Kata Palm Resort & Spa ★★★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$112
avg/night
Rate and special offer based on
Check-in: Mar 2, 2016 Check-out: Mar 5, 2016
4.1 /5
Overall score
88%
Would recommend
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.2
1 2 3 4 5

Select your room

Room types

Show Prices Deluxe - Pool View - Pool access
  • Size: 484 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Superior Room - Pool View
  • Size: 387 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Deluxe Room - Pool View
  • Size: 570 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2

Overview

Repeat guests praise the value at this inviting, 180-room property in a quiet corner of Kata. The grounds resemble a Thai royal palace with soaring pavilions, teak furniture, ornate gold carvings, and billowing gauze curtains. Kata Beach is a five-minute stroll or free shuttle away. Most guests gravitate toward the lushly landscaped pools. The main pool feels like a jungle stream as it meanders past towering palms and faux ancient ruins. The spa and kids club add to this property's tremendous appeal.

Rooms

Teak furniture, ornate carvings, and lovely silk accessories carry on the traditional Thai decor. The 180 comfortably sized rooms -- three of them suites -- all measure at least 355 sq ft and include a balcony or terrace, safe, mini-bar and free Wi-Fi. Pool-access rooms (484 sq ft) allow guests to step right into the pool from their terrace.

Property features

Guests savor the buffet breakfast in the greenhouse-like Palm Leaf restaurant. The Palm serves fresh local seafood under the stars and giant palms. Guests can swim up to the pool bar for a cocktail or head to the adjacent Angkor restaurant for a light lunch. Guests also can learn to prepare their own Thai specialties in a cooking class.
 
Two immaculately landscaped swimming pools meander past towering palms and faux ancient ruins. Kids can splash in two wading pools or spend the day in the kids club. Spa-goers can elect a Thai honey-sesame scrub at the tranquil Warintorn Spa or a Thai massage poolside. A free shuttle takes guests to Kata Beach.

Highlights

  • Beautifully landscaped and decorated property
  • Five-minute walk or free shuttle to Kata Beach
  • Two lushly landscaped pools, plus hot tub and two wading pools for kids
  • Spa, kids club, and cooking classes add to family-friendly appeal

Nearby attractions

  • Kata Beach (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Wat Chalong (5.4 mi/8.8 km)
  • Patong Beach (5.8 mi/9.4 km)
  • Jungceylon (7 mi/11.4 km)
  • Phuket FantaSea (12.2 mi/19.7 km)

Business

  • Meeting room for 30-100 people
  • Business center with free Wi-Fi

Transportation

  • Phuket International Airport (29 mi/46.7 km)
  • Airport transfer available
  • Motorbike and jeep rentals

Dining

Room Service:
Available from 06.00 - 23.00 hrs. (Last order 22.30 hrs)
Palm Leaf Restaurant:
Daily serving American Breakfast Buffet from 06.30 hrs. - 10.30 hrs.
Angkor Restaurant:
Relax and casual Restaurant for a Daytime with variety of foods and drinks serving from 10.00 hrs. - 18.00 hrs.
The Palm Restaurant:
A la carte Restaurant serving International Food, Sea Food and Thai food opens daily from 14.00 - 23.00 hrs. Live Band & entertainment starts from 19.00 hrs.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Umporn Meeting Room: is provided with standard equipment. Venue Banquet Theatre Classroom U-Shape Umporn 40 100 60 45 Dimensions 9 x 15 m Ceiling Height 3 meter Meeting Room equipment: Standing & Wireless microphone Whiteboard Flipchart Projector Screen LCD Projector Podium & register's table

Recommendations for you

Guest score 4.3 / 5
$180
Guest score 4.0 / 5
$90
Guest score 4.6 / 5
$102
Guest score 4.2 / 5
$53
Guest score 4.0 / 5
$40
Guest score 3.0 / 5
$66

Amenities

Featured

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities

General

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
  • Concierge
  • Elevators

Activities

  • Outdoor pool
  • Fitness center or spa
  • Exercise gym
  • Spa

Dining

  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Room service

Services

  • Laundry service
  • In-Room Safe
  • Tour desk
  • Meeting/Banquet facilities
  • Conference facilities
  • Doctor on call
  • Currency exchange

Internet

  • WiFi

Transportation

  • Airport shuttle

Parking

  • Free parking

Accessibility

  • Accessible facilities
  • Accessible parking

Reviews

4.1 /5 Overall score

88% Would recommend

  • Amenities: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4/5
  • Hotel staff: 3.8/5
  • Comfort: 3.9/5
  • Location: 4.1/5
  • Value: 4.2/5

Overpriced and poor service

Would not recommend Sun, Jan 6, 2013
We stayed at this hotel in January 2013 ( your system did not let me choose 2013). Very dissatisfied with this hotel. At the very best a 3 star. The sheets had yellow stains, the towels were the worst I have ever seen- really looked like rugs. Supposely we got an upgrade, already paid for the more expensive room (do not remember if the deluxe or superior was more expensive) I woder how the other rooms were. Everything seemed old and cheap, breakfast was average, I did not find one staff member that spoke good English. For $360/night it was the worst place we ever stayed ( and we travel a lot). I do not recommed this hotel.

| Denver, CO Family

2 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 1 /5
  • Cleanliness: 2 /5
  • Hotel staff: 1 /5
  • Comfort: 2 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 1 /5

It was a cute place.

Would recommend Tue, Nov 2, 2010
I have been going to Phuket Thailand every year since 05 and have for the most part stayed at the Hilton Arcadia in Karong beach. This time around I was on a bit of a budget and chose the Kata Palm Resort for a few reasons. I really enjoy the Karong beach area of Phuket Island but had not ever been to Kata beach. They are actually just down the road from each other, walking. The pictures shown on [...] and afew other hotel booking websites looked pretty good and they showed that the hotel had some good features that made it look really comfortable. And for the money it really seemed like a great deal. It defiantly was in a good location in Kata just walking distance to the beach and everything else.Upon arrival I could see that the Kata Palm was going to be subpar compared to a major corporate run hotel chain. JUst walking in you could tell they were going to be lacking in customer service. Now mind you if theres a score for the bare minimum they would get great scores!!! I guess Im just used to the staff to really go to great lengths to make you feel welcome and that if you were going to have any needs or wants the staff would go to reasonable lengths to help. Im not sure exactly what it is but the staff at The Kata palm resort just didn't seem motivated to be sincerely welcoming.The room was fairly basic but with some neat decorative details. But really a basic room. Everything was modern and up to date except for the TV that seemed kinda old. The house keeping staff did a great job at freshening up the room everyday. The bed was comfy and the pillows were nice but the bedding although clean and fresh was worn and a bit tattered. Good aircon and two complementary bottles of water a day as well.The grounds were nice and the pool area was large and really a fun layout with some neat details that the kids seemed to enjoy. The lil restaurant in the middle had good food and fruit smoothies as well and the breakfast was not bad. They had a decent choice of items but not the best Ive ever seen.So basically for the rate I received by booking here I really think I got a great deal. All the basics were met. My only problems were in the details. Room service was lacking. Wrong orders and over priced. Skimpy on taste the condiments and napkins. But I guess they were pretty fast. The shower head shot out the water at high velocity and in multi directions which was kinda funny. Oddly enough the sink water pressure was on the low side.I originally booked for 4 nights but ended up staying 7 due to getting ill. The Kata palm showed no mercy and charged me a higher rate for the extra 3 nights. No consideration to the amount of nights previously booked and no sympathy shown for my condition or situation. It was the slow season and Im pretty sure they were not booked near to capacity. Thats another detail customer service related that could have been handled better to ensure return business. A lesson I learned on this years trip is not to skimp when it comes to lodging. I guess I defiantly got what I paid for.Basically a good value for the price as long as you're not expecting to much.

Shopping hint

In my experience Karong had better shopping but a lot more sleaziness. But no where near the Patong level. Kata beach is defiantly more family oriented and a lot less hustlers than any other area of Phuket that Ive stayed. Katong beach is just up the road and walkable. It would seem the rule of thumb for bargaining is to take whatever price they're offering and cut it in half but give in about 20%

| Houston, Tx Singles

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Good for family and couple, great pool

Would recommend Fri, Oct 22, 2010
I rest in deluxe room, spacious rooms around hotel have lot of pub and bars The hotel not on the beach but not so far to walk to. The pool very good, Value for this price

| Bangkok, Thailand Family

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Kata Palm

Would recommend Wed, Jan 20, 2010
We were very please with the Kata Palm. We had a confirmed reservation with another hotel so made plane reservations and flew to Phuket only to find out that the other hotel had cancelled our reservation. When we arrived, they only could offer us one night at a much higher price than they promised originally. Got online [...] and were able to book the Kata Palm. MUCH BETTER! A much more tropical-feeling hotel with beautiful room, great pool area, very friendly staff, superb breakfast buffet included, etc. Loved it.

Entertainment hint

Try to Bunga Massage (about 2 minutes from Kata Palm (at end of a long shopping walkway). The massages were great but the "Bunga Girls" were the best - nice, friendly and wonderful massages.

| Los Angeles, CA Family

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

nice place

Would recommend Tue, Oct 13, 2009
This is a nice place quiet and good location. Away from the crowds but close to everything, They have free chairs at the beach ( first come bases ) and free shuttle to go places. The rooms were small but nice,,

Money saver

ask for the free shuttle to go places I did not know about them u till I left.

| Seattle Family

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Very glad we went out of season...

Would recommend Fri, Sep 25, 2009
We stayed at the Kata Palm Resort for 12 days and loved every minute. The staff were great and not once did we encounter a surly or unfriendly / unhelpful person. There was no pressure to sell you trips from the concierce / travel desk at the entrance and yet friendly advice and free maps because we had booked our own vehicle for the duration. Room service was exceptionally fast and the food was as good as you would expect it to be. Contrary to other reviewers who have complained about the breakfast options, we found the choices varied and plentiful. We also had a lovely chat to the new food and beverage manager, a lovely young man with great ambition and wonderful plans...perhaps we will go back next year to see all the changes he spoke about so enthusiastically. The one man band who is the evening entertainment is admittedly, not the best but friendly and entertaining nonetheless. However, the young barman is wonderfully cheeky with a really mischieveous face and demeanour..he was the highlight of our evening and kept us laughing and made the most wonderful cocktails and fruit carvings. And don't be put off by weather warnings about monsoon season, we did encounter rain on a couple of occasions but the heat remains, it dries quickly and the holiday was still great fun. (In fact in the intense heat you may even find yourself appreciating the odd burst of cooling rain)

| Brynmawr, South Wales Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Average

Would not recommend Sat, Jul 25, 2009
You do get what you pay for. The price was great but even upgrading to a deluxe pool view room, the room still seemed...average...maybe even a bit shabby. The bed is almost as hard as a rock and the comforter had an awkward smell...mildew maybe. The housekeeper did not clean the room well and did not refill any of the small amenities in the room ie cotton swabs, hand soap. She also did not tidy up the room as you normally see at other hotels. Housekeeping is very minimal here. The great thing was that breakfast was included and although I loved how they provided both a western & Thai selection of food, I still found the food average as well. The pool was great and the beach was only a 10 minute walk away! I went to the hotel website and the pictures there are pretty deceiving. Again, you can't really be too picky with the price you're paying. It's a great value but don't expect too much here.

| Orange County Couples

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 1 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 1 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Great Location

Would recommend Wed, Jul 22, 2009
Great Hotel and Value. Unique Hotel design, from some rooms you can enter the pool direct from the patio. Pool goes around the hotel with great tropical trees and flowers. Staff is very friendly, English communication could be a little better.

Shopping hint

Shopping and Nightlife short walk

| Los Angeles Business

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Top hotels

Nearby points of interest

Calypso Divers 0.6 mi
Hillside 0.8 mi
Chalong Big Buddha 1 mi
Kata View Point 1.3 mi
Elephant Trekking 2.3 mi
Sea Bees Diving 2.7 mi
Ao Sane Beach 2.9 mi
Rawai 3.2 mi
Nai Harn Beach 3.3 mi
Phuket Sea Shell Museum 3.6 mi
Simon Cabaret 4.2 mi
Jungceylon Shopping Mall 4.9 mi
Tri Trang Beach 4.9 mi
Jungceylon 5 mi
Jungle Bungee Jump 5.2 mi
Paradise beach, Phuket 5.3 mi
Patong Boxing Stadium, Patong 5.6 mi
Ao Yon Beach 6.1 mi
Panwa Beach 6.4 mi
Patong Go Kart Speedway 6.4 mi
Central Festival Phuket 6.8 mi
Coral Island 7.2 mi
Phuket Aquarium 7.4 mi
Nakalay Beach 7.6 mi
Phuket Cable Ski 7.7 mi
Phuket Butterfly Garden and Insectarium 7.8 mi
Phuket Zoo 7.8 mi
Wat Chalong 7.8 mi
Two Heroines Monument 7.8 mi
Loch Palm Golf Club 8.1 mi
Phuket City 8.2 mi
Thalang National Museum 8.3 mi
Rang Hill 8.5 mi
Siray Bay 9.5 mi
Phuket FantaSea 9.5 mi
Laem Sing Beach 10.5 mi
Surin Beach 11.1 mi
Pansea Beach 11.4 mi
Siam Niramit 12 mi
Cherng Talay 13.8 mi
Layan Beach 14.1 mi
Ao Por 14.4 mi
Wat Phra Nang Sang 14.5 mi
Ton Sai Waterfall 15.1 mi
Wat Phra Thong 15.1 mi

Hotel Policies

  • Check-in: 2:00 PM
  • Check-out: 12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

$112
avg/night
Choose dates
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 2, 2016 Check-out: Mar 5, 2016