$71 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 20, 2014

Rimping Village

4 stars
13/1 Soi 2, Chiangmai-Lamphun Rd., T. WatGate, A.Muang, Chiang Mai, 50000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.7
out of 5
15 reviews
Best Chiang Mai stay in town!

Awesome experience!! Staff was waiting for us at the airport with the van, limo type seating all... See full review

  • Hutch and Fam
  • May 22, 2014
Heavenly experience

Wonderful staff especially Tommy who organised first class trips for us at reasonable cost. monks... See full review

  • TravelwoofLeeds
  • Oct 10, 2013
Comfort in the heart of Chiang Mai’s historic trading center

Rimpling Village is situated in the heart of the Wat Gate, the historical district of Chiang Mai and guests will be charmed by the warm and welcoming atmosphere of this small 24-room hotel. The restaurant offers a wide selection of Thai and European dishes using locally grown fresh produce. Look out for the giant shady Yang tree situated by the pool.

3 Reasons to Stay:
  • 20 minute drive from the airport (shuttle bus)

  • Facilities for guests with special needs

  • Situated close to Chiang Mai's historical sights

Rimpling Village Rooms

All rooms are decorated in the Lanna style. Superior Rooms offer double or twin beds, shower room and internet access. The Superior room is 24 sq. m. Alternatively; Delux Rooms include a personal balcony, double beds, en suite shower and bath facilities, and internet access (fees may apply). The Deluxe room offers a spacious 43 sq. m to enjoy (including the private balcony area). Those who are travelling with a group, or just want a little more space, have several options to choose from. Rimpling Deluxe rooms include a living area with sofa bed for additional guests, as well as a large bedroom with double bed, separate shower and bath and internet access throughout. On the other hand, the specially designed Family Suite offers plenty of space, with one double bed and two single beds, as well as a separate sitting area and en suite shower and bath. The Family Suite is 52 sq. m in total.

Things to Do:
  • Night Bazaar (2.8-km)

  • City Centre (2.1-km)

  • Pimanthip Golf Course (4-km)

  • Princess Mother's Health Garden (3.5-km)

Policies and fees
  • Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.
  • The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.7851 99.0068
Area served
Chiangmai.
Nearby airports
Chiang Mai Airport International Airport. 20 Minute
Area description
The hotel is within close walking distance from the night bazaar and is a short stroll or a very fast tuk-tuk ride from the city center, Yet extremely peaceful, as it is tucked away in a quiet neighbourhood.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Rimping Village also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Rimping Village Rooms

Superior Room
1. Superior room is 24 sq.m. with a double bed or twin beds upon requested for 2 persons, decorative Lanna and resort style, unwinds refreshing shower, enjoyable and exploratory internet access in room.
Deluxe Room
2. Deluxe room is 35 - 43 sq.m. (room area 28 - 36 sq.m.+ balcony area 7 sq.m.) with a double bed for 2 persons. Decorative Lanna and resort style, slackens and unwinds relaxing private balcony with good overlooking refreshing breezy atmosphere garden, a freshness of relaxing shower and bathtub, enjoyable and exploratory internet access in room.
Rimping Deluxe
3. Rimping Deluxe is 39 - 48 sq.m. with a double bed for 2 persons. Decorative Lanna and resort style, Rimping Deluxe features space of relaxing and refreshing living area, comfortable sofa bed, separated shower and bathtub, enjoyable and exploratory internet access in room.
Family Suite
4. Family Suite is 48-52 sq.m. with a double bed and 2 single beds for 4 persons, Enjoy a space of Suite room with relaxing sitting area, Decorative Lanna and resort style. Separated shower and bathtub, enjoyable and exploratory internet access in room.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Night Bazaar: 0.4 mi
  • Railway Station: 0.6 mi
  • Tribal Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Tha Phae Gate: 0.9 mi
  • Chiang Mai Gate: 1.2 mi
  • Three Kings Monument: 1.3 mi
  • Thriving Sunday Market: 1.3 mi
  • Orchid and Butterfly Farm: 1.4 mi
  • Chang Phuak Gate: 1.5 mi
  • Wat Phra Sing: 1.7 mi
  • Suan Prung Gate: 1.7 mi
  • Chang Phuak Bus Station: 1.7 mi
  • Nong Buak Hat Park: 1.8 mi
  • Suan Dok Gate: 1.9 mi
  • National Library: 1.9 mi
  • Night Bazaar: 0.4 mi
  • Railway Station: 0.6 mi
  • Tribal Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Tha Phae Gate: 0.9 mi
  • Chiang Mai Gate: 1.2 mi
  • Three Kings Monument: 1.3 mi
  • Thriving Sunday Market: 1.3 mi
  • Orchid and Butterfly Farm: 1.4 mi
  • Chang Phuak Gate: 1.5 mi
  • Wat Phra Sing: 1.7 mi
  • Suan Prung Gate: 1.7 mi
  • Chang Phuak Bus Station: 1.7 mi
  • Nong Buak Hat Park: 1.8 mi
  • Suan Dok Gate: 1.9 mi
  • National Library: 1.9 mi
  • Culture Centre: 2 mi
  • Angkhang: 2.2 mi
  • Wiang Kum Kam: 2.3 mi
  • National Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Chiang Mai Zoo: 4.2 mi
  • Royal Flora Ratchaphruek: 4.6 mi
  • Doi Suthep National Park: 5.8 mi
  • Night Safari: 6.6 mi
  • San Kamphaeng: 7.6 mi
  • Kat Dara Market: 11.5 mi
  • Doi Inthanon National Park: 33.9 mi

Dining

Restaurant
The restaurant offers a range or exotic Thai food cooked with "Rice bean oil" which is cholesterol free and high in vitamin E. They use only fresh, natural ingredients with no MSG added. Apart from our great concern toward the taste and ingredients added into Dishes, the environment is also one important aspect we pay serious intention to : the outdoor seats within refreshing atmosphere ofthe shady giant Yang tree by the pool as well as the indoor ones with cooling air-conditioners and soft music are available. It Offers a selection of fine cuisine featuring Thai and western-Open from 7:00 a.m. : 10 p.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (15)

Ratings and reviews for Rimping Village

Overall score

4.7 / 5
5.01.0
15 out of 15
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.9

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Rimping Village

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gman1
Chicago, Illinois
Dec 13, 2011

Great Hotel

The hotel is great and the staff are really helpful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Rimping Village

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlanta, GA
Jul 12, 2009

Great Place to Stay in Chiang Mai!

Rimping Village was a great place to stay in Chiang Mai. It's just across the Ping River from the night bazaar area, which means that it is quiet and peaceful, yet just a 5-minute walk from the touristy excitement of the rest of chiang mai. The staff at Rimping Village are very friendly and make you feel very welcome. The breakfast is wonderful every day, and it is quite relaxing to sit by the pool after a long day walking around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

If you need a break from Thai food while in Chiang Mai, try Giorgio's Italian Restaurant. It's so good we went 2 nights!

Review of Rimping Village

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hutch and Fam
Osan, Korea
May 22, 2014

Best Chiang Mai stay in town!

Awesome experience!! Staff was waiting for us at the airport with the van, limo type seating all the way to the hotel where our check-in staff took the time to designate points of interest on a map of town while our luggage was being delivered to our room. Family suite was spacious for our family of 4 (open living space, so no privacy for Mom & Dad), large tub and separate shower. Beds were hard, but not terrible compared to Asia standards. Complimentary WiFi was fast and complimentary breakfast buffet was outstanding. The entire complex was spotless and they had clean towels right next to every lounge chair by the pool. Beautiful surroundings and very close to the night bazaar. Staff was extremely helpful and friendly, booked our elephant adventure and zip-lining tours and even arranged for an early breakfast both days since we left prior to the scheduled breakfast times. They gave us plenty of bottled water and extra towels for our tours. You'll never regret staying at this hotel and you're so close to everything that you can take a bike or walk to the grocery store, nail salon and multiple massage parlors to enjoy your time here. Only wish we had more time to hang out at this bargain hotel. The only difference between this 4-star resort and a 5-star resort is the extraordinary price. It's so cheap to enjoy everything here! If we can ever afford the airline tickets back to Thailand, we will definitely stay here again!! Just bring plenty of sunscreen and bug repellent and don't forget the sunglasses, it may be the mountainous jungle, but it's still a sunny area. If you want to do any shopping at all while you're in Thailand, hit the Sunday market. Absolutely the best prices you'll see and the most diverse and unique gifts/food/clothes you'll find. Many hand made crafts and awesome street food that will make you almost laugh when haggling for a better price. Fresh fruit smoothies, t-shirts, gifts, trinkets, fresh street food, and almost everything in-between could be found.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Rimping Village

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gman1
Chicago, Illinois
Dec 13, 2011

Great Hotel

The hotel is great and the staff are really helpful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Rimping Village

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AlinkaM
New York
Jul 9, 2013

Best Experience in Thailand Hotel

My husband and I stayed here several nights during our honeymoon, and it was hands down the best hotel. First thing we noticed was how clean it is, and the great amenities including a delicious breakfast, a pool, free bike rental, and close proximity to the city center. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful in helping us plan activities during our stay. The hotel is not too big, and the staff knew us by name, which added to the quaintness. We would absolutely stay here if we come back to Chiang Mai

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Rimping Village

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
hawaii
Apr 18, 2010

awesome service

hotel staff provided exceptional service, location was next to a supermarket which made grocery shopping a breeze, a five minute walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Rimping Village

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlanta, GA
Jul 12, 2009

Great Place to Stay in Chiang Mai!

Rimping Village was a great place to stay in Chiang Mai. It's just across the Ping River from the night bazaar area, which means that it is quiet and peaceful, yet just a 5-minute walk from the touristy excitement of the rest of chiang mai. The staff at Rimping Village are very friendly and make you feel very welcome. The breakfast is wonderful every day, and it is quite relaxing to sit by the pool after a long day walking around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

If you need a break from Thai food while in Chiang Mai, try Giorgio's Italian Restaurant. It's so good we went 2 nights!

Review of Rimping Village

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TravelwoofLeeds
Leeds
Oct 10, 2013

Heavenly experience

Wonderful staff especially Tommy who organised first class trips for us at reasonable cost. monks came to kitchen door every morning for gifts which was a humbling experience.well placed for city but away from bustle. Went to Golden triangle, boat trip and city tour to see temples and brilliant " monk chat" at one which is what it sounds like. Excellent experience tha can be warmly recommended

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Monk chat at temple ie talking to monks in English which they do to impove their English

Review of Rimping Village

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kingumhb
Belton, TX
Jul 4, 2009

Rimping Village is the place to stay

The staff at Rimping Village made everything easy starting with picking us up at the airport in a well air conditioned Mercedes SUV - a very nice touch in Thailand in hot and humid June. We had two short days in the Chiang Mai area. We wanted to make the most of our time. The staff helped us with getting to the Night Bazaar (just across the river). They also helped us plan a day-trip with the elephants, etc. for the next day. They helped us select just the right tour package. Unfortunately my wife woke up ill and could not go on the tour. The staff checked on her during the day and assured us that they would get her to the doctor if need be. Thankfully a doctor was not needed. But it was nice to know that they cared. My wife felt relieved to have their concern while being left alone feeling ill far from home. And the tour that was selected was first rate. Surprisingly and gratefully - and not requested - Rimping Village worked with the tour agency for a full refund on my wife's portion of the tour. Regarding some of the amenities, the combined Western and Thai breakfasts were great. Again the staff was outstanding. The salt-water pool was a very welcomed relief at the end of very hot and humid days. Finally, I met other tourists on the tour with whom we decided to have dinner at a great traditional Thai dinner and show. However two of them were not staying at Rimping Village. Nevertheless the staff was very welcoming and allowed them to make use of the lobby facilities until it was time to leave. We also made use of Rimping Village to take us back to the airport to return to Bangkok. They were very accommodating. The only problem we had with Rimping Village was that we could not stay longer. We would have changed plans and stayed if business responsibilities had not dictated our schedule. Thanks Rimping Village for a wonderful time and for putting a great face on the people of Chiang Mai.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The unparalled Night Bazaar with its "restaurant row" was a short walk across the river. And if that is even too far, the famous restaurant Duke's is one block away on the Rimping Village side of the river.

Review of Rimping Village

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
hawaii
Apr 18, 2010

awesome service

hotel staff provided exceptional service, location was next to a supermarket which made grocery shopping a breeze, a five minute walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Rimping Village

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kingumhb
Belton, TX
Jul 4, 2009

Rimping Village is the place to stay

The staff at Rimping Village made everything easy starting with picking us up at the airport in a well air conditioned Mercedes SUV - a very nice touch in Thailand in hot and humid June. We had two short days in the Chiang Mai area. We wanted to make the most of our time. The staff helped us with getting to the Night Bazaar (just across the river). They also helped us plan a day-trip with the elephants, etc. for the next day. They helped us select just the right tour package. Unfortunately my wife woke up ill and could not go on the tour. The staff checked on her during the day and assured us that they would get her to the doctor if need be. Thankfully a doctor was not needed. But it was nice to know that they cared. My wife felt relieved to have their concern while being left alone feeling ill far from home. And the tour that was selected was first rate. Surprisingly and gratefully - and not requested - Rimping Village worked with the tour agency for a full refund on my wife's portion of the tour. Regarding some of the amenities, the combined Western and Thai breakfasts were great. Again the staff was outstanding. The salt-water pool was a very welcomed relief at the end of very hot and humid days. Finally, I met other tourists on the tour with whom we decided to have dinner at a great traditional Thai dinner and show. However two of them were not staying at Rimping Village. Nevertheless the staff was very welcoming and allowed them to make use of the lobby facilities until it was time to leave. We also made use of Rimping Village to take us back to the airport to return to Bangkok. They were very accommodating. The only problem we had with Rimping Village was that we could not stay longer. We would have changed plans and stayed if business responsibilities had not dictated our schedule. Thanks Rimping Village for a wonderful time and for putting a great face on the people of Chiang Mai.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The unparalled Night Bazaar with its "restaurant row" was a short walk across the river. And if that is even too far, the famous restaurant Duke's is one block away on the Rimping Village side of the river.

Back to menu Return to top