staff member that spoke good English. For $360/night it was the worst place we ever stayed ( and we travel a lot). I do not recommed this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kata Palm Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Songpol T
Business
Bangkok, Thailand
Oct 22, 2010

Good for family and couple, great pool

I rest in deluxe room, spacious rooms around hotel have lot of pub and bars The hotel not on the beach but not so far to walk to. The pool very good, Value for this price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kata Palm Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange County
Jul 25, 2009

Average

You do get what you pay for. The price was great but even upgrading to a deluxe pool view room, the room still seemed...average...maybe even a bit shabby. The bed is almost as hard as a rock and the comforter had an awkward smell...mildew maybe. The housekeeper did not clean the room well and did not refill any of the small amenities in the room ie cotton swabs, hand soap. She also did not tidy up the room as you normally see at other hotels. Housekeeping is very minimal here. The great thing was that breakfast was included and although I loved how they provided both a western & Thai selection of food, I still found the food average as well. The pool was great and the beach was only a 10 minute walk away! I went to the hotel website and the pictures there are pretty deceiving. Again, you can't really be too picky with the price you're paying. It's a great value but don't expect too much here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kata Palm Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Frandersdesuyo
Business
Houston, Tx
Nov 2, 2010

It was a cute place.

I have been going to Phuket Thailand every year since 05 and have for the most part stayed at the Hilton Arcadia in Karong beach. This time around I was on a bit of a budget and chose the Kata Palm Resort for a few reasons. I really enjoy the Karong beach area of Phuket Island but had not ever been to Kata beach. They are actually just down the road from each other, walking. The pictures shown on [...] and afew other hotel booking websites looked pretty good and they showed that the hotel had some good features that made it look really comfortable. And for the money it really seemed like a great deal. It defiantly was in a good location in Kata just walking distance to the beach and everything else.Upon arrival I could see that the Kata Palm was going to be subpar compared to a major corporate run hotel chain. JUst walking in you could tell they were going to be lacking in customer service. Now mind you if theres a score for the bare minimum they would get great scores!!! I guess Im just used to the staff to really go to great lengths to make you feel welcome and that if you were going to have any needs or wants the staff would go to reasonable lengths to help. Im not sure exactly what it is but the staff at The Kata palm resort just didn't seem motivated to be sincerely welcoming.The room was fairly basic but with some neat decorative details. But really a basic room. Everything was modern and up to date except for the TV that seemed kinda old. The house keeping staff did a great job at freshening up the room everyday. The bed was comfy and the pillows were nice but the bedding although clean and fresh was worn and a bit tattered. Good aircon and two complementary bottles of water a day as well.The grounds were nice and the pool area was large and really a fun layout with some neat details that the kids seemed to enjoy. The lil restaurant in the middle had good food and fruit smoothies as well and the breakfast was not bad. They had a decent choice of items but not the best Ive ever seen.So basically for the rate I received by booking here I really think I got a great deal. All the basics were met. My only problems were in the details. Room service was lacking. Wrong orders and over priced. Skimpy on taste the condiments and napkins. But I guess they were pretty fast. The shower head shot out the water at high velocity and in multi directions which was kinda funny. Oddly enough the sink water pressure was on the low side.I originally booked for 4 nights but ended up staying 7 due to getting ill. The Kata palm showed no mercy and charged me a higher rate for the extra 3 nights. No consideration to the amount of nights previously booked and no sympathy shown for my condition or situation. It was the slow season and Im pretty sure they were not booked near to capacity. Thats another detail customer service related that could have been handled better to ensure return business. A lesson I learned on this years trip is not to skimp when it comes to lodging. I guess I defiantly got what I paid for.Basically a good value for the price as long as you're not expecting to much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

In my experience Karong had better shopping but a lot more sleaziness. But no where near the Patong level. Kata beach is defiantly more family oriented and a lot less hustlers than any other area of Phuket that Ive stayed. Katong beach is just up the road and walkable. It would seem the rule of thumb for bargaining is to take whatever price they're offering and cut it in half but give in about 20%

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kata Palm Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bizzib
Business
Brynmawr, South Wales
Sep 25, 2009

Very glad we went out of season...

We stayed at the Kata Palm Resort for 12 days and loved every minute. The staff were great and not once did we encounter a surly or unfriendly / unhelpful person. There was no pressure to sell you trips from the concierce / travel desk at the entrance and yet friendly advice and free maps because we had booked our own vehicle for the duration. Room service was exceptionally fast and the food was as good as you would expect it to be. Contrary to other reviewers who have complained about the breakfast options, we found the choices varied and plentiful. We also had a lovely chat to the new food and beverage manager, a lovely young man with great ambition and wonderful plans...perhaps we will go back next year to see all the changes he spoke about so enthusiastically. The one man band who is the evening entertainment is admittedly, not the best but friendly and entertaining nonetheless. However, the young barman is wonderfully cheeky with a really mischieveous face and demeanour..he was the highlight of our evening and kept us laughing and made the most wonderful cocktails and fruit carvings. And don't be put off by weather warnings about monsoon season, we did encounter rain on a couple of occasions but the heat remains, it dries quickly and the holiday was still great fun. (In fact in the intense heat you may even find yourself appreciating the odd burst of cooling rain)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kata Palm Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Jul 22, 2009

Great Location

Great Hotel and Value. Unique Hotel design, from some rooms you can enter the pool direct from the patio. Pool goes around the hotel with great tropical trees and flowers. Staff is very friendly, English communication could be a little better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping and Nightlife short walk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kata Palm Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle
Oct 13, 2009

nice place

This is a nice place quiet and good location. Away from the crowds but close to everything, They have free chairs at the beach ( first come bases ) and free shuttle to go places. The rooms were small but nice,,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

ask for the free shuttle to go places I did not know about them u till I left.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kata Palm Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
M, K & P
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jan 20, 2010

Kata Palm

We were very please with the Kata Palm. We had a confirmed reservation with another hotel so made plane reservations and flew to Phuket only to find out that the other hotel had cancelled our reservation. When we arrived, they only could offer us one night at a much higher price than they promised originally. Got online [...] and were able to book the Kata Palm. MUCH BETTER! A much more tropical-feeling hotel with beautiful room, great pool area, very friendly staff, superb breakfast buffet included, etc. Loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Try to Bunga Massage (about 2 minutes from Kata Palm (at end of a long shopping walkway). The massages were great but the "Bunga Girls" were the best - nice, friendly and wonderful massages.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top