Thong Ta Resort & Spa Bangkok

3 stars
View map of 1894/5 Onnut Latkrabang Road, Latkrabang, Bangkok, 10520

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Thong Ta Resort & Spa Bangkok

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
59 out of 59
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.2

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Thong Ta Resort & Spa Bangkok

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lucia1111
USA
May 10, 2012

great all around

This hotel is about 10-15min ride from Bangkok. The food carts and little restaurants around the hotel were delicious and authentic (more enjoyable than most places right in Bangkok), although the Thais spoke very little English so be sure to learn a few basic phrases. The staff at the hotel did speak English and were very helpful, even helping us call another hotel in our next stop to make reservations. To get into the city just take a cab to the airport (3 USD) and from there take the skytrain. The tour at the hotel will also take you via cab right into the heart of the city for US 20. The room was clean, bed on the firmer side, western toilet, hot water, and AC. Wifi was available although the connection was a little sporadic. Free shuttle to/from the airport, look for a representative holding a Thong Ta sign neat exit 4 at the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The food vendors right at the end of the street, cheap and delicious.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thong Ta Resort & Spa Bangkok

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ChristyLMT
Business
Niagara Falls, NY, USA
Feb 18, 2012

Perfect for an overnight layover in Bangkok

My flight got in late. By the time I got through customs, it was after 1:00 am. The person to get me on the free shuttle was there as promised. He was a really nice guy. When I got to the hotel, I asked if I could possibly get a massage. They sent someone to my room at 2:00 am. It was the most amazing massage I have EVER had! Breakfast was free in the morning as was the shuttle back to the airport. It wasn't as close to the airport as I read, but it worked out anyway. Great service and the hotel covered all the necessary amenities. Far from luxurious, but amazingly priced!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thong Ta Resort & Spa Bangkok

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Johnny66
Business
Pattaya
Feb 18, 2012

Airport overnight

This is a good choice for overnight accommodation at the Bangkok airport. Free shuttle. 10-minutes from airport. Free breakfast. Large rooms, private bath, cable TV (limited English channels). Air conditioned. Good choice for one night. Good value. Recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thong Ta Resort & Spa Bangkok

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chitmail
Business
Fresno, CA
Feb 10, 2012

Great Transfer Hotel - Clean, Quiet, Convenient.

We got in at midnight and our next flight was the next morning. We were pleased to find the van ready for us in 10 minutes to take us to the hotel which is 10 minutes from the airport. The front desk was ready for us and the bellhops carried our 4 heavy bags up to our 3rd floor room for us. The room was clean and quiet. The beds aren't great - maybe an extra blanket to sleep on would take away the feel of bed springs - but I've had much worse. In the morning they provided a simple (toast, egg, ham, hot dog, tea/coffee) breakfast - but more than enough. They arranged the van back to the airport and we were on our way. Definitely would stay there again if just transitioning through Bangkok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Nice, Thai feeling hotel for the transitioning traveler.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thong Ta Resort & Spa Bangkok

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
concord, ca
Apr 5, 2011

ok

Stay was ok. 15 min from airport, not 5 min as advertised. Free airport transfer and breakfast was simple, but did the trick. Liked the evening staff and early morning staff much more than the people who checked me in during the day. I was asked a couple times under whose name the reservation was booked. As I was traveling alone and having told the receptionist this the first time, I'm not sure what assumptions she was making, but it wasn't a good one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a few restaurants up the road and across the parking lot. Can't remember the name, but there is one 2 doors down from 7-11 that was pretty good and the prices were decent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thong Ta Resort & Spa Bangkok

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
thenar
Business
Aspen, Colorado
Feb 24, 2011

Airport Hotel, but don't expect a wakeup

This hotel is conveniently located about a 15 minute drive from Bangkok International Airport (Suvarnabhumi). The hotel representative was there to pick us up for the free shuttle. Everybody was nice to us, but there were problems. We'd pre-paid for a double bed and got twins...didn't like that. The beds were supposed to be "Sleep Number" beds, but were not. The room wasn't particularly inviting and the hotel has no elevator. Sure the bellhop took the bags up, but I prefer to take my own bags. The Internet did not work as advertised and worst of all I asked for a wakeup call, saying it was critically important...no wake up call. They had it on a list at the front desk, without our room number...could have been disastrous because we had to get up at 4:30 am. But the morning shuttle at 5:00am was on time. We missed the breakfast which starts at 6:00am, so no comment there. I would recommend to a friend for a cheap convenient stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

I don't have anything to say about any of these subjects because I was only there for a few hours.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thong Ta Resort & Spa Bangkok

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Frugalite
Business
Silver Spring, MD
Jan 18, 2011

Inexpensive hotel close to the airport

Nice, affordable, small hotel close to the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Not close to Bangkok city center.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thong Ta Resort & Spa Bangkok

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, Texas
Jan 18, 2011

Possible Groom

Aside from it being near the airport, it is quite and very clean and comfortable. The price was very reasonable and the service was without reproach. The staff, or rather, some staff members spoke english very well, and were very helpful with everything that I needed. Internet connections were available and each morning, an American style breakfast was provided at no additional charge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

I really like the location and the price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thong Ta Resort & Spa Bangkok

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nashville, TN
Aug 20, 2010

Nice price but some issues

I stayed here twice, once on my way out to Laos and once on the way back a month later. for the price the place is nice. hard beds, but that is typical of southeast asia. my only complaint my first trip was that the wireless router was having issues, I couldn't log into it even though I had successfully an hour or so earlier. I let the front desk know and they told me the internet was down. I explained to them that, even if that were the case, that had nothing to do with logging onto the router (i'm an IT professional by the way). I told them they should reboot their router. they either didn't understand or didn't care so they just told me there couldn't do anything. on my way back to my room I saw the router mounted on a overhang and so I rebooted it. got back on no problem after that. on the second stay the wireless was working but no hot water. As with most of the hotels in the area they have small (on-demand) units in the showers themselves, it was not working. no biggie, I had become accustom to cold showers over the last month of traveling though asia. then later when I meet a friend for a movie and we came back to the hotel so I could shower and change, they raised holy hell. told me that I had booked for only one person. I said, well, he is not staying here, just waiting on me to shower and change. they continued until my friend had to wait in the lobby or else they would have charged me 300 baht extra for the 20 minute visit. good price but I don't think I will stay there my next trip to Bangkok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

nothing really in there area. to get to any kind of decent shopping or food you have to go downtown. long taxi ride (about $5) and then the skytrain. unless you are staying just to make a connecting flight (it is very close to the airport) I wold recommend getting something downtown. they are a little more pricey but if you are there for 2 or more days you will make it up in taxi far and time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thong Ta Resort & Spa Bangkok

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco
Aug 3, 2010

Hotel Review--Thong Ta hotel at Bangkok

Competent service. Airport bus service. neat and clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thong Ta Resort & Spa Bangkok

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Beijing
Jul 29, 2010

Gorgeous runaway at amazingly low price

location is good for business traveller who needs vicinity to the airport, but should set up a road sign on the main road adjacent. for those who have big luggage trunks, be alert that you may need to carry them all the way up to the 4th floor and down. you could wake up to the noise set by other guests who are up at 4am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

a lot of local delicasies just 5 minute strolling walk of country side serenity. and 7-11's and massage are close at hand.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top